DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-45, 49, 52-57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ankorina-Stark et al. (WO2017167348, disclosed by applicant).
Ankorina-Stark et al. disclose polyacrylamide hydrogel for treating osteoarthritis Ankorina-Stark discloses the polyacrylamide hydrogel is administered by injection under sterile conditions; wherein 0.1-20 ml polyacrylamide hydrogel is administered by injection into the intraarticular cavity from one to 10 times (reference claims). Ankorina-Stark et al. disclose KL grade scores of 2 and/or 3, a human patient no more than 70 years old, a female and/or male, a BMI of less than 25 (Table 5). Ankorina-Stark et al. disclose WOMAC pain score for patient reported treatment with a score change of 45.5 (Table 8, p. 33). Ankorina-Stark et al. disclose the hydrogel has an elasticity modulus of about 10 to 100 Pa (p. 12, lines 25-28). Ankorina-Stark et al. disclose treatments at 26, 32 and 212 weeks (p. 31, lines 6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ankorina-Stark et al. (WO2017167348, disclosed by applicant).
Ankorina-Stark is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the WOMAC pain subscale in said human at week 26.
Ankorina-Stark disclose WOMAC pain subscale of patients obtained after at least 12 weeks of treatment comprising pain sub-score or no pain -10 (±1.4) and improved -4.9 (±3.9) with total score of no pain -45.5 (±2.1) and improved -21.5 (±15.9) (Table 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expected various text results at different points after treatment. It would appear the results would have been variations of those disclosed if taken at the specific time frame, i.e. 26 weeks.
Claim(s) 35, 50, 51 and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ankorina-Stark et al. (WO2017167348, disclosed by applicant) as applied to claims 35-45, 49, 52-57 and 59 above, in view of Peterson (US Patent Pub. 20020150550).
Ankorina-Stark et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not teach the pH of the polyacrylamide hydrogel.
Peterson et al. disclose polyacrylamide hydrogel for treating mammal soft tissue (Abstract). Peterson et al. disclose the polyacrylamide hydrogel has pH in the range of 6.5 to 9.0 ([0018]).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. It would have been obvious to have used polyacrylamide hydrogel at the claimed pH since it is known to use hydrogels at said pH for treating mammals.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-45, 49, 58-57 and 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,772,991. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the claims are directed to a polyacrylamide hydrogel for use in prevention and/or treatment of osteoarthritis. Therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612