DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 15, 25-26, 28, 43 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2016054893 A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of Li et al. (US 20230038897 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 1,
Wang teach a capability exchange method, performed by a first base station (When the fixed base station i and the adjacent fixed base station have an X2 interface, the fixed base station i and the adjacent fixed base station exchange mutual relay support capability information in the X2 interface establishment process, P. 5), comprising:
sending capability information to a second base station, wherein the capability information indicates capabilities supported by the first base station (Example 1… Step 1 In the X2 interface establishment process, the fixed base station 1 initiates an X2 setup request to the fixed base station 2, and the request message informs the fixed base station 2 that it supports the Relay function, P. 6); and
receiving cause capability information sent by the second base station, wherein the second capability information indicates capabilities supported by the second base station (Example 1… Step 2: The fixed base station 2 replies to the fixed base station 1 with an X2 setup response, and notifies the fixed base station 1 that it supports the Relay function, P. 6).
Wang does not explicitly teach paging cause capability information, wherein the paging cause capability information indicates paging cause capabilities supported by base station.
Li teaches paging cause capability information, wherein the paging cause capability information indicates paging cause capabilities supported by base station (The method includes determining, by a network node, a first number of paging records from a list of paging records having a second number of paging records, wherein the first number of paging records have paging causes from a paging cause list, wherein the paging causes are associated the first number of paging records. The method further includes transmitting, by the network node, a paging message in which a size of the paging record list is indicated according to the first number of paging records that have paging causes associated therewith [0009]. Disclosed are devices and techniques for providing multi-SIM capability including adding a paging cause for paging messages [0027][0102][0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Li to the teachings of Wang. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing multiple network connections to improve wireless network efficiency and performance (Li [0004]).
Regarding claim 2,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above, which further teaches paging cause capability information.
Wang further teaches wherein sending the first capability information to the second base station comprises: sending the first capability information to the second base station when establishing an inter-base station interface with the second base station (Example 1… Step 1 In the X2 interface establishment process, the fixed base station 1 initiates an X2 setup request to the fixed base station 2, and the request message informs the fixed base station 2 that it supports the Relay function, P. 6); and
receiving the second capability information sent by the second base station comprises: receiving the second capability information sent by the second base station when establishing the inter-base station interface with the second base station (Example 1… Step 2: The fixed base station 2 replies to the fixed base station 1 with an X2 setup response, and notifies the fixed base station 1 that it supports the Relay function, P. 6).
Regarding claim 4, is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where adding the topology of master base-station and slave or secondary base-station is obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art and is not further limiting the claim.
Regarding claim 6,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 4, as outlined above.
Wang did not explicitly teach wherein when the first base station and the second base station are evolved UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) base stations, the first signaling is SeNB Addition Request signaling, and the second signaling is SeNB Addition Request Acknowledge signaling; or when the first base station and the second base station are new radio (NR base stations, the first signaling is S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST signaling, and the second signaling is S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE signaling.
Li teaches when the first base station and the second base station are new radio (NR) base stations (New Radio “NR” [0028]), the first signaling is S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST signaling, and the second signaling is S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE signaling (adding topology to the signals is obvious /well-known to one with ordinary skills in the art, to be according to standards, and/or not further limiting the claim).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Li to the teachings of Wang. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing multiple network connections to improve wireless network efficiency and performance (Li [0004]).
Regarding claim 8,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above, which further teaches paging cause capability information.
Wang further teaches in response to determining that the first capability information has changed, sending changed first capability information to the second base-station wherein sending the changed first capability information to the second base station comprises: sending the changed first capability information to the second base station through first application protocol (AP) signaling corresponding to an inter-base station interface (Step 3: The relay support capability of the fixed base station 2 changes, from no support to support, and the fixed base station 2 initiates an X2 update message to the fixed base station 1 to notify the fixed base station 1 that it supports the Relay function…. Step 4: The fixed base station 1 replies with an update confirmation message to the fixed base station 2, indicating that the update message is received, P. 7)
wherein sending the changed first capability information to the second base station through the first AP signaling corresponding to the inter-base station interface comprises: sending the changed first capability information to the second base station through a first information element comprised in the first AP signaling (adding topology to the signals is obvious /well-known to one with ordinary skills in the art, to be according to standards, and/or not further limiting the claim).
Regarding claim 15,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above, which further teaches paging cause capability information.
Wang further teaches receiving changed second capability information sent by the second base station (Claim 5…. if there is an X2 interface, the adjacent fixed base station initiates an X2 interface update message, and notifies the fixed base station i of the relay support capability change information, P. 11).
Regarding claims [25-26, 28 and 43], are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1-2, 8 and 15], where one of the option to satisfy claim 25 is that each base station reports its own capacity (claim 1), in addition Wang further teach that the base station can report the capacity of adjacent or neighbor base station (Wang, P. 3).
Regarding claim 56, is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1, where Wang further teaches that a storage medium including a set of instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations performed by the … base station (Wang, P. 3).
Claims 3 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and LI, in view of Gurumoorthy et al. (US 20220361132 A1) hereinafter Gurumoorthy.
Regarding claim 3,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 1.
Wang and Li do not explicitly teach the paging cause capability information comprises at least one of whether the base station supports the paging cause capabilities; or capability information of at least one paging cause capability supported by the first base station.
Gurumoorthy teaches the paging cause capability information comprises at least one of whether the base station supports the paging cause capabilities; or capability information of at least one paging cause capability supported by the first base station (… an indication that the base station supports providing a paging cause indicator with paging messages [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Gurumoorthy to the teachings of Wang and Li. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide improved capability information exchange between the wireless device and the network in an energy-efficient manner (Gurumoorthy [0007]).
Regarding claim [27], is rejected under the same reasoning as claim [3], where one of the option to satisfy claim 25 is that each base station reports its own capacity (claim 1), in addition Wang further teach that the base station can report the capacity of adjacent or neighbor base station (Wang, P. 3).
Claims 11 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and LI, in view of Xu et al. (US 20220303860 A1) hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 11,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 8.
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein when the first base station and the second base station are evolved UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) base stations, the first AP signaling is X2AP signaling; wherein the first AP signaling is ENB CONFIGURATION UPDATE signaling, and the first information element comprises at least one of: a Served Cells To Add information element; or a Served Cells To Modify information element;
or when the first base station and the second base station are new radio NR base stations, the first AP signaling is XnAP signaling; wherein the first AP signaling is NG- RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE signaling, and the first information element comprises at least one of: a next generation (ng) information element; or a next generation eNodeB (ng-eNB) information element.
Li teaches the first base station and the second base station are new radio NR base stations ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Li to the teachings of Wang. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing multiple network connections to improve wireless network efficiency and performance (Li [0004]).
Wang and Li do not explicitly teach the first AP signaling is XnAP signaling; wherein the first AP signaling is NG- RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE signaling, and the first information element comprises at least one of: a next generation (ng) information element; or a next generation eNodeB (ng-eNB) information element.
Xu teach the first AP signaling is XnAP signaling (If the neighboring base station is a 5G base station, the horizontal interface between the enhanced LTE base station and the 5G base station transmits only the signaling for 5G users. Therefore, the horizontal interface is a new horizontal interface Xn defined for 5G [0186]); wherein the first AP signaling is NG- RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE signaling (where the Next Gen (R)AN represents NextGen AN or NextGen RAN [0009] [0010]), and the first information element comprises at least one of: a next generation (ng) information element ([0009][0010]); or a next generation eNodeB (ng-eNB) information element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Xu to the teachings of Wang and Li. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing details about next generation mobile communication system (Xu [0011]).
Regarding claim [36], is rejected under the same reasoning as claim [11], where one of the option to satisfy claim 25 is that each base station reports its own capacity (claim 1), in addition Wang further teach that the base station can report the capacity of adjacent or neighbor base station (Wang, P. 3).
Claims 16, 21, 30, 44 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and LI, in view of Wu et al. (US 20240323914 A1) hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 16,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above, which further teaches paging cause capability information.
Wang further teaches wherein the first base station is an anchor “last serving” base station, and the second base station is a base station corresponding to a cell (Terminology for BS connected to the terminal device and BS connected to the network), and the method further comprises: in response to determining that both the first base station and the second base station support capabilities (Example 1… the fixed base station 1 supports the relay, and the fixed base station 2 supports the relay, P. 6);
and in response to determining that at least one of the first base station or the second base station does not support capabilities (Example 2: …. the fixed base station 1 supports the relay, and the fixed base station 2 does not support the relay, P. 7);
Wang and Li do not explicitly teach wherein determining to transmit the paging information between the base stations for paging the inactive state terminal comprises: in response to determining that the first paging is comprised in a radio access network (RAN) paging message sent to the second base station, determining to transmit the first paging (… In response to or in accordance with the BS-to-BS paging message, the base station 106 generates a UE paging message (e.g., RRC paging message defined in 3GPP specification 38.331) including the RAN ID and transmits the UE paging message via the cell 126. In cases in which the base station 106 has additional cell(s), the base station 106 can also send the UE paging message via the additional cell(s) to page the UE 102. In response to or after receiving a UE paging message from the base station 104, the UE 102 can perform an RRC connection resume procedure with the base station 104 to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state)… [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Wu to the teachings of Wang and Li. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing details about paging a user equipment (UE) when the UE operates in an inactive (Wu [0001]).
Regarding claim 21, is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 16, where changing the topology of anchor to last serving base-station and secondary to be connected base-station is obvious to one with ordinary skills.
Regarding claim 30,
Wang and Li teach all the features of claim 28, which further teaches paging cause capability information.
Wang does not explicitly teach when the first base station and the second base station are new radio (NR) base stations, the inter-base station interface is an Xn interface, the second AP signaling is Xn SETUP REQUEST signaling, and the third AP signaling is Xn SETUP RESPONSE signaling; wherein the second AP signaling comprises a second information element, and the second information element is an information element where the fourth paging cause capability information or the third paging cause capability information is located, and the second information element comprises at least one of: a Served Cell Information NR information element in a List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbuor Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in a List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells E- UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; or a third designated information element corresponding to the fourth paging cause capability information or the third paging cause capability information;
wherein the third AP signaling comprises a third information element, and the third information element is an information element where the third paging cause capability information or the fourth paging cause capability information is located, and the third information element comprises: a fourth designated information element corresponding to the third paging cause capability information or the fourth paging cause capability information.
Li teaches the first base station and the second base station are new radio NR base stations ([0028]), and having designated element for the paging cause capability information is obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art (Li [0027][0102][0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Li to the teachings of Wang. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing multiple network connections to improve wireless network efficiency and performance (Li [0004]).
Wang and Li do not explicitly teach the inter-base station interface is an Xn interface, the second AP signaling is Xn SETUP REQUEST signaling, and the third AP signaling is Xn SETUP RESPONSE signaling;
wherein the second AP signaling comprises a second information element, and the second information element is an information element where the fourth paging cause capability information or the third paging cause capability information is located, and the second information element comprises at least one of: a Served Cell Information NR information element in a List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbuor Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in a List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells E- UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; or a third designated information element corresponding to the fourth paging cause capability information or the third paging cause capability information.
Wu teaches the inter-base station interface is an Xn interface ( [0046][0048][0050]);, the second AP signaling is Xn SETUP REQUEST signaling, and the third AP signaling is Xn SETUP RESPONSE signaling (adding topology to the signals is obvious /well-known to one with ordinary skills in the art, to be according to standards, and/or not further limiting the claim);
the second information element comprises at least one of: a Served Cell Information NR information element in a List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbuor Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells NR information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in a List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Served Cell Information E-UTRA information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information NR information element in the List of Served Cells E- UTRA information element; a Neighbour Information E-UTRAN information element in the List of Served Cells E-UTRA information element; or a third designated information element corresponding to the fourth paging cause capability information or the third paging cause capability information ([0058]-[0060]);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Wu to the teachings of Wang and Li. The motivation for such an addition would be to providing details about paging a user equipment (UE) when the UE operates in an inactive (Wu [0001]).
Regarding claims [44 and 49], are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [16 and 21], where one of the option to satisfy claim 25 is that each base station reports its own capacity (claim 1), in addition Wang further teach that the base station can report the capacity of adjacent or neighbor base station (Wang, P. 3).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AYMAN A ABAZA whose telephone number is (571)270-0422. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jamie J Atala can be reached at 5712727384. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465