DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon entry of the amendment filed on 09 June 2026, Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are amended; Claim(s) 22 is/are added and Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 9-12, 16, 17 and 19 is/are cancelled. The currently pending claims are Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 13-15, 18 and 20-22.
Based on applicants’ remarks and amendments (e.g. the specific polyamide components of the mixture), the objections, 112 rejections and 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejections are provided necessitated by the amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,7-8,13-15,18 and 20-21 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the aliphatic polyamide polymer (A3) being different from the aliphatic polyamide polymer (A2)" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cremer (US-20220177701-A1) in view of Samisch (US-20180194925-A1).
Cremer discloses a polyamide molding material for various end-products such as electronic devices comprising (a) a mixture of polyamides such as PA12, PA6T/66 and PA610 at various loading amounts, (b) 0.1 to 25% of carbon fiber fillers (thus meeting the claimed conductive material), (c) 10-70% of glass fibers and 0.1-25% of additional additives (abs, ¶29, 57-81, 100-105, 116-122 and examples/Tables 1-3 with accompanying text). The Cremer reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of the glass component being in a flake shape. In an analogous art, the Samisch reference discloses the glass component having various shapes and aspect ratios such as round/fibers/flakes and a ratio of 1 to 1.5 is well known in the art (abs, ¶8-20, 75-95, 109-160 and examples/Tables 1-5 with accompanying text). Further, Samisch discloses a composition comprising a mixture of polyamide such as PA12, PA6T/66 and PA610, conductive fillers such as carbon fibers, glass fibers and additional additives (abs, ¶8-20, 75-95, 109-160 and examples/Tables 1-5 with accompanying text). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known component of Samisch to the teachings of Cremer would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and compositions for the benefit gain of enhanced reinforcement, stability and strength. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution/implementation would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
The Cremer and Samisch reference disclose the claimed invention with the feature of the mixture of PA, the glass fibers and fillers at various loading amounts but does not disclose the material with the claimed components and their respective amounts with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Nevertheless, given that Cremer and Samisch disclose each of the claimed components at various loading amounts overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and optimize its loading amount since Cremer and Samisch teach each one and is motivated to optimize the components to gain the benefit of enhanced stability and resistance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components are disclosed would not have made any of them less obvious. Here, Cremer discloses each of the claimed components in a similar polyamide molding end-product and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keulen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Samisch (US-20180194925-A1).
Keulen discloses an electrically conductive composition for various end-products such as electronic devices comprising (a) a mixture of polyamide such as PA12, PA6T/66 and PA610 at various loading amounts, (b) 0.01-80 % wt. of a conductive filler such as carbon fibers, (c) 0.01-50 % wt. of glass fibers and (d) optional 0.01-50 % wt. % of additional additives (abs, ¶17, 26-29, 31-47 and examples/Tables 1-6 with accompanying text). The Keulen reference discloses the claimed invention with the feature of the mixture of PA, the glass flakes and carbon fibers at various loading amounts but does not disclose the composition with the claimed components and their respective amounts with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Nevertheless, given that Keulen discloses each of the claimed components at various loading amounts overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and optimize its loading amount since Keulen teaches each one and is motivated to optimize the components to gain the benefit of enhanced stability, dissipation, shielding and strength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components are disclosed would not have made any of them less obvious. Here, Keulen discloses each of the claimed components in a similar polyamide molding end-product and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
The Keulen reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of the glass component having a ratio of less than 1.5. It is noted that the Keulen reference discloses employing known glass fibers/flakes and the claim(s) call(s) for a glass flake having a specific ratio. In an analogous art, the Samisch reference discloses the glass component having various shapes and aspect ratios such as round and a ratio of 1 to 1.5 (see above). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known component of Samisch to the teachings of Keulen would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and compositions for the benefit gain of enhanced reinforcement, stability and strength. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution/implementation would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-12, filed 09 June 2026, with respect to the Cremer, Keulen and Samisch have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment has mooted the objections and the 112 rejections.
Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to arrive at the claimed components, their respective loading amounts and the glass flakes structural parameters (pg. 11 and 12).
The examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Cremer or Keulen discloses the claimed invention with the feature of the mixture of PA, the glass flakes and carbon fibers at various loading amounts but does not disclose the composition with the claimed components and their respective amounts with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Nevertheless, given that Cremer or Keulen discloses each of the claimed components at various loading amounts overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and optimize its loading amount since Cremer or Keulen teaches each one and is motivated to optimize the components to gain the benefit of enhanced stability, dissipation, shielding and strength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components are disclosed would not have made any of them less obvious. Here, Cremer or Keulen discloses each of the claimed components in a similar polyamide molding end-product and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding the glass flakes, Cremer or Keulen discloses employing known glass fibers/flakes and the claim(s) call(s) for a glass flake having a specific ratio. The Samisch reference discloses the glass component having various shapes and aspect ratios such as round and a ratio of 1 to 1.5. It is noted that the glass flakes of Samisch meets the claimed glass flakes under BRI based on the claimed limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known component of Samisch to the teachings of Keulen would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and compositions for the benefit gain of enhanced reinforcement, stability and strength. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution/implementation would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764