DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the phrase "preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “substantially” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The cross section of claim 5 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the heat transfer fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner asks if the applicant intends for Claim 10 to depend on claim 9 instead?
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A heat transfer tube comprising a composition comprising:
45 to 75 wt % of at least one polyphenylene sulfide polymer;
20 to 45 wt % of at least one polyphenylsulfone polymer, and
5 to 15 wt % of at least one thermoplastic elastomer containing epoxy functional groups,
said wt % being based on the total weight of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta et al. (JP 2011105936 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024) in view of El-Hibri et al. (WO 2016102330 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024).
The examiner refers to the English translation of Furuta et al. provided by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Furuta et al. disclose a composition comprises (A) 55 to 99% by mass of polyphenylene sulfide, (B) 1-45% by mass of a polymer comprising ethylene and carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units having ethylencially unsaturated bonds, and (C) 1 to 150 parts by mass of a polyphenylene sulfone with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of (A) and (B) (claim 1), equivalent to 1% to 60% by mass of polyphenylene sulfone and thereby overlapping the claimed ranges.
Furuta et al. is silent on the composition is formed into a heat transfer tube.
El-Hibri et al. teach a composition comprising polyphenyl sulfone (abstract). El-Hibri et al. teach the compositions is used to form articles such as pipings and fittings in heat transfer fluid delivery systems. (page 28, line 4-34). Furuta et al. also teach that the composition may be used to form tubular articles [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a heat transfer tube as taught by El-Hibri et al. with the composition of Furuta et al. since both are related to polyphenyl sulfone compositions that can be used to form tubular articles.
Regarding claim 2, Furuta et al. teach the composition has an evaluation of V-0 in the UL94 flame retardancy test [0067], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Furuta et al. disclose the polyphenylsulfone comprises at least 50 mol% or more of chemical formula 2-1 shown below:
, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Furuta et la. disclose the composition comprises a copolymer comprising an ethylene unit, glycidyl unit, and a methyl acrylate unit (claim 5), thereby reading on a poly(ethylene-co-glycidylmethacrylate) copolymer of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Furuta et al. teach the composition is used to form a tubular article [0011], thereby reading on a substantially constant cross-section as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, Furuta et al. teach the composition is used to form a tubular article [0011].
Furuta et al. is silent on if the tubular article is hollow.
However, El-Hibri et al. teach a composition comprising polyphenyl sulfone (abstract). El-Hibri et al. teach the compositions is used to form articles such as pipings and fittings in heat transfer fluid delivery systems. (page 28, line 4-34), thereby reading on the heat transfer tube being hollow as recited in the instant claim. Furuta et al. also teach that the composition may be used to form tubular articles [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a hollow heat transfer tube as taught by El-Hibri et al. with the composition of Furuta et al. since both are related to polyphenyl sulfone compositions that can be used to form tubular articles.
Regarding claim 8, Furuta et al. disclose a composition comprises (A) 55 to 99% by mass of polyphenylene sulfide, (B) 1-45% by mass of ethylene and carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units having ethylencially unsaturated bonds, and (C) 1 to 150 parts by mass of a polyphenylene sulfone with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of (A) and (B) (claim 1), equivalent to 1% to 60% by mass of polyphenylene sulfone and thereby overlapping the claimed ranges.
Furuta et al. is silent on the composition is formed into a heat transfer tube for a thermal management system.
El-Hibri et al. teach a composition comprising polyphenyl sulfone (abstract). El-Hibri et al. teach the compositions is used to form articles such as pipings and fittings in heat transfer fluid delivery systems (page 28, line 4-34), thereby reading on the thermal management system comprising a heat transfer tube. Furuta et al. also teach that the composition may be used to form tubular articles [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a heat transfer tube of a thermal management system as taught by El-Hibri et al. with the composition of Furuta et al. since both are related to polyphenyl sulfone compositions that can be used to form tubular articles.
Regarding claim 9, Furuta et al. is silent on a heat transfer fluid as recited in the instant claim.
However, El-Hibri et al. teach the composition is used to form parts and components for pumping and delivery of chemicals and solvents for heat transfer fluid delivery systems (page 28, line 4-34), thereby reading on a heat transfer fluid. Furuta et al. also teach that the composition may be used to form tubular articles [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a heat transfer fluid of a thermal management system as taught by El-Hibri et al. with the composition of Furuta et al. since both are related to polyphenyl sulfone compositions that can be used to form tubular articles.
Claims 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta et al. (JP 2011105936 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024) in view of El-Hibri et al. (WO 2016102330 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024) in further view of Yoo et al. (US 20200388805).
The thermal management system of claim 8 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 10, Furuta et al. and El-Hibri et al. is silent on the heat transfer fluid as recited in the instant claim.
Yoo et al. teach a battery module comprising a heat sink, wherein the heat sink has a tubular structure [0066-0070]. Yoo et al. teach the coolant may be water among others [0068], thereby reading on the heat transfer fluid as recited in the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the heat transfer fluid of Yoo et al. with the thermal management system of Furuta et al. in view of El-Hibri et al. since water is a well known heat transfer fluid in the industry.
Regarding claim 17, 18, and 19, Furuta et al. and El-Hibri et al. is silent on the apparatus as recited in the instant claims.
However, Yoo et al. teach a battery module for an electric vehicle (claim 10, [0132]), thereby reading on the apparatus of instant claim 17, a battery of instant claim 18, and the electric vehicle of instant claim 19. Yoo et al. offer the motivation that the heat sink of the battery module provides excellent cooling efficiency [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the thermal management system of Furuta et al. in view of El-Hibri et al. with the apparatus of Yoo et al. since thermal management systems are well known in the electric vehicle and battery industries.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta et al. (JP 2011105936 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024) in view of El-Hibri et al. (WO 2016102330 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024) in further view of Kuhmann et al. (US 20130025734).
The heat transfer tube of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 7, Furuta et al. in view of El-Hibri et al. teach a heat transfer tube as rejected above.
Furuta et al. and El-Hibri et al. are silent on the diameter and wall thickness as recited in the instant claim.
Kuhmann et al. teach a pipe having a layer formed from a molding composition comprising a polymer selected from the group consisting of polyphenyl sulfone and polyphenylene sulfide (claim 1). Kuhmann et al. teach the pipe has an inner diameter of at least 30 mm and a wall thickness of at least 2 mm [0044], thereby overlapping the claimed ranges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the diameter and wall thickness of the pipe as taught by Kuhmann et al. with the pipe of Furuta et al. in view of El-Hibri et al.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763