DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
2. Claims 21-24, 26-34, and 36-42 are pending. Claims 21 and 31 are in independent forms. Claims 21 and 31 has been amended. Claims 1-20, 25, and 35 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 02 June 2026 have been fully considered however they are moot due to new grounds of rejection below initiated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 21-23, 25, 27-33, 35 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0342851 (hereinafter Shan) in view of Adjakple et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0257886 (hereinafter Adjakple) ) in further view of Lynch et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0212695 (hereinafter Lynch) in further view of Wang et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0289138 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 21, Shan discloses a base station device associated with a private network, the base station device (Fig. 5, element 500) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 7, processors 710) and memory (Fig. 7, memory/storage devices 720), the processor and memory configured to:
“receive a registration request from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the registration request comprising an indication that the WTRU is requesting access to the private network” (see Shan Fig. 11, par. 0250, Process 1100 begins at operation 1105 where the RF circuitry (e.g., RFEM 515) of the RAN node 111 receives a registration request message from the UE 101, where the registration request message includes either the LADN DNN(s) configured for the UE 101 or an indication of requesting LADN information);
“forward a registration accept message to the WTRU” (see Shan par. 0136, The AMF 321 sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 301 indicating that the Registration Request has been accepted);
Shan does not explicitly discloses send the registration request to a network node, wherein an indication of an identifier of the private network and an indication of an authorization request for the WTRU to access the private network is sent with the registration request to the network node.
However, in analogues art, Adjakple discloses send the registration request to a network node, wherein an indication of an identifier of the private network and an indication of an authorization request for the WTRU to access the private network is sent with the registration request to the network node, wherein the registration request comprises an indication of an identifier of the WTRU (see Adjakple pars. 0367-0370, The WTRU may include in its network registration (e.g., ATTACH REQUEST or a VN communication primitive which may be forwarded to the VN) one or more of its VN Extension Enabling Indicator, a VN Extension WTRU Privilege Code, a VN-ID, VN-UD-Id, the requested service category (and may be the urgency level), the identities of the radio access network or the PLMN that is under request to be included in the VN, or the address or routing path for the request (part of the ATTACH REQUEST) to be forwarded to the VN network and connection management node. The WTRU may indicate the network registration message be sent to a specific network entity advertised by the VN or the network registration to the CN's controlling node. From the visited network, the base-station (eNB or NodeB) may accommodate the visiting WTRU when it receives one or more of the VN Extension Enabling Indicator, the VN Extension WTRU Privilege Code, the VN-Id, or the VN-UD-Id).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple into the system of Shan to include a setup or configuration of the general-VN-support Cell/RAN or local network and the WTRU registration message indicator, the Cell/RAN or the local network may handle the registration, forward the message to the chosen VN and let the WTRU and the VN communicate directly (see Adjakple par. 0328).
Shan in view of Adjakple does not explicitly discloses receive an identifier of the WTRU and a list of allowed device identifiers from the network node; determine that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network based on the received identifier of the WTRU being comprised in the list of allowed identifiers for the private network.
However, in analogues art, Lynch discloses receive an identifier of the WTRU and a list of allowed device identifiers from the network node (see Lynch pars. 0119-0121, a system 800 may include a network (e.g., cloud 810), one or more access points (APs) 805, and one or more WTRUs 102. At 820, the WTRU 102, for example, may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. At 830, the WTRU 102 may send a unique identifier (e.g., a WTRU ID) to the AP 805 to identify itself to the network. At 840, the AP 805 may look up the service provider of the WTRU 102 from the WTRU ID and may find that the AP 805 may provide a roaming agreement with that service provider. the cloud 810 and/or the AP 805 may use network selection policies and/or a list of available networks for selection of a specific network to connect with the WTRU 102. At 850, the information regarding the roaming agreement and/or the service provider may be sent (e.g., passed) to the WTRU 102 along with the specific selected network (e.g., an identifier of the network to provide the connection): determine that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network based on the received identifier of the WTRU being comprised in the list of allowed identifiers for the private network (see Lynch par.0093, network selection process 600 may include, at block 610, the WTRU 102 determining that a network connection is desirable and/or needed. At block 620, the WTRU 102 may scan for available networks (e.g., networks within range of the WTRU 102). At block 630, the WTRU 102 may determine whether one or more available networks have been found (e.g., discovered). If the WTRU 102 does not find any available networks, at block 640, the WTRU may wait a period of time (e.g., a predetermined or random delay period) and may then restart processing at block 610. If the WTRU 102 finds one or more available networks, at block 650, the WTRU 102 may filter the discovered available networks (e.g., after the scanning procedure) based on networks previously known to the WTRU 102. The WTRU 102 may include a memory or storage 655 for storing a database and/or a list of known networks. For example, the filtering procedure may check the discovered networks from the scan with the known networks previously stored in memory 655. At block 660, the WTRU 102 may determine whether one or more discovered networks match one or more known networks. If the WTRU 102 determines that one or more discovered networks match one or more know networks, the WTRU may choose for connection a known network stored in the memory 655 (e.g., from the database or list));
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lynch into the system of Shan and Adjakple to include a WTRU may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. The WTRU may send a unique identifier (e.g., a WTRU ID) to the AP to identify itself to the network (see Lynch par. 0120).
Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch does not explicitly discloses based on the determination that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network: send authorization information and an indication that the WTRU has been authorized to access the private network to the network node.
However, in analogues art, Wang discloses based on the determination that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network: send authorization information and an indication that the WTRU has been authorized to access the private network to the network node (see Wang par. 0021, the methods may further comprise that the AAA transmits a response to the request message in response to determining that the FAP identifier is valid for the FAP, the response comprising the message authenticator and an access control list for the FAP. The SeGW may forward the response from the AAA to the FAP, in response to determining that the message authenticator is valid. The FAP may control access by mobile stations to the FAP, using the access control list from the response).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the system of Shan, Adjakple and Lynch to include an access control list may comprise identifiers for authorized mobile stations. The authorization data may further include a FAP type identifier (see Wang par. 0013).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan further discloses wherein the private network is a customer premise network (CPN) (see Shan par. 0084, he LADN may be an enterprise network where the UE 301 may only access enterprise network resources when the UE 301 is at the enterprise premises, within a predetermined distance of the enterprise premises, within a specified geofence, and/or the like).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan further discloses wherein the identifier is a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) (see Shan par. 0082, Mobility GPSI List of the GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Subscription data (data Identifier) used both inside and outside of the needed for UE Registration 3GPP system to address a 3GPP subscription).
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Wang further discloses wherein the processor and memory are configured to receive the information associated with the private network, the information comprising the list of allowed device identifiers (see Wang par. 0019, The methods may further provide that the FAP receives a response to the request message generated by the AAA in response to determining that the FAP identifier is valid for the FAP. This response may comprise a FAP type identifier and an access control list for the FAP. In these methods, the FAP may control access by mobile stations to the FAP, using the FAP type identifier and the access control list).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the system of Shan, Adjakple and Lynch to include an access control list may comprise identifiers for authorized mobile stations. The authorization data may further include a FAP type identifier (see Wang par. 0013).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan further discloses wherein the network node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see Shan Fig. 3, AMF 321, par. 0047-0048, The AMF 321 is responsible for registration management (e.g., for registering UE 301, etc.), connection management, reachability management, mobility management, and lawful interception of AMF-related events, and access authentication and authorization).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan further discloses wherein the private network is not a public land mobile network (PLMN) (see Shan par. 0051, perform a Deregistration procedure and enter RM-DEREGISTERED state when the UE 301 needs to be no longer registered with the PLMN (wherein the UE 301 may decide to deregister from the network at any time; enter the RM-DEREGISTERED state when receiving a Registration Reject message or a Deregistration message (the actions of the UE 301 depend upon a ‘cause value’ in the Registration Reject or Deregistration message); among others).
Regarding claim 29 and 39, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Wang further discloses wherein the processor and memory are configured to: receive an indication of a device type of the WTRU from the network node (see Wang par. 0186, At 902, an enforcement point may request authorization data from a storage point, by transmitting FAP authentication data to a remote storage point. At 904, the enforcement point receives the authorization data, which may comprise an access control list (ACL) and FAP type identifier as described above, in response to the authentication data. At 906, the enforcement point controls access to services by a mobile station via the FAP, in response to the authorization data received from the storage point. More particularly, at 908 the enforcement point controls access in response to a designated FAP type and the ACL, which comprises an identifier for at least one mobile station authorized to access services via the FAP); and determine whether the WTRU is authorized to access the private network based on the device type of the WTRU (see Wang par. 0186, In response to determining that the FAP type is “open association,” the enforcement point permits access by all mobile stations and there is no use of the ACL by the FAP).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the system of Shan, Adjakple and Lynch to include an access control list may comprise identifiers for authorized mobile stations. The authorization data may further include a FAP type identifier (see Wang par. 0013).
Regarding claims 30 and 40, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan further discloses wherein the processor and memory are configured to: receive an authorization credential from the network node before receiving the registration request from the WTRU (see Shan par. 0080, The UDM 327 may include a UDM-FE, which is in charge of processing credentials, location management, subscription management and so on. Several different front ends may serve the same user in different transactions. The UDM-FE accesses subscription information stored in the UDR and performs authentication credential processing, user identification handling, access authorization, registration/mobility management, and subscription management),
Regarding claim 31, Shan discloses a method performed by a base station device, the method comprising:
“receiving a registration request from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the registration request comprising an indication that the WTRU is requesting access to a private network” (see Shan Fig. 11, par. 0250, Process 1100 begins at operation 1105 where the RF circuitry (e.g., RFEM 515) of the RAN node 111 receives a registration request message from the UE 101, where the registration request message includes either the LADN DNN(s) configured for the UE 101 or an indication of requesting LADN information);
“forwarding a registration accept message to the WTRU” (see Shan par. 0136, The AMF 321 sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 301 indicating that the Registration Request has been accepted);
Shan does not explicitly discloses sending the registration request to a network node, wherein an indication of an identifier of the private network and an indication of an authorization request for the WTRU to access the private network is sent with the registration request to the network node.
However, in analogues art, Adjakple discloses sending the registration request to a network node, wherein an indication of an identifier of the private network and an indication of an authorization request for the WTRU to access the private network is sent with the registration request to the network node (see Adjakple pars. 0367-0370, The WTRU may include in its network registration (e.g., ATTACH REQUEST or a VN communication primitive which may be forwarded to the VN) one or more of its VN Extension Enabling Indicator, a VN Extension WTRU Privilege Code, a VN-ID, VN-UD-Id, the requested service category (and may be the urgency level), the identities of the radio access network or the PLMN that is under request to be included in the VN, or the address or routing path for the request (part of the ATTACH REQUEST) to be forwarded to the VN network and connection management node. The WTRU may indicate the network registration message be sent to a specific network entity advertised by the VN or the network registration to the CN's controlling node. From the visited network, the base-station (eNB or NodeB) may accommodate the visiting WTRU when it receives one or more of the VN Extension Enabling Indicator, the VN Extension WTRU Privilege Code, the VN-Id, or the VN-UD-Id).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple into the system of Shan to include a setup or configuration of the general-VN-support Cell/RAN or local network and the WTRU registration message indicator, the Cell/RAN or the local network may handle the registration, forward the message to the chosen VN and let the WTRU and the VN communicate directly (see Adjakple par. 0328).
Shan in view of Adjakple does not explicitly discloses receiving an identifier of the WTRU and a list of allowed device identifiers from the network node; determining that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network based on the received identifier of the WTRU being comprised in the list of allowed identifiers for the private network.
However, in analogues art, Lynch discloses receiving an identifier of the WTRU and a list of allowed device identifiers from the network node (see Lynch pars. 0119-0121, a system 800 may include a network (e.g., cloud 810), one or more access points (APs) 805, and one or more WTRUs 102. At 820, the WTRU 102, for example, may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. At 830, the WTRU 102 may send a unique identifier (e.g., a WTRU ID) to the AP 805 to identify itself to the network. At 840, the AP 805 may look up the service provider of the WTRU 102 from the WTRU ID and may find that the AP 805 may provide a roaming agreement with that service provider. the cloud 810 and/or the AP 805 may use network selection policies and/or a list of available networks for selection of a specific network to connect with the WTRU 102. At 850, the information regarding the roaming agreement and/or the service provider may be sent (e.g., passed) to the WTRU 102 along with the specific selected network (e.g., an identifier of the network to provide the connection): determining that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network based on the received identifier of the WTRU being comprised in the list of allowed identifiers for the private network (see Lynch par.0093, network selection process 600 may include, at block 610, the WTRU 102 determining that a network connection is desirable and/or needed. At block 620, the WTRU 102 may scan for available networks (e.g., networks within range of the WTRU 102). At block 630, the WTRU 102 may determine whether one or more available networks have been found (e.g., discovered). If the WTRU 102 does not find any available networks, at block 640, the WTRU may wait a period of time (e.g., a predetermined or random delay period) and may then restart processing at block 610. If the WTRU 102 finds one or more available networks, at block 650, the WTRU 102 may filter the discovered available networks (e.g., after the scanning procedure) based on networks previously known to the WTRU 102. The WTRU 102 may include a memory or storage 655 for storing a database and/or a list of known networks. For example, the filtering procedure may check the discovered networks from the scan with the known networks previously stored in memory 655. At block 660, the WTRU 102 may determine whether one or more discovered networks match one or more known networks. If the WTRU 102 determines that one or more discovered networks match one or more know networks, the WTRU may choose for connection a known network stored in the memory 655 (e.g., from the database or list)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lynch into the system of Shan and Adjakple to include a WTRU may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. The WTRU may send a unique identifier (e.g., a WTRU ID) to the AP to identify itself to the network (see Lynch par. 0120).
Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch does not explicitly discloses based on the determination that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network: sending authorization information and an indication that the WTRU has been authorized to access the private network to the network node.
However, in analogues art, Wang discloses based on the determination that the WTRU is authorized to access the private network: sending authorization information and an indication that the WTRU has been authorized to access the private network to the network node (see Wang par. 0021, the methods may further comprise that the AAA transmits a response to the request message in response to determining that the FAP identifier is valid for the FAP, the response comprising the message authenticator and an access control list for the FAP. The SeGW may forward the response from the AAA to the FAP, in response to determining that the message authenticator is valid. The FAP may control access by mobile stations to the FAP, using the access control list from the response).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the system of Shan, Adjakple and Lynch to include an access control list may comprise identifiers for authorized mobile stations. The authorization data may further include a FAP type identifier (see Wang par. 0013).
Regarding claims 41 and 42, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Lynch in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Lynch further discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive the list of allowed device identifiers from the network node before receiving the registration request from the WTRU (see Lynch par. 0119, At 720, the WTRU 102 may receive connection policies and/or keys via the AP 705 from the cloud 710. The WTRU 102 may use the policies from the cloud 710 to establish a connection with an available network. At 730, the WTRU 102 may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. At 740, the WTRU 102 may query the network for a list of roaming partners and/or roaming agreements and may receive a queries response including the list. At 750, the client (e.g., of the WTRU 102) then may check if its service provider is one of the roaming partners. At 760, if the service provider of the WTRU is one of the roaming partners, the WTRU may connect to that network (using the network's authentication procedure)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lynch into the system of Shan and Adjakple to include a WTRU may scan for available networks and may find one or more such networks. The WTRU may send a unique identifier (e.g., a WTRU ID) to the AP to identify itself to the network (see Lynch par. 0120).
6. Claims 24, 26, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0342851 (hereinafter Shan) in view of Adjakple et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0257886 (hereinafter Adjakple) in further view of Lynch et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0212695 (hereinafter Lynch) in further view of Wang et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0289138 (hereinafter Wang) in further view of Liao WO 2022/192638 (hereinafter Liao).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Wang does not explicitly discloses wherein the authorization information comprises authorization information for the WTRU, the authorization information indicating one or more of an allowed CPN data name network (DNN) list, an allowed premises radio access station (PRAS) list, or an authorization expiry time.
However, in analogues art, Liao discloses wherein the authorization information comprises authorization information for the WTRU, the authorization information indicating one or more of an allowed CPN data name network (DNN) list, an allowed premises radio access station (PRAS) list, or an authorization expiry time (see Liao pars. 0122, 0265-0267, FIG. 7 illustrates diagram 700 of a customer premises network (CPN) using a premises radio access station (PRAS) configured for communication with a 5G network, in accordance with some aspects, the 5G network sends a registration accept message to PRAS via eRG in response to the registration request message sent in Step 2; the registration accept message contains an optional activation code for RPP. In addition, the 5G network may indicate to eRG to establish required PDU session information for preparing PRAS’s remote provisioning process, e.g. DNN, S- NSSAI).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Liao into the system of Shan, Adjakple, and Wang to include a 5G system support for identification, authentication, and authorization of (off-the-shelf) Premises Radio Access Stations (see Liao par. 00151).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Wang discloses the base station device of claim 21, the method of claim 31,
Shan in view of Adjakple in further view of Wang does not explicitly discloses wherein the base station device comprises a premises radio access station (PRAS).
However, in analogues art, Liao discloses wherein the base station device comprises a premises radio access station (PRAS) (see Liao par. 0125, the use of indoor small base stations in 5G residential use cases and determine the applicability for use with indoor small base stations in 5G residential use cases of concepts like private slices, SNPN, CAG as specified for non-public networks. The indoor small base station can be replaced with Premises Radio Access Station (PRAS) for supporting new service requirements).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Liao into the system of Shan, Adjakple, and Wang to include an indoor small base station replaced with a premises radio access station for supporting new service requirements (see Liao par. 00125).
Conclusion 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAMUEL AMBAYE whose telephone number is (571)270-7635. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433