DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 5/4/2026.
Claim(s) 3-9, 11-20, 23, 25, 27 and 29 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 32 and 33 has/have been added.
Claims(s) 1-2, 10, 21-22, 24, 26, 28 and 30-33 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to objection of the Abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to objection of claims 3 and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 10, 21, 22, 26, 30 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the rejection of claims 5, 7, 8, 9, 24, 25, 27, 28 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li US 20220400469.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21, 22, 24, 26, 28 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li US 20220400469.
As to claim 1:
Li et al. discloses:
A resource reselection method, applicable to a terminal adopting an
autonomous resource selection mode, the method comprising:
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(where
“autonomous…resource allocation mode 2” maps to “autonomous resource selection mode”
triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2 and first m transmission opportunities in n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used, m being not greater than a number of transmission
opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities;
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“The UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data.”; Li; 0477)
(where
“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value”/”UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process”
“if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation”/”determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2”, “transmitting” maps to “transmission”, “one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources” maps to “is not less than 2”, “determine…for transmitting” maps to “selected”
“the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]” maps to “first m transmission opportunities”
“P1”/”P2”/”P3” maps to “n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities”
“exclusion slots” maps to “are not used”
“after the second slot” maps to “m being not greater than a number of transmission opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities”, where “second slot” plus “exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]”/”sidelink resources for transmitting” maps to “same set of periodic transmission opportunities”
wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter.
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where
“size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16”/” the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing” maps to “wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter”, where “size/number” maps to “first parameter”
Li teaches autonomous configuration of periodic resource reselection for transmission.
As to claim 2:
Li et al. discloses:
wherein the same set of periodic transmission opportunities comprises transmission opportunities selected or reserved in a same resource selection period.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
As to claim 21:
Li et al. discloses:
A terminal, comprising:
a processor and a memory; wherein the
memory stores at least one program; and the processor, when loading and running the at least one program in the memory, is caused to perform:
(see FIG. 2)
triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2 and first m transmission opportunities in n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used, m being not greater than a number of transmission
opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities;
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“The UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data.”; Li; 0477)
(where
“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value”/”UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process”
“if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation”/”determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2”, “transmitting” maps to “transmission”, “one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources” maps to “is not less than 2”, “determine…for transmitting” maps to “selected”
“the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]” maps to “first m transmission opportunities”
“P1”/”P2”/”P3” maps to “n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities”
“exclusion slots” maps to “are not used”
“after the second slot” maps to “m being not greater than a number of transmission opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities”, where “second slot” plus “exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]”/”sidelink resources for transmitting” maps to “same set of periodic transmission opportunities”
wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter.
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where
“size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16”/” the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing” maps to “wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter”, where “size/number” maps to “first parameter”
Li teaches autonomous configuration of periodic resource reselection for transmission.
As to claim 22:
Li et al. discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having
executable instructions stored therein;
wherein the executable instructions, when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform:
(see FIG. 2)
triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2 and first m transmission opportunities in n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used, m being not greater than a number of transmission
opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities;
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“The UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data.”; Li; 0477)
(where
“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value”/”UE may trigger/request partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection in a first slot n. The partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection could be to determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “triggering resource reselection for a sidelink process”
“if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation”/”determine one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources for transmitting at least a first sidelink data” maps to “in a case that a number of transmission opportunities in each of sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during a resource selection process is not less than 2”, “transmitting” maps to “transmission”, “one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources” maps to “is not less than 2”, “determine…for transmitting” maps to “selected”
“the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]” maps to “first m transmission opportunities”
“P1”/”P2”/”P3” maps to “n1 consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities”
“exclusion slots” maps to “are not used”
“after the second slot” maps to “m being not greater than a number of transmission opportunities in a same set of periodic transmission opportunities”, where “second slot” plus “exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]”/”sidelink resources for transmitting” maps to “same set of periodic transmission opportunities”
wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter.
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where
“size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16”/” the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing” maps to “wherein n1 is a value indicated by a first parameter”, where “size/number” maps to “first parameter”
Li teaches autonomous configuration of periodic resource reselection for transmission.
As to claim 24:
Li et al. discloses:
triggering the resource reselection for the sidelink process in a case that the number of transmission opportunities in each of the sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during the resource selection process is 2 and first two transmission opportunities in nl consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where setting the “specific number” is considered a design choice)
As to claim 26:
Li et al. discloses:
wherein the same set of periodic transmission opportunities comprises transmission opportunities selected or reserved in a same resource selection period.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
As to claim 28:
Li et al. discloses:
triggering the resource reselection for the sidelink process in a case that the number of transmission opportunities in each of the sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during the resource selection process is 2 and first two transmission opportunities in nl consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where setting the “specific number” is considered a design choice)
As to claim 32:
Li et al. discloses:
triggering the resource reselection for the sidelink process in a case that the number of transmission opportunities in each of the sets of periodic transmission opportunities selected during the resource selection process is 2 and first two transmission opportunities in nl consecutive sets of periodic transmission opportunities are not used.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
(where setting the “specific number” is considered a design choice)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 30, 31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li US 20220400469 in view of Lee et al. US 20230083274 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/19/2026).
As to claim 10:
Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
However, Lee et al. further teaches a sl-ReselectAfter capability which includes:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
(“1> if sl-ReselectAfter is configured and the number of consecutive unused transmission opportunities on resources indicated in the configured sidelink grant is equal to sl-ReselectAfter; or”; Lee et al.; 0286)
(“2> trigger the TX resource (re-)selection.”; Lee et al.; 0291)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sl-ReselectAfter capability of Lee et al. into Li. By modifying the processing/communications of Le to include the trigger sl-ReselectAfter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Lee et al., the benefits of improved resource exclusion (Li; Abstract) with improved V2* communication (Lee et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 30:
Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
However, Lee et al. further teaches a sl-ReselectAfter capability which includes:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
(“1> if sl-ReselectAfter is configured and the number of consecutive unused transmission opportunities on resources indicated in the configured sidelink grant is equal to sl-ReselectAfter; or”; Lee et al.; 0286)
(“2> trigger the TX resource (re-)selection.”; Lee et al.; 0291)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sl-ReselectAfter capability of Lee et al. into Li. By modifying the processing/communications of Le to include the trigger sl-ReselectAfter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Lee et al., the benefits of improved resource exclusion (Li; Abstract) with improved V2* communication (Lee et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 31:
Li et al. discloses:
wherein the same set of periodic transmission opportunities comprises transmission opportunities selected or reserved in a same resource selection period.
(“For UE (autonomous) selection mode, e.g. NR sidelink resource allocation mode 2, since transmission resource is not scheduled via network, the UE may require performing sensing before selecting a resource for transmission (e.g., sensing-based transmission), in order to avoid resource collision and interference from or to other UEs. Currently, full sensing is supported in NR Rel-16 sidelink. Partial sensing may not be supported/designed for NR Rel-16 sidelink. Moreover, the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 10 may not applied for sensing procedure in NR sidelink (as discussed in 3GPP TS 38.214). Based on the result of sensing procedure, the UE can determine a valid/identified resource set. The valid/identified resource set may be reported to higher layers (of the UE). The UE may (randomly) select one or multiple valid/identified resources from the valid/identified resource set to perform sidelink transmission(s) from the UE. The sidelink transmission(s) from the UE may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission.”; Li; 0460)
(“The UE may trigger/request the partial sensing-based resource (re-)selection for the one or more (valid/identified) sidelink resources with a first reservation period value. [0497] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the first set of candidate slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0498] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots could be derived/determined based on the second slot and the configured set of period values for periodic-based partial sensing and the first reservation period value. For instance, if the sidelink resource pool (pre-)configures period values P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 for periodic resource reservation and if the sidelink resource pool configures period values P1, P2, P3 for periodic-based partial sensing and if the first reservation period value is P4, the set of exclusion slots may be slots m+P1, m+P2, m+P3, m+P4. [0499] In one embodiment, the first set of candidate slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the first set of candidate slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0500] In one embodiment, the set of exclusion slots may be a specific number of contiguous slots after the second slot. For instance, the set of exclusion slots may be slots [m+1, m+31]. [0501] In one embodiment, the specific number may be a specified value, e.g. 31. Preferably, the specific number may be (pre-)configured. The specific number may be derived/determined based on priority of the first sidelink data and/or remaining packet delay budget of the first sidelink data.”; Li; 0496-0501)
(“Moreover, for NR sidelink transmission, resource reservation for another TB by a SCI could be (pre-)configured with enabled or not enabled or not configured in a sidelink resource pool. When a sidelink resource pool is configured with enabled such reservation, the sidelink resource pool could be configured with a set of (reservation) period values. Possible (reservation) period could be 0, [1:99], 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, or 1000 ms. Resource reservation period field in a SCI in the sidelink resource pool could indicate which period value for (future) resource reservation. The size/number of the set of period values could be from 1 to 16.”; Li; 0461)
As to claim 33:
Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
However, Lee et al. further teaches a sl-ReselectAfter capability which includes:
wherein the first parameter is a parameter sl-ReselectAfter.
(“1> if sl-ReselectAfter is configured and the number of consecutive unused transmission opportunities on resources indicated in the configured sidelink grant is equal to sl-ReselectAfter; or”; Lee et al.; 0286)
(“2> trigger the TX resource (re-)selection.”; Lee et al.; 0291)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sl-ReselectAfter capability of Lee et al. into Li. By modifying the processing/communications of Le to include the trigger sl-ReselectAfter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Lee et al., the benefits of improved resource exclusion (Li; Abstract) with improved V2* communication (Lee et al.; 0005) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464