DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/14/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 8 and 20 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claim have overcome the claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed January 14, 2026. Thus, this objection is hereby withdrawn. The terminal disclaimer filed April 21, 2026 was disapproved.
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Maintained rejections and response to arguments as they currently apply are addressed below.
Claims 1-7, 9-19, and 21-26 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCTT/US2022/045737 filed October 5, 2022 and claims benefit of US provisional application 62/252,859 filed October 6, 2021.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action) in view of Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby anticipates the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26. Brunicardi teaches the composition can also comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, typically one selected to facilitate the oral delivery of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 3, lines 3-5). In illustrative embodiments of the invention, the composition is formed as a time release formulation and is disposed in a capsule or tablet (pg. 3, lines 5-6). In short, Brunicardi teaches the triple drug combination comprising metformin or a metformin analog, a statin such as simvastatin, and a cardiac glycoside such as digoxin can inhibit pancreatic cancer growth by inhibiting genes involving cell proliferation and energy metabolism, and the predominant drug in these effects are the statins (pg. 14, lines 11-15). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1).
Although Brunicardi teaches colon cancer as part of a genus of cancers that can be treated with the formulation, the express teaching relating BIRC5 suppression as a viable target for colon cancer (colorectal adenomas, pg. 45, table 4B), would yield a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in treating these cancer types. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (See MPEP 2123 (I)).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by Brunicardi to the treatment of colorectal cancer as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
Brunicardi does not teach wherein colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action) as applied to 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above Brunicardi, Bardou, and De Falco render obvious the methods of claims 1, 12, and 26. Brunicardi teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.). Additionally, Bardou teaches that 5-fluorouracil have been used in combination therapies with statins in both drug-sensitive and drug resistant cell lines (pgs. 1581-1582, bridging para.).
Brunicardi does not explicitly teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Brunicardi by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions comprising gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,909 (IDS filed March 20, 2024) in view of Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: The patented claims teach the following composition:
. Although the claims are directed towards a composition, the recitation of the intended uses, for treatment of cancer/inhibition of cancer cells, render obvious a method comprising administration of the composition for the treatment of cancer.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims do not teach a method for the treatment of the specific cancers recited by instant claims 1 and 12. The patented claims do not teach wherein the composition is effective to inhibit the expression of BIRC5 mRNA or activity in the cancer.
However, Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby renders obvious the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26.
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by the patented claims to the treatment of breast, colorectal, prostate cancer as taught by Brunicardi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
The method taught by the patented claims further differ in that they do not teach wherein the colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of the patented claims and Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,909 (IDS filed March 20, 2024) and Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above the patented claims and Brunicardi render obvious the method of claims 1 and 12. Brunicardi further teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.).
The method rendered obvious over the patented claims and prior art further differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims and prior art do not teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of the patented claims in view of the prior art by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,844 in view of Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: The patented claims teach the following method:
.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims do not teach a method for the treatment of the colorectal cancer.
However, Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby renders obvious the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26.
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by the patented claims to the treatment of breast, colorectal, prostate cancer as taught by Brunicardi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
The method taught by the patented claims further differ in that they do not teach wherein the colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of the patented claims and Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,844, Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1-7, 10, 12-19, 22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above the patented claims and Brunicardi render obvious the method of claims 1 and 12. Brunicardi further teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.).
The method rendered obvious over the patented claims and prior art further differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims and prior art do not teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of the patented claims in view of the prior art by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as they currently apply.
On page 7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the Office relies on improper hindsight to render the instant claims obvious (para. 3). Applicant argues the skilled artisan in possession of Brunicardi of Bardou and De Falco, could not, without undue experimentation make and use the invention as claimed (para. 3). Applicant argues that the suggestion to combine the references must not be derived by hindsight (para. 3). Applicant argues Brunicardi fails to teach the treatment of colorectal cancer, much less provide a reasonable expectation that the combination of three active agents, none of which are used for treating cancer, to have an effect on colorectal cancers that are microsatellite stable and have a G12D KRAS mutation (para. 4). Applicant argues that Bardou merely teaches that statins may have an effect on colorectal cancers, but not on a colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation (para. 4). De Falco merely teaches that two patients with colorectal cancer has mutations of KRAS at G12D need treatment for colorectal cancer, but does not teach or suggest using the claimed composition to treat a colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation (para. 4). On page 8 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success from the combination because, absent experimental evidence of the successful use of the combination claimed, there is no reasonable expectation of success (para. 1). Applicant argues that there is a low success rate for treating cancer in clinical trials, thus a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success (para. 1). Thus, Applicant argues that since there is no clinical evidence the combination would be successful, the prima facie case of obviousness fails (para.).
However, there is no requirement that there a be a demonstration that an obvious method be proven successful, so long as a person of ordinary skill would recognize a given method for a particular treatment with a reasonable expectation of success. In in the instant case, Brunicardi expressly suggests treatment of cancers generally with the claimed composition, and even suggests colo-rectal cancers can be treated. Brunicardi expressly teaches the administration of the claimed composition for the purpose of inhibiting BIRC5 expression in cancer cells. Brunicardi recognizes this target is enriched in the claimed cancer type colorectal adenomas (pg. 34, lines 16-24, pg. 36, table 4B). Thus, wherein the mode of action is known to be therapeutically beneficial, and these cancer types are targetable through this mode of action, the treatment method is enabled for the treatment of the other cancer types, such as the cancer types claimed by adopting the method of Brunicardi. A person of ordinary skill would be capable of applying the method of Brunicardi to the treatment of other cancers that are expressly taught in the reference, absent evidence that applying the method of Brunicardi to other types of cancers would not be seen as a viable treatment plan to a person of ordinary skill in the art. With respect to Applicant’s argument that Bardou solely teaches statins are beneficial in colorectal adenomas and does not account for the inclusion of digoxin or metformin, given that both Brunicardi and Bardou teach treatment of colorectal adenomas with compositions comprising statins, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the formulation of Brunicardi being beneficial to this patient population given that both Bardou and Brunicardi are directed towards cancer treatment with combination therapies. Additionally Brunicardi recognizes the synergistic effects of the three drugs the instant claims are directed to, and there is no teaching that the synergistic effect is cancer dependent (pg. 14, lines 11-19). Additionally, as discussed above, Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Furthermore, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5). Given that Brunicardi teaches the combination is effective in patients with G12D mutations in the KRAS gene, and De Falco discloses such patients with colorectal cancer exhibiting this gene that are microsatellite stable and are in need of treatment, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the method to colorectal patients with these properties, absent a showing of unexpected results.
On page 8 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues Jimenez-Fonseca does not cure the deficiencies described above (para. 5).
See response to arguments above.
On pages 9-10 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that the terminal disclaimer overcomes the double patenting rejections.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 103 and double patenting rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693