DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed December 29, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 12, and 26 have been amended and claims 8 and 20 have been cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments filed December 29, 2025 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Maintained/modified rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment and response to arguments as they currently apply are addressed below.
Claims 1-7, 9-19, and 21-26 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCTT/US2022/045737 filed October 5, 2022 and claims benefit of US provisional application 62/252,859 filed October 6, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a metformin”, which should read “metformin”, since metformin is a specific compound and not a class of compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action) in view of Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby anticipates the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26. Brunicardi teaches the composition can also comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, typically one selected to facilitate the oral delivery of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 3, lines 3-5). In illustrative embodiments of the invention, the composition is formed as a time release formulation and is disposed in a capsule or tablet (pg. 3, lines 5-6). In short, Brunicardi teaches the triple drug combination comprising metformin or a metformin analog, a statin such as simvastatin, and a cardiac glycoside such as digoxin can inhibit pancreatic cancer growth by inhibiting genes involving cell proliferation and energy metabolism, and the predominant drug in these effects are the statins (pg. 14, lines 11-15). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1).
Although Brunicardi teaches colon cancer as part of a genus of cancers that can be treated with the formulation, the express teaching relating BIRC5 suppression as a viable target for colon cancer (colorectal adenomas, pg. 45, table 4B), would yield a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in treating these cancer types. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (See MPEP 2123 (I)).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by Brunicardi to the treatment of colorectal cancer as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
Brunicardi does not teach wherein colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892) as applied to 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above Brunicardi, Bardou, and De Falco render obvious the methods of claims 1, 12, and 26. Brunicardi teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.). Additionally, Bardou teaches that 5-fluorouracil have been used in combination therapies with statins in both drug-sensitive and drug resistant cell lines (pgs. 1581-1582, bridging para.).
Brunicardi does not explicitly teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Brunicardi by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions comprising gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,909 (IDS filed March 20, 2024) in view of Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: The patented claims teach the following composition:
. Although the claims are directed towards a composition, the recitation of the intended uses, for treatment of cancer/inhibition of cancer cells, render obvious a method comprising administration of the composition for the treatment of cancer.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims do not teach a method for the treatment of the specific cancers recited by instant claims 1 and 12. The patented claims do not teach wherein the composition is effective to inhibit the expression of BIRC5 mRNA or activity in the cancer.
However, Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby renders obvious the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26.
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by the patented claims to the treatment of breast, colorectal, prostate cancer as taught by Brunicardi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
The method taught by the patented claims further differ in that they do not teach wherein the colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of the patented claims and Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,909 (IDS filed March 20, 2024) and Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above the patented claims and Brunicardi render obvious the method of claims 1 and 12. Brunicardi further teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.).
The method rendered obvious over the patented claims and prior art further differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims and prior art do not teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of the patented claims in view of the prior art by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,844 in view of Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-19, 21-22, 24, and 26: The patented claims teach the following method:
.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims do not teach a method for the treatment of the colorectal cancer.
However, Brunicardi teaches a method comprising contacting the cancer with a combination therapy that comprises: metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin (pg. 27, lines 16-22). Digoxin as a cardiac glycoside (pg. 17, lines 1-2) Typically, the composition comprises 5-80 milligrams po of simvastatin; 500-2550 milligrams po of metformin; and 0.125-0.250 milligrams po of digoxin (i.e. combined into one dose, pg. 17, lines 22-24). In one specific implementation, the composition is given orally once per day indefinitely (pg. 22, lines 4-5). In some embodiments, the methods can further comprise observing the population of human cells for evidence of growth inhibition and/or cell death (pg. 4, lines 10-12). Brunicardi teaches all 9 major types of cancers (i.e. breast cancer, brain cancer, colon cancer, gastric cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, renal cancer, prostate cancer) overexpress BIRC5 (pg. 23, lines 9-12). Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Thus, the triple drug combination described herein, which suppresses BIRC5 (a target of the three drug therapy), may be used as part of a therapy for all 9 major types of cancers (pg. 23, lines 12-14). Brunicardi analyzed mRNA expression of 9 major cancers and established BIRC5 as one of the network geneses that can be treated (suppressed mRNA) with the combination therapy (pg. 27, lines 11-16). Determination of treating patients that overexpress BIRC5 as an effective strategy thereby renders obvious the active step of determining overexpression as recited by instant claim 26.
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of treating pancreatic cancers as taught by the patented claims to the treatment of breast, colorectal, prostate cancer as taught by Brunicardi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as Brunicardi teaches the method is effective against cancers with elevated BIRC5 levels and suggests that the triple drug combination may be used as part of a therapy for these cancers.
The method taught by the patented claims further differ in that they do not teach wherein the colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS Mutation.
However, Bardou teaches statins have been shown to be effective against familial adenomatous polyposis in colorectal cancer (pg. 1574, col. 2, para. 4). Bardou teaches that combination therapies including simvastatin in metastatic colorectal cancer exhibited promising antitumor activity and statins generally can interfere with colorectal cancer by inhibiting the ability of cancer cells to metastasize (pg. 1581, col. 1, para. 2, pg. 1582, col. 1, paras. 1-3). Additionally, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of the patented claims and Brunicardi to the treatment colorectal cancer or metastatic colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation as taught by Bardou and De Falco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that combination therapies comprising statins are known in the art as effective treatments for these types of cancer and both Brunicardi suggest them to be viable treatment options for a G12D KRAS mutation, Bardou establishes statins are effective for colorectal cancers, and De Falco discloses that these patients exist and are in need of treatment.
Claims 11, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,844, Brunicardi (WO 2018/044369, cited in previous action), Bardou (Gut, 2010, cited in previous action), and De Falco (Diagnostics, 2021, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-7, 10, 12-19, 22, 24, and 26 above in view of Jimenez-Fonseca (Clin. Transl. Oncol., 2015, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 11, 23, and 25: As discussed above the patented claims and Brunicardi render obvious the method of claims 1 and 12. Brunicardi further teaches in addition to the triple drug combination of metformin, simvastatin, and digoxin, the composition/methods may further include therapeutic compounds/regimens commonly used in first-line and/or second-line treatments for pancreatic cancer (pg. 19, lines 25-28). In one or more embodiments, the composition further includes a gemcitabine (gemzar), 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), irinotecan (camptosar), oxaliplatin The method can further include (eloxatin), albumin-bound paclitaxel (abraxane), capecitabine (xeloda), cisplatin, paclitaxel (taxol), docetaxel (taxotere), irinotecan liposome (onivyde), or combinations thereof, including FOLFOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, oxaliplatin) and FOLFIRINOX (folinic acid, fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin) (pgs. 19-20, bridging para.).
The method rendered obvious over the patented claims and prior art further differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims and prior art do not teach that these additional therapeutics (gemcitabine/capecitabine) would be effective against other cancers, such as colorectal cancer.
However, Jimenez-Fonseca teaches a proportion of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) are still able to continue with active therapy after their progression to fluoropyrimidines, oxaliplatin, and irinotecan regimens (abstract). Studies suggest that gemcitabine and fluoropyrimidines are synergic antimetabolites (abstract). Gemcitabine-capecitabine is a tolerable and feasible regimen, associated with clinical benefit in non-selected, heavily pretreated, mCRC patients (abstract). Additionally, in vitro studies in CRC have demonstrated the synergy of gemcitabine with 5-FU, and phase I and phase II trials have evaluated doses, efficacy, and toxicity of this combination in patients with refractory tumors, especially in those with pancreatic and colorectal cancers (pg. 390, col. 2, para. 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of the patented claims in view of the prior art by including gemcitabine and/or capecitabine as suggested by Brunicardi and Jimenez-Fonseca for the purpose of treating colorectal cancer in a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given that compositions gemcitabine and capecitabine are effective in treating colorectal cancers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as they currently apply.
On page 7 of Applicant’s response (para. 3), Applicant argues that newly amended claims that include the limitation that specify that the colorectal cancer is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation overcomes the prior art rejections of Brunicardi, because Brunicardi is not an enabling cancer for any another cancer generally, and there is no specific teaching of treating these specific types of colorectal cancers. Applicant argues that Bardou is limited to teachings that certain statins “may” have an effect on certain colorectal cancers, and does not teach the treatment of the specific types of colorectal cancers claimed. Applicant argues that the prior art references fail to teach every limitation, namely a synergistic combination of the three components for the treatment of colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation. On page 8 of Applicant’s response (para. 2), Applicant argues that Jimenez-Fonseca does not remedy the same deficiencies described above.
However, see modified rejections over De Falco which address the new limitations Although the specific embodiments of Brunicardi are directed towards the treatment of pancreatic cancer, Brunicardi expressly teaches the administration of the claimed composition for the purpose of inhibiting BIRC5 expression in cancer cells. Brunicardi recognizes this target is enriched in the claimed cancer type colorectal adenomas (pg. 34, lines 16-24, pg. 36, table 4B). Thus, wherein the mode of action is known to be therapeutically beneficial, and these cancer types are targetable through this mode of action, the treatment method is enabled for the treatment of the other cancer types, such as the cancer types claimed by adopting the method of Brunicardi. A person of ordinary skill would be capable of applying the method of Brunicardi to the treatment of other cancers that are expressly taught in the reference, absent evidence that applying the method of Brunicardi to other types of cancers would not be seen as a viable treatment plan to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, the argument related to reduction to practice is not persuasive. With respect to Applicant’s argument that Bardou solely teaches statins are beneficial in colorectal adenomas and does not account for the inclusion of digoxin or metformin, given that both Brunicardi and Bardou teach treatment of colorectal adenomas with compositions comprising statins, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the formulation of Brunicardi being beneficial to this patient population given that both Bardou and Brunicardi are directed towards cancer treatment with combination therapies. Additionally Brunicardi recognizes the synergistic effects of the three drugs the instant claims are directed to, and there is no teaching that the synergistic effect is cancer dependent (pg. 14, lines 11-19). Additionally, as discussed above, Brunicardi teaches that such combination is also beneficial in reducing tumor size in pancreatic cancer mouse models that express mutant constitutively active KRAS G12D (pg. 30, lines 3-14, drawings pg. 2, figure 1). Furthermore, De Falco teaches colorectal cancer patients with G12D mutations in KRAS gene are known in the art and are in need of treatment (abstract). De Falco teaches these patients with this mutation were microsatellite stable (pg. 8, para. 5). Given that Brunicardi teaches the combination is effective in patients with G12D mutations in the KRAS gene, and De Falco discloses such patients with colorectal cancer exhibiting this gene that are microsatellite stable and are in need of treatment, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the method to colorectal patients with these properties, absent a showing of unexpected results.
On pages 8-9 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that the double patenting rejections are similarly overcome for failing to teach colorectal cancer that is microsatellite stable and has a G12D KRAS mutation.
See modified rejections over De Falco which address the new limitations and response to arguments above.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 103 and double patenting rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hermann (Gastroenterology, 2014, cited on PTO-892) teaches Metformin can prevent nicotine induced pancreatic carcinogenesis and tumor growth in KRAS G12D mice (abstract).
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693