POSITIVE ELECTRODE ACTIVE MATERIAL FOR NON-AQUEOUS ELECTROLYTE SECONDARY BATTERIES, AND NON-AQUEOUS ELECTROLYTE SECONDARY BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/20/2024, 9/25/2025, and 3/25/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimano et al. (US 2012/0244413 A1) and further in view of Ukumori et al. (JP 2018/129221 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shimano et al. teach a positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract), including a lithium-transition metal composite oxide having a layered structure and represented by the general formula LixNiaMnbAlcCodMeO2-y, wherein 0.95<x<1.05, 0.75≤a≤0.95, 0.05≤b≤0.25, 0≤c≤0.02, 0≤d<0.05, 0≤e≤0.03, 0≤y≤0.05, a+b+c=1 (Paragraph 0034 discloses a lithium mixed metal oxide with a layered rock salt-type crystal structure represented by the formula LiaMO2 wherein M is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of nickel, cobalt, and manganese, 0.9≤a≤1.3, M=Ni+Co+Mn=1.) and M represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Fe, Ti, Si, Nb, Mo, W, and Zr, wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide is of secondary particles formed by aggregation of primary particles (Paragraphs 0027; 0089), and a compound containing: at least one selected from the group consisting of Ca and Sr; and at least one selected from the group consisting of W, Mo, Ti, and Zr (Abstract; paragraph 0066 discloses addition of an inactive flux comprising a tungstate such as CaWO4.).
However, Shimano et al. do not specifically teach wherein the compound adheres to at least an interface between the primary particles inside the secondary particles.
Ukumori et al. teach a lithium transition metal oxide comprising Mn, Ni, and Co which has, on its particle surface, an alkaline earth metal and W (Abstract). Further, through an electron beam microanalyzer, one can observe the alkaline earth metals and W in the cross-section of the lithium transition metal composite oxide particles with concentrations of each being higher at the surface than at the center of the secondary particles. It is presumed that Ca and W form an equimolar compound CaWO4 at the surface (Paragraph 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shimano with Ukumori in order to enhance charge/discharge cycles.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shimano and Ukumori et al. teach the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Shimano et al. teach wherein a total amount of Ca and Sr in the compound is less than or equal to 2 mol% relative to a total molar amount of metal elements excluding Li in the lithium- transition metal composite oxide (Paragraph 0069 discloses CaWO4 is present in an amount of 1 part by weight or more per 100 parts by weight of the lithium transition metal composite oxide.).
The skilled artisan would recognize that with a molecular mass of 287.918 g/mol for CaWO4 and 97.2825 g/mol for LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2, 1 part by weight CaWO4 to every 100 parts by weight of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 would result in 0.003 mol CaWO4 for every 1.028 mol LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2. And, therefore, Shimano in view of Leng discloses wherein the content of element A (wherein A is Ca) in the compound CaWO4 is at least 0.29 mol% (which overlaps the claimed range of 3 mol% or less)2 relative to the total molar amount of elements excluding Li and O in the lithium transition metal composite oxide and the compound.
2 In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shimano and Ukumori et al. teach the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Shimano et al. teach wherein the compound is an oxide (Paragraph 0066 discloses CaWO4 which is an oxide.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shimano and Ukumori et al. teach the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Shimano et al. teach wherein a composition of the oxide is represented by the general formula AαBβOγ, wherein 1≤α≤2, 1≤β≤2, 3≤γ≤6, A represents at least one selected from the group consisting of Ca and Sr, and B represents at least one selected from the group consisting of W, Mo, Ti, and Zr (Paragraph 0066 discloses CaWO4 which overlaps with the limitation.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shimano and Ukumori et al. teach the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Shimano et al. teach a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 5 of copending Application No. 18/282,606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1-5 of the present application are disclosed and/or overlapped in claims 1, 2, and 5 of ‘606.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/730,957 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1-5 of the present application are disclosed and/or overlapped in claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 of ‘957.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/998,681 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1-5 of the present application are disclosed and/or overlapped in claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 of ‘681.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 10th, 2026