DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the clause(s) “wherein administering the effective amount…increases survival and/or leukemia-free…about 28, 30, 32, or 34 months”, “wherein administering the effective amount… increases survival and/or leukemia-free…by providing best supportive care alone”, and/or “wherein administering the effective amount… increases survival and/or leukemia-free…and/or provides the subject with…with a bi-allelic TP53 mutation”, claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. A “wherein” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04. In the instant case, the clause(s) simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (e.g., administering to the subject an effective amount of cedazuridine and an effective amount of decitabine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 88-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 88-89, the parenthetical phrase(s) “(e.g., 1, 2…or 5)”, “(e.g., 100 mg)”, and/or “(e.g., 35 mg)” render(s) the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia-Manero, Guillermo, et al. "A phase 2 dose-confirmation study of oral ASTX727, a combination of oral decitabine with a cytidine deaminase inhibitor (CDAi) cedazuridine (E7727), in subjects with myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS)." Blood 130 (2017): 4274 (Garcia-Manero).
Garcia-Manero discloses that the authors reported results of a Phase 1 dose escalation study showing that the combination of oral cedazuridine (CED), a CDAi, at 100 mg/d and oral DAC at 30 and 40 mg/d achieved 5-day decitabine AUC levels that were 85 and 144% respectively of the 5-day AUC of DAC at 20 mg/m2 administered as a one hour intravenous infusion dailyx5 (IV-DAC) (Abstract, Aims). (Garcia-Manero. Blood 2016 128:114). Garcia-Manero report here the results of a phase 2 pharmacokinetic (PK) study designed to confirm that the fixed dose combination of oral DAC (35 mg/d) and CED (100 mg/d) (ASTX727) is comparable to IV-DAC in term of DAC AUC exposure. Garcia-Manero teaches that adult patients with intermediate (Int) or high risk (HR) MDS or Chronic Myelomonocytic Leukemia (CMML) were enrolled in a cross-over Phase 2 study (Abstract, Methods). Patients were randomized 1:1 to receive in the first 28 day cycle, either 5 days of IV-DAC or 5 days of ASTX727, followed by a cross-over to the other in Cycle 2. Cycles 3 forward were with ASTX727. Garcia-Manero teaches that the median age of the patients was 69.7 yr (range 32-87) (Abstract, Results). The MDS-IPSS status of the patients was Int-1 in 20 (40%), Int-2 in 13 (26%) and HR in 8 (16%); 9 (18%) had CMML. The DAC AUC results from both IV-DAC and ASTX727 are presented in Table 1. Garcia-Manero teaches that clinical benefit was observed in 31 (62%) patients, with 8 (16%) CR, 14 (28%) mCR, and 9 (18%) HI.
Thus, Garcia-Manero teaches the administration of ASTX727 (e.g., a combination of oral decitabine (35 mg) and cedazuridine (100 mg)) to an instant subject in need thereof. Thus, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, and 52 are anticipated.
Claim(s) 88-89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia-Manero, Guillermo, et al. "A phase 2 dose-confirmation study of oral ASTX727, a combination of oral decitabine with a cytidine deaminase inhibitor (CDAi) cedazuridine (E7727), in subjects with myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS)." Blood 130 (2017): 4274 (Garcia-Manero) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, and 52 above.
Garcia-Manero discloses ASTX727 (e.g., a combination of oral decitabine (35 mg) and cedazuridine (100 mg)). Thus, claims 88-89 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55, 59, 61, and 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia-Manero, Guillermo, et al. "A phase 2 dose-confirmation study of oral ASTX727, a combination of oral decitabine with a cytidine deaminase inhibitor (CDAi) cedazuridine (E7727), in subjects with myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS)." Blood 130 (2017): 4274 (Garcia-Manero) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, and 52 above, and further in view of Chang, Chun‐Kang, et al. "TP53 mutations predict decitabine‐induced complete responses in patients with myelodysplastic syndromes." British Journal of Haematology 176.4 (2017): 600-608 (Chang).
Garcia-Manero differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Garcia-Manero does not explicitly teach a method wherein the subject has a TP53 mutation; however, this deficiency would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Chang.
In the instant case, the references may be combined to show obviousness because Garcia-Manero and Chang are each drawn to a composition comprising decitabine useful for the treatment of patients with myelodysplastic syndromes. They are from the same field of endeavor, and/or are reasonably pertinent to a method of treating MDS or CMML in a subject having a TP53 mutation.
Chang teaches, to identify the molecular signatures that predict responses to decitabine (DAC), they examined baseline gene mutations (28 target genes) in 109 myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) patients at diagnosis. Chang determined that TP53 mutations predicted complete response (CR), as 10 of 15 patients (66.7%) who possessed TP53 mutations achieved a CR. Chang teaches that TP53 mutations might predict decitabine-induced complete responses in patients with MDS. Chang teaches that DAC-induced responses may result from partial suppression of malignant clones containing mutated TP53 genes.
In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
It would have been obvious employ a method of Garcia-Manero to treat a subject having a TP53 mutation as Chang teaches that TP53 mutations predicted complete response (CR) in MDS patients. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Chang teaches that 66.7% of MDS patients who possessed TP53 mutations achieved a CR.
All of the instant limitations are taught by the combination of Garcia-Manero and Chang. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to combine the teachings of Garcia-Manero and Chang. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Garcia-Manero and Chang. Thus, claims 55, 59, 61, and 70 would have been obvious based on the preponderance of the evidence.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, 52, 55, 59, 61, 70, and 88-89 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 16, 19, 23, 25, 34, 37, 41, 43, 52, 55, 59, 61, 70, and 88-89 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/