DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 3/20/2024 in which claims 1-19 and 30 are presented for examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4.. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second time period” on line 9. There is no prior antecedence of the limitation in the claim. The claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
All claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of the above rejected claims from which they depend.
For complete examination purposes, the Examiner will broadly address all of the above rejected claims in light of the overall concept of Applicant’s invention. Appropriate corrections are therefore required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-14, 18-19 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ulupinar et al. (US 2016/0323800), (hereinafter, Ulupinar).
Regarding claim 1, Ulupinar discloses a method performed by a wireless device (= UT and a corresponding UE may be integral parts of a single physical device, such as a mobile telephone with an integral satellite transceiver, see [0058]) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising, receiving, from a network, a Conditional Handover (CHO) (= UT/mobile may need to be handed-off to another satellite; handoff may be caused by scheduled events or unscheduled event, see [0101-0106]), configuration including (1) information on candidate cells including a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell (= ephemeris data includes a geographic description of where a given satellite is at a given point in time; and transition table indicates Cell ID of each cell, see [0132]), and (2) information on a first time period associated with the NTN cell (= SNP may transmit a signaling message containing satellite ephemeris data to all connected UTs, see [0131]; SNP or some other entity may generate a satellite and cell transition table that provides a list of satellites to which a UT may choose to handoff next; transition table also may indicate exactly at what time the UT will switch over from one cell to the next satellite to another, see [0132]; SNP may define the table based on information regarding whether certain cells/beams and/or satellite are turned off at certain times, see [0133 and 0156]),
wherein the first time period starts at a first time point and terminates at a second time point (= UT is to tune to Satellite 1, Beam 1 from time a_1 to time b_1; and Satellite 2, Beam 1 from time a_2 to time b_2, see [0134]);
performing a CHO evaluation for the candidate cells during the first time period
(= UT 702 and the SNP 704 rely on the existing satellite and cell transition table to determine when to transition to the next cell/beam and/or satellite, see [0144]);
stopping the CHO evaluation for the NTN cell at the second time point (= at some point in time a handoff is triggered 712, see [0146]; other handoff triggers may be due to the current serving satellite moving out of range of the UT 702, see [0147 and 0160]);
performing cell selection, upon detecting radio link failure during the second time period, wherein the second time period starts at the second time point and terminates at a third time point (= cell/beam serving the UT 702 will be blacked-out due to GEO requirements, see [0147 and 0168]; if the signal strength is satisfactory, the UT 702 does nothing and waits for source NAC 706 to start the inter-satellite handoff process, see [0148]; source NAC 706 sends handoff signaling 720 (including new satellite and cell transition table) to the UT 702 that enables the UT 702 to communicate with the target NAC 716, see [0150]; and Handoff Activation Time and Handoff Activation Time plus a tune-away time, see [0141-0142]); and
performing a CHO to the NTN cell, based on that the NTN cell is selected by the cell selection (= UT 702 detaches 722 from the first satellite and synchronizes to the second satellite, see [0151]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises, performing cell selection, upon detecting radio link failure after the third time point; and performing re-establishment procedure to the NTN cell (see, [0168-69]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises, performing re-establishment procedure to the NTN cell, based on that the NTN cell is not selected by the cell selection (see, [0168-69]).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the CHO configuration includes a CHO triggering condition for each of the candidate cells (see, [0154 and 0156]).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 7, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the CHO triggering condition for the NTN cell is satisfied based on that (1) measured cell quality of the NTN cell is equal to or greater than a threshold and (2) a current time point is within the first time period (see, [0154 and 0156]).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 7, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises, stopping to evaluate whether the CHO triggering condition for the NTN cell is satisfied, after the second time point (see, [0168]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method wherein the CHO evaluation is performed based on measurements on the candidate cells (see, [0154, 0156 and 0159]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method wherein the cell selection is performed based on the CHO evaluation performed during the first time period (see, [0154 and 0156]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the method, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (see, [0154 and 0156]).
Regarding claim 14, Ulupinar disclose a wireless device (= UT and a corresponding UE may be integral parts of a single physical device, such as a mobile telephone with an integral satellite transceiver, see [0058]) in a wireless communication system comprising:
a transceiver (= antenna 504); a memory (= memory 516); and at least one processor (= processor 512, see Fig. 5) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to:
control the transceiver to receive, from a network, a Conditional Handover (CHO) (= UT/mobile may need to be handed-off ton another satellite; handoff may be caused by scheduled events or unscheduled event, see [0101-0106]) configuration including (1) information on candidate cells including a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell (= ephemeris data includes a geographic description of where a given satellite is at a given point in time; and transition table indicates Cell ID of each cell, see [0132]), and (2) information on a first time period associated with the NTN cell (= SNP may transmit a signaling message containing satellite ephemeris data to all connected UTs, see [0131]; SNP or some other entity may generate a satellite and cell transition table that provides a list of satellites to which a UT may choose to handoff next; transition table also may indicate exactly at what time the UT will switch over from one cell to the next satellite to another, see [0132]; SNP may define the table based on information regarding whether certain cells/beams and/or satellite are turned off at certain times, see [0133 and 0156]),
wherein the first time period starts at a first time point and terminates at a second time point (= UT is to tune to Satellite 1, Beam 1 from time a_1 to time b_1; and Satellite 2, Beam 1 from time a_2 to time b_2, see [0134]);
perform a CHO evaluation for the candidate cells during the first time period(= UT 702 and the SNP 704 rely on the existing satellite and cell transition table to determine when to transition to the next cell/beam and/or satellite, see [0144]);
stop the CHO evaluation for the NTN cell at the second time point (= at some point in time a handoff is triggered 712, see [0146]; other handoff triggers may be due to the current serving satellite moving out of range of the UT 702, see [0147 and 0160]);
perform cell selection, upon detecting radio link failure during the second time period, wherein the second time period starts at the second time point and terminates at a third time point (= cell/beam serving the UT 702 will be blacked-out due to GEO requirements, see [0147 and 0168]; if the signal strength is satisfactory, the UT 702 does nothing and waits for source NAC 706 to start the inter-satellite handoff process, see [0148]; source NAC 706 sends handoff signaling 720 (including new satellite and cell transition table) to the UT 702 that enables the UT 702 to communicate with the target NAC 716, see [0150]; and Handoff Activation Time and Handoff Activation Time plus a tune-away time, see [0141-0142]); and
perform a CHO to the NTN cell, based on that the NTN cell is selected by the cell selection (= UT 702 detaches 722 from the first satellite and synchronizes to the second satellite, see [0151]).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 14, Ulupinar discloses the wireless device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, perform cell selection, upon detecting radio link failure after the third time point; and perform re-establishment procedure to the NTN cell (see, [0168-69]).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 14, Ulupinar discloses the wireless device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, perform re-establishment procedure to the NTN cell, based on that the NTN cell is not selected by the cell selection (see, [0168-69]).
Regarding claim 30, Ulupinar discloses a base station (= ground station/SNP 250, see [0060 and 0345]) in a wireless communication system comprising:
a transceiver (= antennas 205); a memory (= memory device 234, see [0079]); and a processor (= processor 228) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to:
control the transceiver to transmit, to a wireless device, a Conditional Handover (CHO) configuration including (1) information on candidate cells including a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell (= SNP may generate a satellite and cell transition table, see [0132]; and sent the table to the UT it is serving, see [0135])
(2) information on a first time period as a CHO triggering condition to the NTN cell (= SNP may transmit a signaling message containing satellite ephemeris data to all connected UTs, see [0131]; SNP or some other entity may generate a satellite and cell transition table that provides a list of satellites to which a UT may choose to handoff next; transition table also may indicate exactly at what time the UT will switch over from one cell to the next satellite to another, see [0132]; SNP may define the table based on information regarding whether certain cells/beams and/or satellite are turned off at certain times, see [0133 and 0156]), and
(3) information on a second time period for performing a CHO to the NTN cell as a radio link failure recovery (= NAC 806 sends handoff signaling 826 to the UT 802; handoff signaling may include a new satellite and cell transition table, see [0162]; and if the UT loses the current serving cell/beam before the expiration of the specific time in the satellite and cell transition table, the UT enters into radio link failure mode, see [0168]), wherein the first time period starts at a first time point and terminates at a second time point (= UT is to tune to Satellite 1, Beam 1 from time a_1 to time b_1; and Satellite 2, Beam 1 from time a_2 to time b_2, see [0134]) and
the second time period starts at the second time point and terminates a third time point (= UT is to tune to Satellite 1, Beam 1 from time a_1 to time b_1; and Satellite 2, Beam 1 from time a_2 to time b_2, see [0134-135]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ulupinar in view of Xu et al., (US 2021/0051534), (hereinafter, Xu).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein method further comprises, keeping the information on the cell after the second time point, without discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the method, wherein method further comprises, keeping the information on the cell after the second time point, without discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration
(= wireless device 506 may retain the conditional handover information received from the first cellular base station 502, see [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 2, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises, discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration, at the third time point.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises, discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration, at the third time point (= discarding/cancelling conditional handover information, see [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 3, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration comprises, discarding a cell identifier (ID) for the cell and a corresponding configuration for the cell.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the method, wherein the discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration comprises, discarding a cell identifier (ID) for the cell and a corresponding configuration for the cell (= discarding/cancelling conditional handover information, see [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 7, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises, discarding the CHO triggering condition for the cell at the second time point.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises, discarding the CHO triggering condition for the cell at the second time point (= discarding/cancelling conditional handover information, see [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 14, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, keep the information on the cell after the second time point, without discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, keep the information on the cell after the second time point, without discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration (= wireless device 506 may retain the conditional handover information received from the first cellular base station 502, see [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 15, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, discard the information on the cell from the CHO configuration, at the third time point.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, discard the information on the cell from the CHO configuration, at the third time point
(= discarding/cancelling conditional handover information, see [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 16, Ulupinar discloses the NTN cell (see, see [0056]); but explicitly fails to disclose the wireless device, wherein the discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration comprises, discarding a cell identifier (ID) for the cell and a corresponding configuration for the cell.
However, Xu, which is an analogous art, equivalently disclose the wireless device, wherein the discarding the information on the cell from the CHO configuration comprises, discarding a cell identifier (ID) for the cell and a corresponding configuration for the cell (= discarding/cancelling conditional handover information, see [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xu with Ulupinar for the benefit of achieving a conditional handoff communication system where handover condition information received by the mobile device could be retained and reuse if similar handoff conditions are met.
CONCLUSION
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Roy et al., (US 2020/0314914) teaches broadcast and group-based handover in NR-based LEO-NTN.
b. Mangalvedhe et al., (US 2020/0107237) teaches method and apparatus for deploying a moving base station for internet of things application.
c. Dou et al., (US 2021/0235416) teaches tracking area update and paging method for non-terrestrial satellite networks.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.