DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 7, recites “the cumulative integrated value”. The claim should instead read “the cumulative integral value”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A polyarylene sulfide resin composition comprising:
100 parts by weight of (A) a polyarylene sulfide;
10 to 100 parts by weight of (B) a glass fiber; and
1 to 20 parts by weight of (C) an olefin elastomer,
wherein, when a cumulative integral value from a molecular weight of 100 to a molecular weight of 10,000 in a molecular weight distribution curve of (A) the polyarylene sulfide is taken as 100, the cumulative integrated value at a molecular weight of 4,000 is 48 to 53, and
when a melt flow rate of (A) the polyarylene sulfide is defined as MFR1, and when the melt flow rate obtained after mixing (A) the polyarylene sulfide with an epoxy silane coupling agent at a weight ratio of 100:1, and heating the resulting mixture at 315.5°C for 5 minutes is defined as MFR2, a rate of change represented by MFR2/MFR1 is not more than 0.085.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishio et al. (JP 2017155065 as listed on IDS dated March 20, 2024).
The examiner refers to the English translation of Ishio et al. provided by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 9, Ishio et al. disclose in Example 3 a composition comprising 100 parts by weight of polyphenylene sulfide (another name for polyarylene sulfide), 48 parts by weight glass fiber, and a total of 8 parts by weight of olefin copolymers (see Table 1, [0137-0139]), thereby lying within the claimed ranges of (A), (B), and (C).
Ishio et al. is silent on the cumulative integral value and the melt flow rate of the polyarylene sulfide in the composition of Example 3 as recited in the instant claim.
However, the properties of the polymer are dependent on the structure and the process to synthesize the polymer. Ishio et al. teach the polyarylene sulfide of PPS-2 is synthesized in a substantially identical process [0114-0117] as the process used in the instant specification (see Instant Specification [0140-0151]. Thus, the resulting polyarylene sulfide should likewise be substantially identical to the claimed copolymer. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Ishio et al. do not disclose Example 3 comprises an organic silane coupling agent in the amounts as recited in the instant claim.
However, Ishio et al. broadly teach the composition may comprise an organic silane coupling agent having at least one functional group selected from an amino group among others [0097], thereby reading on the organic silane coupling agent of instant claim 10 and 11. Ishio et al. further teach the amount of organic silane coupling agent is 0.05 to 3 parts by weight of (A) the polyarylene sulfide [0097], thereby overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Ishio et al.
Regarding claim 12, Ishio et al. disclose the polyarylene sulfide in the composition of Example 3 is subjected to a thermal oxidation crosslinking treatment [0137], thereby reading on the recited polyarylene sulfide has a crosslinked structure.
Regarding claim 13, Ishio et al. is silent on the amount of resulting residue of the polyarylene sulfide in the composition of Example 3 as recited in the instant claim.
However, Ishio et al. broadly teach the polyarylene sulfide obtained by the production was dissolved in 20-fold amount of 1-chloronapthalene at 250°C for 5 minutes and filtered under hot pressure filtration through PTFE membrane filter having a pore size of 1 µm or less has an amount of residue of 4.0% by weight or less [0022], thereby reading on the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Ishio et al.
Regarding claim 14, Ishio et al. disclose the composition of Example 3 is used to form an injection molded article [0146], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Ishio et al. is silent on if the composition of Example 3 is used to form a molded article that is a fluid piping part or any water plumbing part as recited in the instant claim 15 and 16 respectively.
However, Ishio et al. broadly teach the composition can be applied to plumbing parts such as a water heat part, water faucet parts and mixing faucets, pipes among others [0102-0106], thereby reading on the fluid piping part of instant claim 15 and the water plumbing part that is water heater-related parts or pump-related parts of instant claim 16. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the polyarylene sulfide composition of Ishio et al. to form a fluid piping part and a water heater-related parts or pump-related parts as broadly taught by Ishio et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-10 and 12-15 of copending Application No. 18693939 in view of Ishio et al. (JP 2017155065) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are related to composition comprising amounts of polyarylene sulfide and an organic silane coupling agent wherein the polyarylene sulfide has a cumulative integral value and a melt flow rate as recited in the instant claims.
‘743 and ‘939 differ in that ‘939 does not comprise a glass fiber and olefin elastomer.
Ishio et al. disclose a polyarylene composition comprising 10 to 100 parts by weight of a fibrous filler that is glass and 4-15 parts by weight of an olefin elastomer (claim 4). Ishio et al. offer the motivation that adding glass fibers improves mechanical strength and adding the olefin elastomer improves toughness and moldability [0089-0091]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the glass fibers and olefin elastomer in the amounts as taught by Ishio et al. with reasonable expectation that the mechanical strength, toughness, and moldability would improve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10, 12-15, and 20-21 of copending Application No. 18693187 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are related to composition comprising amounts of polyarylene sulfide and a glass fiber wherein the polyarylene sulfide has a cumulative integral value and a melt flow rate as recited in the instant claims. ‘743 and ‘187 differ in that ‘187 does not comprise an olefin elastomer.
Ishio et al. disclose a polyarylene sulfide composition comprising and 4-15 parts by weight of an olefin elastomer (claim 1). Ishio et al. offer the motivation that adding the olefin elastomer improves toughness and moldability [0090-0091]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the glass fibers and olefin elastomer in the amounts as taught by Ishio et al. with reasonable expectation that the toughness and moldability would improve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9, 11-16 of copending Application No. 18693775 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are related to overlapping amounts of polyarylene sulfide and an organic silane coupling. ‘743 and ‘775 differ in that ‘775 does not comprise an olefin elastomer.
Ishio et al. disclose a polyarylene sulfide composition comprising and 4-15 parts by weight of an olefin elastomer (claim 1). Ishio et al. offer the motivation that adding the olefin elastomer improves toughness and moldability [0090-0091]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the glass fibers and olefin elastomer in the amounts as taught by Ishio et al. with reasonable expectation that the toughness and moldability would improve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763 /JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763