DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113394304A – cited on 03/20/2024 IDS, hereinafter referred to as CN ‘ 304, see machine translation cited on 09/11/2025 PTO-892.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘304 discloses a back-contact cell ([n0001]) comprising: a substrate, wherein the substrate has a first surface and a second surface facing to each other (10 in Fig. 3), on the first surface, there are a first doping region and a second doping region arranged in a staggered way ([n0058]; 21 and 22 in Fig. 3; it is noted that with regard to the limitation “region,” any portion of the disclosed structure which satisfies the limitations “first doping” and “second doping,” respectively, satisfies the limitation; respective regions are shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), an overlapping region (shown in annotated Fig. 3 below) and a third region that are located between the first doping region and the second doping region (shown in annotated Fig.3 below), the overlapping region is close to the first doping region (shown in annotated Fig. 3 below); a first doping layer formed on the first doping region and the overlapping region (layer in Fig. 3 corresponding to 213 in Fig. 1; shown in annotated Fig. 3 below); a second doping layer formed on the first doping layer (layer in 21 of Fig. 3 corresponding to 232 in Fig. 1; shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the second doping layer is only located at an upper portion of the overlapping region (shown in annotated Fig. 3 below; it is noted that the limitation “upper” is dependent on the spatial orientation of the device), and a conductive type of the first doping layer is opposite to the conductive type of the second doping layer ([n0066]); a third doping layer formed on the second doping region (213 of Fig. 1 in 22 of Fig. 3; shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein a conductive type of the third doping layer is opposite to the conductive type of the first doping layer ([n0066]); and a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode is electrically contacted with the first doping layer (40 in Fig. 3), and the second electrode is electrically contacted with the third doping layer (50 in Fig. 3).
CN ‘304 further discloses the back-contact cell further comprises a first protecting layer (60 in Fig. 3) that is located at the upper portion of the overlapping region (60 extends to an upper portion of the overlapping region annotated in Fig. 3 below; it is noted that the limitation “upper” is dependent on the spatial orientation of the device) and located between the first doping layer and the second doping layer (60 at the upper portion of the overlapping region in annotated Fig. 3 below is between the first and second doping layers).
CN ‘304 further discloses the back-contact cell further comprises a first interface passivation layer located between the substrate and the first doping layer (shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), a second interface passivation layer located between the second doping layer and the first protecting layer (layer between outer 60 ([n0095] discloses 60 is a multi-layer structure) and second doping layer shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), and a third interface passivation layer located between the substrate and the third doping layer (shown in annotated Fig. 3 below).
It is noted that with regard to the limitation “the second interface passivation layer and the third interface passivation layer are formed in a same step,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the product is made, and said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘304 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. CN ‘304 further discloses the first protecting layer comprises a dielectric layer ([n0094]).
Regarding claim 5, CN ‘304 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein a surface of the third region has a textured surface,” a surface of a region (or any portion of a surface) in which 24 in Fig. 3 of CN ‘304 is located is necessarily textured because all surfaces contain texture at least to a degree; it is noted that the limitation “textured” does not specify an amount of degree of texture; it is further noted that the limitation “textured” is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is made, and recitations directed to the manner in which a device is made are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Regarding claim 8, CN ‘304 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. CN ‘304 further discloses the substrate is an n-type substrate ([n0064]), the first doping layer is a p-type doping layer ([n0058]; doping region 21), the second doping layer and the third doping layer are n-type doping layers ([n0058],[n0061] disclose 232 has the same polarity as doping area 22).
Regarding claim 9, CN ‘304 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. CN ‘304 further discloses the back-contact cell further comprises a first surface passivation layer covering the first doping layer, the second doping layer, the third doping layer and the third region (60 in annotated Fig. 3 below; it is noted that the limitation “cover” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); and a contacting surface of the first surface passivation layer and the first doping layer has a first opening, the first electrode is electrically contacted with the first doping layer through the first opening (40 and the first doping layer in annotated Fig. 3 below are electrically contacted through opening in 60); and a contacting surface of the first surface passivation layer and the third doping layer has a second opening, the second electrode is electrically contacted with the third doping layer through the second opening (50 and the third doping layer in annotated Fig. 3 below are electrically contacted through opening in 60).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (first doping region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (overlapping region)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second doping region)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (third region)][AltContent: textbox (third interface passivation layer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (third doping layer)][AltContent: textbox (second doping layer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first interface passivation layer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first doping layer)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113394304A – cited on 03/20/2024 IDS, see machine translation cited on 09/11/2025 PTO-892, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Moslehi et al. (WO2014127067A1).
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘304 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. While CN ‘304 does disclose the first protecting layer comprises one or more
combinations of aluminum oxide layers, silicon nitride layers, silicon oxynitride layer, silicon carbide layers, amorphous silicon layer and silicon oxide layers ([n0038]); CN ‘304 does not explicitly disclose the first protecting layer comprises one of a boron-silicon glass layer and a phosphorous silicon glass layer.
Moslehi discloses a back-contact cell (abstract) and further discloses backside dielectric compositions may consist of doped or undoped silicon-oxide glasses such as boron-silicate glass (BSG), phosphorus-silicate glass (PSG) or undoped-silicate glass (USG) or of other dielectrics such as aluminum oxide or silicon nitride, doped or undoped, or a combination thereof ([0276]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the dielectric layer of the first protecting layer of CN ‘304 with a boron-silicon glass layer or a phosphorous silicon glass layer, because as evidenced by Moslehi, the use of either a boron-silicon glass layer or a phosphorous silicon glass layer as a dielectric layer in a back-contact solar cell amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the dielectric layer of the first protection layer of CN ‘304 of a boron-silicon glass layer or a phosphorous silicon glass layer based on the teaching of Moslehi.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113394304A – cited on 03/20/2024 IDS, see machine translation cited on 09/11/2025 PTO-892, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, CN ‘034 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein an area of the first doping layer located on the overlapping region accounts for 5% - 95% of an area of entire first doping layer,” claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, requires an overlapping region between the first and second doping regions, and the overlapping region is close to the first doping region, however, the claims do not define a material or structural boundary which defines the limits of the recited regions, therefore, any portion of the area between portions which are doped satisfy the limitation “overlapping region.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first doping layer such that an area which accounts for 5% - 95% of an area of the entire first doping layer is located on the overlapping region in CN ‘034, because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘034 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein an area of the first doping layer located on the overlapping region accounts for 40% - 75% of an area of entire first doping layer,” claim 1, from which claim 11 depends, requires an overlapping region between the first and second doping regions, and the overlapping region is close to the first doping region, however, the claims do not define a material or structural boundary which defines the limits of the recited regions, therefore, any portion of the area between portions which are doped satisfy the limitation “overlapping region.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first doping layer such that an area which accounts for 40% - 75% of an area of the entire first doping layer is located on the overlapping region in CN ‘034, because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that CN ‘304 does not explicitly disclose the second interface passivation layer and the third interface passivation layer are formed in a same step. In response to Applicant’s argument, as set forth in the office action, the limitation is directed to the manner in which the product is made, and said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Applicant has not provided evidence that the limitation “the second interface
passivation layer and the third interface passivation layer are formed in a same step” results in a structure which differs from that disclosed by CN ‘034 in which the second interface passivation layer is located between the second doping layer and the first protecting layer (second interface passivation layer between outer 60 ([n0095] discloses 60 is a multi-layer structure) and second doping layer shown in annotated Fig. 3 above), and a third interface passivation layer located between the substrate and the third doping layer (shown in annotated Fig. 3 above).
It is noted that the claim amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections
set forth in the previous office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726