Claims 1, and 4-10 are pending in the application with claims 2 and 3 being canceled. Claims 1, and 4-10 are rejected.
The 112, second paragraph, rejection has been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response.
The rejections over Hebrink alone, and further in view of Dai have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0355567 to Hebrink et al. (hereinafter “Hebrink”).
Hebrink discloses a composite cooling film comprising a reflective microporous layer, an antisoiling layer on the reflective microporous layer (paragraph 57). The composite cooling film is disposed on the exterior of at least part of a building or a heat transfer system (paragraph 57). The exterior of at least part of the building or the heat transfer system reads on the claimed substrate.
The reflective microporous layer includes a solvent induced phase separated material (paragraph 47). The reflective microporous layer thus includes a solvent. The reflective microporous layer is comprised of a polymer, ceramic fine particles, and a solvent (paragraphs 47, 57 and 58). The ceramic fine particles are thus rendered hydrophilic or hydrophobic depending on the solvent. The ceramic fine particles nucleate pores during the stretching process; therefore, the pores are formed surrounding the ceramic fine particles resulting in the complexes of the ceramic fine particles and the pores (paragraph 58). The complexes provide interfaces between the ceramic fine particles and the polymer, between the ceramic fine particles and the pores, and between the pores and the polymer.
The complexes enhance reflection of incident sunlight and absorbent in the atmospheric window of 8-13 microns (paragraph 57).
The reflective microporous layer has an average reflectance of at least 99.5% over a wavelength in the range from 400 to 700 nm (paragraph 62). The reflective microporous layer emits thermal radiation over a wavelength in the range from 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 43).
The reflective microporous layer has pores with an average pore size of 0.1 to 3 microns, and a porosity of 10 to 90% (paragraphs 44 and 45). The porosity overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the porosity will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the porosity is critical or provides unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the porosity of the reflective microporous layer disclosed in Hebrink in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to optimize sunlight reflectivity performance and infrared emissivity in the wavelength range of 8-13 µm.
Hebrink does not explicitly disclose that when the porosity of the reflective microporous layer increases, at least one of a thickness of the reflective microporous layer and a content of the ceramic fine particles is reduced.
However, it appears that the reflective microporous layer is structurally and compositionally the same as the claimed paint film layer. The reflective microporous layer is comprised of a polymer, ceramic fine particles, and a solvent (paragraphs 47, 57 and 58). The ceramic fine particles are thus rendered hydrophilic or hydrophobic depending on the solvent. The ceramic fine particles nucleate pores during the stretching process; therefore, the pores are formed surrounding the ceramic fine particles resulting in the complexes of the ceramic fine particles and the pores (paragraph 58). The complexes provide interfaces between the ceramic fine particles and the polymer, between the ceramic fine particles and the pores, and between the pores and the polymer. The complexes enhance reflection of incident sunlight and absorbent in the atmospheric window of 8-13 microns (paragraph 57). The reflective microporous layer has an average reflectance of at least 99.5% over a wavelength in the range from 400 to 700 nm (paragraph 62). The reflective microporous layer emits thermal radiation over a wavelength in the range from 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 43). The reflective microporous layer has pores with an average pore size of 0.1 to 3 microns, and a porosity of 10 to 90% (paragraphs 44 and 45).
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that as the porosity of the reflective microporous layer increases, at least one of a thickness of the reflective microporous layer and a content of the ceramic fine particles would inherently be reduced as like material has like property.
As to claim 4, the ceramic fine particles comprise at least one of titania, silica, alumina, aluminum silicate, zirconia, calcium carbonate, barium sulfate (paragraph 58). The reflective microporous layer further includes an incompatible polymer particle such as a fluoropolymer particle (paragraph 58). The pores are formed around the incompatible polymer particle during the stretching process (paragraph 58). Hebrink further mentions that the reflective microporous layer comprises a fluoropolymer as a continuous phase wherein the fluoropolymer can be ECTFE, PVDF, or copolymer of tetra fluoroethylene, hexafluoropropylene and vinylidene fluoride (paragraph 59). Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that the fluoropolymer present in the incompatible polymer particle can include ECTFE, PVDF, or a copolymer of tetra fluoroethylene, hexafluoropropylene and vinylidene fluoride, as these polymers are recognized as types of fluoropolymers.
As to claim 5, the reflective microporous layer has pores with an average pore size of 0.1 to 3 microns, and a porosity of 10 to 90% (paragraphs 44 and 45). The ceramic fine particle has an average particle size of 0.005 nm to 1 µm (paragraph 58). This overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the particle size of the ceramic fine patricles will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the particle size is critical or provides unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fine ceramic particles from Hebrink having a particle size in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to optimize sunlight reflectivity performance and infrared emissivity in the wavelength range of 8-13 µm.
As to claim 6, the ceramic fine particles are selected for providing high solar reflectance and high absorbance in the wavelength range of 8-13 µm (paragraph 57). Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the ceramic fine particles would inherently be selected considering a reflective index and extinction coefficient for incident sunlight and an extinction coefficient for long-wavelength infrared light.
As to claim 7, the polymer resin comprises a fluoropolymer resin (paragraph 58).
As to claim 8, the reflective microporous layer is consisting of at least 49 wt% of ceramic fine particles and at most 51 wt% of a polymer resin (paragraph 58). The weight ratio of the ceramic fine particles to the polymer resin overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the weight ratio of the ceramic fine particles to the polymer resin will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the weight ratio of the ceramic fine particles to the polymer resin is critical or provides unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the weight ratio of the ceramic fine particles to the polymer resin from Hebrink in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to optimize sunlight reflectivity performance and infrared emissivity in the wavelength range of 8-13 µm.
As to claim 9, the reflective microporous layer has a thickness of 10 to 200 microns within the claimed range (paragraph 45).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hebrink as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2021/0131708 to Dai et al. (hereinafter “Dai”).
Hebrink does not explicitly disclose the reflective microporous layer comprising at least one additive of a conditioning agent and a photo-initiator to improve workability.
Dai, however, discloses a smart sub-ambient radiative cooling (SSRC) composition comprising TiO2 particles; inorganic particles including silica, calcium carbonate, silica carbide, alumina, zinc oxide or mixtures thereof; fluorescent pigment particles and a polymer (abstract). The SSRC composition has an infrared emissivity of greater than 0.9 between 3 to 16 µm (paragraph 8). The SSRC composition achieves 7oC cooling on a scale-model building during noon hours and demonstrates exceptional weather resistance (paragraph 31). The SSRC composition further includes at least one additive selected from a wetting agent, a dispersant agent and a rheology modifier (paragraph 69). The rheology modifier reads on the claimed conditioning agent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a rheology modifier disclosed in Dai in the reflective microporous layer of Hebrink, motivated by the desire to promote processing and handling of the material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Hebrink fails to teach that the paint film layer comprises pores such that a porosity of the paint film layer is 3 to 50%, wherein the paint film layer comprises the ceramic fine particle that are rendered hydrophilic or hydrophobic or depending on the solvent, and are uniformly mixed with the polymer binder such that the pores are formed on surfaces of the ceramic fine particles to form complexes of the ceramic fine particles and the pores, wherein the complexes provide interfaces between the ceramic fine particles and the polymer binder, between the ceramic fine particles and the pores, and between the pores and the polymer binder, and wherein as the porosity of the paint film layer increases, at least one of the thickness of the paint film layer and the content of the ceramic fine particles is reduced.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, the reflective microporous layer is comprised of a polymer, ceramic fine particles, and a solvent (paragraphs 47, 57 and 58). The ceramic fine particles are thus rendered hydrophilic or hydrophobic depending on the solvent. The ceramic fine particles nucleate pores during the stretching process; therefore, the pores are formed surrounding the ceramic fine particles resulting in the complexes of the ceramic fine particles and the pores (paragraph 58). The complexes provide interfaces between the ceramic fine particles and the polymer, between the ceramic fine particles and the pores, and between the pores and the polymer.
The complexes enhance reflection of incident sunlight and absorbent in the atmospheric window of 8-13 microns (paragraph 57).
The reflective microporous layer has an average reflectance of at least 99.5% over a wavelength in the range from 400 to 700 nm (paragraph 62). The reflective microporous layer emits thermal radiation over a wavelength in the range from 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 43).
The reflective microporous layer has pores with an average pore size of 0.1 to 3 microns, and a porosity of 10 to 90% (paragraphs 44 and 45). The porosity overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the porosity will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the porosity is critical or provides unexpected results.
Hebrink does not explicitly disclose that when the porosity of the reflective microporous layer increases, at least one of a thickness of the reflective microporous layer and a content of the ceramic fine particles is reduced.
However, it appears that the reflective microporous layer is structurally and compositionally the same as the claimed paint film layer. The reflective microporous layer is comprised of a polymer, ceramic fine particles, and a solvent (paragraphs 47, 57 and 58). The ceramic fine particles are thus rendered hydrophilic or hydrophobic depending on the solvent. The ceramic fine particles nucleate pores during the stretching process; therefore, the pores are formed surrounding the ceramic fine particles resulting in the complexes of the ceramic fine particles and the pores (paragraph 58). The complexes provide interfaces between the ceramic fine particles and the polymer, between the ceramic fine particles and the pores, and between the pores and the polymer.
The complexes enhance reflection of incident sunlight and absorbent in the atmospheric window of 8-13 microns (paragraph 57).
The reflective microporous layer has an average reflectance of at least 99.5% over a wavelength in the range from 400 to 700 nm (paragraph 62). The reflective microporous layer emits thermal radiation over a wavelength in the range from 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 43).
The reflective microporous layer has pores with an average pore size of 0.1 to 3 microns, and a porosity of 10 to 90% (paragraphs 44 and 45). The porosity overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that as the porosity of the reflective microporous layer increases, at least one of a thickness of the reflective microporous layer and a content of the ceramic fine particles would inherently be reduced as like material has like property.
Accordingly, the rejections over Hebrink alone, and in combination with Dai have been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788