DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the application filed on 03/20/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending and herein considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of oath/declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/20/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/20/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. U.S (2023/0043459) in view of Ljung et al. (WO-2014177186-A1).
For claim 1:
Shrestha discloses a wireless terminal which communicates over a radio interface with a radio access network (see Shrestha, at least Figure 11; network entity (e.g., the base station 102, NTN 140, EPC 160, and/or 5GC 190) may determine that a UE is or will be in an out-of-coverage state with a NTN), the wireless terminal comprising: a power saving timer configured to establish duration of one or more operational modes of the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0105]; the UE to enter a power saving state without wasting attempts to reestablish a connection with the network entity. In aspects, the signaling may further indicate a cause of the release as out-of-coverage, a start offset to a paging monitoring timer (e.g., a paging time window for DRX or a reachable timer for PSM) of a power saving state, or when to expect to be in an in-coverage state. For certain aspects, the network entity may receive a request from the UE to release the connection between the UE and the network entity, for example, due to the upcoming coverage gap of the NTN), each operational mode being associated with a respective power utilization level by the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0106]);
receiver circuitry configured to receive, via the radio access network and from a core network node, a timer value for the power saving timer (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0082]- [0090]; backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE), the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0090]; the UE may be configured with a specific backoff timer that determines when to send thein-coverage indication. The UE may transmit the in-coverage indication after the backoff timer expires. The backoff timer may start when the UE is in the in-coverage state or when the UE initiates a random-access procedure upon detection of the in-coverage state. The UE may initiate the backoff timer when the UE expects to return to the in coverage state or when the UE identifies that the UE is in-coverage with the NTN (for example, due to the presence of reference signaling from the NTN). In certain cases, the backoff timer may be associated with a random access procedure. The backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE).
Shrestha does not explicitly disclose a timer value for power saving timer and power utilization level.
Ljung, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha fails: a processing device (32) is configured to determine whether the inactivity timer value is to be adjusted in the mobile communication network (10, 14, 15), and to control the wireless interface (31) to transmit a signal to the mobile communication network (10, 14, 15) to request an adjustment of the inactivity timer value (see Ljung, at least abstract) and the prioritization logic may selectively adjust the measured parameter when the power consumption of the user equipment for the at least one second radio access technology is less than, or much less than, the power consumption for the first radio access technology value (see Ljung, at least pages 3-5, page 10, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Ljung. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve its battery lifetime.
For claim 2:
In addition to rejection in claim 2, Shrestha - Ljung further disclose wherein use of the timer value causes the wireless terminal to be in a power saving mode (PSM) throughout a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0127]; determining that the UE is or will be in an out-of-coverage state with a non-terrestrial network (NTN) for a first duration; entering a power saving state in response to the determination).
For claim 3:
In addition to rejection in claim 3, Shrestha - Ljung further disclose wherein the wireless terminal further comprises transmitter circuitry which generates an uplink message from the wireless terminal, and wherein the timer value is set by the core access node in response to receiving the uplink message from the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0098]; the UE may resume the remaining uplink or downlink transmissions in the in-coverage state).
For claim 9:
Shrestha discloses a core network node of a core network of a telecommunications system (see Shrestha, at least Figure 11; network entity (e.g., the base station 102, NTN 140, EPC 160, and/or 5GC 190) may determine that a UE is or will be in an out-of-coverage state with a NTN), the core network node comprising:
processor circuitry configured to adjust a timer value for a power saving timer of a wireless terminal served by the core network (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0082]- [0090]; backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE), the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0090]; the UE may be configured with a specific backoff timer that determines when to send thein-coverage indication. The UE may transmit the in-coverage indication after the backoff timer expires. The backoff timer may start when the UE is in the in-coverage state or when the UE initiates a random-access procedure upon detection of the in-coverage state. The UE may initiate the backoff timer when the UE expects to return to the in-coverage state or when the UE identifies that the UE is in-coverage with the NTN (for example, due to the presence of reference signaling from the NTN). In certain cases, the backoff timer may be associated with a random-access procedure. The backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE).; and interface circuitry configured to transmit a message including the timer value to a radio access network which serves the wireless terminal (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0098]; the UE may resume the remaining uplink or downlink transmissions in the in-coverage state).
Shrestha does not explicitly disclose a timer value for power saving timer.
Ljung, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha fails: a processing device (32) is configured to determine whether the inactivity timer value is to be adjusted in the mobile communication network (10, 14, 15), and to control the wireless interface (31) to transmit a signal to the mobile communication network (10, 14, 15) to request an adjustment of the inactivity timer value (see Ljung, at least abstract) and the prioritization logic may selectively adjust the measured parameter when the power consumption of the user equipment for the at least one second radio access technology is less than, or much less than, the power consumption for the first radio access technology value (see Ljung, at least pages 3-5, page 10, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Ljung. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve its battery lifetime.
For claim 10:
The core network node of claim 9, wherein the node processor circuitry sets the timer value so that the wireless terminal will be in a power saving mode (PSM) throughout a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0082]- [0090]; backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE and at least paragraph [0090]; the UE may be configured with a specific backoff timer that determines when to send thein-coverage indication. The UE may transmit the in-coverage indication after the backoff timer expires. The backoff timer may start when the UE is in the in-coverage state or when the UE initiates a random-access procedure upon detection of the in-coverage state. The UE may initiate the backoff timer when the UE expects to return to the in-coverage state or when the UE identifies that the UE is in-coverage with the NTN (for example, due to the presence of reference signaling from the NTN). In certain cases, the backoff timer may be associated with a random-access procedure. The backoff timer may have a random value provided to the UE or derived at the UE).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. U.S (2023/0043459) in view of Ljung et al. (WO-2014177186-A1) further in view of Chen et al. (WO 2016023163 A1).
For claim 4:
In addition to rejection in claim 4, Shrestha – Ljung does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink message is configured to include a flag which indicates to the core network node that the core network node is to adjust the power saving timer value.
Chen, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha- Ljung fails: a corresponding number of access requests, timer and state flag comprised in the new entry may be initialized in block 413. For example, the number of access requests may be initialized as 1; and the state flag may be initialized as 'False'. The initialization of the timer may comprise initially setting the timer with a certain time period and starting the timer (see Chen, at least paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Chen. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
For claim 11:
In addition to rejection in claim 11, Shrestha– Ljung does not explicitly disclose
wherein the uplink message is configured to include a flag which indicates to the node processor circuitry of the core network node that the node processor circuitry of the core network node is to adjust the timer value.
Chen, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha- Ljung fails: a corresponding number of access requests, timer and state flag comprised in the new entry may be initialized in block 413. For example, the number of access requests may be initialized as 1; and the state flag may be initialized as 'False'. The initialization of the timer may comprise initially setting the timer with a certain time period and starting the timer (see Chen, at least paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Chen. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. U.S (2023/0043459) in view of Ljung et al. (WO-2014177186-A1) further in view of Hua et al. (U.S 2020/0280917).
For claim 5:
In addition to rejection in claim 5, Shrestha – Ljung further disclose wherein the wireless terminal further comprises terminal processor circuitry configured to determine modified timer information in conjunction with a server in communication with the wireless terminal and to include the modified timer information as determined by the wireless terminal in conjunction with the server in communication in the uplink message, and wherein the core network node sets the power savings timer value based on the modified timer information (see Ljung, at least pages 24; the analyzer logic 121 may continue to monitor transitions between connected mode and idle mode after transmission of the signal to verify whether the inactivity timer value was adjusted..
Hua, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha- Ljung fails: MME/AMF 105 may adjust the values of the retrieved preemption PSM timer values based on network traffic conditions, or based on other factors, to generate the power saving mode timer values (see Hua, at least paragraph [0048]; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Hua. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
For claim 6:
In addition to rejection in claim 6, Shrestha – Ljung-Hua further disclose wherein in the uplink message one or both of a T3324 timer and an eDRX timer is shortened to ensure that neither the T3324 timer or the eDRX timer expire during the non- terrestrial network (NTN) gap period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0047]; the wireless network may configure certain power saving state cycles (e.g., DRX cycle and/or PSM cycle) during the coverage gap. The wireless network may adjust the paging window of a DRX cycle to be in the in-overage period of the NTN).
Hua, further discloses what Shrestha – Ljung fails: the PSM preemption flag in field 420 of the service profile is set, then MME/AMF 105 retrieves the contents of field 425 from the service profile 400, including one or more power saving mode timer values. In one implementation, the contents of field 425 may include an AS-designated value for the T3324 active timer, and an AS-designated value for the T3412 extended timer. In another implementation, the contents of field 425 may include one or more other AS-designated timer values. The other AS-designated timer values may, similar to the T3324 active timer and the T3412 extended timer values, establish a schedule and duration associated with execution of the power saving mode at the UE 100 (see Hua, at least paragraph [0047]-[0048]). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
Claims 7-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. U.S (2023/0043459) in view of Ljung et al. (WO-2014177186-A1) further in view of Hua et al. (U.S 2020/0280917) further in view of Cottle (U.S 2021/0266830).
For claims 7 and 15:
In addition to rejection in claim 7, Shrestha – Ljung-Hua does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink message includes a value for the T3412 timer so that the T3412 timer is extended until a start time of a next the non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage period.
Cottle, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha – Ljung-Hua fails: the node 110 may be a node, other than an MME or AMF, within the wireless network that implements functionality for processing power saving mode requests from UEs 100. Upon receipt of the PSM request, the node 110 schedules a PSM for the UE 100, and generates PSM scheduling data that may include one or more PSM timers. Node 110 returns the requested PSM scheduling data (identified with a “2” within a circle) to UE 100. For example, in LTE wireless network implementations, the request PSM scheduling data may include a T3342 active timer that defines a length of time that the UE 100 stays active after initiation of an idle mode at the UE 100 and during which the UE 100 engages in the monitoring of any paging from the wireless network, and a T3412 extended timer that defines a duration of time that the UE 100 stays in power saving mode and conserves power by shutting down all non-critical functionality (see Cottle, at least paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Cottle. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve a power saving mode that is intended to improve the device battery life.
For claim 8:
In addition to rejection in claim 8, Shrestha – Ljung-Hua-Cottle further discloses wherein the uplink message includes a value for the T3324 timer so that the T3324 timer is extended until start of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period and includes a value for the T3412 timer so that the T3412 timer is extended until a start time of a next the non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0049]; when a UE is in a power saving state (e.g., DRX cycle, PSM, or MICO mode), the UE may wake up to monitor a certain number of paging occasions (or establish a connection) during an in-coverage state (e.g., at the start of an in coverage period). As used herein, a power saving state of the UE may refer to a mode in which the UE is using a reduced amount of power such as a DRX cycle ( e.g., extended DRXcycle), PSM, or MICO mode and [0090]; The UE may transmit the in-coverage indication after the backoff timer expires. The backoff timer may start when the UE is in the in-coverage state or when the UE initiates a random-access procedure upon detection of the in-coverage state. The UE may initiate the backoff timer when the UE expects to return to the in-coverage state or when the UE identifies that the UE is in-coverage with the NTN (for example, due to the presence of reference signaling from the NTN). In certain cases, the backoff timer may be associated with a random-access procedure, also see [0095]; [0105]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. U.S (2023/0043459) in view of Ljung et al. (WO-2014177186-A1) further in view of Hua et al. (U.S 2020/0280917).
For claim 12:
In addition to rejection in claim 12, Shrestha– Ljung further disclose wherein the uplink message is configured to include modified timer information received from the wireless terminal, and wherein the node processor circuitry of the core network node sets the timer value based on the modified timer information (see Ljung, at least pages 24; the analyzer logic 121 may continue to monitor transitions between connected mode and idle mode after transmission of the signal to verify whether the inactivity timer value was adjusted..
Hua, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, further discloses what Shrestha- Ljung fails: MME/AMF 105 may adjust the values of the retrieved preemption PSM timer values based on network traffic conditions, or based on other factors, to generate the power saving mode timer values (see Hua, at least paragraph [0048]; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Hua. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
For claim 13:
In addition to rejection in claim 13, Shrestha– Ljung further disclose wherein the modified timer information is based on a determination by the wireless terminal that expiry of the time based on a current value for the timer occurs during a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0047]; the wireless network may configure certain power saving state cycles (e.g., DRX cycle and/or PSM cycle) during the coverage gap. The wireless network may adjust the paging window of a DRX cycle to be in the in-overage period of the NTN).
Hua, further discloses what Shrestha – Ljung fails: the PSM preemption flag in field 420 of the service profile is set, then MME/AMF 105 retrieves the contents of field 425 from the service profile 400, including one or more power saving mode timer values. In one implementation, the contents of field 425 may include an AS-designated value for the T3324 active timer, and an AS-designated value for the T3412 extended timer. In another implementation, the contents of field 425 may include one or more other AS-designated timer values. The other AS-designated timer values may, similar to the T3324 active timer and the T3412 extended timer values, establish a schedule and duration associated with execution of the power saving mode at the UE 100 (see Hua, at least paragraph [0047]-[0048]). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
For claim 14:
In addition to rejection in claim 14, Shrestha– Ljung further disclose wherein in the uplink message a timer value for one or both of a T3324 timer and an eDRX timer is shortened to ensure that the T3324 timer and/or the eDRX timer do not expire during the non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period (see Shrestha, at least paragraph [0047]; the wireless network may configure certain power saving state cycles (e.g., DRX cycle and/or PSM cycle) during the coverage gap. The wireless network may adjust the paging window of a DRX cycle to be in the in-overage period of the NTN).
Hua, further discloses what Shrestha – Ljung fails: the PSM preemption flag in field 420 of the service profile is set, then MME/AMF 105 retrieves the contents of field 425 from the service profile 400, including one or more power saving mode timer values. In one implementation, the contents of field 425 may include an AS-designated value for the T3324 active timer, and an AS-designated value for the T3412 extended timer. In another implementation, the contents of field 425 may include one or more other AS-designated timer values. The other AS-designated timer values may, similar to the T3324 active timer and the T3412 extended timer values, establish a schedule and duration associated with execution of the power saving mode at the UE 100 (see Hua, at least paragraph [0047]-[0048]). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks in order to improve the battery-operated devices.
Conclusion
The prior arts made or record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures. Chun (U.S 9,008,025), discloses starting a timer upon transmitting the determined preference value relating to the power saving to the network.
Descombes et al. (U.S 2025/0254090), discloses A device may negotiate two timers with the network. The two timers may include an active timer (e.g., T3324) and an Extended periodic Tracking Area Update timer (e.g., T3412).
Hu et al. (U.S 2020/0366736), discloses a test method may include enabling PSM (Power Saving Mode), hereby setting values of the T3324 Active Timer and the T3412 Timer extended at the test probe.
/Lan-Huong Truong/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit: 2464
02/21/2026