DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 62/261,651 filed September 24, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/20/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, 2021-05-08, prov878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333).
As per claim 1, Yavuz disclose A wireless terminal (see Fig.10, a user equipment 200) which communicates over a radio interface with a radio access network (see Fig.9, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Fig.10, network 243), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry (see Fig.10 receiver 235) configured to receive, via the radio access network from a core network node that serves the wireless terminal, a connection release message (see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, the network convey/send/sending the PO configuration information to the UE at any time while the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, RRCConnectionRelease message in LTE or the RRCRelease message in NR, receiving a connection release message, see also para. 0162-0163, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074), the connection release message having been sent to the wireless terminal from the core network node when the core network node has made a determination that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited, see also para. 0222, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074,);
processor circuitry (see Fig.10, processor 201) configured, upon receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into a power saving mode (see Fig.7, Fig.8, see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, receiving the connection release message, skip the monitoring occasions and transition / enter sleep/always asleep/a power saving mode, see prov878, see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0068, 0070).
As per claim 3, Yavuz disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1.
Yavuz further disclose wherein the receiver circuitry is further configured to receive a timer value for a power saving timer of the wireless terminal when the core network node has made a determination that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with value for timer T3412 prior to the coverage gap, see also para. 0151-0158).
As per claim 8, Yavuz disclose A node (see Fig.9, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Fig.10, network 243) of a core network of a telecommunications system (see Fig.9, para. 0161-0166, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Network node 160), the core network node comprising: processor circuitry (see Fig.9, processing circuitry 170) configured, when a determination has been made that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for a wireless terminal served by the core network node (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited, see also para. 0222, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074), to:
generate a connection release message for the wireless terminal (see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, the network convey/generate the PO configuration information to the UE at any time while the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, RRCConnectionRelease message in LTE or the RRCRelease message in NR, generate a connection release message, see also para. 0162-0163, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074); and
provide a timer value for a power saving timer of a wireless terminal served by the core network, the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with value for timer T3412 prior to the coverage gap/ NTN coverage information, see also para. 0151-0158); and
interface circuitry (see Fig.9, interface 190) configured to transmit the connection release message and the timer value to a radio access network which serves the wireless terminal(see Fig.7, Fig.8, see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, receiving the connection release message and the timer value, skip the monitoring occasions and transition / enter sleep/always asleep/a power saving mode, see prov878, see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0068, 0070).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), and further in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0337165).
As per claim 2, Yavuz disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1.
Although Yavuz disclose the connection release message and connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode;
Yavuz however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode.
Hu however disclose wherein a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode (see para. 0071, 0090, receiving a RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease contains a Release Cause to transition to the power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, as taught by Hu, in the system of Yavuz, so as to prevent a terminal from unnecessarily monitoring of the downlink control signal, thus achieving the effect of power saving in the terminal, see Hu, paragraphs 0010-0017, 0024.
Claims 4, 6, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), and further in view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0344508).
As per claim 4, Yavuz disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1.
Although Yavuz disclose the connection release message and connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode;
Yavuz however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element which indicates to the wireless terminal that the non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start.
Tseng however disclose wherein a connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element which indicates to the wireless terminal that the non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start (see para. 0100, Table 1, the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element / (via SI) via SIB1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element which indicates to the wireless terminal that the non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, as taught by Tseng, in the system of Yavuz, so as to enable receiving, by the UE from a first cell, first NTN assistance information associated with the first cell; and performing, by the UE, the NTN assistance information update procedure based on at least one of UE-specific control signaling and NTN-specific system information block (SIB) by which the UE receives the first NTN assistance information, see Tseng, paragraphs 0003-0008.
As per claim 6, the combination of Yavuz and Tseng disclose the wireless terminal of claim 4.
Yavuz further disclose wherein the power saving timer is a T3412 timer, and wherein information element informs the wireless terminal of a non-access stratum message that carries a new timer value for the T3412 timer (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with a new timer value for the T3412 timer, see also para. 0151-0158).
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), in view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0344508) and further in view of Lenovo et al. (Enhancement for idle UE power saving in discontinuous coverage, R2-2107913, 2021-08-27).
As per claim 5, the combination of Yavuz and Tseng disclose the wireless terminal of claim 4.
The combination of Yavuz and Tseng however does not explicitly disclose wherein the power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and wherein the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after the connection release to put the wireless terminal in a power saving mode (PSM).
Lenovo however disclose wherein a power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and wherein the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after the connection release to put the wireless terminal in a power saving mode (PSM) (see Fig.2, page 2, proposal 2, page 3, steps 1-4, a power saving timer is a T3324 timer and sets to zero after the connection release to put the wireless terminal in a power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and wherein the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after the connection release to put the wireless terminal in a power saving mode (PSM), as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Yavuz and Tseng, so as to enable Power Saving Mode (PSM) a power saving mechanism for a UE, and a network accepts the use of PSM by providing an Active Time value for timer T3324, see Lenovo, section 1.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), in view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0344508).and further in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0337165).
As per claim 10, the combination of Yavuz and Tseng disclose the core network node of claim 9.
The combination of Yavuz and Tseng however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection release message includes an indication of cause of the connection release.
Hu however disclose wherein a connection release message includes an indication of cause of the connection release (see para. 0071, 0090, receiving a RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease contains a Release Cause to transition to the power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a connection release message includes an indication of cause of the connection release, as taught by Hu, in the system of Yavuz and Tseng, so as to prevent a terminal from unnecessarily monitoring of the downlink control signal, thus achieving the effect of power saving in the terminal, see Hu, paragraphs 0010-0017, 0024.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiaomi, (Discussion on discontinuous coverage[online], 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #115-e R2-2108171, 2021-08-27) - see Section2, discloses that the network can provide UE the updated eDRX/PSM configurations which is matched the network deployment before UE is in the discontinuous converge. Considering the description on Section2 Lines 12-18, the updated eDRX/PSM configurations are Tl and T2, i.e. the timer values.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469