DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed May 13, 2026, claims 1, 3-9 and 1-13 have been amended, claims 2 and 10 are canceled, claim 14 is newly added and claims 1, 3-9 and 11-14 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 5 Section A – page 8, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 7-9 and 11-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the applicant argued that, see page 6 last paragraph – page 7 paragraphs 1-4, “…Applicant respectfully disagrees with the above assertion. Specifically, in cited paragraphs [0071] and [0090], Hu merely describes that an RRCConnectionRelease message includes (a) Release Cause being set to RRC-Suspend, (b) resume ID/I-RNTI, (c) NCC, and (d) DRB-ContinueROHC. Therefore, it is clear that Hu does NOT describe that the RRCConnectionRelease message includes an indication of connection release cause which prompts the wireless terminal to transition to a power saving mode. As such, Hu fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, at least, "the connection release message including an indication of connection release cause, the indication of connection release cause prompting the wireless terminal to transition to a power saving mode," as recited in amended claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding amended claims 1 and 8, Yavuz disclose processor circuitry (see Fig.10, processor 201) configured, upon the receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into a power saving mode (see Fig.7, Fig.8, see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, receiving the connection release message, skip the monitoring occasions and transition / enter sleep/always asleep/a power saving mode, see prov878, see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0068, 0070 and it is obvious that there is “an indication” to cause (release cause) the terminal to transition to power saving), the Examiner further states that Hu teaches wherein a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode (see para. 0071, 0090, receiving a RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease contains a Release Cause to transition to the power saving mode, Release Cause being set to RRC-Suspend, see also para. 0078, 0079, S9, the eNB sends an RRC Connection Release message to the UE, and prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, an RRC-IDLE state, a suspend state or an RRC_INACTIVE state).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Yavuz and Hu reads upon “receiver circuitry configured to receive, via the radio access network from a core network node that serves the wireless terminal, a connection release message, the connection release message having been sent to the wireless terminal from the core network node when the core network node has made a determination that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for the wireless terminal, the connection release message including an indication of connection release cause, the indication of connection release cause prompting the wireless terminal to transition to a power saving mode; and processor circuitry configured, upon the receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into the power saving mode” as recites in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, the applicant argued that, see 7 last paragraph – page 8, “…Specifically, amended claim 4 emphasizes that "the connection release message is an RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element which indicates to the wireless terminal that the NTN gap period is about to start." By contrast, in the cited paragraph [0100], Tseng merely describes that a validity timer indicates NTN assistance information, which is completely unrelated to an NTN gap period. Therefore, Tseng fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, at least, "the connection release message is an RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element which indicates to the wireless terminal that the NTN gap period is about to start," as recited in amended claim 4.
Withdrawal of the pending rejection is therefore respectfully requested.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claim 4, Yavuz further disclose wherein the connection release message is an RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease message indicates to the wireless terminal that the NTN gap period is about to start (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited), and
Tseng disclose wherein a connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises “an information element” (see para. 0100, Table 1, the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element / (via SI) via SIB1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), and further in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0337165).
As per claim 1, Yavuz disclose A wireless terminal (see Fig.10, a user equipment 200) which communicates over a radio interface with a radio access network (see Fig.9, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Fig.10, network 243), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry (see Fig.10 receiver 235) configured to receive, via the radio access network from a core network node that serves the wireless terminal, a connection release message (see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, the network convey/send/sending the PO configuration information to the UE at any time while the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, RRCConnectionRelease message in LTE or the RRCRelease message in NR, receiving a connection release message, see also para. 0162-0163, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074), the connection release message having been sent to the wireless terminal from the core network node when the core network node has made a determination that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited, see also para. 0222, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074,);
processor circuitry (see Fig.10, processor 201) configured, upon the receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into a power saving mode (see Fig.7, Fig.8, see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, receiving the connection release message, skip the monitoring occasions and transition / enter sleep/always asleep/a power saving mode, see prov878, see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0068, 0070).
Although Yavuz disclose processor circuitry configured, upon the receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into a power saving mode. It is obvious that there is “an indication” to cause (release cause) the terminal to transition to power saving.
Yavuz however does not explicitly disclose the connection release message including “an indication of connection release cause”.
Hu however disclose wherein a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode (see para. 0071, 0090, receiving a RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease contains a Release Cause to transition to the power saving mode, Release Cause being set to RRC-Suspend, see also para. 0078, 0079, S9, the eNB sends an RRC Connection Release message to the UE, and prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, an RRC-IDLE state, a suspend state or an RRC_INACTIVE state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, as taught by Hu, in the system of Yavuz, so as to prevent a terminal from unnecessarily monitoring of the downlink control signal, thus achieving the effect of power saving in the terminal, see Hu, paragraphs 0010-0017, 0024.
As per claim 3, the combination of Yavuz and Hu disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1.
Yavuz further disclose wherein the receiver circuitry is further configured to receive a timer value for a power saving timer of the wireless terminal when the core network node has made the determination that the NTN gap period is about to start for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with value for timer T3412 prior to the coverage gap, see also para. 0151-0158).
As per claim 8, Yavuz disclose A node (see Fig.9, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Fig.10, network 243) of a core network of a telecommunications system (see Fig.9, para. 0161-0166, Network 106 comprise one or more backhaul networks, core networks, Network node 160), the core network node comprising: processor circuitry (see Fig.9, processing circuitry 170) configured, when a determination has been made that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start for a wireless terminal served by the core network node (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited, see also para. 0222, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074), to:
generate a connection release message for the wireless terminal (see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, the network convey/generate the PO configuration information to the UE at any time while the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, RRCConnectionRelease message in LTE or the RRCRelease message in NR, generate a connection release message, see also para. 0162-0163, see prov878, para. 0057, 0059, 0074); and
provide a timer value for a power saving timer of a wireless terminal served by the core network, the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with value for timer T3412 prior to the coverage gap/ NTN coverage information, see also para. 0151-0158); and
interface circuitry (see Fig.9, interface 190) configured to transmit the connection release message and the timer value to a radio access network which serves the wireless terminal(see Fig.7, Fig.8, see para. 0115, 0118, 0131, 0137, receiving the connection release message and the timer value, skip the monitoring occasions and transition / enter sleep/always asleep/a power saving mode, see prov878, see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0068, 0070).
Although Yavuz disclose processor circuitry configured, upon the receipt of the connection release message, to transition the wireless terminal into a power saving mode. It is obvious that there is “an indication” to cause (release cause) the terminal to transition to power saving.
Yavuz however does not explicitly disclose the connection release message including “an indication of connection release cause”.
Hu however disclose wherein a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode (see para. 0071, 0090, receiving a RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease contains a Release Cause to transition to the power saving mode, Release Cause being set to RRC-Suspend, see also para. 0078, 0079, S9, the eNB sends an RRC Connection Release message to the UE, and prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, an RRC-IDLE state, a suspend state or an RRC_INACTIVE state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a connection release message includes “an indication of connection release cause”, and wherein indication of connection release cause prompts the wireless terminal to transition to the power saving mode, as taught by Hu, in the system of Yavuz, so as to prevent a terminal from unnecessarily monitoring of the downlink control signal, thus achieving the effect of power saving in the terminal, see Hu, paragraphs 0010-0017, 0024.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Claims 4, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0337165) and further in view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0344508).
As per claim 4, the combination of Yavuz and Hu disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1.
Yavuz further disclose wherein the connection release message is an RRCConnectionRelease message, and the RRCConnectionRelease message indicates to the wireless terminal that the NTN gap period is about to start (see Fig.4, para. 0118, a certain time window indicated by the network with an offset prior to the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.1 / a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gap period is about to start, or after the coverage gap, i.e., time window.sub.2 so that the impact on reachability is reduced while the change on UE energy consumption is limited).
Yavuz however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises “an information element”.
Tseng however disclose wherein a connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises “an information element” (see para. 0100, Table 1, the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element / (via SI) via SIB1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the connection release message is a RRCConnectionRelease message, and wherein the RRCConnectionRelease message comprises an information element, as taught by Tseng, in the system of Yavuz and Hu, so as to enable receiving, by the UE from a first cell, first NTN assistance information associated with the first cell; and performing, by the UE, the NTN assistance information update procedure based on at least one of UE-specific control signaling and NTN-specific system information block (SIB) by which the UE receives the first NTN assistance information, see Tseng, paragraphs 0003-0008.
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 12, the combination of Yavuz, Yu and Tseng disclose the core network node of claim 9.
Yavuz further disclose wherein the power saving timer is a T3412 timer, and the information element informs the wireless terminal of a non-access stratum message that carries a new timer value for the T3412 timer (see Fig.4-Fig.8, para. 0055, 0059, 0067, 0102, 0115, 0118, 0150, the network provides/configures the UE with a new timer value for the T3412 timer, see also para. 0151-0158).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al. (US Provisional 63/229,878, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0284333), ), in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0337165)in view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0344508) and further in view of Lenovo et al. (Enhancement for idle UE power saving in discontinuous coverage, R2-2107913, 2021-08-27).
As per claim 11, the combination of Yavuz, YU and Tseng disclose the core network node of claim 9.
The combination of Yavuz, Yu and Tseng however does not explicitly disclose wherein the power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after connection release to put the wireless terminal in the power saving mode.
Lenovo however disclose wherein a power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after connection release to put the wireless terminal in the power saving mode (see Fig.2, page 2, proposal 2, page 3, steps 1-4, a power saving timer is a T3324 timer and sets to zero after the connection release to put the wireless terminal in a power saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a power saving timer is a T3324 timer, and the timer value is carried in the information element and sets the T3324 timer to zero after connection release to put the wireless terminal in the power saving mode, as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Yavuz, Yu and Tseng, so as to enable Power Saving Mode (PSM) a power saving mechanism for a UE, and a network accepts the use of PSM by providing an Active Time value for timer T3324, see Lenovo, section 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiaomi, (Discussion on discontinuous coverage[online], 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #115-e R2-2108171, 2021-08-27) - see Section2, discloses that the network can provide UE the updated eDRX/PSM configurations which is matched the network deployment before UE is in the discontinuous converge. Considering the description on Section2 Lines 12-18, the updated eDRX/PSM configurations are Tl and T2, i.e. the timer values.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469