Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/20/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230422142 A1 Vakeesar; Siva et al
Claim 1 and 9. Vakeesar teaches A method of claim 9 in the same manner as for claim 1: A wireless terminal (Vakeesar Fig. 3, 11 method and system including UE 110; Fig. 2 ¶107 UE components) supporting one or more network slices (12 Table 3, ¶146 list of NSSAI), each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service ( 135 “. . . choose the appropriate C-SMF to handle a particular traffic type identified at least by S-NSSAI, DNN, DNAI..”)), the wireless terminal comprising (Fig. 3, Fig. 11, Fig. 2, and as cited) :
receiver circuitry configured to receive (Vakeesar Fig. 2 ¶107 UE components including processor 202 and interface 208), during a registration procedure (Fig. 3 ¶144-¶146, ‘during a registration procedure’ as claimed because UE sends Registration request 301 and Registration accept message 304 including equivalent of ‘mapping configurations’), a message (Fig. 3, Fig. 11, ¶146 304 “The UE 110 may receive the registration accept message”) comprising a plurality of mapping configurations for a registration area (Fig. 3 ¶146, “comprise the mapping of allowed or configured NSSAI(s) between the HPLMN 130 and the CPLMN 140. The registration accept message may further comprise the LADN information for the CPLMN 140 and/or the list of CPLMN(s) per geographical area.”; ¶140 “ The list of RDSs may be generated by the H-PCF and provided to the UE 110, for example, within the URSP. An RDS may comprise S-NSSAI(s) and/or DNN(s) of the HPLMN 130. The RDS may further comprise a mapping between geographical area(s) (e.g. TAI(s) or RAIL(s)) and supported S-NSSAI(s) or DNN(s) of the CPLMN(s), for example, CPLMN 140. Hence, a mapping between S-NSSAI information between the HPLMN 130 and the CPLMN 140 may be provided.”),
each of the plurality of mapping configurations configuring a network slice group comprising one or more identifiers of a corresponding network slice(s) (¶140, ¶146 comprising “allowed or configured NSSAI(s) between the HPLMN 130 and the CPLMN 140. The registration accept message may further comprise the LADN information for the CPLMN 140 and/or the list of CPLMN(s)” where each listed element may teach the generic identifier or a corresponding network slice as claimed),
each of the plurality of mapping configurations being associated with an area scope in which the each of the plurality of mapping configurations is valid, the area scope comprising one or more tracking areas of the registration area (See Fig. 3, ¶146 “. . .per geographical area. . .” also note ¶120, ¶140 where “geographical area” is synonymous or implies tracking areas (TA)), and;
processor circuitry configured to perform a cell reselection procedure, wherein one of the plurality of mapping configurations, which is valid at a current tracking area, is used (Fig. 3, Fig. 11, ¶146 “The UE 110 may use the information of the registration accept message, for example, when establishing a PDU Session to make a connection with an EAS of the CPLMN 140 via the HPLMN 130. The information may be, for example, included in a PDU session establishment request, as will be further described below”; ¶139 “d. The RSD is not considered to be valid if the current time is not in the time window. Location The UE location where the Optional Yes UE context Criteria matching traffic is allowed. The RSD rule is not considered to be valid if the UE location does not match the location criteria”).
Claim 2. Vakeesar teaches The wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the one or more tracking areas are identified by a list of tracking area identities (See Table 3 on p. 12; ¶139-140, ¶146 and rejection of claim 1 for explanation; See also ¶134 “ indicating which CPLMN(s) are allowed for a given UE per tracking area identifier (TAI).”; Examiner notes that Vakeesar using Tracking Area TA and Tracking Area Identifier TAI interchangeably)).
Claim 3. Vakeesar teaches The wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the current tracking area is identified by a tracking area identity (see UE location and location criteria as cited in claim 1, and ¶169 “List of MEC Applications or AF Service Identifier that are supported per geographical location (e.g., per cell, per gNB or per TA) per (C)PLMN” thus equating current location with current tracking area [identity]).
Claim 4. Vakeesar teaches The wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the one of the plurality of mapping configurations is used by an access node serving the current tracking area to signal cell reselection priority information associated with the network slice group configured by the one of the plurality of mapping configurations (See cited section in claim 1 and in addition ¶168 “each (C)PLMN exposes the following information for AF1 to collect and pass on to AF2 for HPLMN to make use of those configuration details for making application traffic routing decisions: [0169] i) List of MEC Applications or AF Service Identifier that are supported per geographical location (e.g., per cell, per gNB or per TA) per (C)PLMN,”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-12, and 15 of copending Application No. US20240365221 (18/1687,383) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown in the table comparing independent claim 1, the claim scope is the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant (‘802)
US20240365221 (18/1687,383)
1. A wireless terminal supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, the wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive, during a registration procedure, a message comprising a plurality of mapping configurations for a registration area, each of the plurality of mapping configurations configuring a network slice group comprising one or more identifiers of a corresponding network slice(s), each of the plurality of mapping configurations being associated with an area scope in which the each of the plurality of mapping configurations is valid, the area scope comprising one or more tracking areas of the registration area, and; processor circuitry configured to perform a cell reselection procedure, wherein one of the plurality of mapping configurations, which is valid at a current tracking area, is used.
1. A wireless terminal served by a public land mobile network (PLMN), the PLMN providing one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service within the PLMN, the wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to: receive a mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more network slice groups indicating grouping of one or more network slices, the mapping configuration being associated with area scope information, and; receive, from a cell, a tracking area identity of the cell; processor circuitry configured to determine, based on the area scope information and the tracking area identity, whether or not the mapping configuration is valid in the cell; wherein the area scope information indicates one or more tracking areas in which the mapping configuration is valid.
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the current rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230148189 A1 LEE; Jicheol et al. e.g. Fig. 8, ¶159: “When performing the UE configuration update procedure, the AMF 813 transmits, to the UE 811, an indicator indicating initiation of the registration procedure. The procedure may be transferred to the UE via 3GPP access or Non-3GPP access. The AMF 813 transfers, to the UE 811, the UE configuration update command including a DRX parameter (e.g., including a DRX cycle length) proposed by the AMF 813, and an indicator indicating initiation of the registration procedure. In the case of transferring the UE configuration update command message, if the AMF 813 transfers the UE configuration update command to the UE 811, the AMF 813, to the UE 811, one or more UE parameters, for example, a configuration change indicator, a globally unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), a tracking area identity (TAI) list, allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), allowed NSSAI mapping information, a rejected S-NSSAI list, mobility restriction information, local access data network (LADN) information, mobile initiated connection only (MICO), access classification definition information defined by an operator, and the like, together with a DRX parameter.”
US 20250168074 A1 GÜRSU; Halit Murat et al. – But PCT filing date is after the priority date of instant application. See Claim 26. A first network node, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first network node at least to: obtain a slice group mapping, SGM, configuration, wherein the SGM configuration indicates a mapping between a slice group and tracking area, TA; provide the SGM configuration to a user device.
Conclusion
UMAIR AHSAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647