DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 04/20/2026.
In view of applicant’s amendment, rejection of claim(s) 1 – 19 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in the previous Office Action is hereby withdrawn.
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejections necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240172077 (Li’077) in view of US 20220132383 (SHRESTHA) evidenced by US 20200045593 (Jung).
Regarding claim 1, Li’077 teaches “A method comprising (paragraph 0155 and FIG 15: apparatus 100 for reselecting the cell. Paragraph 0186 and FIG 17: a device 300 for reselecting a cell):
obtaining, by a wireless device, location information of the wireless device (paragraph 0053 – 0054: FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for reselecting a cell which may be performed by a terminal, and includes the following steps. At step S11, location information of the terminal is determined.);
receiving, by the wireless device from a serving cell, a first message including information related to a cell reselection (paragraph 0074 – 0077: FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating a method for reselecting a cell including the following step. At step S51, a first message sent by the network device is received. The first message is configured to indicate parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information.),
wherein the first message further includes:
(1) a frequency list for multiple frequencies (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include a frequency of a neighboring cell, a frequency of a serving cell),
(2) first priority values for frequencies related to a non-terrestrial network cell, (3) second priority values for the frequencies related to the non-terrestrial network cell (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include: a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell. From at least paragraphs 0066, and 0090, “priority values for the frequencies” include being higher, lower, or equal. Since each of these “values” may be assigned to any of the cells, it means that they are applicable “for frequencies”. Alternatively, the claim does not require first and second priority values to be any different from each other. In view of this, disclosed a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell may be mapped to both first and second “priority values for frequencies”. With respect to being “related to a non-terrestrial network cell”, see FIG 2B and paragraphs 0033, 0047),
(4) information related to a location condition which is satisfied based on that a distance between the non-terrestrial network cell and a location of the wireless device is equal to or less than a distance threshold (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include a distance threshold value and a geographic location range. Paragraph 0083: the network device may indicate a distance threshold value for performing a cell measurement to the terminal by means of the first message. The terminal receives the distance threshold value sent by the network device, and determines whether to measure the neighboring cell based on the distance between the terminal and the serving cell and the distance threshold value. Paragraph 0127: the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device. Although the disclosed condition does not state that it may also be “equal to” “a distance threshold”, it is an obvious variation of the disclosed condition that distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value)…”
“…selecting, by the wireless device, priority values for the frequencies as:
(i) the first priority values for the frequencies based on…” “…the location condition…” “…being satisfied (paragraphs 0127 – 0128: when the terminal selects the target cell, the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value (corresponds to “the location condition…” “…being satisfied”). Paragraph 0064: when the cell reselection is performed based on the location information of the terminal, it may be determined to measure the neighboring cell in response to the frequency priority of the neighboring cell being higher than the frequency priority of the serving cell. In this example, the wireless device selects neighboring cell for measurement as having higher frequency priority (corresponds to the claimed “the first priority values for the frequencies”)), or
(ii) the second priority values for the frequencies based on the location condition…” “…being not satisfied (paragraphs 0127 – 0128: when the terminal selects the target cell, the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value (corresponds to “the location condition…” “…being satisfied” in limitation (i) above.). Therefore, it is either implicit or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that in case the location condition is not satisfied (such as the distance between the terminal and the target cell is more than a threshold value), the terminal does not select the target cell. When the target cell is a neighboring cell, it means that this neighboring cell is not selected, and the terminal remains with the serving cell which means that this neighboring cell is selected to be lower priority (corresponds to claimed “the second priority values for the frequencies”). This particular case is also disclosed in paragraph 0062.
Alternatively, when the location condition is the distance between the terminal and the serving cell to be lower than a threshold, this particular case is disclosed in paragraph 0162: in response to a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than or equal to a frequency priority of the serving cell, in a case the distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value (corresponds to “the location condition…” “…being not satisfied”), measure the neighboring cell. Since the neighboring cell having lower frequency priority is measured, “the second priority values for the frequencies” (i.e. lower priority for the neighboring cell is selected));
“…selecting, by the wireless device, a neighbor cell by performing a cell reselection procedure based on the selected first or second priority values for the frequencies (paragraph 0058: When the terminal determines measuring the neighboring cell, it may be understood as an implementation process that the terminal performs the cell reselection. At least in limitation (ii) above it was shown that the neighboring cell is measured. Therefore, this cell reselection procedure thus is “based on the selected first or second priority values for the frequencies”);
camping, by the wireless device, on the neighbor cell by receiving system information from the neighbor cell; and transmitting, by the wireless device, a second message to the neighbor cell (these steps are implicit as is normally done when the terminal performs reselection to a neighboring cell, as may be evidenced, for example, by Jung, paragraph 0183: In operation 1e-30, the UE may receive system information broadcast by a target cell reselected based on a priority in operation 1e-25, and may measure a signal of the target cell so as to camp on the target cell.).”
Li’077 does not disclose inclusion, in the first message, “(5) information related to a time condition which is satisfied based on that a current time point is included in a service time period of the non-terrestrial network cell.” Li’077 also does not disclose combination of location condition and the time condition to be both satisfied in one case of selection, and either location condition or the time condition being not satisfied for another case of selection.
In similar art, SHRESTHA in FIG 5 – 6 with corresponding description also teaches cell selection and reselection in NTN (see paragraph 0025). Paragraph 0082 – 0083: As shown by reference number 520, the wireless communication device 505 may transmit, and the UE 515 may receive, a neighbor cell list that indicates at least one neighbor cell. The neighbor cell list may include a plurality of cell selection parameters configured to facilitate a cell selection procedure and/or a cell reselection procedure. Paragraph 0076: in addition to determining that a new cell satisfies one or more selection and/or reselection criteria, the UE 120 may determine whether a set of two thresholds are satisfied. A first threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of the serving cell and the second threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of a candidate cell. “Visibility duration” refers to an amount of time remaining during which the cell will be visible to a UE such that the UE may camp on and/or connect to that cell. Further, paragraph 0138 teaches that determining that the serving cell visibility duration satisfies the first threshold comprises determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold (an example of claimed “(5) information related to a time condition which is satisfied based on that a current time point is included in a service time period”, since the amount of time that the UE may continue camping on and/or be connected to the serving cell (which inherently includes “a current time point” since the user equipment is presently connected to the serving cell), is running short by being less than the first threshold), wherein the first threshold is a value provided by a network device or a value selected by the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by SHRESTHA timing condition in selection and reselection criteria of a new cell, in the system of Li’077. Doing so would have resulted in increased cell connectivity and decreases in UE power consumption (as the UE may not need to attempt unnecessary and unsuccessful cell reselections) (see SHRESTHA, paragraph 0076).
Further, with respect to combination of location condition and the time condition to be both satisfied in one case of selection, and either location condition or the time condition being not satisfied for another case of selection, as was explained above, Li’077 in paragraphs 0127 – 0128 teaches that for selection of the target cell (neighboring cell) the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value (i.e. satisfaction of location condition). As was also explained above, SHRESTHA in paragraph 0076 teaches that in addition to determining that a new cell satisfies one or more selection and/or reselection criteria, the UE 120 may determine whether a set of two thresholds are satisfied. A first threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of the serving cell and the second threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of a candidate cell. Further, as disclosed in paragraphs 0007, determining that a serving cell visibility duration of a serving cell satisfies a first threshold; determining that a new cell visibility duration of a new cell satisfies a second threshold; and performing a cell reselection procedure to switch from the serving cell to the new cell based at least in part on determining that the first threshold is satisfied and the second threshold is satisfied.
As may be seen, in Li’077, reselection of a neighboring cell is allowed when the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value (“the location condition” is met). On the other side, in SHRESTHA, reselection of a neighboring cell is allowed when it is determined that that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold (see paragraph 0138).
In the mapping of the limitation (i) above to the disclosure of Li’077 it was shown that it is met by selecting neighboring cell based on the location condition being satisfied. SHRESTHA teaches that selection of neighboring cell is allowed based on “the time condition being satisfied”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine these two conditions of location being satisfied from Li’077, and time being satisfied from SHRESTHA as a combined condition for selection of a neighboring cell in the system of combined Li’077 and SHRESTHA’s disclosures (as would be applied to the limitation (i)). Similarly, if any of these conditions is not satisfied, the selection of the neighboring cell would not be performed (as would be applied to the limitation (ii)). Doing so would have allowed to perform selection of a neighboring cell only when both conditions are satisfied thus improving the functionality of the system and reducing unnecessary and unsuccessful cell reselections (based on SHRESTHA, paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 15, Li’077 in combination with SHRESTHA teaches or fairly suggests “A wireless device in a wireless communication system (shown in FIG 17 with corresponding description) comprising: a transceiver (paragraph 0195: The communication component 316 is configured for wireless communication between the device 300 and other devices.); a memory (paragraph 0189: The memory 304 is configured to store all types of data to support the operation of the device 300.); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (paragraph 0188: The processing component 302 controls the whole operation of the device 300, such as operations related to phone call, data communication)…”
The rest of the claim is rejected because of the same reasons as explained in the rejection of claim 1, the explanation being incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Li’077 teaches “wherein the first message further includes information related to the distance threshold (paragraph 0127: the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device. Although Li’077 does not explicitly state that this threshold value is included in “the first message”, paragraphs 0074 – 0077 state that at step S51, a first message sent by the network device is received. The first message is configured to indicate parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information. Therefore, since it explicitly states that parameter information is included in the message, presence of the distance threshold is either implicit, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to include it in the message so that the terminal would have complete information to perform further actions.).”
Regarding claim 14, Li’077 teaches “wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network (paragraph 0078: The terminal may receive the first message sent by the network device based on a system message and/or a radio resource control (RRC) release message. Therefore, the wireless device communicates with the network), or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device.”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240172077 (Li’077) in view of US 20220132383 (SHRESTHA) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20240349147 (Li’147).
Regarding claim 9, while teaching that terminal performs cell selection or reselection in the NTNs (which also includes the serving cell), Li’077 does not teach “wherein the non-terrestrial network cell is a quasi-earth fixed non-terrestrial network cell.”
Li’147 in paragraph 0048 teaches that the network types supported by the NTN network include a quasi-earth fixed type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement the teaching of Li’077 in such networks as “quasi-earth fixed cell”, as suggested by Li’147. Doing so would have further expanded the applications of the method and system of Li’077.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GENNADIY TSVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648