DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 03/20/2024. Claims 1 – 19 and 32 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 15 are directed to the abstract idea of using categories to organize, store and transmit information (expressed as “receiving” various pieces of information and manipulating with the received information).
Claim 32 is directed to the abstract idea of using categories to organize, store and transmit information (expressed as “transmit” various pieces of information).
This corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas or “an idea ‘of itself’” by the courts, such as using categories to organize, store and transmit information in Cyberfone.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 15 recites the additional limitations “a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor”; and claim 32 recites the additional limitations “a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor”. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and are not recited as performing any functions apart from transmitting. Generic components recited as performing generic functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation in generating and transmitting information.
Claims 2 – 14 and 16 – 19 are dependent from claims 1 and 15, respectively, and include all the limitations of claims 1 or 15. Therefore, claims 2 – 14 and 16 – 19 recite the same abstract idea as claims 1 and 15. The claims do not recite any additional elements beyond those present in claims 1 or 15.
Claims 1 – 19 and 32 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 14 – 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240172077 (Li’077).
Regarding claim 1, Li’077 teaches “A method performed by a wireless device (paragraph 0155 and FIG 15: apparatus 100 for reselecting the cell. Paragraph 0186 and FIG 17: a device 300 for reselecting a cell) in a wireless communication system (for example, such as shown in FIG 2B), the method comprising,
receiving, from a network, a cell reselection configuration associated with a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: At step S51, a first message sent by the network device is received. The first message is configured to indicate parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information. With respect to NTN, see FIG 2B and paragraphs 0033, 0047), wherein the cell reselection configuration includes (1) a frequency list for multiple frequencies (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include a frequency of a neighboring cell, a frequency of a serving cell (corresponds to the claimed “(1) a frequency list for multiple frequencies” represented by plurality of cells)), (2) first priority values for each of the multiple frequencies, (3) second priority values for each of the multiple frequencies (as best understood the claim language, paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include: a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell. From at least paragraphs 0066, and 0090, “priority values for each of the multiple frequencies” include being higher, lower, or equal. Since each of these “values” may be assigned to any of the cells, it means that they are applicable “for each of the multiple frequencies”. Alternatively, the claim does not require first and second priority values to be any different from each other. In view of this, disclosed a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell may be mapped to both first and second “priority values for each of the multiple frequencies”), and (4) a location condition related to a location of the wireless device for each of the multiple frequencies (paragraphs 0074 – 0077: the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information may include a distance threshold value and a geographic location range. Paragraph 0083: the network device may indicate a distance threshold value for performing a cell measurement to the terminal by means of the first message. The terminal receives the distance threshold value sent by the network device, and determines whether to measure the neighboring cell based on the distance between the terminal and the serving cell and the distance threshold value. Paragraph 0127: the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device. All this corresponds to the claimed “(4) a location condition related to a location of the wireless device for each of the multiple frequencies” represented by serving and target cells);
applying the first priority values for the multiple frequencies (paragraph 0077, a frequency priority of the neighboring cell and the serving cell given in the network message are at least implicitly applied to the both neighboring and serving cells representing “the multiple frequencies”. Additionally or alternatively, paragraph 0087: in response to a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower or equal. This at least implicitly means that a lower or an equal priority value has been applied to the frequency of the neighboring cell and a higher or equal priority value has been applied to the serving cell);
determining that the location condition for a specific cell in a specific frequency, among the multiple frequencies, is met (paragraph 0087: At step S61, in response to a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of the serving cell, or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell, in a case that the distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value. The preceding statement in italics implicitly means that “the location condition” “is met” for the serving cell (“a specific cell”) having “a specific frequency” corresponding to the frequency of the serving cell. Alternatively, when “a specific cell in a specific frequency” is mapped to the neighboring cell, paragraph 0127: the target cell (which is the neighboring cell) should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device. This also means that “the location condition” “is met” for the neighboring cell (“a specific cell”) having “a specific frequency” corresponding to the frequency of the neighboring cell.); and
applying a second priority value for the specific frequency (when “the specific frequency” is the frequency of the serving cell, as per paragraph 0077, a frequency priority of the serving cell given in the network message is at least implicitly applied to the serving cell. Additionally or alternatively, paragraph 0087: a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of the serving cell, or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell. This means that “a second priority value” being equal or higher than the neighboring cell is at least implicitly applied to the serving cell. The same can be said in an opposite case, when “the specific frequency” is the frequency of the neighboring, or target cell: “a second priority value” being equal or lower than the neighboring cell is at least implicitly applied to the neighboring cell.
In a different interpretation of this specific limitation, paragraph 0127: when the terminal selects the target cell, the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. What this means is that when the claimed “a specific cell in a specific frequency” is mapped to the neighboring, target cell, and when the location condition is met, the target cell is selected, which at least implicitly means that the target cell has been prioritized (“applying a second priority value for the specific frequency”). Alternatively, when the claimed “a specific cell in a specific frequency” is mapped to the serving cell, see paragraphs 0160 – 0163: receive a first message sent by a network device indicating parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information. The location information includes a distance between the terminal and a serving cell, and the first message is configured to indicate a distance threshold value. In other words, when the location condition is met (the distance between the terminal and a serving cell), the terminal selects a new cell, which at least implicitly means that the serving cell has been de-prioritized (“applying a second priority value for the specific frequency”).).”
Regarding claim 15, Li’077 teaches “A wireless device in a wireless communication system (shown in FIG 17 with corresponding description) comprising: a transceiver (paragraph 0195: The communication component 316 is configured for wireless communication between the device 300 and other devices.); a memory (paragraph 0189: The memory 304 is configured to store all types of data to support the operation of the device 300.); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (paragraph 0188: The processing component 302 controls the whole operation of the device 300, such as operations related to phone call, data communication)…”
The rest of the claim is rejected because of the same reasons as explained in the rejection of claim 1, the explanation being incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Li’077 teaches “wherein the location condition is met for the specific frequency based on that a distance between the wireless device and the specific cell is shorter than a minimum distance threshold (when “the specific frequency” is mapped to the frequency of the neighboring, target cell, paragraph 0127 – 0128 and 0175: the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell (“the specific cell”) is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device.).”
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Li’077 teaches “wherein the minimum distance threshold is included in the cell reselection configuration (paragraph 0127: the target cell should satisfy that the distance between the terminal and the target cell (“the specific cell”) is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device.).”
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Li’077 teaches “wherein the location condition is met for the specific frequency based on that a distance between the wireless device and the specific cell is longer than a maximum distance threshold (when “the specific frequency” is mapped to the frequency of the serving cell, paragraph 0087: a case that the distance between the terminal and the serving cell (“the specific cell”) is greater than the distance threshold value. Also paragraph 0162).”
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Li’077 teaches “wherein the maximum distance threshold is included in the cell reselection configuration (paragraph 0161: the location information includes a distance between the terminal and a serving cell, and the first message (“the cell reselection configuration”) is configured to indicate a distance threshold value.).”
Regarding claim 6, Li’077 teaches “wherein the cell reselection configuration includes multiple location conditions which are mapped to cells in the multiple frequencies (Paragraph 0127: the distance between the terminal and the target cell is less than a threshold value. The threshold value is configured for the terminal by the network device.
Paragraphs 0161 – 0162: the first message is configured to indicate a distance threshold value. When the distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value, measure the neighboring cell.
Target cell and serving cell have different frequencies and thus represent “cells in the multiple frequencies”.).”
Regarding claim 14, Li’077 teaches “wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network (paragraph 0078: The terminal may receive the first message sent by the network device based on a system message and/or a radio resource control (RRC) release message. Therefore, the wireless device communicates with the network), or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device.”
Regarding claim 32, Li’077 teaches “A base station in a wireless communication system (paragraph 0181: FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating an apparatus for reselecting a cell. Paragraph 0198: FIG. 18 is a block diagram illustrating a device 400 for selecting a cell. For example, the device 400 may be provided as a network device, and for example, a base station.) comprising: a transceiver (paragraph 0199: The device 400 may include wireless network interface 450 configured to connect the device 400 to a network); a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (paragraph 0198: the device 400 includes a processing component 422, which further includes one or more processors, and memory resources represented by a memory 432, which are configured to store instructions executable by the processing component 422, and for example, an application.), and configured to: control the transceiver to transmit, to a wireless device (paragraphs 0181 – 0182: As illustrated in FIG. 16, the apparatus 200 for reselecting the cell includes a sending unit 201. The sending unit 201 is configured to send a first message. The first message is configured to indicate parameter information of performing a cell reselection)...”
The rest of the claim is rejected because of the same reasons as explained in the rejection of claim 1, the explanation being incorporated herein by reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240172077 (Li’077) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220132383 (SHRESTHA).
Regarding claim 7, Li’077 does not teach “wherein the cell reselection configuration includes a first time condition associated with a serving cell.”
SHRESTHA in paragraph 0076 teaches that in addition to determining that a new cell satisfies one or more selection and/or reselection criteria, the UE 120 may determine whether a set of two thresholds are satisfied. A first threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of the serving cell and the second threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of a candidate cell. “Visibility duration” refers to an amount of time remaining during which the cell will be visible to a UE such that the UE may camp on and/or connect to that cell. Further, paragraph 0138 teaches that determining that the serving cell visibility duration satisfies the first threshold comprises determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold, wherein the first threshold is a value provided by a network device or a value selected by the UE.
In other words, SHRESTHA teaches “the cell reselection configuration includes a first time condition associated with a serving cell (paragraph 0138: the first threshold is a value provided by a network device. Determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold which is “a first time condition”).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by SHRESTHA timing condition in selection and reselection criteria of a new cell, in the system of Li’077. Doing so would have resulted in increased cell connectivity and decreases in UE power consumption (as the UE may not need to attempt unnecessary and unsuccessful cell reselections) (see SHRESTHA, paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 8, Li’077 in combination with SHRESTHA teaches “wherein the first time condition is related to a service stop time of the serving cell (SHRESTHA, paragraph 0138: determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold. Paragraph 0076: “Visibility duration” refers to an amount of time remaining during which the cell will be visible to a UE such that the UE may camp on and/or connect to that cell, which is the same as claimed “a service stop time of the serving cell”. Paragraph 0077: the visibility duration may be determined by a cell stop time broadcast in system information for a low earth orbit (LEO) fixed cell.).”
Regarding claim 10, Li’077 in combination with SHRESTHA teaches “wherein the first time condition is satisfied based on that a current time point is within a time period (SHRESTHA, paragraph 0138: determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold. When this is determined, it means that the mobile device is at such time point (“a current time point”) that falls within the threshold value of visibility (“within a time period”)).”
Regarding claim 11, Li’077 in combination with SHRESTHA teaches “wherein the method further comprises, de-prioritizing a serving frequency including the serving cell by applying a second priority value for the serving frequency, based on that the first time condition is satisfied (SHRESTHA, paragraph 0138: determining that the serving cell visibility duration is less than the first threshold which means “that the first time condition is satisfied”. Paragraphs 0134 – 0136: As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include determining that a serving cell visibility duration of a serving cell satisfies a first threshold (block 710). As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cell reselection procedure to switch from the serving cell to the new cell based at least in part on determining that the first threshold is satisfied (block 730). Cell reselection procedure to a new cell at least implicitly means that “a serving frequency including the serving cell” is de-prioritized by applying a lower priority compared to the priority of the new cell).”
Regarding claim 12, Li’077 does not teach “wherein the cell reselection configuration includes a second time condition related to a neighbor cell.”
SHRESTHA in paragraph 0076 teaches that in addition to determining that a new cell satisfies one or more selection and/or reselection criteria, the UE 120 may determine whether a set of two thresholds are satisfied. A first threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of the serving cell and the second threshold may correspond to a visibility duration of a candidate cell. “Visibility duration” refers to an amount of time remaining during which the cell will be visible to a UE such that the UE may camp on and/or connect to that cell. Further, paragraph 0139 teaches that determining that the new cell visibility duration satisfies the second threshold comprises determining that the new cell visibility duration is greater than the second threshold.
In other words, SHRESTHA teaches “the cell reselection configuration includes a second time condition related to a neighbor cell (Paragraph 0139: determining that the new cell visibility duration is greater than the second threshold which is “a second time condition”. Paragraph 0077: the second threshold may be provided by a network device.).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by SHRESTHA timing condition in selection and reselection criteria of a new cell, in the system of Li’077. Doing so would have resulted in increased cell connectivity and decreases in UE power consumption (as the UE may not need to attempt unnecessary and unsuccessful cell reselections) (see SHRESTHA, paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 13, Li’077 in combination with SHRESTHA teaches “wherein the method further comprises, prioritizing a neighbor frequency including the neighbor cell by applying a second priority value for the neighbor frequency, based on that the second time condition is satisfied (SHRESTHA, paragraph 0139: determining that the new cell visibility duration is greater than the second threshold, which means “that the second time condition is satisfied”. Paragraphs 0134 – 0136: as shown in FIG 7, process 700 may include determining that a new cell visibility duration of a new cell satisfies a second threshold (block 720). As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cell reselection procedure to switch from the serving cell to the new cell based at least in part on determining that the second threshold is satisfied (block 730). Cell reselection procedure to a new cell at least implicitly means that “a neighbor frequency including the neighbor cell” is prioritized by applying a higher priority compared to the priority of the serving cell).”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240172077 (Li’077) in view of US 20220132383 (SHRESTHA) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 20240349147 (Li’147).
Regarding claim 9, while teaching that terminal performs cell selection or reselection in the NTNs (which also includes the serving cell), Li’077 does not teach “wherein the serving cell is a quasi-earth fixed cell.”
Li’147 in paragraph 0048 teaches that the network types supported by the NTN network include a quasi-earth fixed type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement the teaching of Li’077 in such networks as “quasi-earth fixed cell”, as suggested by Li’147. Doing so would have further expanded the applications of the method and system of Li’077.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648