Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, species “a” of a squeegee in the reply filed on 10/14/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 18, 20, and 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected-inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 16, line 4, the phrase “two rails” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the two rails” is assumed.
In claim 16, line 5, the phrase “the rails” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the two rails” is assumed.
In claim 16, line 6, the phrase “the rails” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the two rails” is assumed.
In claim 19, line 2, the phrase “the rails” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the two rails” is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 19, 22, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hopings et al (US 4,246,866).
Regarding claim 15, Hopings et al teaches (see Figs 1-3, 10 and 13) a system for applying a coating film (printing material applied using a screen 17) to a surface of a component (glass sheet S) to be painted (in the form of band 11 see Fig 2), comprising: (a) a framework (deck surface 50 with collar 125) positioned and fixed to the component (S) to be painted; (b) a squeegee (bar 30), with which a contact pressure is exerted on the coating film (printing material) during the application of the coating film (printing material applied using the screen 17); (c) two rails (26) along which the squeegee, can be moved; (d) a device (print head 13 with screen 17) in the framework (deck surface 50 with collar 125) for fixing the coating film; and (e) a pin and/or a cushion (strip 127) for fixing the framework to the component (S).
As to claim 16, in Hopings et al: (a) the framework (deck surface 50 with collar 125) comprises a rectangular basic shape (see Fig 5); (b) the two rails (26) comprise two opposite side parts of the framework (see Fig 1); (c) the framework comprises two rails fixed on two opposite side parts of the framework (see Fig 1); (d) the rails (26) comprise linear rails; and/or (e) the rails (26) are parallel to each other (the rails 26 are arranged in straight line parallel to each other, see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, in Hopings et al: (a) the framework comprises a variably adjustable framework (adjustable stop 100 mounted for vertical and horizontal movement, see Figs 7-8 and 10 and column 5, lines 34-40); (b) the framework comprises system profiles (collar 125); and/or (c) the framework comprises aluminum profiles (see column 6, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 19, in Hopings et al: (see Figs 1 and 3) (a) the squeegee (30) is configured for movement along the rails (26) and guidance over the coating film at a leading, acute angle during the application of the coating film; (b) the squeegee (30) is covered with a textile fabric (silk screen) in an area that comes into contact with the coating film (printing material) during the application of the coating; and/or (c) the squeegee (30) comprises a pneumatically or hydraulically actuatable element (flood bar assembly 18 and suitable crank mechanism 28, see Fig 3) in an area that comes into contact with the coating film during the application of the coating film.
With respect to claim 22, in Hopings et al the cushions (127) comprise actuatable cushions (polyurethane for example, to provide a resiliently yieldable edge surface, see column 6, lines 37-44).
Regarding claim 24, in Hopings et al the device comprises a clamp and/or a tension spring (pivoting bracket 32).
As to claim 25, in Hopings et al the coating film (printing material applied using a screen 17) comprises a self-adhesive coating film, a transfer coating film, a color-imparting layer, and/or a clear coat layer (printing material applied as band is capable of comprising the claimed type of layer).
As to claim 27, in Hopings et al the component (S) comprises: (a) a car body in automobile production; (b) a car body part in automobile production; (c) a roof of an automobile; (d) an engine hood of an automobile; (e) a tailgate of an automobile; (f) a fender of an automobile; and/or (g) a spoiler of an automobile (see column 1, lines 13-16).
Claim(s) 15-16, 21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake et al (US 2014/0083359 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Miyake et al teaches (see Figs 1-2 and 4-5) a system for applying a coating film (printed pattern of paste applied by the screen mask 206, see para [0067]) to a surface of a component (substrate W) to be painted, comprising: (a) a framework (clamp members 160) positioned and fixed to the component (W) to be painted; (b) a squeegee (20, 403 squeegee unit with a squeegee 41), with which a contact pressure is exerted on the coating film (during the application of the coating film (printed pattern of paste applied by the screen mask 206); (c) two rails (405) along which the squeegee (20, 403 squeegee unit with a squeegee 41), can be moved; (d) a device (squeegee unit holding mechanism 400 with a screen mask 206) in the framework for fixing the coating film; and (e) a pin and/or a cushion (pin 151) for fixing the framework (160) to the component (W).
As to claim 16, in Miyake et al: (a) the framework (160) comprises a rectangular basic shape (see Figs 2 and 5-6); (b) the two rails (405) comprise two opposite side parts of the framework (see Fig 1); (c) the framework comprises two rails fixed on two opposite side parts of the framework (see Fig 1); (d) the rails comprise linear rails; and/or (e) the rails are parallel to each other (the rails 26 are arranged in straight line parallel to each other, see Fig 1).
As to claim 21, Miyake teaches a pressure sensor system (411, see para [0078]).
Regarding claim 24, in Miyake et al the device comprises a clamp and/or a tension spring (clamp section 204 with fixing member 205).
As to claim 25, in Miyake et al the coating film comprises a self-adhesive coating film, a transfer coating film, a color-imparting layer, and/or a clear coat layer (see para [0001] printed wiring board having screen printing of cream solder, conductive paste or others capable of comprising the claimed type of layer).
With respect to claim 26, Miyake et al teaches the system is configured for semi-automatic application of the coating film, fully automatic application of the coating film, and/or integration into an industrial production line (see Fig 10 and para [0085])
As to claim 27, in Miyake et al the component comprises: (a) a car body in automobile production; (b) a car body part in automobile production; (c) a roof of an automobile; (d) an engine hood of an automobile; (e) a tailgate of an automobile; (f) a fender of an automobile; and/or (g) a spoiler of an automobile (see column 1, lines 13-16).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/239841A1 (see English Translation Yoshizuka et al US 2024/0246111 A1).
Yoshizuka et al teaches (see Figs 1-5 and 17) a system for applying a coating film to a surface of a component (workpiece 2) to be painted, comprising: (a) a framework (holding part 21) positioned and fixed to the component to be painted; (b) a squeegee (35B), with which a contact pressure is exerted on the coating film (3) during the application of the coating film; (c) two rails (51, see Figs 2-3) along which the squeegee, can be moved (see Figs 2-3 and para [0244-0246] for the rails moving the attaching member 44 moving in D1 and D2; the squeegee is then able to relatively move); (d) a device (coating roller 33) in the framework for fixing the coating film (3); and (e) a pin and/or a cushion (imitating form 22 with attachment hole 22c bolt or fixture, see para [0202] and Fig 5) for fixing the framework to the component.
Claim 15 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cruz et al (US 4,103,615).
Cruz et al teaches (see Figs 1, 4-7) a system for applying a coating film (printing dye using a cylinder 49) to a surface of a component (27) to be painted, comprising: (a) a framework (see Fig 1- for part of the machine) positioned and fixed to the component to be painted; (b) a squeegee (blade 33, 48, 56, 67), with which a contact pressure is exerted on the coating film (see Fig 6 and column 3, lines 4-9 for the blade 56 exerting applying pressure) during the application of the coating film; (c) two rails (34,35, 47, 57, see Fig 5 for two rails 47) along which the squeegee, can be moved (see column 2, lines 24-37); (d) a device (bearings 86) in the framework for fixing the coating film (printing dye using a cylinder 49, 60); and (e) a pin and/or a cushion (meal blade 56 with inflatable cushion 58, see Fig 6) for fixing the framework to the component.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/