DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 03/20/24.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 03/20/24 & 02/27/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
6. The drawings filed on 03/20/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Claims Objections
7. Claims 1-30 are objected to because of minor informalities:
8. Claim 1, in part, recites, “…memory…in line 4. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “memory” to “a memory”.
9. Claims 14, 18 & 27 are also objected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
10. Claims 2-13, 15-17, 19-26 & 28-30 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 11, 14, 17-19, 21, 24, 27 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingkon et al. (hereinafter referred as Qingkon) Chinese Patent Application No. CN 112839388 A, in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0252973 A1.
Regarding claim 1: Qingkon discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
select a random access message type for establishing connectivity with a core network, the selecting between a first random access message type associated with a non-terrestrial radio access technology and a second random access message type associated with a terrestrial radio access technology (See Para. n0086-n0091; Specifically, when the user equipment determines that the requested network type is a terrestrial network….the user equipment is controlled to access the network according to four-step connection random access channel method. when a user equipment determines that the requested network type is a non-terrestrial network through the above methods, it is directly controlled to access the network according to the 2-step RACH scheme, i.e., the two-step contention random access channel method);
transmit, during or after a random access procedure to establish a connection with the core network, a random access message in accordance with the selected random access message type (See n0003; The terminal and base station need to exchange information five times to complete the random access process, namely: (1) The terminal sends message Msg1 to the base station. Msg1 is a preamble sequence used by the base station for timing advance estimation; (2) The base station sends message Msg2 to the terminal. Msg2 is the random access response to Msg1, which includes the preamble sequence identifier, TA (Timing Response), and other information. Advance (time advance) indication, the terminal sends uplink grant information Msg3 to the base station, and Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI); (3) The terminal sends message Msg3 to the base station. When the terminal reads the preamble sequence identifier corresponding to Msg1 in Msg2, it sends Msg3 using the uplink grant in Msg2. The content of Msg3 is related to the event that triggers the random access process; (4) The base station sends message Msg4 to the terminal. Msg4 is a response to resolve contention conflict. When the terminal detects that Msg4 contains the contention conflict resolution identifier information related to Msg3, it is considered that the random access is successful; (5) The terminal that successfully detects Msg4 sends an ACK confirmation message to the base station. Thus, different random access messages (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA) are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial); and
communicate with the core network via the connection (See Para. n0003 & n0066; different random access message (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA, are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial. The UE establish with the network by exchanging message to the network through RACH).
Qingkon does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
However, Zhang from the same field of endeavor discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115), comprising: a processor (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115 includes a processor); memory (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115 includes a memory) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
select a random access message type for establishing connectivity with a core network (See Para. 0251; the UE communications manager 1210 may select one of the first random access procedure or a second random access procedure, where the selection is based on a response window of the one or more response windows over which the second random access message is received and establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message).
communicate with the core network via the connection (See Para. 0090 & 0251; establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message, the second random access message, and the selected one of the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Qingkon discloses the apparatus, wherein the instructions to transmit the random access message are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a connection establishment complete acknowledgment message for the random access message type, wherein the connection establishment complete acknowledgment message comprises a set of one or more parameters associated with the connection being established with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology (See n0003; sending an ACK message to the base station).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the connection establishment complete acknowledgment message comprises a connection setup complete message (See Para. 0011, 0013 & 0030; a connection set up message in response to a connection request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the connection establishment complete acknowledgment message comprises a connection setup complete message as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the instructions to select the random access message type are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a connection request message format for the random access message, wherein the connection request message format comprises an uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format associated with the UE establishing the connection with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology (See Para. 0261; determine a format of a second random access message based on receiving the first random access message, where the format of the second random access message indicates one of: the first random access procedure or a second random access procedure, transmit, to the UE, the second random access message in response to the first random access message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the connection request message format comprises an uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format associated with the UE establishing the connection with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format indicates a format for a connection request message (See Para. 0141 & 0261).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format indicates a format for a connection request message as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Qingkon discloses the apparatus, wherein the instructions to select the random access message type are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select between a terrestrial network message class format and a non-terrestrial network message class format, wherein the random access message is transmitted in accordance with the selected message class format (See Para. n0086-n0091; Specifically, when the user equipment determines that the requested network type is a terrestrial network….the user equipment is controlled to access the network according to four-step connection random access channel method. when a user equipment determines that the requested network type is a non-terrestrial network through the above methods, it is directly controlled to access the network according to the 2-step RACH scheme, i.e., the two-step contention random access channel method).
Regarding claim 14: Qingkon discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmit, during or after a random access procedure to establish a connection with a core network via a non-terrestrial radio access technology network, a random access message via a non-terrestrial radio access technology identifying one or more status parameters associated the UE, the one or more status parameters comprising at least an indication that the UE is a first category type (See n0003; The terminal and base station need to exchange information five times to complete the random access process, namely: (1) The terminal sends message Msg1 to the base station. Msg1 is a preamble sequence used by the base station for timing advance estimation; (2) The base station sends message Msg2 to the terminal. Msg2 is the random access response to Msg1, which includes the preamble sequence identifier, TA (Timing Response), and other information. Advance (time advance) indication, the terminal sends uplink grant information Msg3 to the base station, and Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI); (3) The terminal sends message Msg3 to the base station. When the terminal reads the preamble sequence identifier corresponding to Msg1 in Msg2, it sends Msg3 using the uplink grant in Msg2. The content of Msg3 is related to the event that triggers the random access process; (4) The base station sends message Msg4 to the terminal. Msg4 is a response to resolve contention conflict. When the terminal detects that Msg4 contains the contention conflict resolution identifier information related to Msg3, it is considered that the random access is successful; (5) The terminal that successfully detects Msg4 sends an ACK confirmation message to the base station. Thus, different random access messages (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA) are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial); and
communicate with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology based at least in part on the one or more status parameters of the UE (corresponding to TC-RNTI) (See Para. 0090 & 0251; establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message, the second random access message, and the selected one of the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure).
Qingkon does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
However, Zhang from the same field of endeavor discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115), comprising: a processor (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115 includes a processor); memory (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0249; a UE 115 includes a memory) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology based at least in part on the one or more status parameters of the UE See Para. 0090 & 0251; establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message, the second random access message, and the selected one of the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the first category type comprises a machine category type, and the random access message comprises a connection setup complete message (See Para. 0011, 0013 & 0030; a connection set up message in response to a connection request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first category type comprises a machine category type, and the random access message comprises a connection setup complete message as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 18: Qingkon discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
receive, during or after a random access procedure to establish a connection between a user equipment (UE) and a core network, a random access message (See n0003; The terminal and base station need to exchange information five times to complete the random access process, namely: (1) The terminal sends message Msg1 to the base station. Msg1 is a preamble sequence used by the base station for timing advance estimation; (2) The base station sends message Msg2 to the terminal. Msg2 is the random access response to Msg1, which includes the preamble sequence identifier, TA (Timing Response), and other information. Advance (time advance) indication, the terminal sends uplink grant information Msg3 to the base station, and Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI); (3) The terminal sends message Msg3 to the base station. When the terminal reads the preamble sequence identifier corresponding to Msg1 in Msg2, it sends Msg3 using the uplink grant in Msg2. The content of Msg3 is related to the event that triggers the random access process; (4) The base station sends message Msg4 to the terminal. Msg4 is a response to resolve contention conflict. When the terminal detects that Msg4 contains the contention conflict resolution identifier information related to Msg3, it is considered that the random access is successful; (5) The terminal that successfully detects Msg4 sends an ACK confirmation message to the base station. Thus, different random access messages (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA) are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial);
identify a random access message type for the random access message, the identifying between at least a first random access message type associated with a non-terrestrial radio access technology and a second random access message type associated with a terrestrial radio access technology (See Para. n0086-n0091; Specifically, when the user equipment determines that the requested network type is a terrestrial network….the user equipment is controlled to access the network according to four-step connection random access channel method. when a user equipment determines that the requested network type is a non-terrestrial network through the above methods, it is directly controlled to access the network according to the 2-step RACH scheme, i.e., the two-step contention random access channel method); and
communicate, based at least in part on the identified random access message type, with the UE via the connection (See Para. n0003 & n0066; different random access message (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA, are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial. The UE establish with the network by exchanging message to the network through RACH).
Qingkon does not explicitly disclose a base station (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115), comprising: a processor (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115 includes a Processor); memory (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115 includes a memory) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate, based at least in part on the identified random access message type, with the UE via the connection (See Para. 0090 & 0251; establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message, the second random access message, and the selected one of the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a base station, comprising: a processor; memory as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose a base station.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the base station, wherein the first category type comprises a machine category type, and the random access message comprises a connection setup complete message (See n0003; sending an ACK message to the base station).
Regarding claim 21: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose a base station.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the base station, wherein the instructions to identify the random access message type are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a connection establishment request or resumption request message for the random access message, wherein the connection establishment request or resumption request message comprises an uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format configured based at least in part on the UE establishing the connection with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology (See Para. 0261; determine a format of a second random access message based on receiving the first random access message, where the format of the second random access message indicates one of: the first random access procedure or a second random access procedure, transmit, to the UE, the second random access message in response to the first random access message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the instructions to identify the random access message type are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a connection establishment request or resumption request message for the random access message, wherein the connection establishment request or resumption request message comprises an uplink common control channel non-terrestrial network message format configured based at least in part on the UE establishing the connection with the core network via the non-terrestrial radio access technology as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 24: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose a base station.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the base station, wherein the instructions to identify the random access message type are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify that the random access message is formatted in accordance with one of a terrestrial network message class or a non-terrestrial network message class (See Para. n0086-n0091; Specifically, when the user equipment determines that the requested network type is a terrestrial network….the user equipment is controlled to access the network according to four-step connection random access channel method. when a user equipment determines that the requested network type is a non-terrestrial network through the above methods, it is directly controlled to access the network according to the 2-step RACH scheme, i.e., the two-step contention random access channel method).
Regarding claim 27: Qingkon discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
receive, during or after a random access procedure to establish a connection between a user equipment (UE) and a core network via a non-terrestrial radio access technology network, a random access message via the non-terrestrial radio access technology identifying one or more status parameters associated the UE, the one or more status parameters comprising at least an indication that the UE is a first category type (See n0003; The terminal and base station need to exchange information five times to complete the random access process, namely: (1) The terminal sends message Msg1 to the base station. Msg1 is a preamble sequence used by the base station for timing advance estimation; (2) The base station sends message Msg2 to the terminal. Msg2 is the random access response to Msg1, which includes the preamble sequence identifier, TA (Timing Response), and other information. Advance (time advance) indication, the terminal sends uplink grant information Msg3 to the base station, and Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI); (3) The terminal sends message Msg3 to the base station. When the terminal reads the preamble sequence identifier corresponding to Msg1 in Msg2, it sends Msg3 using the uplink grant in Msg2. The content of Msg3 is related to the event that triggers the random access process; (4) The base station sends message Msg4 to the terminal. Msg4 is a response to resolve contention conflict. When the terminal detects that Msg4 contains the contention conflict resolution identifier information related to Msg3, it is considered that the random access is successful; (5) The terminal that successfully detects Msg4 sends an ACK confirmation message to the base station. Thus, different random access messages (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA) are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial); and
communicate with the UE based at least in part on the one or more status parameters of the UE (See Para. n0003 & n0066; different random access message (i.e., Msg1 or MsgA, are sent depending on the network being terrestrial or non-terrestrial. The UE establish with the network by exchanging message to the network through RACH).
Qingkon does not explicitly disclose a base station (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115), comprising: a processor (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115 includes a Processor); memory (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0293; a base station 115 includes a memory) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate with the UE based at least in part on the one or more status parameters of the UE (See Para. 0090 & 0251; establish a connection with the base station based on the first random access message, the second random access message, and the selected one of the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a base station, comprising: a processor; memory as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 30: The combination of Qingkon and Zhang disclose a base station.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses the base station, wherein the first category type comprises a machine category type, and the random access message comprises a connection setup complete message (See Para. 0011, 0013 & 0030; a connection set up message in response to a connection request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the first category type comprises a machine category type, and the random access message comprises a connection setup complete message as taught by Zhang in the system of Baruch to improve techniques for performing random access procedure (See Para. 0005; lines 4-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 3, 5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-16, 20, 22-23, 25-26 & 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
14. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. JI et al. 2024/0107396 A1 (Title: Maintaining communication on a source cell in a conditional…) (See Abstract, Para. 0045-0047 & 0065-0066).
B. Fehrenbach et al. 2024/0015796 A1 (Title: UE coverage enhancements..) (See abstract, Para. 0005-0009 & 0020-0023).
C. Sakhnini et al. 2022/0369384 A1 (Title: BWP switching in RACH preamble ) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469