DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dwivedi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0229143).
-Regarding claim 13, Dwivedi discloses a terminal (UE 700, FIG. 7) comprising: a transmitter that transmits, to a network, capability information on a capability of reporting an indicator concerning a line of sight of a reference signal (transceiver circuitry 701, FIG. 7; LOS detection measurements, paragraph 87); and a processor that performs a position measurement based on the reference signal (perform LOS detection measurements associated with the plurality of base stations, paragraph 88), wherein the transmitter transmits, to the network, a report including a result of the position measurement and an indicator concerning a line of sight of the reference signal (results of the LOS detection measurements towards the network node, paragraph 89).
-Regarding claim 18, Dwivedi discloses a radio communication method comprising: transmitting, to a network, capability information on a capability of reporting an indicator concerning a line of sight of a reference signal (transceiver circuitry 701, FIG. 7; LOS detection measurements, paragraph 87); performing a position measurement based on the reference signal (perform LOS detection measurements associated with the plurality of base stations, paragraph 88); and transmitting, to the network, a report including a result of the position measurement and an indicator concerning a line of sight of the reference signal (results of the LOS detection measurements towards the network node, paragraph 89).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0229143) in view of Zhou (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0113364).
-Regarding claim 14, Dwivedi is silent to teaching that the capability information includes information indicating at least one of whether the reporting format of the indicator supports a binary value, a soft value, or both the binary value and the soft value. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Zhou.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches the capability information includes information indicating at least one of whether the reporting format of the indicator supports a binary value, a soft value, or both the binary value and the soft value (the indicator is a binary value, paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dwivedi with the teaching of Zhou in order to provide positioning capable of adapting to line-of-sight and non-line-of sight environments.
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses a value of the indicator indicates that a small value is a poor line of sight and a large value is a good line of sight (Zhou, paragraph 43).
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses the report includes a plurality of indicators (Zhou, paragraph 44).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses a receiver that receives information specifying a format for reporting the indicator from the network (Zhou, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pages 5-6 of the remarks, applicant argues that Dwivedi fails to disclose a report including both the position measurement result and the LOS indicator.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Dwivedi indeed discloses that the UE transmits a measurement report to the network (reported over LPP or RRC [0066, 0073-0074]); the UE transmits via transceiver circuitry 701, results of the LOS detection measurements towards the network node ([0089]), and the contents of that single report include, in the same transmission, results of position measurement (e.g., the time of arrival of the first path ([0046], [0052]), angle of arrival ([0049]), and RSRP ([0050]), which Dwivedi expressly identifies as positioning measurements used for UE position estimation (the position measurements may include measurements from the LOS detection measurements, ([0084])). Dwivedi further discloses line-of-sight indicators, such as the relative strength of the first PDP peak ([0044]), the dynamic range of the first path ([0047]), and the channel impulse response and its Rician K-factor ([0051]) (the measurements described above in the first through ninth LOS detection method are LOS/NLOS indicators, [0055]), all derived from reference signals received by the UE ([0041]) and reported together in response to a single network request specifying a plurality of detection methods “to be used in measuring and reporting” ([0079]).
In pages 7-8 of the remarks, applicant further argues Zhou fails to cure the deficiency of Dwivedi.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Dwivedi indeed disclosed the claimed limitations in claims 13 and 18 as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664