DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dwivedi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0229143).
-Regarding claim 13, Dwivedi discloses a terminal (UE 700, FIG. 7) comprising: a transmitting unit that transmits, to a network, capability information on a capability of reporting an indicator concerning a line of sight of a reference signal (transceiver circuitry 701, FIG. 7; LOS detection measurements, paragraph 87); and a control unit that performs a position measurement based on the reference signal (perform LOS detection measurements associated with the plurality of base stations, paragraph 88), wherein the transmitting unit transmits, to the network, a report including a result of the position measurement and an indicator concerning a line of sight of the reference signal (results of the LOS detection measurements towards the network node, paragraph 89).
-Regarding claim 18, Dwivedi discloses a radio communication method comprising: a step of transmitting, to a network, capability information on a capability of reporting an indicator concerning a line of sight of a reference signal (transceiver circuitry 701, FIG. 7; LOS detection measurements, paragraph 87); a step of performing a position measurement based on the reference signal (perform LOS detection measurements associated with the plurality of base stations, paragraph 88); and a step of transmitting, to the network, a report including a result of the position measurement and an indicator concerning a line of sight of the reference signal (results of the LOS detection measurements towards the network node, paragraph 89).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0229143) in view of Zhou (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0113364).
-Regarding claim 14, Dwivedi is silent to teaching that the capability information includes information indicating at least one of whether the reporting format of the indicator supports a binary value, a soft value, or both the binary value and the soft value. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Zhou.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches the capability information includes information indicating at least one of whether the reporting format of the indicator supports a binary value, a soft value, or both the binary value and the soft value (the indicator is a binary value, paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dwivedi with the teaching of Zhou in order to provide positioning capable of adapting to line-of-sight and non-line-of sight environments.
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses a value of the indicator indicates that a small value is a poor line of sight and a large value is a good line of sight (Zhou, paragraph 43).
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses the report includes a plurality of indicators (Zhou, paragraph 44).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses a receiving unit that receives information specifying a format for reporting the indicator from the network (Zhou, abstract).
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664