DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 and 9/22/2025 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claims 3 and 7, the claims do not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, and 10, the claims recite “at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer related to at least one HARQ process, for which a corresponding RTT timer and a corresponding retransmission timer not being running, is started.” Separately recited claim limitations such as “at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer” and “a corresponding RTT timer” are typically interpreted as different claim limitations, but the “corresponding” language appears as though “at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer” and “a corresponding RTT timer” may be referring to the same RTT timer (i.e., a single RTT timer). It is therefore unclear if the claims are potentially directed to starting a single RTT timer that was not previously running, or if the claims are directed to the use of at least two different RTT timers wherein the first RTT timer (i.e., “at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer”) is required to be started based on a second RTT timer (i.e., “a corresponding RTT timer”) not being running. Claims 1, 5, 9, and 10 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer” as potentially being the same timer as “a corresponding RTT timer.” Regarding claims 3 and 7, the claims recite “the at least one HARQ-ACK response of the at least one HARQ process,” which lacks antecedent basis. Claims 2 and 6 (from which claims 3 and 7 depend) instead recite “HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes.” It is unclear if “the at least one HARQ-ACK response of the at least one HARQ process” was intended to recite “the HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes,” or if such claim language is intended to refer to a previously unrecited subset of “HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes” or to some other previously unrecited HARQ-ACK response. Claims 3 and 7 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “the at least one HARQ-ACK response of the at least one HARQ process” as potentially referring to at least one of the previously recited “HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes.” Regarding claims 2-4 and 6-8, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozturk et al. (US 2023/0084318, Ozturk hereinafter, support for cited subject matter exists in provisional application No. 63/245,085, filed on Sep. 16, 2021). Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, and 10, Ozturk teaches a method, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Memory storing data and program codes; Ozturk; Fig. 2; [0051]), a user equipment (UE) (User equipment (UE); Ozturk; Fig. 2; [0047]), and an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (User equipment (UE); Ozturk; Fig. 2; [0047]), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (The UE may be comprised of a processor; Ozturk; Fig. 2; [0051]); and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions (The UE may be comprised of a memory storing data and program codes that is operably connectable to the processor; Ozturk; Fig. 2; [0051]) that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a One-shot Hybrid Automatic Repeat and request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) request message related to a plurality of HARQ processes from a network (As can be seen in at least step 702 of Fig. 7, a request for one shot HARQ feedback for multiple HARQ processes may be received; Ozturk; Fig. 7; [0080]-[0082]); transmitting a One-shot HARQ-ACK related to the plurality of HARQ processes to the network (As can be seen in at least step 704 of Fig. 7, the one shot HARQ feedback may be transmitted to the network entity; Ozturk; Fig. 7; [0080]-[0082]), wherein at least one Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer related to at least one HARQ process, for which a corresponding RTT timer and a corresponding retransmission timer not being running, is started upon transmitting the One-shot HARQ-ACK (As can be seen in at least step 706 of Fig. 7, a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer may be started for one of the HARQ processes after transmitting the one shot HARQ feedback. Because the timer is described as being started, such a timer (i.e., a corresponding RTT timer) may be interpreted as not being running. Furthermore, at least paragraph [0082] states that a potential condition for starting the DRX timer may also include a DRX retransmission time having expired (i.e., a corresponding retransmission timer not being running); Ozturk; Fig. 7; [0080]-[0082]); starting at least one retransmission timer based on the at least one RTT timer expiring (As is discussed in conjunction with at least Fig. 4, after the RTT timer expires, the UE may awaken from the sleep mode to receive a retransmission (ReTx) and a retransmission timer starts. The UE may thus be interpreted as starting at least one retransmission timer based on the at least one RTT timer expiring; Ozturk; Figs. 4 and 7; [0067], [0080]-[0082]); and monitoring at least one Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for the at least one HARQ process during the at least one retransmission timer is running (The retransmission timer specifies a number of slots the UE remains active to wait for incoming retransmissions after a first available retransmission time. The UE may thus be interpreted as monitoring at least one Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for the at least one HARQ process during the at least one retransmission timer is running; Ozturk; Figs. 4 and 7; [0067], [0080]-[0082]). Regarding claims 2 and 6, Ozturk teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 5 respectively. Ozturk further teaches the One-shot HARQ-ACK related to the plurality of HARQ processes comprises HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes (The One-shot HARQ-ACK related to the plurality of HARQ processes comprises HARQ-ACK responses of the plurality of HARQ processes; Ozturk; Fig. 7; [0080]-[0082]). Regarding claims 3 and 7, Ozturk teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 6 respectively. Ozturk further teaches the at least one retransmission timer is started based on the at least one RTT timer expiring (As is discussed in conjunction with at least Fig. 4, after the RTT timer expires, the UE may awaken from the sleep mode to receive a retransmission (ReTx) and a retransmission timer starts. The UE may thus be interpreted as starting at least one retransmission timer based on the at least one RTT timer expiring; Ozturk; Figs. 4 and 7; [0067], [0080]-[0082]) and based on the at least one HARQ-ACK response of the at least one HARQ process being negative acknowledgement (NACK) (As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, the retransmission timer may also be started based on at least one HARQ-ACK response being negative acknowledgement (NACK); Ozturk; Figs. 4 and 7; [0067], [0080]-[0082]). Regarding claims 4 and 8, Ozturk teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 5 respectively. Ozturk further teaches a RTT timer related to a specific HARQ process, for which there is no downlink transmission, is not started when the One-shot HARQ-ACK is transmitted, although a RTT timer for the specific HARQ process and a retransmission timer for the specific HARQ process are not running (As can be seen in at least step 706 of Fig. 7, a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer may be started for one of the HARQ processes after transmitting the one shot HARQ feedback. Such a HARQ RTT timer related to one shot HARQ feedback may be interpreted as not being a specific RTT timer to a specific HARQ process. Because only the HARQ RTT timer related to one shot HARQ feedback is described as being started, an RTT timer related to a specific HARQ process for which there is no downlink transmission may be interpreted as not being started; Ozturk; Fig. 7; [0080]-[0082]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474