DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/693,862, filed on March 20, 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/GB2022/052257, being filed on September 5, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 29, 2025 & March 20, 2024, have been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in lines 2, 4, 5, 6, & 9, the abstract recites the terms “ comprising”, “comprising“, “comprises”, “comprising”, and “comprise”, respectively, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should replace the terms “comprising” with the term –having—and the term “comprises” with the term –has--, to provide the abstract with proper language.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because throughout the abstract, it contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. In certain patents, particularly those for compounds and compositions, wherein the process for making and/or the use thereof are not obvious, the abstract should set forth a process for making and/or use thereof. If the new technical disclosure involves modifications or alternatives, the abstract should mention by way of example the preferred modification or alternative.
The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following:
(1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation;
(2) if an article, its method of making;
(3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use;
(4) if a mixture, its ingredients;
(5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
In line 1, the abstract refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, which is improper content for the abstract. The applicant should delete the references to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention to provide the abstract with proper content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 10, 13-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allcock et al (Pub Num 2020/0024393, herein referred to as Allcock). Allcock discloses a polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Allcock discloses an insulated conductor comprising a wire (i.e. conductor) capable of having an electrical potential difference applied across it to induce flow of electrical current (voltage applied to the wire induces current flow along its length), wherein the wire surface (i.e. conductor) comprises a layer of insulating polymeric compound provide on its surface (i.e. wire coating), wherein the polymeric compound comprising polyaryl ether ketone (PAEK, Paragraph 131) polymer including a repeat unit of general formula I
O-Ph-(O-Ph)t1-CO-Ph(O-Ph)w1-(CO-PH)v1 (Formula I)
wherein
=Ph (Page 8, see formula I) and wherein t1 and w1 independently represent 0 or 1 and v1 represents 0, 1, or 2 (Paragraphs 142-143), and wherein the polymeric insulating compound also comprises a dispersed phase of solid particulate material (Paragraphs 173-176). With respect to claim 2, Allcock discloses that t1=1, v1=0, and w1=0 to form polyether ether ketone (PEEK, Paragraphs 143-144). With respect to claim 4, Allcock discloses that the polymeric material may has a crystallinity of at least 25% and less than 40% (i.e. 25-35%, Paragraph 66). With respect to claim 6, Allcock discloses that the solid particulate material is selected from glass fiber, mica, silica, talc, calcium sulfate, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide, magnesium carbonate, and barium sulfate (Paragraphs 175-176). With respect to claim 7, Allcock discloses that the solid particulate material is present at a fill level from 0.1 to 35% (i.e. at least 20%, which is incorporated in claim range, Paragraph 178). With respect to claim 10, Allcock discloses that the insulating polymeric compound may have an average thickness of 2 to 500µm (i.e. 5-50 µm, Paragraph 183). With respect to claim 13, Allcock discloses that the polymeric material is applied directly (Paragraph 392). With respect to claims 14-15, Allcock discloses a method of manufacturing an insulated electrical conductor (Paragraph 392) comprising blending together a source of flowable polymeric material with solid particulate material to form a random blend (Paragraphs 173-178), exposing the random blend to shear forces (Paragraph 172), and simultaneously laying down the blend by extrusion (Paragraph 183) onto the surface of an electrical conductor (i.e. wire coating, Paragraph 392). With respect to claim 17, Allcock discloses that the solid particulate material is present at a fill level from 0.1 to 20% (ie at least 20%, which is incorporated in claim range, Paragraph 178). With respect to claim 19, Allcock discloses that the insulating polymeric compound may have an average thickness of 2 to 300µm (i.e. 5-50 µm, Paragraph 183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock (Pub Num 2020/0024393). Allcock discloses polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392). Specifically, with respect to claim 5, Allcock discloses an insulated conductor assembly comprising a wire (i.e. conductor) capable of having an electrical potential difference applied across it to induce flow of electrical current (voltage applied to the wire induces current flow along its length), wherein the insulating polymeric compound is provided on the assembly (i.e. wire surface) comprises a layer of insulating polymeric compound provide on its surface (i.e. wire coating), wherein the polymeric compound comprising a polyaryl ether ketone (PAEK, Paragraph 131) polymer including a repeat unit of general formula a & b
(a)
(b)
wherein at least 95 mol % of the copolymer repeat units (ie at least 95 mol% incorporates the claimed range, Paragraph 75) are repeat units of formula (a) and of formula (b) and wherein the repeat units (a) and (b) have a molar ratio of 55:45 to 80:20 (ie (a) may be at least 60 mol% and (b) may be at least 20-40%, therefore 60:40-80:20 may be the range of (a):(b) and wherein the PAEK has a melt viscosity, MV, from 0.35 to 0.55 kNsm-2 (i.e. at least 0.15 kNsm-2 , Paragraph 172), as measured using capillary rheometry at 400°C at a shear rate of 1000s-1 by extrusion through a tungsten carbide capillary die of 0.5mm diameter and 3.175 mm length (Paragraph 172).
Allcock doesn’t necessarily disclose the tungsten carbide capillary die having a 8.0 mm length (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the insulating polymeric composition of Allcock to comprise the melt viscosity to be measured by a tungsten carbide capillary die of 0.5mm diameter and 8 mm length, rather than a length of 3.175, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and it appears that Allcock would still have a melt viscosity of at least 0.15 kNsm-2 (Paragraph 172) and perform equally well with the modification.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock (Pub Num 2020/0024393) in view of El-Hibri et al (Pub Num 2015/0259531, herein referred to as El-Hibri). Allcock discloses polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392), as applied to claim 1 above.
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, Allcock discloses that the polymeric material may has a crystallinity of at least 25% and less than 40% (i.e. 25-35%, Paragraph 66).
However, Allcock doesn’t necessarily disclose the crystallinity being less than 25% (claim 3).
El-Hibri teaches a polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 209), and having enhanced toughness and impact resistance, while maintaining all other exceptional properties and being cost attractive over existing prior art PAEK/PAES blends (Paragraph 7). Specifically, with respect to claim 3, El-Hibri teaches an insulating polymeric compound that may comprise PAEK in the form of PEEK (Paragraph 38) which comprises a filler compound (Paragraph 146), wherein the polymeric material may have a crystallinity of less than 25% (i.e. 13.8-21.2%, see Table 5) or at least 25% and less than 40% (i.e. 31-35%, Table 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the insulating polymeric compound of Allcock to comprise the insulating polymeric compound to comprise the crystallinity being less than 25% as taught by El-Hibri because El-Hibri teaches that such configuration provides a polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 209), and having enhanced toughness and impact resistance, while maintaining all other exceptional properties and being cost attractive over existing prior art PAEK/PAES blends (Paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock (Pub Num 2020/0024393) in view of Blaschke et al (Pub Num 2012/0196113, herein referred to as Blaschke). Allcock discloses polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392), as applied to claims 1 & 7 above. Specifically, with respect to claim 8, Allcock discloses that the insulating polymeric compound may comprise PEEK (Paragraph 172) incorporated with a filler, such as talc (Paragraph 176), and filled with 15 to 25% (i.e. at least 20%, which is incorporated in claim range, Paragraph 178). With respect to claim 18, Allcock discloses that the insulating polymeric compound may comprise PEEK (Paragraph 172) incorporated with a filler, such as talc (Paragraph 176), and filled with 20% (i.e. at least 20%, which is incorporated in claim range, Paragraph 178).
However, Allcock doesn’t disclose with specificity the insulating polymeric compound being PEEK and 15-25% of the filler talc (claims 8 & 18), nor the solid particulate material having a d50 of between 0.001-50µm (claim 9).
Blaschke teaches an insulating polymeric compound that may be utilized as a cable insulation (Paragraph 42), which exhibits lower shrinkage and reduced area coefficient of thermal expansion (Paragraph 9). Specifically, with respect to claims 8 & 18, Blaschke teaches an insulating polymeric compound that may comprise PAEK in the form of PEEK (Paragraph 11) which comprises a filler compound of 15-25% of talc (i.e. 2-25%, Paragraph 13). With respect to claim 9, Blaschke teaches that the talc has a d50 of between 0.001-50µm (i.e. 0.2-20 µm, Paragraph 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the insulating polymeric compound of Allcock to comprise the insulating polymeric compound with the specificity of PEEK having 15-25% of talc configuration as taught by Blaschke because Blaschke teaches that such a configuration provides an insulating polymeric compound that may be utilized as a cable insulation (Paragraph 42), which exhibits lower shrinkage and reduced area coefficient of thermal expansion (Paragraph 9) and since Allcock suggest that such a material may be utilized in the filler range in the insulating polymeric material.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock (Pub Num 2020/0024393) in view of Madbouly et al (Pub Num 2018/0041086, herein referred to as Madbouly). Allcock discloses polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392), as applied to claim 1. With respect to claims 11-12 & 16, Allcock discloses that the electrical conductor is a wire (Paragraph 392), wherein the insulated conductor comprising a wire (i.e. conductor) capable of having an electrical potential difference applied across it to induce flow of electrical current (voltage applied to the wire induces current flow along its length), wherein the wire surface (i.e. conductor) comprises a layer of insulating polymeric compound provide on its surface (i.e. wire coating), wherein the polymeric compound comprising polyaryl ether ketone (PAEK, Paragraph 131) polymer including a repeat unit of general formula I
O-Ph-(O-Ph)t1-CO-Ph(O-Ph)w1-(CO-PH)v1 (Formula I)
wherein
=Ph (Page 8, see formula I) and wherein t1 and w1 independently represent 0 or 1 and v1 represents 0, 1, or 2 (Paragraphs 142-143), and wherein the polymeric insulating compound also comprises a dispersed phase of solid particulate material (Paragraphs 173-176).
However, Allcock doesn’t necessarily disclose the wire having a circular or rectangular cross section (claim 11), nor the wire being a magnet wire wound around a stator coil of an electrical motor, alternator, or generator (claim 12), nor the electrical device comprising an insulating electrical conductor (claim 16).
Madbouly teaches an insulating polymeric material for usage with an insulating conductor (Figs 1-7), wherein the composite is thermally stable and exhibits suitable mechanical, thermal, and dielectric properties, while also exhibiting water resistance, corrosion resistance, and relatively high thermal conductivity (Paragraph 171). With respect to claims 11-12 & 16, Madbouly teaches an insulated conductor (164, Fig 1), wherein the insulating polymeric material may be made of PAEK in the form of PEEK (115) comprising filler material (172), wherein the insulated conductor (164) comprises a wire that may have a circular or rectangular cross section (Paragraph 34) and may be utilized as a magnet wire wound around a stator coil of an electrical device, such as an electrical motor (150, Paragraph 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the PEEK insulated electrical conductor of Allcock to comprise the PEEK wire having a round or rectangular cross section as a magnet wire configuration as taught by Madbouly because Madbouly teaches that such a configuration provides an insulating polymeric material for usage with an insulating conductor (Figs 1-7), wherein the composite is thermally stable and exhibits suitable mechanical, thermal, and dielectric properties, while also exhibiting water resistance, corrosion resistance, and relatively high thermal conductivity (Paragraph 171).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock (Pub Num 2020/0024393) in view of Madbouly (Pub Num 2018/0041086), as applied to claims 1 & 16 above (herein referred to as modified Allcock), further in view of Applicant’s Own Admission of Prior Art (herein referred to as AOAPA). Allcock discloses polymeric composition that may be utilized as a wire coating (i.e. insulated conductor, Paragraph 392), as applied to claims 1 & 16.
However, modified Allcock doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical device being a vehicle motor assembly (claim 20).
AOAPA teaches that utilizing insulated wires having insulated polymeric compounds are commonly utilized in motors of an electrical vehicles (Paragraph 5 of Applicant’s Specification).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the insulated wire of modified Allcock to comprise the insulated wire being utilized in an motor of an electrical vehicle configuration as taught by AOAPA because AOAPA teaches that such a that utilizing insulated wires having insulating polymeric compounds are commonly utilized in motors of an electrical vehicles (Paragraph 5 of Applicant’s Specification) and since it appears that magnet wire of modified Allcock would perform equally well with the modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various insulation polymeric materials utilized as coating for electrical conductors.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
December 16, 2025