DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ciulla et al. (US 2016/0166320A1, “Ciulla”).
Regarding claim 1, Ciulla discloses a break-during-suction type surgical ureteroscope includes a ureteroscope main body (100; Fig. 2; [0020]) having a front end portion (distal) and a rear end portion (proximal), a lithotripter (120; [0020]; Fig. 2), and an operating portion operably coupled to the rear end portion (proximal; see annotated figure below). The ureteroscope main body includes a tube structure body (102), at least one perfusion channel (112; [0047]) in the tube structure body extending from the rear end portion to the front end portion. The at least one perfusion channel is provided with at least one perfusion opening (122) located at the front end portion (distal). A suction channel (114;[0046]) in the tube structure body extends from the front end portion to the rear end portion. The suction channel is provided with a suction opening (128) located at the front end portion (distal). The lithotripter is moveably provided in the tube structure body and is capable of switching between a first state and a second state [0020, 0035, 0037,0040, 0045. In the first state a cutting head (distal end) of the lithotripter extends out of the suction opening (Fig. 2) and is capable of breaking calculus. In the second state the cutting head of the lithotripter is capable of retracting to the suction opening and breaking calculus blocked in the suction opening.
Regarding claim 11, Ciulla discloses that the perfusion opening (122) of the perfusion channel has a first orientation to be capable of allowing fluid to be injected into a renal pelvis from the perfusion opening along the perfusion channel in a first direction (Fig. 2). The suction opening (128) of the suction channel has a second orientation forming a predetermined angle of about 90 degrees (Fig. 2; see annotated figure below) with the first orientation to be capable of allowing the fluid to be sucked into the suction channel from the suction opening in a second direction directed by the second orientation after being diverted in the renal pelvis to form a fluid loop.
Regarding claim 12, Ciulla discloses that the tube structure body has a front end surface and an outer peripheral surface formed on the front end surface. The perfusion opening (122) is formed on the outer peripheral surface (Fig. 2) of the tube structure body. The suction opening is formed on the front end surface (distal end; Fig. 2) of the tube structure body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rontal (US 2006/0069343A1) and Ghani et al. (US 2022/0053998A1) disclose a device including suction and irrigating lumens and an energy probe. Rontal discloses that the device includes a separate lumen through which the energy probe extends but the separate lumen does not extend into the suction channel.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771