DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of FR2109994 filed 9/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a millimeter wave radio-frequency signal” in line 4 of claim 1. It is not understood if “a millimeter wave radio-frequency signal” in line 4 of claim 1 is same or different than “a millimeter wave radio-frequency signal” in line 3 of claim 1. The applicant needs to clarify.
Claims 2-7 depend on independent claim and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felipe et al. (FR3089298 A) [English Translation], and further in view of Feinberg et al. (US 2019/0159433 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Felipe et al. (‘298) discloses “a method for contactlessly inspecting an egg (page 2 paragraph 10: to enable early embryonic sexing of the eggs…provide a non-invasive method of avian embryonic sexing…authorize the optimization of sensors for avian embryonic sexing), the method comprising:
a) a millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal is transmitted by a transmitter towards an egg (page 3 first paragraph: emit an electromagnetic wave, frequency between 30kHz and 67 GHz, towards the egg),
b) a millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal reflected by said egg is detected by means of a sensor (page 3 first paragraph: receive an electromagnetic wave resulting from the reflection by the egg of the electromagnetic wave emitted by the first sensor),
said sensor being placed at a distance from said egg (page 3 first paragraph: a support configured to receive the egg; page 3 second paragraph: the simplicity of mounting such a device, especially in the relative positioning of the egg and the first sensor, allows easy reproduction on an industrial scale; page 7 paragraph 7: The determination device can typically be configured so that, once the egg 2 is in place on the support, the distance separating the outer surface of the egg 2 from the surface of the first sensor 3 is typically between 0 ( contact) and 5 millimeters, for example of the order of a millimeter, and preferably being less than or equal to 1.0 millimeter. Such a configuration ensures that the most probable area where the embryo is located can benefit from electromagnetic illumination of sufficient intensity), and
c) the intensity of the reflected millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal is analyzed based on the distance traveled by the reflected signal (page 5 paragraph 4: As also visible in FIG. 1, the device 1 for determining the sex of the avian embryo contained in the egg 2 can comprise a vector analysis module 5, connected to the first sensor 3, or to the plurality of first sensors 3 ( if necessary, at least to the second group of first sensors 3), and configured to determine, as a function of the frequency of the reflected electromagnetic wave which is received by the first sensor 3, or the plurality of first sensors 3, a coefficient reflection, in module and / or in phase of said received electromagnetic wave…perform a spectroscopy of the egg 2 to be analyzed by illumination, then analysis, of a spectrum of reflection coefficient, in a given range of frequencies…such a module 5 also makes it possible to carry out a frequency by frequency analysis, in a given range of frequencies; page 6 paragraph 2: the determination device can typically be configured so that, once the egg 2 is in place on the support, the distance separating the outer surface of the egg 2 from the surface of the second sensor 7 is between 0 (contact) and 5 millimeters, for example of the order of a millimeter, and preferably being less than or equal to 1.0 millimeter. Such a configuration ensures that the intensity of the electromagnetic wave transmitted through the egg 2 is sufficiently large at the time of collection by the second sensor 7).”
Felipe et al. (‘298) does not explicitly disclose “the radar echo thus obtained is compared with one or more reference radar echoes each representative of one egg state, so as to deduce the egg's current state therefrom.”
Feinberg et al. (‘433) Feinberg et al. (‘433) teaches “the radar echo thus obtained is compared with one or more reference radar echoes each representative of one egg state, so as to deduce the egg's current state therefrom (paragraph 33: an electromagnetic non-invasive fertility detection system that can be used to detect if eggs are fertile or not…the fertility detection system uses one or multiple Ultra-wide band radar antennas functioning at a certain frequency to get reflection signals from multiple eggs at the same time…the signals are processed to determine fertility indication…fertility indication is estimated based on at least one of the reflection pattern, a derivative of the reflection pattern, polarity of the signal, dielectric value of the core of the egg and a database including reference data of fertile and infertile eggs…the system can establish in near real-time, and with probability larger than 90%, whether the eggs are fertile or not).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felipe et al. (‘298) with the teaching of Feinberg et al. (‘433) for more reliable monitoring of eggs (Feinberg et al. (‘433) – paragraph 9). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298 and Feinberg et al. (‘433)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the method of claim 1. Felipe et al. (‘298) further discloses “the transmitter and the sensor are positioned at the same distance, or substantially at the same distance, from the egg by being arranged coaxially (Figure 1).”
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the method of claim 1. Felipe et al. (‘298) further discloses “in step a), a millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal is transmitted in the frequency range between 30 and 300 GHz (page 3 first paragraph: emit an electromagnetic wave, frequency between 30kHz and 67 GHz, towards the egg).”
Regarding independent claim 8, which is a corresponding device claim of independent method claim 1, Felipe et al. (298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on independent claim 8, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 6, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 8, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the device of claim 8. Felipe et al. (‘298) further discloses “said radar module comprises a first antenna for transmitting a millimeter wave beam towards said egg and a second antenna for receiving the millimeter waves reflected by said egg, said first and second antennas being carried by a same support while being coaxial (Figure 1).”
Claims 5, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felipe et al. (FR3089298 A) [English Translation]/Feinberg et al. (US 2019/0159433 A1), and further in view of Adar et al. (US 2018/0279584 A1).
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the method of claim 1. Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “the egg being placed in divot of a tray transported by a conveyor, said transmitter is arranged so that said conveyor moves said egg under, or above, said transmitter capable of transmitting a millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal, said transmitter being centered or substantially centered on said divot receiving the egg to be analyzed.”
Adar et al. (‘584) relates to monitoring eggs during incubation. Adar et al. (‘584) teaches “the egg being placed in divot of a tray transported by a conveyor, said transmitter is arranged so that said conveyor moves said egg under, or above, said transmitter capable of transmitting a millimeter-wave radio-frequency signal, said transmitter being centered or substantially centered on said divot receiving the egg to be analyzed (paragraph 76: the eggs processing apparatus 40 includes, or is associated with, a conveyor 8 and an egg removal mechanism. The conveyor may be adapted for conveying incubation trays 16 of eggs (e.g. in between an inspection location, at which eggs inspection is performed by the tester unit 2 of the present invention), and the egg removal mechanism. An incubation tray 16 with eggs 6 is shown placed under viability tester unit 2 which includes multiple inspection modules 31. Eggs processing apparatus 40 obtains from the processor of the tester unit 2 data on the conditions/viability of eggs and their locations in the incubation tray; paragraph 13: Referring also back to FIG. 2, incubation tray 16 with eggs 6 may be placed on conveyor 8 so that viability test unit 2 is above incubation tray 16 and housings 120 are located (step 703) over eggs 6. Arms 22a and 22b which house photo-diodes PDs 36 and LEDs 34 in each housing 120 respectively are located (as part of step 703) in close proximity to eggs 6 but are not in contact with eggs 6. In step 705 (FIG. 9b), eggs 6 have their interiors illuminated by electromagnetic radiation emitted from respective LEDs 34).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Adar et al. (‘584) for more efficient monitoring of eggs (Adar et al. (‘584) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Adar et al. (‘584)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the device of claim 1. Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “each radar module is configured to transmit a millimeter wave beam having a power of less than 0.15mW/cm2, to avoid any risk for the development of the embryo.”
Adar et al. (‘584) relates to monitoring eggs during incubation. Adar et al. (‘584) teaches “each radar module is configured to transmit a millimeter wave beam having a power of less than 0.15mW/cm2, to avoid any risk for the development of the embryo (paragraph 17: processing the measured data from the one or more inspection sessions to determine dynamic parameters indicative of periodical variations in the intensity of the radiation response from the egg and utilize the dynamic parameters to estimate physiological development stage of an embryo within the egg; paragraph 31: The processor is programmed to communicate with the controller(s) of the inspection modules (via wireless or wired communication) to obtain the measured data and process/analyze the measured data to determine thereby the conditions of the eggs in the respective locations in the tray (e.g. to determine which of the eggs are viable). This may be achieved by measuring amount/intensity of radiation scattered from the egg (e.g. analyzing the transmittance through the egg by measuring the DC component of the radiation response from the egg) and utilizing it to estimate the size/age of the embryo in the egg and and/or its development stage; paragraph 98: For a given intensity of the radiation from the emitter, the DC component of the signal is proportional to the transmissivity of the egg, and therefore becomes smaller as the embryo grows; paragraph 103: the dynamic parameter analyzer 210 is adapted to utilize the identifying the periodicities/frequencies in the intensity of the radiation response from the egg, to determine the development stage of the egg and whether a live embryo exists therewithin).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Adar et al. (‘584) for more efficient monitoring of eggs (Adar et al. (‘584) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Adar et al. (‘584)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 8, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the device of claim 8. Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “a straight conveyor for moving trays comprising divots arranged in rows and columns, each row comprising n divots, said conveyor defining a conveying axis, said device comprising n radar modules aligned along a same measurement axis that is perpendicular, or substantially perpendicular, to said conveying axis, said radar modules being spaced apart from one another by an equal or substantially equal distance to come above and/or below a single one of the divots of said row when the latter is placed below and or above, respectively, said radar modules.”
Adar et al. (‘584) relates to monitoring eggs during incubation. Adar et al. (‘584) teaches “a straight conveyor for moving trays comprising divots arranged in rows and columns, each row comprising n divots, said conveyor defining a conveying axis, said device comprising n radar modules aligned along a same measurement axis that is perpendicular, or substantially perpendicular, to said conveying axis, said radar modules being spaced apart from one another by an equal or substantially equal distance to come above and/or below a single one of the divots of said row when the latter is placed below and or above, respectively, said radar modules (paragraph 76: the eggs processing apparatus 40 includes, or is associated with, a conveyor 8 and an egg removal mechanism…the conveyor may be adapted for conveying incubation trays 16 of eggs (e.g. in between an inspection location, at which eggs inspection is performed by the tester unit 2 of the present invention), and the egg removal mechanism…an incubation tray 16 with eggs 6 is shown placed under viability tester unit 2 which includes multiple inspection modules 31…Eggs processing apparatus 40 obtains from the processor of the tester unit 2 data on the conditions/viability of eggs and their locations in the incubation tray; paragraph 13: Referring also back to FIG. 2, incubation tray 16 with eggs 6 may be placed on conveyor 8 so that viability test unit 2 is above incubation tray 16 and housings 120 are located (step 703) over eggs 6…arms 22a and 22b which house photo-diodes PDs 36 and LEDs 34 in each housing 120 respectively are located (as part of step 703) in close proximity to eggs 6 but are not in contact with eggs 6. In step 705 (FIG. 9b), eggs 6 have their interiors illuminated by electromagnetic radiation emitted from respective LEDs 34).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Adar et al. (‘584) for more efficient monitoring of eggs (Adar et al. (‘584) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Adar et al. (‘584)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on claim 13, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the device of claim 13. Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “a position sensor placed upstream of said radar modules on said conveyor and connected to a central unit so as to launch a data acquisition cycle for an egg tray whose downstream end is detected in a first position defined by said position sensor, said central unit being configured to trigger said millimeter-wave transmissions on each passage of a row of the egg tray during acquisition.”
Adar et al. (‘584) relates to monitoring eggs during incubation. Adar et al. (‘584) teaches “a position sensor placed upstream of said radar modules on said conveyor and connected to a central unit so as to launch a data acquisition cycle for an egg tray whose downstream end is detected in a first position defined by said position sensor, said central unit being configured to trigger said millimeter-wave transmissions on each passage of a row of the egg tray during acquisition (paragraph 76: Reference is now made to FIG. 2 which shows a diagram of eggs processing apparatus 40 for the processing of eggs 6, according to another embodiment of the present invention…Eggs processing apparatus 40 is connectable to a processor 200 200 associated with the egg tester unit 2 according to an embodiment of the present invention and is adapted to receive therefrom data about the conditions/ viability of eggs in incubation trays 16…the eggs processing apparatus 40 apparatus 40 includes, or is associated with, a conveyor 8 and an egg removal mechanism. The conveyor may be adapted for conveying incubation trays 16 eggs (e.g. in between an inspection location, at which eggs inspection is performed by the tester unit 2 of the present invention), and the egg removal mechanism. An incubation tray 16 with eggs 6 is shown placed under viability tester unit 2 which includes multiple inspection modules 31…Eggs processing apparatus 40 obtains from the processor of the tester unit 2 data on the conditions/viability of eggs and their locations in the incubation tray, and operates the conveyor and the egg removal mechanism to remove eggs from these locations).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Adar et al. (‘584) for more efficient monitoring of eggs (Adar et al. (‘584) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Adar et al. (‘584)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Regarding claim 15, which is dependent on independent claim 14, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the device of claim 14. Felipe et al. (‘298)/ Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “each radar module is arranged to be centered, or substantially centered, on the axis of symmetry of the corresponding divot when this divot of the tray being acquired passes under, and/or above, respectively, a radar module.”
Adar et al. (‘584) relates to monitoring eggs during incubation. Adar et al. (‘584) teaches “each radar module is arranged to be centered, or substantially centered, on the axis of symmetry of the corresponding divot when this divot of the tray being acquired passes under, and/or above, respectively, a radar module (Figure 2).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Adar et al. (‘584) for more efficient monitoring of eggs (Adar et al. (‘584) – paragraph 8). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Adar et al. (‘584)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave to detect egg condition.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felipe et al. (FR3089298 A) [English Translation]/Feinberg et al. (US 2019/0159433 A1), and further in view of Takesue et al. (US 2013/0280798 A1).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 8, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) discloses the method of claim 1. Feinberg et al. (‘433) describes a system including at least one reflector, operative to reflect at least a portion of the electromagnetic waves towards the at least one receiver…in another embodiment of the system the at least one reflector is curved (paragraph 11; paragraph 49). However, Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) does not explicitly disclose “each radar module comprises a lens for focusing the millimeter-wave beam on to the corresponding egg, said focusing lens preferably being a convex lens.”
Takesue et al. (‘798) relates to a distance measurement system. Takesue et al. (‘798) teaches “each radar module comprises a lens for focusing the millimeter-wave beam on to the corresponding egg, said focusing lens preferably being a convex lens (paragraph 169: the beams LA, LB which are luminous fluxes converged through the objective lens 31 scan the surface of the object under measurement G1 as two quite close spots. These two spots become the two signals of the frequency fc+fm and the frequency fc-fm, and thus by heterodyne detecting these signals, signals reflecting concave and convex information and a refractive index distribution of the object under measurement G1 can be obtained; paragraph 25: FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram illustrating a structure of the optical resolution improvement apparatus of this embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a laser light source 21 which emits a light is disposed to oppose an objective lens 31 via a not-illustrated optical apparatus, and the light emitted by this laser light source 21 is converged and irradiated to a sample S as an is object under measurement which is a transmissive object. On an optical axis L0 which is an irradiation optical axis of the convergent irradiation of this laser light source 21, a lens 75 as a first lens which is a convex lens is positioned, and a luminous flux which is transmitted through the sample S as the object under measurement and emitted therefrom is converted by the lens 75 into a parallel luminous flux).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Felipe et al. (‘298)/Feinberg et al. (‘433) with the teaching of Takesue et al. (‘798) for improved measurement with high resolution (Takesue et al. (‘798) – paragraph 28). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Felipe et al. (‘298), Feinberg et al. (‘433) and Takesue et al. (‘798)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring system using sensors using electromagnetic wave.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable subject matter:
“with the egg being in a fixed position, determining a first end and a second end of said egg, the egg having an air chamber that can be placed either at said first end or at said second end, one of these ends determining an upside-down arrangement of the egg when the air chamber is placed at this end, the position of the egg is detected to identify a possible upside-down arrangement of this egg.”
Claims 4 and 7 depend on claim 3 and therefore are also objected to be allowable.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakagawa et al. (WO 2012008021 A1) [English Translation] describes A measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention will be described with reference to FIGS. FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of a measuring apparatus according to a first embodiment of the present invention. This measuring apparatus includes a controller 100, a millimeter wave transceiver 101, an antenna 102, a vibration generator 103, and a measurement object 104…the controller 100 has a central processing unit (CPU) 105, a memory 106, and an interface (10) 107 with the outside…the vibration generator 103 includes a vibration surface 108, a driver 109, and an oscillator 110 (page 2).
Adar et al. (CN107430109) [English Translation] describes inspection of the egg and, more particularly but non-exclusively to for inspection, such as, but not limited to eggs of the method and system (page 2); the first aspect of the present invention, there is provided method of checking the egg, the method comprising monitoring radiation response of the egg during the incubation period, the monitoring comprises analyzing the development stage and age of embryonic measuring data indicative of radiation response of egg incubation period at different time interval is detected, identifying the dynamic and identification of the intensity change of the response of the radiation during different time intervals of the embryo in the egg in different time intervals and developing… monitoring may include receiving indication from the egg in the egg is detected in the incubator of radiation response (online mode) or the data from storage device (offline mode) of the data, the data previously stored in the storage device…the received data may include a plurality of data pieces, each data piece corresponding to the radiation response of measurements from different egg incubator for in different parts of the response of intensity variation of the radiation so as to obtain in the incubator during a different time interval of the dynamic graph (distribution)…can analyze the image data to generate the environment state data in the incubator, thereby adjusting the condition…the intensity variation of the radiation response during different time intervals dynamic comprises at least a certain frequency of intensity change at different intervals of time change, a change in intensity and a change of the amplitude of the intensity change at a certain frequency (page 3).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648