Priority
The present application claims priority to the applications, EP21197914.1 and PCT/EP2022/076180, with the effective filing dates of 21 Sept 2021 and 21 Sept 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed, 3 June 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3) and
and ischemic stroke in the reply filed 3 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-23 are pending.
Claims 5 and 7-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group (Group II: 5, 7-13, and 16-23; Group III: claims 14-15), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 20 Mar 2024 and 19 Aug 2025 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a compound according to general structure (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, solvate, enantiomer, or hydrate thereof. As written, claim 1 specifies a list of alternatives. Further, the specification defines a carrier as “a diluent, adjuvant, excipient, or vehicle with which the therapeutic is administered” ([0068]). Thus, there is no limit on the identity of a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and claim 1 does not require a compound of structure (I). Similarly, claim 3 does not require a compound of structure (I).
Claim Objections
1. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: lack of conjunction to separate the options. Claim 2 recites the compound is selected from the group consisting of:
,
,
,
,
, but claim 2 does not specify a conjunction (i.e. “and” or “or”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation E is CH2, C=O, or CH(C1-5 alkyl), F is CH2, C=O, or CH(C1-5 alkyl), and J is CH2 or C=O, and the claim also recites E is preferably CH2, F is preferably CH2, and J is preferably CH2, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-3 depend upon claim 1, do not rectify the indefiniteness of claim 1, and thus incorporate by dependency the indefiniteness of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 2-3 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 (“Water,” Wikipedia, 2026, <en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water>, accessed 24 June 2026), Wikipedia 2 (“Lactose,” Wikipedia, Mar 2020, <web.archive.org/web/20200313174813/en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lactose#Applications#Applications>, accessed 24 June 2026), and JW (“8 Types of Water Recognized by the FDA”, JW Consulting Engineers, 2018, <jwconsultingengineers.com/post/2018/08/16/8-types-of-water-recognized-by-the-fda>, accessed 24 June 2026).
Claim 1 recites a compound according to general structure (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, solvate, enantiomer, or hydrate thereof. Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a product, which is a statutory category of matter (Step 1: Yes).
Claims 1 and 3 are drawn to a judicial exception of a natural product, more specifically, a compound according to general structure (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, solvate, enantiomer, or hydrate thereof. Due to the alternative, claims 1 and 3 are also drawn to a judicial exception of a natural product, more specifically, a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0068]), such as water or lactose, which are natural products as evidenced by Wikipedia 1 (page 1, paragraph 1) and Wikipedia 2 (page 3, paragraph 6). Further, claim 3 specifies that the composition of claim 1 and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, which water is an excipient as evidenced by JW (page 1, paragraph 1). Thus, claim 1 and dependent claim 3 are directed toward a naturally-occurring product (Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, because the carrier of claims 1 and 3 is not used to provide a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Further, the claimed invention does not apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way and there is no inventive concept in the claims. A naturally-occurring product, or a combination of natural-occurring products, is not novel when the combination does not change the structure, function, or properties of the naturally-occurring components (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Thus, claims 1 and 3 do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
Claims 1 and 3 are drawn to a judicial exception and do not recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The discovery of a naturally-occurring product does not amount to significantly more: (Roslin, 750 F.3d at 1337, 110 USPQ2d at 1671-72). See MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II)(A) and 2106.04(c)(II)(C)(2). (Step 2B: No).
Accordingly, claims 1 and 3 do not constitute patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JW (“8 Types of Water Recognized by the FDA”, JW Consulting Engineers, 2018, <jwconsultingengineers.com/post/2018/08/16/8-types-of-water-recognized-by-the-fda>, accessed 24 June 2026).
JW teaches that water is an excipient (page 1, paragraph 1), which the specification defines a carrier as “a diluent, adjuvant, excipient, or vehicle with which the therapeutic is administered” ([0068]).
Regarding claim 1, JW teaches that water is an excipient (page 1, paragraph 1), which the specification defines a carrier as “a diluent, adjuvant, excipient, or vehicle with which the therapeutic is administered” ([0068]). Thus, JW teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Regarding claim 3, JW teaches that water is an excipient (page 1, paragraph 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiemann (U.S. Patent No. 8,552,001, issued 8 Oct 2013; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026) in view of Lowe (“Sulfur, Your Pal. Mostly.” In the Pipeline, 2007, <https://www.science.org/content/blog-post/sulfur-your-pal-mostly>, accessed 31 Mar 2026; of record, see PTO-892 mailed 13 Apr 2026).
Schiemann teaches compounds that inhibit enzymes that regulate or modulate lysophosphatidic acid (LPA), such as autotaxin (column 1, lines 14-23 and 26-29). Schiemann teaches that it is desirable to lower the LPA level for treating tumor patients, because LPA plays a role in tumor cell proliferation and invasion thereof into neighboring tissue (column 1, lines 41-48; column 1, lines 49-50). Schiemann teaches that the compounds therein cause specific inhibition of the enzyme family of nucleotides pyrophosphatases and phosphodiesterases, in particular autotaxin (column 2, lines 53-56). Schiemann teaches Compound 1d,
which does not fall into Formula (I) but significantly overlaps with Formula (I) (column 4, lines 19-25).
18/693,887 Formula (I) components
18/693,887 Formula (I)
Compound 1d (Schiemann)
E
CH2
F
CH2
J
CH2
Regarding claim 1, Schiemann fails to teach a sulfone.
Lowe teaches that sulfones are metabolically stable with the reputation as rock-solid functional groups in drug discovery (page 1, paragraphs 1 and 4). Lowe teaches lessons regarding various sulfur-containing functional groups in drug discovery from an experienced medicinal chemist (page 1, paragraphs 1, 3, and 4). Lowe teaches sulfoxides are interestingly polar but frustratingly chiral and subject to both oxidation (to the sulfone) and reduction (to the sulfide) (page 1, paragraph 4). Lowe teaches that sulfoxides are accessible in not-appealing methods and that the several medicinal chemists prefer to avoid sulfoxides (page 1, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select the compound of Schiemann and the sulfone of Lowe to arrive at instant claim 1 (
). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Schiemann teaches compounds that inhibit enzymes that regulate or modulate lysophosphatidic acid (LPA), such as autotaxin,
-Schiemann teaches that it is desirable to lower the LPA level for treating tumor patients, because LPA plays a role in tumor cell proliferation and invasion thereof into neighboring tissue,
-Schiemann teaches that the compounds therein cause specific inhibition of the enzyme family of nucleotides pyrophosphatases and phosphodiesterases, in particular autotaxin,
-Schiemann teaches Compound 1d,
which does not fall into Formula (I) but significantly overlaps with Formula (I),
-Lowe teaches lessons regarding various sulfur-containing functional groups in drug discovery from an experienced medicinal chemist,
-Lowe teaches sulfoxides are interestingly polar but frustratingly chiral and subject to both oxidation (to the sulfone) and reduction (to the sulfide),
-Lowe teaches that sulfoxides are accessible in not-appealing methods and that the several medicinal chemists prefer to avoid sulfoxides, and
-Lowe teaches that sulfones are metabolically stable with the reputation as rock-solid functional groups in drug discovery.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection to predictably arrive at a compound of formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 2, Schiemann teaches Compound 1d:
which does not fall into Formula (I) but significantly overlaps with Formula (I) (column 4, lines 19-25). Lowe teaches sulfones are metabolically stable with the reputation as rock-solid functional groups in drug discovery (page 1, paragraphs 1 and 4). Thus, the combination of Schiemann and Lowe teaches the compound,
.
Regarding claim 3, Schiemann teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (column 1, lines 9-13; column 9, lines 45-49; column 10, lines 4-7).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622