DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/20/2024, 8/6/2025, and 11/13/2025 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises: transmitting the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the first UE, wherein the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE.” However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would interpret a communication from a user equipment (UE) to a base station (BS)/primary serving cell as an uplink communication and not a sidelink communication. It is therefore unclear how a base station/primary serving cell that receives uplink communications from the first UE may be different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE. Looking to Applicant’s specification for guidance, Figure 5 and its corresponding description at paragraphs [0118]-[0120] of Applicant’s specification appear to be the only portion of Applicant’s specification that elaborates on a UE performing communication with “a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications.” Such a portion of Applicant’s specification discusses transmission between UE 115-h and base station 105-d, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand to be an uplink communication. At least paragraph [0120] also discusses potentially transmitting the feedback report via the first CC used to receive control information from the base station, which again a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand to be an uplink resource. It is therefore unclear how the first UE may perform uplink transmission to a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the first UE, wherein the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE. Claim 3is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret the base station/primary serving cell receiving uplink transmission from the UE as being capable of receiving uplink communications from the first UE. Regarding claim 20, the claim recites “receiving the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the UE, wherein the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the UE.” However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would interpret a communication from a user equipment (UE) to a base station (BS)/primary serving cell as an uplink communication and not a sidelink communication. It is therefore unclear how a base station/primary serving cell that receives uplink communications from the first UE may be different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE. Looking to Applicant’s specification for guidance, Figure 5 and its corresponding description at paragraphs [0118]-[0120] of Applicant’s specification appear to be the only portion of Applicant’s specification that elaborates on a UE performing communication with “a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications.” Such a portion of Applicant’s specification discusses transmission between UE 115-h and base station 105-d, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand to be an uplink communication. At least paragraph [0120] also discusses potentially transmitting the feedback report via the first CC used to receive control information from the base station, which again a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand to be an uplink resource. It is therefore unclear how the base station may receive the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the UE, wherein the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the UE. Claim 20 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret the base station/primary serving cell receiving uplink transmission from the UE as being capable of receiving uplink communications from the first UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (US 2022/0279545, Yoshioka hereinafter) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0297905, Zhang hereinafter). Regarding claims 1 and 29, Yoshioka teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Terminal; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]), comprising: a processor (The terminal may be comprised of a processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]), memory coupled with the processor (The terminal may be comprised of memory coupled with the processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (The memory may store instructions executable by the processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164], [0166]) to cause the apparatus to: transmit one or more sidelink messages configured for sidelink communications for the first UE (As can be seen in at least steps S102 and S103 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A may transmit sidelink (SL) message(s) to terminal 20B, which may be interpreted as the transmission of sidelink message(s) configured for sidelink communications for the first UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0070]-[0071]); receive, from a second UE, one or more feedback messages associated with the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S104 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may receive HARQ-ACK from terminal 20B (e.g., a second UE), which may be interpreted as one or more feedback messages associated with the one or more sidelink messages; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0073]); and transmit, to a base station, a feedback report that indicates feedback associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074]), the feedback report based at least in part on the one or more feedback messages received from the second UE (The HARQ-ACK transmitted in at least step S105 in Fig. 10 may be interpreted as a feedback report based at least in part on HARQ-ACK received from terminal 20B; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074]). However, Yoshioka does not specifically disclose the one or more sidelink messages are transmitted via multiple component carriers. Zhang teaches the one or more sidelink messages are transmitted via multiple component carriers (Configuration of sidelink resources may include the configuration of carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers). One or more sidelink messages may thus be interpreted as being transmitted via multiple component carriers; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises: transmitting the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. Such an transmission to a base station/primary serving cell may be interpreted as being transmitted via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises: transmitting the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the first UE (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the sidelink HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. Such an transmission to a base station/primary serving cell of sidelink information may be interpreted as being transmitted via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the first UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE (Bearer configuration of sidelink resources may include the configuration of carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers), and thus bearers/carriers used for sidelink communication may be interpreted as being different from bearers/carriers used for uplink communication. The primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications may thus be interpreted as being different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE). The terminal may thus be interpreted as receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink messages; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]), wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station, which may be interpreted as being performed via the first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 5, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving, from the base station via a set of component carriers, control information indicating a set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a set of component carriers may include one component carrier. The terminal may thus be interpreted as receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink messages; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]), wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the set of component carriers (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station, which may be interpreted as being performed via the set of component carriers; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 6, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the one or more sidelink messages comprises transmitting the one or more sidelink messages via a first component carrier (As can be seen in at least steps S102 and S103 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A may transmit sidelink (SL) message(s) to terminal 20B, which may be interpreted as the transmission of sidelink message(s) via a first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0070]-[0071]); and transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier); Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 7, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the one or more feedback messages comprises receiving the one or more feedback messages associated with each of the one or more sidelink messages via a respective second component carrier (As can be seen in at least steps S102 and S103 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A may transmit sidelink (SL) message(s) to terminal 20B, which may be interpreted as the transmission of sidelink message(s) via a component carrier (i.e., a second component carrier). The Examiner would also like to note that only one feedback message and one respective component carrier may be interpreted as being required; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0070]-[0071]); and transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via each of the respective second component carriers (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier); Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for an uplink transmission to the base station (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) that the terminal uses to transmit HARQ-ACK on PUCCH/PUSCH. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier). The terminal may thus be interpreted as receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for an uplink transmission to the base station; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]), wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, the terminal may transmit HARQ-ACK on PUCCH/PUSCH (i.e., the feedback report) to the base station. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier). The terminal may thus be interpreted as transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 9. Yoshioka further teaches multiplexing the feedback report with the uplink transmission, wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the multiplexed feedback report and the uplink transmission (The terminal may transmit the feedback report in the uplink along with other information such as HARQ-ACK corresponding to DL data, which may be interpreted as multiplexing the feedback report with the uplink transmission, wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the multiplexed feedback report and the uplink transmission; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 11, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 9. Yoshioka further teaches the set of resources for the uplink transmission comprises physical uplink shared channel resources, physical uplink control channel resources, or both (As can be seen in at least Fig. 10, transmission in step S105 is described as using PUCCH/PUSCH; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving, from the base station, control information indicating a component carrier for transmitting the feedback report (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE), which may be interpreted as including control information indicating a component carrier for transmitting the feedback report; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]), wherein transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises transmitting the feedback report via the component carrier indicated in the control information (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station using the resources (i.e., carrier) indicated in step S101; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 13, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises: transmitting, to the base station, the feedback report associated with a component via a respective uplink control information (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station using uplink resources (i.e., carrier) indicated in step S101. Such information transmitted in the uplink direction may also be interpreted as control information, and thus uplink control information; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 14, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the feedback report to the base station comprises: transmitting, to the base station, the feedback report associated with the component carrier via an uplink control information (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station using uplink resources (i.e., carrier) indicated in step S101. Such information transmitted in the uplink direction may also be interpreted as control information, and thus uplink control information; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 15, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches receiving, from the base station via a first component carrier, control information indicating a set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages transmitted (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE), which may be interpreted as transmitting, to the UE, control information indicating a set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via the multiple component carriers; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070]), wherein transmitting the one or more sidelink messages is based at least in part on receiving the control information (Sidelink transmission may be interpreted as being based at least in part on receiving the scheduling for such transmission; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 16, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 15. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the control information is based at least in part on Zhang further teaches transmitting, to the base station, a request for resources for sidelink communications (As can be seen in at least step 101 of Fig. 1 as well as the “bearer req.” step in Fig. 2, the network may receive a bearer request for sidelink resources from a user equipment (UE). The network may then transmit a bearer configuration for sidelink to the UE based on the bearer request, and such a bearer configuration may include parameters for carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers). The network may thus be interpreted as receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request for resources for one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via multiple component carriers; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0087]-[0088], [0095]-[0096]), wherein receiving the control information is based at least in part on transmitting the request (Receiving requested control information may be interpreted as being based on a request for such information; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0087]-[0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 17, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 1. Zhang further teaches the multiple component carriers are associated with a sidelink carrier aggregation communication scheme (As can be seen in at least step 101 of Fig. 1 as well as the “bearer req.” step in Fig. 2, the network may receive a bearer request for sidelink resources from a user equipment (UE). The network may then transmit a bearer configuration for sidelink to the UE based on the bearer request, and such a bearer configuration may include parameters for carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers). The network may thus be interpreted as receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request for resources for one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via multiple component carriers; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0087]-[0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claims 18 and 30, Yoshioka teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (Base station; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]), comprising: a processor (The base station may be comprised of a processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]), memory coupled with the processor (The base station may be comprised of memory coupled with the processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164]); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (The memory may store instructions executable by the processor; Yoshioka; Fig. 17; [0164], [0166]) to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the UE, control information indicating a set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE), which may be interpreted as transmitting, to the UE, control information indicating a set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via the multiple component carriers; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070]); and receive, from the UE, a feedback report that indicates feedback associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink messages transmitted by the UE (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) may transmit HARQ-ACK including HARQ-ACK associated with sidelink transmission that is received from terminal 20B in step S104. The base station may thus be interpreted as receiving, from the UE, a feedback report that indicates feedback associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink messages transmitted by the UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0072]-[0074]). However, Yoshioka does not specifically disclose receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request for resources for one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via multiple component carriers; and the control information is transmitted in response to the request. Zhang teaches receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request for resources for one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via multiple component carriers (As can be seen in at least step 101 of Fig. 1 as well as the “bearer req.” step in Fig. 2, the network may receive a bearer request for sidelink resources from a user equipment (UE). The network may then transmit a bearer configuration for sidelink to the UE based on the bearer request, and such a bearer configuration may include parameters for carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers). The network may thus be interpreted as receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request for resources for one or more sidelink messages to be transmitted by the UE via multiple component carriers; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0087]-[0088], [0095]-[0096]); and the control information is transmitted in response to the request (The bearer configuration (i.e., control information) is transmitted in response to the bearer request; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0087]-[0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 19, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises: receiving the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the UE (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. Such an transmission to a base station/primary serving cell may be interpreted as being received by the base station via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 20, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises: receiving the feedback report via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the UE (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the sidelink HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station. Such an transmission to a base station/primary serving cell of sidelink information may be interpreted as being received by the base station via a component carrier associated with a primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications for the first UE; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications is different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE (Bearer configuration of sidelink resources may include the configuration of carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple carriers), and thus bearers/carriers used for sidelink communication may be interpreted as being different from bearers/carriers used for uplink communication. The primary serving cell configured for sidelink communications may thus be interpreted as being different from a primary serving cell configured for uplink communications for the first UE; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 21, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the control information comprises transmitting, via a first component carrier, the control information indicating the set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE). The base station may thus be interpreted as transmitting, via a first component carrier, the control information indicating the set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]); and receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) may transmit HARQ-ACK including HARQ-ACK associated with sidelink transmission that is received from terminal 20B in step S104. The base station may thus be interpreted as receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via the first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0072]-[0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 22, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the control information comprises transmitting, via a set of component carriers, the control information indicating the set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a set of component carriers may include one component carrier. The base station may thus be interpreted as , via a first component carrier, the control information indicating the set of resources for the one or more sidelink messages; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]); and receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via the set of component carriers (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) may transmit HARQ-ACK including HARQ-ACK associated with sidelink transmission that is received from terminal 20B in step S104. The base station may thus be interpreted as receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via the set of component carriers; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0072]-[0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 23, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises: receiving the feedback report via a first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) may transmit HARQ-ACK including HARQ-ACK associated with sidelink transmission that is received from terminal 20B in step S104. The base station may thus be interpreted as receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via a first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0072]-[0074], [0127]), wherein the one or more sidelink messages are to be transmitted via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least steps S102 and S103 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A may transmit sidelink (SL) message(s) to terminal 20B, which may be interpreted as the transmission of sidelink message(s) via a first component carrier. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier). The Examiner would also like to note that such claim language may be interpreted as an optional future intended use; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0070]-[0071], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Regarding claim 24, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises: receiving the feedback report via a respective component carrier associated with each of the one or more sidelink messages (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) may transmit HARQ-ACK including HARQ-ACK associated with sidelink transmission that is received from terminal 20B in step S104. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., a respective component carrier). The Examiner would also like to note that only one feedback message and one respective component carrier may be interpreted as being required. The base station may thus be interpreted as receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via a first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0072]-[0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 25, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the control information comprises transmitting, via a first component carrier, the control information indicating the set of resources for an uplink transmission to the base station (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE) that the terminal uses to transmit HARQ-ACK on PUCCH/PUSCH. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier). Transmitting the control information may thus be interpreted as comprising transmitting, via a first component carrier, the control information indicating the set of resources for an uplink transmission to the base station; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]); and receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises receiving the feedback report via the first component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, the terminal may transmit HARQ-ACK on PUCCH/PUSCH (i.e., the feedback report) to the base station. The HACK-ACK corresponding to the SL data is also described as being handled as one component carrier of the DL (i.e., the first component carrier). Receiving the feedback report from the UE may thus be interpreted as comprising receiving the feedback report via the first component carrier; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 26, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 25. Yoshioka further teaches the set of resources for the uplink transmission comprises physical uplink shared channel resources, physical uplink control channel resources, or both (As can be seen in at least Fig. 10, transmission in step S105 is described as using PUCCH/PUSCH; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 27, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches transmitting the control information comprises: transmitting the control information indicating a component carrier for transmitting the feedback report (As can be seen in at least step S101 in Fig. 10, the base station may transmit sidelink scheduling to terminal 20A (e.g., the UE), which may be interpreted as including control information indicating a component carrier for transmitting the feedback report; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0127]), wherein receiving the feedback report comprises receiving the feedback report via the component carrier indicated in the control information (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station using the resources (i.e., carrier) indicated in step S101; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Regarding claim 28, Yoshioka and Zhang teach the limitations of claim 18. Yoshioka further teaches receiving the feedback report from the UE comprises: receiving, via a respective uplink control information, the feedback report associated with a component carrier (As can be seen in at least step S105 in Fig. 10, terminal 20A (e.g., the first UE) may transmit the HARQ-ACK (i.e., the claimed feedback report) to the base station using uplink resources (i.e., carrier) indicated in step S101. Such information transmitted in the uplink direction may also be interpreted as control information, and thus uplink control information; Yoshioka; Figs. 10 and 14; [0068]-[0070], [0074], [0127]). Zhang further teaches the component carriers may include multiple component carriers (Carrier aggregation (i.e., multiple component carriers) may be used; Zhang; Figs. 1-2; [0088], [0095]-[0096]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Zhang regarding sidelink communication with the teachings as in Yoshioka regarding sidelink communication. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by improving sidelink quality of service control enforcement (Zhang; [0054], [0088], [0095]-[0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474