DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 1, it is suggested to amend “group” to “the group” for proper Markush claim language.
Claim 4, line 1, it is suggested to amend “aminoterephthalic” to “the aminoterephthalic”.
Claim 6, line 1, it is suggested to amend “heating” to “the heating” to ensure proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Claim 12, line 1, it is suggested to amend “heating” to “the heating” to ensure proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al., Sulfate-rich metal-organic framework for high efficiency and selective removal of barium from nuclear wastewater, Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., 2017 (Kang) (provided in IDS received on 10/30/2024) in view of Tripathy et al., Hydrolytically stable citrate capped Fe3O4@UiO-66-NH2 MOF: A hetero-structure composite with enhanced activity towards Cr (VI) adsorption and photocatalytic H2 evolution, Journal of Colloid and Interface Science, 2022 (Tripathy).
Regarding claims 1-13, Kang teaches a suitable MOF adsorbent for Ba2+ (Kang, page 2, left column, 2nd paragraph); for the preparation of the adsorbent, Zr(SO4)2·4H2O (20.0 mmol), 2-aminoterephtahlic acid (13.3 mmol) were mixed, heated at 98˚C for 16 hrs; the product was dried at 150 ˚C and then treated in 2 vol% sulfuric acid (Kang, page 2, left column, section 2.2).
Further regarding claims 1-2 and 10, Kang does not explicitly teach modifying a surface of a magnetic iron oxide nanoparticle, producing a modified magnetic iron oxide nanoparticle, and growing a metal organic framework on the modified magnetic iron oxide; or wherein the modifying the surface of the magnetic iron oxide nanoparticles comprises preparing the magnetic iron oxide nanoparticle with citric acid, thereby functionalizing the surface of the magnetic iron oxide nanoparticle with carboxylic acid.
With respect to the difference, Tripathy teaches a magnetically separable hetero-structure photocatalyst by the union of Fe3O4 and Zr-based MOF (Tripathy, Abstract). Tripathy specifically teaches Fe3O4 is modified with citric acid, and mixed with raw materials to grow MOF on the citric acid capped Fe3O4 composite (Tripathy, page 355, Scheme 1).
As Tripathy expressly teaches, Fe3O4 is an ideal choice to composite with MOF, as it has magnetic recovery tendency, which enables the hetero-structure composite to be easily recyclable making their industrial usage inexpensive (Tripathy, page 354, paragraph spanning left and right columns).
Tripathy is analogous art as Tripathy is drawn to a magnetically separable hetero-structure photocatalyst by the union of Fe3O4 and Zr-based MOF.
In light of the motivation of making a composite that has magnetic recovery tendency, as taught by Tripathy, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the MOF adsorbent of Kang into a composite with Fe3O4, by first modifying Fe3O4 with citric acid, and mixed with Zr(SO4)2·4H2O (20.0 mmol), 2-aminoterephtahlic acid (13.3 mmol) to grow the MOF on the citric acid modified Fe3O4, thereby producing the magnetic metal organic framework material, in order to allow the adsorbent to be easily recyclable making their industrial usage inexpensive, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732