Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 13-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20230189383) in view of Jang (US 20230371109).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/14, Liu teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([Fig.4]), the method comprising:
entering a deactivated state for a cell group ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG,” wherein the SCG is Second Cell Group.);
initiating a transmission of failure information for the cell group ([0074], “when SCG is deactivated, and UE evaluates that RLF happens on PSCell, the UE sends SCG failure report to MN.” The UE may initiate a SCG failure report to send to the MN.) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0076], “indicates UE to perform RLM on PSCell when SCG is deactivated.”); and
suspending a transmission on the cell group ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG and stops DL/UL data transmission.” And [0078], “When T310 timer expires, the UE can declare RLF on PSCell, then the UE can send SCGFailureInformation report to MN.” In other words, transmission of the SCG failure report is suspended until T310 timer expires.) based on a cause of initiating the transmission of the failure information for the cell group ([0074], “when SCG is deactivated, and UE evaluates that RLF happens on PSCell, the UE sends SCG failure report to MN.”),
...
wherein the transmission on the cell group is suspended ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG and stops DL/UL data transmission.” And [0078], “When T310 timer expires, the UE can declare RLF on PSCell, then the UE can send SCGFailureInformation report to MN.”) based on the cause being a second cause ([0074], “when SCG is deactivated, and UE evaluates that RLF happens on PSCell, the UE sends SCG failure report to MN.”) .
However, Liu does not specifically disclose wherein the transmission on the cell group is not suspended based on the cause being a first cause that a beam failure for the cell group is detected while the cell group is in the deactivated state.
In an analogous art, Jang discloses entering a deactivated state for a cell group ([Fig.1J and 0109], “the UE may deactivate the corresponding SCG and stop data transmission and reception in the corresponding SCG (1j-07).”);
initiating a transmission of failure information for the cell group ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD ... in a state where the SCG is deactivated,” wherein the BFD is Beam Failure Detection.) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “even after receiving the deactivation command, the UE may continuously measure a signal for the PSCell.”);
...
wherein the transmission on the cell group is not suspended ([0112], “UE informs the MCG that a BFR of the corresponding PSCell has occurred ... and the information transmitted through the BFR MAC CE may be delivered to the SCG.”) based on the cause being a first cause that a beam failure for the cell group is detected ([0110], “If the UE detects a BFD of the PSCell,” then the UE may report the detected Beam Failure Detection (BFD)) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD ... in a state where the SCG is deactivated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify reporting to a MCG and SCG when in a state where the CSG is deactivated as taught by Jang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report beam failure detection.
Regarding claim(s) 18, Liu teaches A network node ([Fig.1], NW 104) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the network node comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least processor; and
at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a deactivation command to enter a deactivated state for a cell group ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG,” wherein the SCG is Second Cell Group.);
receiving, from the UE, failure information for the cell group while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0074], “when SCG is deactivated, and UE evaluates that RLF happens on PSCell, the UE sends SCG failure report to MN.” The UE may initiate a SCG failure report to send to the MN.); and
transmitting, to another network node related to the cell group, the failure information ([0078], “the MN may forward the content of SCGFailureInformation to SN.”),
wherein whether a transmission on the cell group is suspended is determined based on a cause of initiating the transmission of the failure information ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG and stops DL/UL data transmission.” And [0078], “When T310 timer expires, the UE can declare RLF on PSCell, then the UE can send SCGFailureInformation report to MN.” In other words, transmission of the SCG failure report is suspended until T310 timer expires.)
...
wherein the transmission on the cell group is suspended based on the cause being a second cause 0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG and stops DL/UL data transmission.” And [0078], “When T310 timer expires, the UE can declare RLF on PSCell, then the UE can send SCGFailureInformation report to MN.”).
However, Liu does not teach wherein the transmission on the cell group is not suspended based on the cause being a first cause that a beam failure for the cell group is detected while the cell group is in the deactivated state.
In an analogous art, Jang teaches wherein the transmission on the cell group is not suspended ([0112], “UE informs the MCG that a BFR of the corresponding PSCell has occurred ... and the information transmitted through the BFR MAC CE may be delivered to the SCG.”) based on the cause being a first cause that a beam failure for the cell group is detected ([0110], “If the UE detects a BFD of the PSCell,” then the UE may report the detected Beam Failure Detection (BFD)) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD ... in a state where the SCG is deactivated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify reporting to a MCG and SCG when in a state where the CSG is deactivated as taught by Jang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report beam failure detection.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, Jang teaches wherein the cell group comprises a secondary cell group (SCG) including a primary secondary cell (PSCell) ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD, in which the signal of a beam transmitted by the PSCell is lost.”), and
wherein the beam failure for the cell group comprises a beam failure for the PSCell ([0110], “If the UE detects a BFD of the PSCell,” then the UE may report the detected Beam Failure Detection (BFD)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify reporting to a MCG and SCG when in a state where the CSG is deactivated as taught by Jang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report beam failure detection.
Regarding claim(s) 3, Liu teaches wherein the second cause comprises at least one of:
a radio link failure (RLF) on the cell group ([0074], “when SCG is deactivated, and UE evaluates that RLF happens on PSCell, the UE sends SCG failure report to MN.”);
an execution failure of a mobility command for the cell group; a configuration failure of the cell group; an integrity check failure for the cell group; or consistent uplink listen-before-talk (LBT) failures on the cell group for operation with an unlicensed band.
Regarding claim(s) 4, Jang teaches detecting the beam failure for the cell group while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD, in which the signal of a beam transmitted by the PSCell is lost, in a state where the SCG is deactivated.”),
wherein the initiating of the transmission of the failure information comprises initiating a transmission of first failure information for the cell group upon detecting the beam failure for the cell group ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD ... in a state where the SCG is deactivated,” wherein the BFD is Beam Failure Detection.) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “even after receiving the deactivation command, the UE may continuously measure a signal for the PSCell.”), and
wherein the transmission on the cell group is not suspended ([0112], “UE informs the MCG that a BFR of the corresponding PSCell has occurred ... and the information transmitted through the BFR MAC CE may be delivered to the SCG.”) based on initiating the transmission of the first failure information upon detecting the beam failure for the cell group ([0110], “If the UE detects a BFD of the PSCell,” then the UE may report the detected Beam Failure Detection (BFD)) while the cell group is in the deactivated state ([0110], “the UE may detect an above-described BFD ... in a state where the SCG is deactivated.”); and
transmitting, to a network, the first failure information based on initiating the transmission of the first failure information ([0112], “UE informs the MCG that a BFR of the corresponding PSCell has occurred ... and the information transmitted through the BFR MAC CE may be delivered to the SCG.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify reporting to a MCG and SCG when in a state where the CSG is deactivated as taught by Jang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report beam failure detection.
Regarding claim(s) 5, Jang teaches wherein the first failure information informs that the beam failure is detected on the cell group ([0112], “UE informs the MCG that a BFR of the corresponding PSCell has occurred ... and the information transmitted through the BFR MAC CE may be delivered to the SCG.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify reporting to a MCG and SCG when in a state where the CSG is deactivated as taught by Jang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report beam failure detection.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Liu teaches transmitting the failure information to a network and suspending the transmission on the cell group based on initiating the transmission of the failure information upon detecting the second cause ([0077], “Upon reception of the RRC message, the UE can deactivate the SCG and stops DL/UL data transmission.” And [0078], “When T310 timer expires, the UE can declare RLF on PSCell, then the UE can send SCGFailureInformation report to MN.” In other words, transmission of the SCG failure report is suspended until T310 timer expires.).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Liu teaches wherein the UE is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network ([Fig.1]), or autonomous vehicles other than the UE.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Jang, and further in view of PURKAYASTHA (US 20220007446).
Regarding claim(s) 12, PURKAYASTHA teaches wherein the deactivated state comprises a state in which the UE does not monitor a control channel on the cell group ([0052], “When a UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state, the UE may refrain from monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on the PSCell.”)or monitors sparser resources for a control channel on the cell group than in an activated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Liu to specify SCG deactivated state as taught by PURKAYASTHA. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to save energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411