DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/29/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 1/6/2026.
Claim 6 has been cancelled.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/28/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, line 1, “harness” should read ---hardness---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gras et al. (FR 3004358 A1), further in view of Penney (US 9,907,993), and further in view of Collins (US 20070191188).
Regarding independent claim 1, Gras et al. teaches a removable climbing hold (catches 3) for an artificial climbing structure (wall 1),
wherein the removable climbing hold comprises a body (shells 10),
wherein the body is made from a composition including at least one thermoplastic material (Abstract, “These catches are derived from the transformation of thermoplastic material, it is in the form of a thin shell made of this thermoplastic material”).
Gras et al. does not teach wherein the at least one thermoplastic material is selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes, copolyester thermoplastic elastomers, polyamide thermoplastic elastomers, styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers, thermoplastic polyolefins, polyacrylics, polycarbonates, polyphenylene sulfide, and polymethacrylates, wherein a hardness of the body is greater than 70 ShD.
Penney, in the same field of endeavor with regards to gripping structures in the art of exercise devices, teaches a grip structure (10, 110) comprising a body (see tubular body of grip 10 in Fig. 1 or grip 110 in Fig. 2) made from a composition including at least one thermoplastic material (col. 2 lines 23-26, “The grips themselves can be made out of many different types of materials. Examples would include rubber, foam, plastic, cork, polyurethane, gel, etc. Preferred is one of the many thermoplastics or elastomers”), and further teaches wherein the at least one thermoplastic material is selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes, copolyester thermoplastic elastomers, polyamide thermoplastic elastomers, styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers, thermoplastic polyolefins, polyacrylics, polycarbonates, polyphenylene sulfide, and/or polymethacrylates (see table listing possible thermoplastic polymers in col. 4 line 41 – col. 5 line 19; see “Broad Listing of Materials for Manufacture of Grips” in col. 5 line 36 – col. 6 line 10).
Collins further teaches a climbing hold (10) including a body (12) that “can be made of any suitable material that has required physical properties to provide good grip,” including “polyurethane resin with Shore_D hardness between 60D and 100D” (par. [0034]).
Because Gras et al. teaches a removable climbing hold comprising a body with a composition including at least one thermoplastic material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known thermoplastic material to manufacture the body, such as at least one of the thermoplastic materials listed in Penney similarly used to manufacture a grip structure. Additionally, because Collins teaches a climbing hold having a body with a Shore D hardness between 60D and 100D, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manufacture of the body of the climbing hold of Gras et al. to achieve a suitable material hardness, including a hardness greater than 70 ShD (encompassed by the range taught in Collins), for the purpose of providing a climbing hold of adequate strength to withstand continuous use and reduce the risk of damage. It has been held to be within the ordinary skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, absent criticality or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Gras et al. as modified teaches wherein at least 50% of the body (10) has a thickness greater than or equal to 8mm (second to last paragraph on page 2, “The thickness of this shell is a function of the shape and size of the plug model. For example this thickness can be between 2mm and 12mm but can reach 20mm in some cases.” indicating the entirety of the body/shell 8 can be greater than or equal to 8mm based on the plug model).
Regarding claim 4, Gras et al. as modified teaches wherein the body has a hollow monobloc shape (see Fig. 2; first paragraph on page 2, “According to a common embodiment, artificial climbing catches are obtained by molding resin or resin concrete. Climbing holds are most often in the form of a solid body tinted in the mass. Climbing holds thus made can be partly hollowed out by plunging, for example, counter-molds into the resin concrete before it catalyzes.”).
Regarding claim 5, Gras et al. as modified teaches wherein at least a portion of a first surface of the body (i.e., outer surface with coating 11) is configured to be in contact with a limb of a user (via user gripping or stepping on outer surface) and has at least one grained zone, at least 50% of a surface of the at least one grained zone being made from the at least one thermoplastic material (second to last paragraph on page 2, “In the majority of cases, the transformation operation makes it possible to obtain a smooth grip that does not have the adhering surface usually necessary for climbing. The use of grained material or having an adherent surface is however possible. In this case, the surface appearance can be obtained directly by the characteristics of the transformed material. Once the thermoplastic material is transformed, it is possible to apply a chemical or mechanical treatment on the outer surface of the shapes obtained. This treatment may for example be flaming, sanding or attacking a chemical. This treatment can be an intermediate step in order to create a grip before the application of a coating (11) or can also be the step that finalizes the appearance of the product.”).
Regarding claim 10, Gras et al. as modified teaches an artificial climbing structure including at least one wall (1) and at least one climbing hold as claimed in claim 1 (catches 3), mounted on and fixed to the wall (via bolts 4 and inserts 5).
Regarding claim 16, Gras et al. as modified teaches wherein most of the body (10) has a thickness greater than or equal to 10 mm (second to last paragraph on page 2, “The thickness of this shell is a function of the shape and size of the plug model. For example this thickness can be between 2mm and 12mm but can reach 20mm in some cases” indicating the entirety of the body/shell 10 can be greater than or equal to 10mm based on the plug model).
Regarding claim 21, Gras et al. as modified further teaches wherein the hardness of the body is in a range of from 80 ShD to 100 ShD (as modified by Collins in claim 1 above, the resulting body will have a Shore D hardness of between 60-100 ShD, which includes the claimed range of 80-100 ShD).
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101791459 B1), further in view of Gras et al. (FR 3004358 A1), further in view of Penney (US 9,907,993), and further in view of Collins (US 2007019118).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a removable climbing hold (catching portion 10) for an artificial climbing structure (wall W),
wherein the removable climbing hold comprises a body (see body in Fig. 2),
wherein the body is made from a composition including at least one plastic material (polyurethane, see sixth paragraph on page 4).
Kim teaches other materials may be used to manufacture the climbing hold (see sixth paragraph on page 4, “Although the present invention exemplifies polyurethane, the scope of right should not be construed as being limited thereto”), but does not teach the composition includes at least one thermoplastic material, wherein the at least one thermoplastic material is selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes, copolyester thermoplastic elastomers, polyamide thermoplastic elastomers, styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers, thermoplastic polyolefins, polyacrylics, polycarbonates, polyphenylene sulfide, and polymethacrylates, wherein a hardness of the body is greater than 70 ShD
Gras et al. teaches an analogous removable climbing hold (catches 3) comprising a body (10), wherein the body is made from a composition including at least one thermoplastic material (Abstract, “These catches are derived from the transformation of thermoplastic material, it is in the form of a thin shell made of this thermoplastic material”).
Penney, in the same field of endeavor with regards to gripping structures in the art of exercise devices, teaches a grip structure (10, 110) comprising a body (see tubular body of grip 10 in Fig. 1 or grip 110 in Fig. 2) made from a composition including at least one thermoplastic material (col. 2 lines 23-26, “The grips themselves can be made out of many different types of materials. Examples would include rubber, foam, plastic, cork, polyurethane, gel, etc. Preferred is one of the many thermoplastics or elastomers”), and further teaches wherein the at least one thermoplastic material is selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes, copolyester thermoplastic elastomers, polyamide thermoplastic elastomers, styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers, thermoplastic polyolefins, polyacrylics, polycarbonates, polyphenylene sulfide, and/or polymethacrylates (see table listing possible thermoplastic polymers in col. 4 line 41 – col. 5 line 19; see “Broad Listing of Materials for Manufacture of Grips” in col. 5 line 36 – col. 6 line 10).
Collins further teaches a climbing hold (10) including a body (12) that “can be made of any suitable material that has required physical properties to provide good grip,” including “polyurethane resin with Shore_D hardness between 60D and 100D” (par. [0034]).
Because Kim teaches other materials may be used to manufacture the climbing hold and Gras et al. teaches using thermoplastic material to manufacture climbing holds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known thermoplastic material to manufacture the body, such as at least one of the thermoplastic materials listed in Penney similarly used to manufacture a grip structure. Additionally, because Collins teaches a climbing hold having a body with a Shore D hardness between 60D and 100D, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manufacture of the body of the climbing hold of Gras et al. to achieve a suitable material hardness, including a hardness greater than 70 ShD (encompassed by the range taught in Collins), for the purpose of providing a climbing hold of adequate strength to withstand continuous use and reduce the risk of damage. It has been held to be within the ordinary skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, absent criticality or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the size of the body can vary (second paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The shape, size, and color of the grip portion 10 are various”), but does not teach wherein at least 50% of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 8 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of Kim such that at least 50% of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 8 mm as a matter of obvious design choice since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the climbing hold of Kim would not operate differently with the claimed thickness, and applicant places no criticality on the thickness claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the body has a solid monobloc shape (see Fig. 2), and further teaches wherein the size of the body can vary (second paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The shape, size, and color of the grip portion 10 are various”), but does not teach wherein at least 50% of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of Kim such that at least 50% of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 5 mm as a matter of obvious design choice since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the climbing hold of Kim would not operate differently with the claimed thickness, and applicant places no criticality on the thickness claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified further teaches wherein at least a portion of a first surface of the body (i.e., outer surface) is configured to be in contact with a limb of a user (via user gripping or stepping on outer surface) and has at least one grained zone (friction portion 20; sixth paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The friction portion 20 is partly provided on the surface of the grip portion 1, and the surface of the friction portion 20 is roughened to prevent the slip”), at least 50% of a surface of the at least one grained zone being made from the at least one thermoplastic material (as modified in claim 1 above, the body including the grained zone will be molded from the thermoplastic material; seventh paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “the mold (for example, the silicone mold) may have a shape as illustrated in FIG. 1 by being integrally molded in the mold and having roughness on the inner surface of the mold (for example, a silicone mold) only in a portion corresponding to the friction portion 20”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified does not teach wherein the composition includes at least one charge and/or at least one adjuvant selected from the group consisting of coloring agents, pigments, plasticizing agents, swelling agents, and anti-UV agents.
Penney further teaches a composition including at least one thermoplastic material (col. 2 lines 23-26, “The grips themselves can be made out of many different types of materials. Examples would include rubber, foam, plastic, cork, polyurethane, gel, etc. Preferred is one of the many thermoplastics or elastomers”), and further teaches wherein the composition includes at least one charge and/or at least one adjuvant selected from the group consisting of coloring agents, pigments, plasticizing agents, swelling agents, and anti-UV agents (col. 7 lines 50-54, “Other additives useful in the grip compositions include leveling agents, adhesion promoters, coupling agents, defoamers, hydrolysis stabilizers, UV stabilizers, pigments, dispersants, curing accelerators, diluents, or combinations thereof”; see also listing of possible filler materials in col. 7 line 58 – col. 8 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition used to compose the climbing hold of Kim as modified above in claim 1 to further include at least one charge and/or at least one adjuvant selected from the group consisting of coloring agents, pigments, plasticizing agents, swelling agents, and anti-UV agents, as is similarly taught by Penney, as a matter of selecting a suitable material composition to construct the climbing hold to facilitate a strong structure and comfortable grip for a user. It has been held to be within the ordinary skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, absent criticality or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the composition includes: at least 50% of the at least one thermoplastic material or a mixture of the at least one thermoplastic material and at least another thermoplastic materials, and/or more than 0 and up to 15% of the at least one adjuvant, and/or more than 0 and up to 30% of the at least one charge (as modified by Penney, see Penney col. 8 lines 19-23, “The filler content in the grip, based on the total solid weight, can range from 10% by weight to 90%, depending on the interaction of the fillers and the base elastomers. Preferred is 20% to 80% by weight and more preferred is 30% to 70% by weight” indicating the composition as modified by Penney can include the at least one adjuvant and/or at least one charge in the range from 10-90% of the total composition of the climbing hold, which includes a composition having at least 50% of at least one thermoplastic material, a range of 10-15% as claimed for the at least one adjuvant and 10-30% as claimed of the at least one charge).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified further teaches an artificial climbing structure (Fig. 2) including at least one wall (wall W) and at least one climbing hold as claimed in claim 1 (catching portion 10), mounted on and fixed to the wall (via bolts 13).
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the size of the body can vary (second paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The shape, size, and color of the grip portion 10 are various”), but does not teach wherein most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 10 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of Kim such that most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 10 mm as a matter of obvious design choice since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the climbing hold of Kim would not operate differently.
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the body has a solid monobloc shape (see Fig. 2), and further teaches wherein the size of the body can vary (second paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The shape, size, and color of the grip portion 10 are various”), but does not teach wherein most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 8 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of Kim such that most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 8 mm as a matter of obvious design choice since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the climbing hold of Kim would not operate differently with the claimed thickness, and applicant places no criticality on the thickness claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the body has a solid monobloc shape (see Fig. 2), and further teaches wherein the size of the body can vary (second paragraph under “Specific Contents for Carrying Out the Invention” on page 3, “The shape, size, and color of the grip portion 10 are various”), but does not teach wherein most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 10 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of Kim such that most of the body has a thickness greater than or equal to 10 mm as a matter of obvious design choice since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the climbing hold of Kim would not operate differently with the claimed thickness, and applicant places no criticality on the thickness claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the composition includes: more than 0 and up to 10% of the at least one adjuvant, and/or more than 0 and up to 20% of the at least one charge (Penney col. 8 lines 19-23, “The filler content in the grip, based on the total solid weight, can range from 10% by weight to 90%, depending on the interaction of the fillers and the base elastomers. Preferred is 20% to 80% by weight and more preferred is 30% to 70% by weight” indicating the composition as modified by Penney can include the at least one adjuvant and/or at least one charge in the range from 10-90% of the total composition of the climbing hold, which includes a possible composition including 10% as claimed for the at least one adjuvant and 10-20% as claimed of the at least one charge).
Regarding claim 21, Gras et al. as modified further teaches wherein the hardness of the body is in a range of from 80 ShD to 100 ShD (as modified by Collins in claim 1 above, the resulting body will have a Shore D hardness of between 60-100 ShD, which includes the claimed range of 80-100 ShD)
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101791459 B1) in view of Gras et al. (FR 3004358 A1), in view of Penney (US 9,907,993), in view of Collins (US 2007019118), and further in view of Langerak (WO 2010008288 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a climbing hold comprising:
injecting, intruding, and/or coextruding the composition including the at least one thermoplastic material into a flexible mold so as to obtain the climbing hold as claimed in claim 1 (seventh paragraph under “SOLVING MEANS OF THE PROBLEM” on page 2, “The present invention is achieved by a climbing hold having a double texture and a method for manufacturing the same, the method comprising the steps of: manufacturing a prototype of a climbing hold by cutting a raw material made of a foam into a predetermined shape; primarily smoothing a corresponding surface by applying putty to the remaining portion except for a hand held by a hand among the manufactured circular surfaces and polishing the same with a sandpaper; installing a masking tape on a portion held by the hand; applying paint and removing the masking tape; molding a mold with liquid silicone by using a circular shape; and molding a climbing hold by using the mold as a two-component non-foaming hard urethane”; see also from last two paragraphs of page 3 through third paragraph of page 4), but does not teach injecting, intruding, and/or coextruding the composition at low pressure.
Langerak, in the same field of endeavor with regards to methods of manufacturing molded products, teaches a method of manufacturing a plastic package in a mold (see Title, package 1) comprising injecting, intruding, and/or coextruding a composition including at least one thermoplastic material at low pressure into a mold (page 9 lines 26-27, “a package 1, preferably a blister package can be formed from thermoplastic material” and page 10 lines 1-3, “Through the inflow opening 29, under relatively low pressure, plastic is introduced into the mold cavity 20, for instance at a pressure of between 1 and 10 bars excess pressure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing the climbing hold of Kim in view of Gras et al. to include injecting, intruding, and/or coextruding the composition at a low pressure into the flexible mold, as is similarly taught by Langerak, for the purpose of preventing adverse effects to the material properties of the climbing hold and to prevent excess high pressure within the mold (Langerak page 10 lines 3-6, “The filling pressure is selected such that a desired, short feed time is achieved without the material properties of the plastic being adversely affected and without undesirably high pressure occurring in the mold cavity.”).
Regarding claims 12-14, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the low pressure is in a range of from 0 to 200 bar inclusive (claim 12), wherein the low pressure is in a range of from 0 to 75 bar inclusive (claim 13), and wherein the low pressure is in a range of from 0 to 50 bar inclusive (claim 14; as modified by Langerak, see Langerak page 10 lines 1-3, “Through the inflow opening 29, under relatively low pressure, plastic is introduced into the mold cavity 20, for instance at a pressure of between 1 and 10 bars excess pressure”).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified further teaches wherein the flexible mold is made of an elastomer material or rubber (silicone mold of Kim).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101791459 B1) in view of Gras et al. (FR 3004358 A1), in view of Penney (US 9,907,993), in view of Collins (US 2007019118), and further in view of Manzaki (US 9,757,910).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified teaches wherein the composition includes the at least on adjuvant (see rejection to claim 7 above), but does not teach the at least one adjuvant is a swelling agent selected from the group consisting of citric acid, sodium bicarbonate, azodicarbonamides (ADC), oxy-bis benzenesulfonyl hydrazides (OBSH), toluenesulfonylhydrazide (TSH), water, and plastic microspheres containing a gas.
Manzaki, in the same field of endeavor with respect to adjuvants added to thermoplastic molded products, teaches a composition for a molded product including a thermoplastic material (col. 6 lines 46-50, “As the polymer material, materials that have been used for the injection molded product in the past can be used without being particularly limited. For example, various thermoplastic resins and rubber can be used”) and at least one adjuvant that is a plastic microsphere containing a gas (thermally expandable capsules, col. 6 line 64 – col. 7 line 16, “The thermally expandable capsules used for the injection molded product disclosed herein are typically constituted as particles in which encapsulated substance (usually, a gas, a solid, or a liquid that is evaporated (gasified) by heating) that increases occupied volumes by heating are contained within outer shells made of a thermoplastic resin. Materials constituting the outer shells of the thermally expandable capsules include, for example, thermoplastic resins, such as polyvinylidene chloride, a vinylidene chloride acrylonitrile copolymer, polyacrylonitrile, an acrylonitrile-based copolymer, acrylic (co)polymers such as polymethylmethacrylate, and polyvinyl chloride. Additionally, substances (expanding agents) that are encapsulated by the thermally expandable capsules include, for example, low-boiling-point hydrocarbons, such as n-pentane, n-hexane, n-butane, isobutane, and isopentane. The encapsulated substances are not limited to the low-boiling-point hydrocarbons, and for example, inert gases (some or all can be obtained in a liquefied state), such as nitrogen and argon, in addition to air and carbon dioxide, can also be the encapsulated substances”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of material used to mold the climbing hold of Kim as modified above in claim 7 to further include at least one adjuvant in the form of plastic microspheres containing a gas, as is similarly taught by Manzaki, for the purpose of increasing the volume of the molded climbing hold without significantly increasing the weight of the climbing hold, thereby reducing manufacturing and shipping costs, and for providing an uneven surface to the climbing hold as desired, thereby enhancing a user’s grip when using the climbing hold.
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified Manzaki teaches wherein the at least one adjuvant is plastic microspheres containing a gas selected from the group consisting of carbon dioxide, isobutane, isooctane, isopentane, and pentane (see Manzaki col. 6 line 64 – col. 7 line 16 cited above for rejection of claim 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art to Penney is related to a hand grip rather than a climbing hold, and that the prior art to Penney teaches the hardest materials advised in Penney are significantly less hard than the hardness of at least 70 ShD as recited in the present claims. The Office respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion. The prior art to Penney is relied upon to teach types of thermoplastic materials used in manufacturing items intended to be gripped by a user. While Penney does disclose an example of a hand grip manufactured according to the disclosure comprising silicone rubber with hardness levels between 10 and 100 ShA (col. 4 lines 6-9), Penney also discloses a variety of thermoplastic materials in the chart provided on col. 4 line 28 through col. 5 line 19. Applicant’s argument assumes these materials are similarly being disclosed as having a lower hardness however the disclosure of Penney is not exclusive as to the specific hardness of the materials listed. Additionally, prior art to Collins has been relied upon to teach a climbing hold manufactured such that a body of the climbing grip has a hardness between 60 ShD and 100 ShD (par. [0034]). Therefore, because using thermoplastics to manufacture climbing holds is known through Gras et al. and the Shore D hardness is a result of the method of manufacture, selecting a known thermoplastic material to manufacture a climbing hold and manufacturing the climbing hold to have a hardness greater than 70 ShD is obvious in view of the prior art to Penney and Collins.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN M FISK/Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784