DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-10 are directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1, and each recite “The method and device …”. Claim 1 recites a method, but it is unclear what the device of claim 1 is intended to be from the claims as written. Based on ¶00011 and 00015-00018 of the present specification, the claimed device appears to be intended to be the assembly comprising the subdural electrode strip and drain tube. Therefore, for the purpose of interpretation, claim 1 was interpreted as though it also recited a device comprising a subdural electrode strip and drain tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waziri et al. (US 2010/0168532 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waziri discloses a method for monitoring patients undergoing cSDH evacuation for spreading depolarization (¶0019-0020, 0080-0097, and Table 1: the disclosed method is for monitoring the electrical activity of the cortex of a patient and may be used with patients having hematomas drained) comprising the steps of: placing a subdural electrode strip (Fig. 1, feat. 5; ¶0045) and drain tube (2; ¶0019-0020 and 0045) having a distal tip (4; ¶0045) on the cortex of the patient (¶0019-0020). Regarding claim 2, Waziri further discloses that the electrode strip (5) includes a plurality of electrodes located inside said distal tip of said drain tube (¶0049: the electrodes may be placed along the entire length of the device, including the distal end). Regarding claim 3, Waziri further discloses that said electrode strip (5) includes six platinum electrodes (¶0049 and 0053).
Regarding claim 11, Waziri discloses a method and device (¶0019-0020) wherein, at the time of surgery, a subdural assembly (Fig. 1, feat. 1; ¶0045) comprising a drainage tube (2; ¶0045) and an electrode strip (5; ¶0045) is placed between the brain and skull (¶0019-0020) of a patient undergoing cSDH evacuation (¶0019-0020, 0080-0097 and Table 1). Regarding claim 12, Waziri further discloses that the electrode strip (5) includes a plurality of electrodes located inside said distal tip of said drain tube (¶0049: the electrodes may be placed along the entire length of the device, including the distal end). Regarding claim 13, Waziri further discloses that said electrode strip (5) includes six platinum electrodes (¶0049 and 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waziri in view of Sklar (US 2021/0244922 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Waziri discloses the method and device of claim 2, but is silent with respect to the drain tube including a trimmable distal tip.
Sklar teaches a CSF drainage device (Figs. 1 and 11, feat. 10; ¶0029) comprising a drainage catheter tube (30) with a distal end (34). Sklar teaches that the drainage catheter tube may be cuttable or trimmable in order to adjust its length to fit the patient’s anatomy (¶0047). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device disclosed by Waziri so that the drain tube includes a trimmable distal tip in order to allow its length to be adjusted to fit the patient’s anatomy as taught by Sklar.
Regarding claim 5, Waziri in view of Sklar suggests the method and device of claim 4, and Waziri further discloses that said drain tube (Fig. 1, feat. 2) includes perforations that function as drainage holes (14) along the distal portion (13) of said tip (4; ¶0045).
Regarding claim 14, Waziri discloses the method and device of claim 12, but is silent with respect to the drain tube including a trimmable distal tip.
Sklar teaches a CSF drainage device (Figs. 1 and 11, feat. 10; ¶0029) comprising a drainage catheter tube (30) with a distal end (34). Sklar teaches that the drainage catheter tube may be cuttable or trimmable in order to adjust its length to fit the patient’s anatomy (¶0047). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device disclosed by Waziri so that the drain tube includes a trimmable distal tip in order to allow its length to be adjusted to fit the patient’s anatomy as taught by Sklar.
Regarding claim 15, Waziri in view of Sklar suggests the method and device of claim 14, and Waziri further discloses that said drain tube (Fig. 1, feat. 2) includes perforations that function as drainage holes (14) along the distal portion (13) of said tip (4; ¶0045).
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen et al. (US 2020/0170748 A1).
Regarding claims 6-7, Waziri in view of Sklar suggests the method and device of claim 5, but does not disclose that one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube, with respect to claim 6, or that one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube at an angle of 90°, with respect to claim 7.
Folzenlogen teaches an intracranial guide system for evacuating a subdural hematoma (¶0002 and 0010) comprising a port (Figs. 1A-E and 24, feat. 4; ¶0068-0071) with a threaded stem (8), like a bolt, and a lumen (10) extending through the stem. In use, the port is anchored in a burr hole in the patient’s skull (Fig. 24, feat. 80) such that the distal end of the stem extends no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull (¶0100). The system further includes a cannula (Figs. 11-12, feat. 160; ¶0103-0111) with a shaft (162) for insertion through the port’s lumen and into the patient’s skull no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull (¶0104). The cannula shaft (Figs. 11A-F, feat. 162) comprises at least one channel (180A-B) with an exit port (182A-B) oriented angularly with about an angle of 90° to guide and direct a drainage catheter during evacuation of the subdural hematoma (¶0107-0108). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device suggested by Waziri in view of Sklar so that it includes one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube, with respect to claim 6, or one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube at an angle of 90°, with respect to claim 7, in order to guide and direct the drainage tube during evacuation of the subdural hematoma as taught by Folzenlogen.
Regarding claim 8, Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen suggested the method and device of claim 7. As discussed above, Folzenlogen teaches that, in use, the port and cannula, which comprise the claimed bolt channels, should extend no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull, or a maximum of an 8 mm inset, in order to reduce the risk of injuring the patient’s brain as it expands as the subdural hematoma is drained (¶0100 and 0104). This prior art range of an inset less than 8 mm overlaps the claimed inset of 2 mm or less, and therefore a prima facie case exists for the claimed inset range. Please see MPEP §2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device suggested by Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen so that the bolt channels are fully inserted with a 2 mm inset into the subdural space in order to reduce the risk of injuring the patient’s brain as it expands as the subdural hematoma is drained.
Regarding claims 9-10, Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen suggests the method and device of claim 8, and Waziri further discloses that the method and device may further include an ICP sensor (¶0075), with respect to claim 9, and that the method and device may further include an ICP sensor located at said tip (¶0075: ICP sensor may be mounted at the tip of a catheter and the drain tube of Waziri is a catheter), with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claims 16-17, Waziri in view of Sklar suggests the method and device of claim 15, but does not disclose that one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube, with respect to claim 16, or that one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube at an angle of 90°, with respect to claim 17.
Folzenlogen teaches an intracranial guide system for evacuating a subdural hematoma (¶0002 and 0010) comprising a port (Figs. 1A-E and 24, feat. 4; ¶0068-0071) with a threaded stem (8), like a bolt, and a lumen (10) extending through the stem. In use, the port is anchored in a burr hole in the patient’s skull (Fig. 24, feat. 80) such that the distal end of the stem extends no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull (¶0100). The system further includes a cannula (Figs. 11-12, feat. 160; ¶0103-0111) with a shaft (162) for insertion through the port’s lumen and into the patient’s skull no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull (¶0104). The cannula shaft (Figs. 11A-F, feat. 162) comprises at least one channel (180A-B) with an exit port (182A-B) oriented angularly with about an angle of 90° to guide and direct a drainage catheter during evacuation of the subdural hematoma (¶0107-0108). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device suggested by Waziri in view of Sklar so that it includes one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube, with respect to claim 16, or one or more bolt channels configured to angularly direct said electrode strip and said drain tube at an angle of 90°, with respect to claim 17, in order to guide and direct the drainage tube during evacuation of the subdural hematoma as taught by Folzenlogen.
Regarding claim 18, Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen suggested the method and device of claim 17. As discussed above, Folzenlogen teaches that, in use, the port and cannula, which comprise the claimed bolt channels, should extend no more than 8 mm beyond the interior surface of the skull, or a maximum of an 8 mm inset, in order to reduce the risk of injuring the patient’s brain as it expands as the subdural hematoma is drained (¶0100 and 0104). This prior art range of an inset less than 8 mm overlaps the claimed inset of 2 mm or less, and therefore a prima facie case exists for the claimed inset range. Please see MPEP §2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device suggested by Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen so that the bolt channels are fully inserted with a 2 mm inset into the subdural space in order to reduce the risk of injuring the patient’s brain as it expands as the subdural hematoma is drained.
Regarding claims 19-20, Waziri in view of Sklar and in further view of Folzenlogen suggests the method and device of claim 18, and Waziri further discloses that the method and device may further include an ICP sensor (¶0075), with respect to claim 19, and that the method and device may further include an ICP sensor located at said tip (¶0075: ICP sensor may be mounted at the tip of a catheter and the drain tube of Waziri is a catheter), with respect to claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rosengart et al. (WO 2018/038930 A1) discloses an intracranial drainage catheter with electrodes for monitoring cortical activity.
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781