DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/20/2024 and 2/28/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/20/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US patent # 10,862,940) in view of Nataros (US patent # 2017/0346864).
As to claim 1, Jones teaches a camera control method, applied to a client, and comprising:
receiving a control instruction (transmission of control signals 88) for a camera (agent computer 14 and webcam 24) sent by a virtual terminal (term “agent” may refer to the live person or AI bot at the call center, or to the computing device being used by the live person at the call center, depending on the context) running in a server (communication network 16) (Col. 3, lines 26-59, Col. 4, line 25-38, Col. 14, lines 18-37);
controlling, according to the control instruction (88), the camera (14 and 24) to collect image frames (fixed amount of video), and storing the image frames (fixed amount of video) in a cache queue (memory) (Col. 7, lines18-31). Jones teaches the incoming webcam video handler 60 saves compressed video (from native codec 62) in memory until a fixed amount of video has been received, and then transfers (arrow 57) the video to the WebM boxing handler 66 for to be packaged for transmission on the communication network 16 (Col. 7, lines18-31)
sending (transmitting) remaining image frames (fixed amount of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the server (16) such that the server (16) sends the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a virtual terminal (visitor 12) (Col. 4, line 39-Col. 5, line 2)
Jones does not teach clearing a target image frame in the cache queue in a case that the quantity of the image frames in the cache queue is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval between a time stamp of the target image frame and a current time stamp is greater than a preset interval and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer in an operating system of the virtual terminal. Nataros teaches clearing a target image frame (frame) in the cache queue (memory) in a case that the quantity (encoding ‘quality’ threshold) of the image frames (frames) in the cache queue memory) is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval (time intervals) between a time stamp of the target image frame (frame) and a current time stamp (real time) is greater than a preset interval (full frame send from time to time) (Para 158, 255, 344, and 348-352) and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer (hardware signal layer) in an operating system of the virtual terminal (OS presentation side and a virtual interface driver) (Para 311). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a frame server as taught by Nataros to the networked components of Jones, to improved systems and methods which place lower overhead on a portable device, yet are capable of transferring processed graphics data for a smooth presentation on the portable device remains highly desirable (Para 6 of Nataros).
As to claim 2, Nataros teaches wherein after the clearing a target image frame (frame) in the cache queue (memory) in a case that there are image frames (frames) in the cache queue (memory) that have not been sent to the server (16) for a duration exceeding a preset duration (Para 158, 255, 344, and 348-352). Jones teaches lowering a frame rate (lower frame rate) of the camera (14 and 24) (Col. 9, lines 21-48).
As to claim 3, Jones teaches wherein the lowering a frame rate (lower frame rate) of the camera (14 and 24) comprises: determining a sending speed of sending the image frames (frames) in the cache queue (memory) to the server (16); and determining a frame rate adjusting amount (25% to 50% lower bit rate) according to the sending speed, and lowering the frame rate (lower frame rate) of the camera (14 and 24) according to the frame rate adjusting amount (25% to 50% lower bit rate) (Col. 9, lines 21-48).
As to claim 4, Jones teaches wherein when the frame rate (frame rate) of the camera (14 and 24) is lowered (lowered), the frame rate (frame rate) is lowered (lowered) to a preset frame rate at most (25% to 50% lower bit rate) (Col. 9, lines 21-48).
As to claim 5, Jones teaches wherein when the frame rate (frame rate) of the camera (14 and 24) is lowered (lowered), the frame rate (frame rate) is lowered (lowered) to a preset frame rate at most (25% to 50% lower bit rate) (Col. 9, lines 21-48).
As to claim 6, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 7, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 8, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 9, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 10, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 11, Jones teaches a camera control method, applied to a server, wherein a virtual terminal runs in the server, and the method comprises:
sending a control instruction (transmission of control signals 88) for a camera (agent computer 14 and webcam 24) to a client (visitor 12) (Col. 3, lines 26-59, Col. 4, line 25-38, Col. 14, lines 18-37),
wherein according to the control instruction (88), the client (12) controls the camera (14 and 24) to collect image frames (fixed amount of video), and storing the image frames (fixed amount of video) in a cache queue (memory) (Col. 7, lines18-31). Jones teaches the incoming webcam video handler 60 saves compressed video (from native codec 62) in memory until a fixed amount of video has been received, and then transfers (arrow 57) the video to the WebM boxing handler 66 for to be packaged for transmission on the communication network 16 (Col. 7, lines18-31);
clearing a target image frame in the cache queue and sending remaining image frames in the cache queue to the server in a case that the quantity of the image frames in the cache queue is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval between a time stamp of the target image frame and a current time stamp is greater than a preset interval; and
receiving the image frames (fixed amount of video) sent by the client (12) and sending the image frames (fixed amount of video) to the virtual terminal (12) (Col. 4, line 39-Col. 5, line 2).
Jones does not teach clearing a target image frame in the cache queue in a case that the quantity of the image frames in the cache queue is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval between a time stamp of the target image frame and a current time stamp is greater than a preset interval and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer in an operating system of the virtual terminal. Nataros teaches clearing a target image frame (frame) in the cache queue (memory) in a case that the quantity (encoding ‘quality’ threshold) of the image frames (frames) in the cache queue memory) is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval (time intervals) between a time stamp of the target image frame (frame) and a current time stamp (real time) is greater than a preset interval (full frame send from time to time) (Para 158, 255, 344, and 348-352) and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer (hardware signal layer) in an operating system of the virtual terminal (OS presentation side and a virtual interface driver) (Para 311). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a frame server as taught by Nataros to the networked components of Jones, to improved systems and methods which place lower overhead on a portable device, yet are capable of transferring processed graphics data for a smooth presentation on the portable device remains highly desirable (Para 6 of Nataros).
As to claim 12, Jones teaches wherein the sending remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) comprises: performing H264 (H.264) encoding on the remaining image frames (processing frames of video) in the cache queue (memory) to obtain encoded image frames (encoded image); and sending the encoded image frames (encoded image) to the virtual terminal (12) running in the server (16) for the virtual terminal (12) to perform H264 decoding (H.264 video decoder 85) on the encoded image frames to obtain decoded image frames (Col. 9, lines 21-48 and Col. 13, lines 36-51).
As to claim 13, Jones teaches a camera control system, comprising:
a server (communication network 16) and a client (agent computer 14 and webcam 24), wherein a virtual terminal (term “agent” may refer to the live person or AI bot at the call center, or to the computing device being used by the live person at the call center, depending on the context) runs in the server (16) (Col. 3, lines 26-59, Col. 4, line 25-38, Col. 14, lines 18-37);
the server (16) is configured to send a control instruction (transmission of control signals 88) for a camera (14 and 24) to the client (12) (Col. 3, lines 26-59, Col. 4, line 25-38, Col. 14, lines 18-37);
the client (12) is configured to control, according to the control instruction (88), the camera (14 and 24) to collect image frames (fixed amount of video), and store the image frames (fixed amount of video) in a cache queue (memory) (Col. 7, lines18-31). Jones teaches the incoming webcam video handler 60 saves compressed video (from native codec 62) in memory until a fixed amount of video has been received, and then transfers (arrow 57) the video to the WebM boxing handler 66 for to be packaged for transmission on the communication network 16 (Col. 7, lines18-31); and
the server (16) is further configured to send the received image frames to the virtual terminal (12) (Col. 4, line 39-Col. 5, line 2).
Jones does not teach clearing a target image frame in the cache queue in a case that the quantity of the image frames in the cache queue is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval between a time stamp of the target image frame and a current time stamp is greater than a preset interval and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer in an operating system of the virtual terminal. Nataros teaches clearing a target image frame (frame) in the cache queue (memory) in a case that the quantity (encoding ‘quality’ threshold) of the image frames (frames) in the cache queue memory) is greater than a preset quantity threshold, wherein a time interval (time intervals) between a time stamp of the target image frame (frame) and a current time stamp (real time) is greater than a preset interval (full frame send from time to time) (Para 158, 255, 344, and 348-352) and the received image frames (fixed amount of video) to a camera hardware abstraction layer (hardware signal layer) in an operating system of the virtual terminal (OS presentation side and a virtual interface driver) (Para 311). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a frame server as taught by Nataros to the networked components of Jones, to improved systems and methods which place lower overhead on a portable device, yet are capable of transferring processed graphics data for a smooth presentation on the portable device remains highly desirable (Para 6 of Nataros).
As to claims 14-16, these claims differ from claim 1 only in that the claim 1 is a camera control method claim whereas claims 14-16 are an electronic device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim. Thus claim 14-16 are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
As to claims 15-17, these claims differ from claim 6 only in that the claim 6 is a camera control method claim whereas claims 15-17 are an electronic device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim. Thus claim 15-17 are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 12/13/2025