DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 10-11) in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Group I (claims 9 and 12-13) and Group III (claims 14-16) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al (JP 2017155065 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa teaches a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition comprising 100 pts.wt. of a polyphenylene sulfide resin (A) and 4-15 pts.wt. of an olefinic elastomer resin (C) [Overview], meeting the claimed polyarylene sulfide resin composition comprising 100 parts by weight of (A) a polyarylene sulfide and 1 to 50 parts by weight of (C) an olefin elastomer.
Hasegawa teaches that the polyphenylene sulfide resin (A) has a repeating unit represented by structural formula (I) [0016]. This structure is identical to the claimed PAS [0013 spec.]. In addition, this polyphenylene sulfide resin was made in a substantially identical process (sodium hydrosulfide dehydration at 245 °C for 3 hours, followed by reaction with p-dichlorobenzene at 270 °C for 100 minutes, the molar ratio of p-dichlorobenzene to sodium hydrosulfide is 1.02) [0108-0109] as compared to the current invention (sodium hydrosulfide dehydration at 237 °C for 3 hours, followed by reaction with equal molar of p-dichlorobenzene at 275 °C for 2 hours, the molar ratio of p-dichlorobenzene to sodium hydrosulfide is 1.02) [0133-0136 spec.]. Therefore, Hasegawa’s polyphenylene sulfide resin product is identical as the claimed (A) a polyarylene sulfide.
The recited “when a cumulative integral value from a molecular weight of 100 to a molecular weight of 10,000 in a molecular weight distribution curve of (A) the polyarylene sulfide is taken as 100, the cumulative integrated value at a molecular weight of 4,000 is 48 to 53, and when a melt flow rate of (A) the polyarylene sulfide is defined as MFR1, and when the melt flow rate obtained after mixing (A) the polyarylene sulfide with an epoxy silane coupling agent at a weight ratio of 100:1, and heating the resulting mixture at 315.5° C. for 5 minutes is defined as MFR2, a rate of change represented by MFR2/MFR1 is not more than 0.085” are properties of the product (A) the polyarylene sulfide. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Regarding claim 11, Hasegawa teaches that the olefin elastomer preferably contains an α-olefin copolymer having an epoxy group such as Bondfast E manufactured by Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. [0091, 0139], which is identical to the claimed olefin elastomer Bondfast E manufactured by Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. [0152 spec.].
Since the Hasegawa teaches the same olefin elastomer of Bondfast E, the claimed “a number average dispersion particle diameter of (C) the olefin elastomer is 10 to 300 nm” is inherent.
The recited “in a phase structure of the polyarylene sulfide resin composition, (A) the polyarylene sulfide is a continuous phase, (C) the olefin elastomer is an island phase” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention – the same PAS and the same olefinic elastomer in the same amounts, the recited property is expected to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al (JP 2017155065 A, machine translation is referenced herein) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Kei et al (JP 2014055219 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 11, Hasegawa teaches the polyarylene sulfide resin composition in claim 10. Hasegawa does not teach the recited “in a phase structure of the polyarylene sulfide resin composition, (A) the polyarylene sulfide is a continuous phase, (C) the olefin elastomer is an island phase, and a number average dispersion particle diameter of (C) the olefin elastomer is 10 to 300 nm”.
In the same field of endeavor, Kei teaches polyphenylene sulfide resin composition comprising (a) a polyphenylene sulfide resin and (b) an olefinic copolymer Bondfast E manufactured by Sumitomo Chemical [Overview, 0172], and has number-average dispersed particle size of less than 200 nm [0136].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition according to Hasegawa including an olefin elastomer having number-average dispersed particle size of less than 200 nm, as Kei demonstrates this range to be suitable for the same olefin elastomer in similar polyphenylene sulfide resin composition. This represents the use of a suitable range of dispersed particle size for the olefin elastomer in a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition which is compositionally similar to those of Kei and which is used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
The number-average dispersed particle size of less than 200 nm overlaps the claimed range of 10 to 300 nm. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The recited “in a phase structure of the polyarylene sulfide resin composition, (A) the polyarylene sulfide is a continuous phase, (C) the olefin elastomer is an island phase” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention – the same PAS and the same olefinic elastomer in the same amounts, the recited property is expected to be present.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762