DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, “a temperature” should be changed to --the temperature-- in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0050566 to Nilsson et al [hereinafter Nilsson] in view of JP2017078624A to Mitsuta et al [hereinafter Mitsuta] (see the attached translation in the Office action dated 3/13/26).
Referring to claim 1, Nilsson discloses an interface information identification device (figure 1; paragraphs 8, 10-12, 19, 20, 36) comprising:
a light source (10) configured to emit light to heat a planar sample (40), the sample (40) including a first layer (2) and a second layer (1) overlapping the first layer (2) (paragraphs 10, 36) to provide homogenized heating of the surface of the first layer (paragraph 10);
a detecting unit (20) configured to detect, at an opposite side of the sample (40) from the light source (10), a temperature distribution on a surface of the second layer (1) of the sample (40) (paragraph 11); and
an identifying unit (30) configured to identify information (cavities) about an interface (3) between the first layer (2) and the second layer (1) of the sample (40) based on the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit (20) (paragraphs 8, 12).
Nilsson does not disclose an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of light from the light source to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light, wherein the detecting unit is at an opposite side from the irradiating unit, and wherein the irradiating unit includes a guide body configured to guide light from the light source toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample.
However, Mitsuta discloses (figure 18; paragraph 23) a thermal testing device for inspecting a sample (101), wherein the device uses an irradiating unit (102) configured to homogenize (using 112) an intensity distribution of light from a light source (102) to irradiate an entire surface (figure 18) of a first side of the sample (101) with the light, wherein a detecting unit (103) is at an opposite side of the sample (101) from the irradiating unit (102), and wherein the irradiating unit (102) includes a guide body (111) configured to guide light from the light source toward the sample (101) while spreading the light to make an irradiation area (e.g., 15.6mm diameter) of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample (e.g., 10mm x 10mm) (paragraphs 21-23) in order to achieve uniform heating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson with an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of the light from the light source to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light, wherein the detecting unit is at an opposite side from the irradiating unit, and wherein the irradiating unit includes a guide body configured to guide light from the light source toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample, as suggested by Mitsuta, in order to achieve uniform heating of the entire sample to obtain more actuate interface information.
Referring to claim 3, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Mitsuta discloses that the irradiating unit includes a multimode fiber configured to receive and propagate the light from the light source (102) and output the light toward the guide body (111) (figure 18; paragraphs 21, 22).
Referring to claim 4, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 4, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Nilsson disclosing a changing unit configured to cause the sample and the guide body to move relative to each other to change a size of the irradiation area of the light reaching the sample.
However, Mitsuta discloses that the thermal testing device has a changing unit (104, 105) configured to cause the sample and the guide body to move relative to each other (the sample 101 is moved by the drive (104) and the drive controller (105) relative to the guide body (111) of the illumination unit) (paragraph 12) and that it is desirable to change a size of the irradiation area of the light reaching the sample in order to cover a desired surface area of the sample (paragraphs 21 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson in view of Mitsuta with a changing unit configured to cause the sample and the guide body to move relative to each other to change a size of the irradiation area of the light reaching the sample in order to cover a desired surface area of the sample, as suggested by Mitsuta.
Referring to claim 5, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 5, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Nilsson discloses that the detecting unit is an IR sensor having an opening body (a lens) between the sample and the detecting unit (paragraph 44) (a lens is an opening body including an opening allowing for passage therethrough of infrared rays that go from the surface of the second layer (1) of the sample toward the detecting unit).
Referring to claim 7, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 7, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Nilsson discloses that the detecting unit (20) is configured to detect a temperature distribution at a center of the surface of the second layer (1) of the sample (figure 1), but does not disclose excluding edges of the surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nilsson in view of Mitsuta such that the detecting unit excludes the edges of the surface in order to detect a particular part of the surface that is desirable to a user; and since the particular detecting area of the surface to be detected claimed by applicant, i.e., a center without the edges of the surface, is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice, or design, because the particular area claimed by applicant is considered to one of numerous areas that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to provide a temperature distribution as already suggested by Nilsson.
Referring to claim 9, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 9, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Nilsson discloses a displaying unit (display screen) configured to display the information about the interface identified by the identifying unit as a distribution at the interface (figure 4; paragraph 8).
Referring to claim 12, Nilsson discloses an interface information identification method (figure 1; paragraphs 8, 10-12, 19, 20, 36) comprising:
emitting light (using 10) to heat a planar sample (40), the sample (40) including a first layer (2) and a second layer (1) overlapping the first layer (2) (paragraphs 10, 36) to provide homogenized heating of the surface of the first layer (paragraph 10);
detecting (using 20) a temperature distribution on a surface of the second layer (1) of the sample (40) (paragraph 11); and
identifying (using 30) information (cavities) about an interface (3) between the first layer (2) and the second layer (1) of the sample (40) based on the detected temperature distribution (paragraphs 8, 12).
Nilsson does not disclose homogenizing an intensity distribution of the emitted light to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample.
However, Mitsuta discloses (figure 18; paragraph 23) a thermal testing device for inspecting a sample (101), wherein the device uses an irradiating unit (112) configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of light from a light source (102) by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample (e.g., 15.6mm diameter) larger than the sample (e.g., 10mm x 10mm) (paragraphs 22, 23) to irradiate an entire surface (figure 18) of a first side of the sample (10) with the light, wherein a detecting unit (103) is at an opposite side of the sample (101) from the irradiating unit (112) in order to achieve uniform heating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson with an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of the emitted light from the light source by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light, as suggested by Mitsuta, in order to achieve uniform heating of the entire sample to obtain more actuate interface information.
Claims 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson in view of Mitsuta, as stated above with respect to claim 1, and further in view of the publication “Enables non-contact measurement of three-dimensional anisotropic thermal conductivity of CFRP” by Nagano [hereinafter Nagano] (see the translation in the IDS filed 4/8/26).
Referring to claim 8, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 8, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Nilsson disclosing that the information about the interface includes information about an interface thermal resistance.
However, Nagano discloses a system for inspecting a sample by using a light source to heat on surface of the sample and a detecting unit for detecting a temperature distribution at an opposite surface of the sample from the first surface, wherein an identifying unit is configured to output information about an interface thermal resistance between a first layer (fibers) and a second layer (resin) in order to evaluate the material for physical properties (such as strength or breakage) and thermal properties (see section 1; figures 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Nilsson in view of Mitsuta such that the information about the interface includes information about an interface thermal resistance in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties (such as strength or breakage) and thermal properties, which Nagano suggests is desirable.
Referring to claim 10, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 10, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Nilsson further discloses that the sample includes an adhesive layer (3) between the first layer (2) and the second layer (1), the adhesive layer bonding the first layer and the second layer; and the identifying unit being configured to output, based on the identified information about the interface between the first layer and the second layer, information about the interface between the first layer and the second layer.
Nilsson does not disclose the outputted information being information about an interface thermal resistance between the first layer and the adhesive layer.
However, Nagano discloses a system for inspecting a sample by using a light source to heat on surface of the sample and a detecting unit for detecting a temperature distribution at an opposite surface of the sample from the first surface, wherein an identifying unit is configured to output information about an interface thermal resistance between a first layer (fibers) and a second layer (resin) in order to evaluate the material for physical properties (such as strength or breakage) and thermal properties (see section 1; figures 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the identifying unit of Nilsson in view of Mitsuta such that it outputs, based on the identified information about the interface between the first layer and the second layer, information about an interface thermal resistance between the first layer and the adhesive layer in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties (such as strength or breakage) and thermal properties, which Nagano suggests is desirable.
Referring to claim 11, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 11, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Nilsson disclosing that the identifying unit is configured to identify information about fatigue of the sample based on the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit.
However, Nagano discloses a system for inspecting a sample by using a light source to heat on surface of the sample and a detecting unit for detecting a temperature distribution at an opposite surface of the sample from the first surface, wherein an identifying unit is configured to identify information about fatigue of the sample (failure such as fiber breakage) based on the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties (failure such fiber breakage) and thermal properties (see section 1; figures 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the identifying unit of Nilsson in view of Mitsuta such that it identifies information about fatigue of the sample based on the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties (failure such as fiber breakage) and thermal properties, which Nagano suggests is desirable.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson in view of Mitsuta and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0080415 to Baba et al [hereinafter Baba].
Referring to claim 13, Nilsson discloses a method (figure 1; paragraphs 8, 10-12, 19, 20, 36) comprising:
emitting light (using 10) to heat a planar sample (40), the sample (40) including a first layer (2) and a second layer (1) overlapping the first layer (2) (paragraphs 10, 36) to provide homogenized heating of the surface of the first layer (paragraph 10);
detecting (using 20) a temperature distribution on a surface of the second layer (1) of the sample (40) (paragraph 11); and
identifying (using 30) information (cavities) about an interface (3) between the first layer (2) and the second layer (1) of the sample (40) based on the detected temperature distribution (paragraphs 8, 12).
Nilsson does not disclose homogenizing an intensity distribution of the emitted light to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the method.
However, Mitsuta discloses (figure 18; paragraph 23) a thermal testing device for inspecting a sample (10), wherein the device uses an irradiating unit (112) configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of light from a light source (113) to irradiate an entire surface (figure 18) of a first side of the sample (10) with the light by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light (e.g., 15.6mm diameter) reaching the sample larger than the sample (e.g., 10mm x 10mm) (paragraphs 22, 23), wherein a detecting unit (103) is at an opposite side of the sample (10) from the irradiating unit (112) in order to achieve uniform heating.
Furthermore, Baba discloses a thermal testing device for testing a sample that uses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the testing of the sample (claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson with an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of the emitted light by guiding the light toward the sample while spreading the light to make an irradiation area of the light reaching the sample larger than the sample to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light, as suggested by Mitsuta, in order to achieve uniform heating of the entire sample to obtain more actuate interface information.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson in view of Mitsuta with a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the method, as suggested by Baba, in order to provide computerized identification of the interface information.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nilsson in view of Mitsuta and Nagano.
Referring to claim 14, Nilsson discloses a device (figure 1; paragraphs 8, 10-12, 19, 20, 36) comprising:
a light source (10) (paragraphs 10, 36) to provide homogenized heating of a surface of a first layer (2) of a planar sample (40) (paragraph 10);
a detecting unit (20) configured to detect, at an opposite side of the sample (40) from the light source (10), a temperature distribution on the opposite side of the sample (40) (paragraph 11); and
an identifying unit (30) configure to identify information about an internal condition (cavities) of the sample based on the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit (paragraphs 8, 12).
Nilsson does not disclose an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of light emitted from the light source toward the planar sample to irradiate an entire surface of the sample with the light, wherein the detecting unit is at an opposite side of the sample from the irradiating unit; the identifying unit being configured to identify information about the internal condition of the sample based on an amplitude and a phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit; wherein the identifying unit is configured to identify information about a through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit and output the identified information about the through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample as a distribution in the sample.
However, Mitsuta discloses (figure 18; paragraph 23) a thermal testing device for inspecting a planar sample (10), wherein the device uses an irradiating unit (112) configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of light from a light source (113) to irradiate an entire surface (figure 18) of a first side of the sample (10) with the light; wherein a detecting unit (103) is at an opposite side of the sample (10) from the irradiating unit (112) in order to achieve uniform heating.
Furthermore, Nagano discloses a system (figures 1, 2) for inspecting a sample by using an irradiating unit comprising a light source to heat on surface of the sample and a detecting unit for detecting a temperature distribution at an opposite surface of the sample from the first surface (section 1); wherein an identifying unit is configured to identify information about the internal condition of the sample based on an amplitude and a phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit, and wherein the identifying unit is configured to identify information about a through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit, and output the identified information about the through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample as a distribution in the sample (sections 2-4, 6) in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties (such as strength) and thermal properties (see section 1; figures 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Nilsson with an irradiating unit configured to homogenize an intensity distribution of the emitted light to irradiate an entire surface of the first layer of the sample with the light, wherein a detecting unit is at an opposite side of the sample from the irradiating unit. as suggested by Mitsuta, in order to achieve uniform heating of the entire sample to obtain more actuate interface information.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the identifying unit of Nilsson in view of Mitsuta such that it is configured to identify information about the internal condition of the sample based on an amplitude and a phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit; wherein the identifying unit is configured to identify information about a through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit and output the identified information about the through-plane thermal diffusivity of the sample as a distribution in the sample in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties and thermal properties, which Nagano suggests is desirable.
Referring to claim 16, Nilsson in view of Mitsuta and Nagano disclose a device having all of the limitations of claim 16, as stated above with respect to claim 14, except for Nilsson disclosing that the identifying unit is configured to identify information about fatigue inside the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit and output the identified information about the fatigue inside the sample as a distribution in the sample.
However, Nagano further discloses that the identifying unit is configured to identify information about fatigue (e.g., fiber breakage) inside the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit and output the identified information about the fatigue inside the sample as a distribution in the sample (figures 1, 2; section 1-4) in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties and thermal properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the identifying unit of Nilsson in view of Mitsuta and Nagano such that it is configured to identify information about fatigue inside the sample based on the amplitude and the phase lag of the temperature distribution detected by the detecting unit and output the identified information about the fatigue inside the sample as a distribution in the sample in order to evaluate the sample for physical properties and thermal properties, which Nagano suggests is desirable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
An interface information identification device, wherein the opening body is larger than the sample and the opening of the opening body is smaller than the sample (claim 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection stated above.
Conclusion
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
8/13/26