DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “are located” (line 8) appears that it should be “being located.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “transmits signal” (line 10) appears that it should be “transmits a signal.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “transmits signal” (line 15) appears that it should be “transmits a signal.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “after” (line 16) appears that it should be “and after.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “responses” (line 16) appears that it should be “and after.”
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “40%~95%” (line 3) appears that it should be “40%-95%.”
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “change” (line 4) appears that it should be “a change.”
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “change” (line 3) appears that it should be “a change.”
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “0~12” (line 2) appears that it should be “0-12.”
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “12~3600” (line 3) appears that it should be “12-3600.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “auxiliary mounting module,” in claim 1, which has no corresponding structure; “a wake-up module,” in claim 1, which has no corresponding structure; “light sensing element,” in claim 2, which corresponds to a “photoelectric switch” (see page 7, fifth full paragraph); “magnetic component,” in claim 7, which has no corresponding structure; “magnetic induction element,” in claim 7, which has no corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claim 1, the claim term “auxiliary mounting module” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, there is a lack of evidence that Applicant had possession of the claim term since the corresponding structure is not disclosed in the specification. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claim(s).
For claim 1, the claim term “wake-up module” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, there is a lack of evidence that Applicant had possession of the claim term since the corresponding structure is not disclosed in the specification. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claim(s).
For claim 7, the claim term “magnetic component” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, there is a lack of evidence that Applicant had possession of the claim term since the corresponding structure is not disclosed in the specification. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claim(s).
For claim 7, the claim term “magnetic induction element” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, there is a lack of evidence that Applicant had possession of the claim term since the corresponding structure is not disclosed in the specification. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claim(s).
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the claim term “auxiliary mounting module” is ambiguous. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, the scope of the claim language cannot be ascertained since it is unclear what structure(s) is/are supposed to be covered by the claim language and what structure(s) is/are not supposed to be covered by the claim language. The claim is examined as any and all structures that are capable of performing the recited function.
For claim 1, the claim term “wake-up module” is ambiguous. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, the scope of the claim language cannot be ascertained since it is unclear what structure(s) is/are supposed to be covered by the claim language and what structure(s) is/are not supposed to be covered by the claim language. The claim is examined as any and all structures that are capable of performing the recited function.
For claim 1, the claim language “before using, the shell is releasable connected with the housing, and the analyte detection device is in a dormant state and transmits signal to an outside equipment at a first frequency” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the “before using” applies and limits the entire clause or just limits the releasable connection. That is, it is unclear whether the dormant state and transmitting of the signal is limited by “before using.” The claim is examined under the former interpretation.
For claim 1, the claim language “the analyte detection device … transmits signal to an outside equipment at a first frequency” is ambiguous. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and method steps is indefinite because the recited limitations is not directed to an “analyte detection system,” but instead to a method. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The claim is being examined as meaning configured to transmit.
For claim 1, the claim term “the auxiliary installation module” (line 15) lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined as this referring to the previously recited “auxiliary mounting module.”
For claim 1, the claim language “the wake-up module wakes up the analyte detection device according to triggering conditions” is ambiguous. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and method steps is indefinite because the recited limitations is not directed to an “analyte detection system,” but instead to a method. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The claim is being examined as meaning configured to wake up.
For claim 1, the claim language “the wake-up module … enters a working state” is ambiguous. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and method steps is indefinite because the recited limitations is not directed to an “analyte detection system,” but instead to a method. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The claim is being examined as meaning configured to wake up.
For claim 1, the claim language “the wake-up module … transmits a signal to the outside equipment at a second frequency” is ambiguous. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and method steps is indefinite because the recited limitations is not directed to an “analyte detection system,” but instead to a method. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The claim is being examined as meaning configured to transmit.
For claim 1, the claim language “the wake-up module … transmits a signal to the outside equipment at a second frequency” is ambiguous. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and method steps is indefinite because the recited limitations is not directed to an “analyte detection system,” but instead to a method. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The claim is being examined as meaning configured to transmit.
For claim 7, the claim term “magnetic component” is ambiguous. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, the scope of the claim language cannot be ascertained since it is unclear what structure(s) is/are supposed to be covered by the claim language and what structure(s) is/are not supposed to be covered by the claim language. The claim is examined as any and all structures that are capable of performing the recited function.
For claim 7, the claim term “magnetic induction element” is ambiguous. Specifically, this claim term invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the corresponding structure could not be found. Therefore, the scope of the claim language cannot be ascertained since it is unclear what structure(s) is/are supposed to be covered by the claim language and what structure(s) is/are not supposed to be covered by the claim language. The claim is examined as any and all structures that are capable of performing the recited function.
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0336053 to Halac et al. (hereinafter “Halac”).
For claim 1, Halac discloses an analyte detection system (Abstract), comprising:
an auxiliary mounting device (7100) (Fig. 6A) (para [0251]) comprising a housing (7101) (Fig. 6A) (para [0251]) and an auxiliary mounting module (7104) (Fig. 6A) (para [0251]), wherein the auxiliary mounting module is located in the housing (“deforms or flexes” inside 7100, see para [0251]);
an analyte detection device (360) (Fig. 3A) (para [0137]), comprising a shell (392/394) (Fig. 3A) (para [0137]), a sensor (338) (Fig. 3A) (para [138]), a transmitter (“telemetry module,” para [0137]), an internal circuit (“printed circuit board” and/or “integrated circuit” and/or “Application-Specific Integrated Circuit,” para [0137]), a battery (402) (Fig. 4) (para [0140]) and a wake-up module (520/545) (Fig. 5) (para [0143]), wherein the sensor comprises an external part and an internal part (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Fig. 4), the external part, the transmitter, the internal circuit, the battery and the wake-up module being located in the shell (as can be seen in Fig. 4 including elements 402 and 404), before using, the shell is releasable connected with the housing (para [0251], [0254], and [0256]), and the analyte detection device is in a dormant state (“low power state,” para [0150] and [0248]) and transmits a signal to an outside equipment at a first frequency (para [0035], [0221], and [0229]), when the analyte detection device is installed on a skin surface through the auxiliary mounting module (para [0251] and [0253]-[0256]), the shell is separated from the housing (para [0252]-[0254]), the wake-up module wakes up the analyte detection device according to triggering conditions (para [0257]-[0260]), enters a working state (para [0257]-[0260]), and transmits a signal to the outside equipment (i.e., “display devices,” para [0095]) at a second frequency (para [0035], [0221], and [0229]), after the outside equipment responds, a communication is established between the analyte detection device and the outside equipment (“two-way data communication,” para [0137]).
For claim 2, Halac further discloses wherein the wake-up module comprises a light sensing element, and after the shell is separated from the housing, external light irradiates to the light sensing element through the shell, and one of the triggering conditions is a change of the external light irradiated to the light sensing element (“optical detection circuit,” para [0143]) (also see para [0245] and/or [0263]).
For claim 3, Halac further discloses wherein the shell comprises a light-transmitting area, the external light irradiates to the light sensing element through the light-transmitting area (para [0143], [0245], and/or [0263]).
For claim 7, Halac further discloses wherein the housing is provided with a magnetic component (para [0215]-[0217] and/or [0219]-[0220]), and the wake-up module comprises a magnetic induction element (para [0215]-[0217] and/or [0219]-[0220]).
For claim 8, Halac further discloses wherein the magnetic induction element senses a magnetic field of the magnetic component (para [0215]-[0217] and/or [0219]-[0220]), and one of the triggering conditions is a change of the magnetic field sensed by the magnetic induction element (para [0215]-[0217] and/or [0219]-[0220]).
For claim 9, Halac further disclose wherein the wake-up module comprises an acceleration sensor (para [0224]-[0231], [0234], and [0236]-[0237]).
For claim 10, Halac further discloses wherein the acceleration sensor senses a motion state of the analyte detection device (para [0224]-[0231], [0234], and [0236]-[0237]), and one of the triggering conditions is a change of a motion parameter of the analyte detection device (para [0224]-[0231], [0234], and [0236]-[0237]).
For claim 11, Halac further discloses wherein the first frequency is less than the second frequency (para [0221] and [0229]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halac in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0030530 to Huang et al. (hereinafter “Huang”).
For claim 4, Halac does not expressly disclose wherein a material of the shell or the light-transmitting area is one of polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polycarbonate and poly 4-methyl-1-pentene.
However, Huang teaches wherein a material of a shell is one of polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polycarbonate and poly 4-methyl-1-pentene (para [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Halac wherein a material of the shell or the light-transmitting area is one of polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polycarbonate and poly 4-methyl-1-pentene, in view of the teachings of Huang, because such materials are suitable materials that would work well with the optical detection system of Halac.
For claim 5, Halac does not expressly disclose wherein a light transmittance of the shell or the light-transmitting area is 40%-95%.
However, Huang teaches wherein a light transmittance of the shell or the light-transmitting area is 40%-95% (Examiner’s Note: see paragraph that bridges pages 3-4 of Applicant’s specification as originally filed, which provides evidence of what materials can achieve this light transmittance) (para [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Halac wherein a light transmittance of the shell or the light-transmitting area is 40%-95%, in view of the teachings of Huang, because such a light transmittance is a suitable light transmittance that would work well with the optical detection system of Halac.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halac in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0114228 to McCluskey et al. (hereinafter “McCluskey”).
For claim 6, Halac does not expressly disclose wherein the light-transmitting area comprises at least one light-transmitting hole in which a light-transmittance film is arranged.
However, McCluskey teaches wherein a light-transmitting area comprises at least one light-transmitting hole in which a light-transmittance film is arranged (para [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Halac wherein the light-transmitting area comprises at least one light-transmitting hole in which a light-transmittance film is arranged, in view of the teachings of McCluskey, because such a structural arrangement is a suitable structural arrangement for optical detection systems, such as the system in Halac.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halac.
For claim 12, Halac further discloses wherein the second frequency is 12-3600 times/hour (para [0231]).
Halac does not expressly disclose wherein the first frequency is 0-12 times/hour.
However, Halac does teach wherein the first frequency is greater than sampling every 1 minute (para [0231]).
It would also have been obvious to a skilled artisan to optimize Halac wherein the first frequency is 0-12 times/hour given that Halac recognizes that the sampling frequency may be greater 1 minute and that greater time may be dependent on the specific application (see para [0231] of Halac). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification for the obvious advantage of reducing power consumption (even further).
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791