DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–4 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0250343 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 July 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
FIGS. 1–3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY COOLING DEVICE INCLUDING REFRIGERANT FLOW CHANNEL HAVING U-SHAPE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in the preamble, "[a] battery cooling device of a vehicle for cooling a battery by using a heat sink including a channel formed therein and through which a refrigerant flows." It is unclear what elements (i.e., a heat sink, a channel) compose the battery cooling device. The term "using" is not a common transitional phrase. See MPEP § 2111.03. The term "use" is defined as "take, hold, or deploy (something) as a means of accomplishing a purpose or achieving a result; or employ" (see use, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "use" does not clearly define that the elements following term are components of a "battery cooling device."
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the unit channel has a U-shape formed by folding to have a width equal to or shorter than a cell width of the battery cell." It is unclear "a width" of what is "equal to or shorter than a cell width of the battery cell."
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a plurality of battery cells." Claim 1, which is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a battery cell." It is unclear if "a plurality of battery cells" recited in claim 2 includes "a battery cell" recited in claim 1. If "a plurality of battery cells" recited in claim 2 includes "a battery cell" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cells required by claim 2 is at least two. If "a plurality of battery cells" recited in claim 2 does not "a battery cell" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cells required by claim 2 is at least three.
Claim 3 is directly dependent from claim 2, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 3 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a heat sink." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a heat sink." It is unclear if "a heat sink" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a heat sink" recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term "heat sink." However, claim 4 does not include "the" or "said" preceding "heat sink" indicating that "heat sink" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a heat sink" recited in claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the unit channels" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, provides antecedent basis for a single "unit channel."
Claim 4 recites the limitation "one end of each of the plurality of unit channels." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "one end of the unit channel." It is unclear if "one end" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "one end" recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term "one end." However, claim 4 does not include "the" or "said" preceding "one end" indicating that "one end" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "one end" recited in claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "another end of each of the plurality of unit channels." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "another end of the unit channel." It is unclear if "another end" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "another end" recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term "another end." However, claim 4 does not include "the" or "said" preceding "another end" indicating that "another end" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "another end" recited in claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a U-shape." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a U-shape." It is unclear if "a U-shape" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a U-shape" recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term "U-shape." However, claim 4 does not include "the" or "said" preceding "U-shape" indicating that "U-shape" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a U-shape" recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igawa et al. (WO 2021/045084 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0341671 A1; hereinafter Igawa).
Regarding claim 1, Igawa discloses a battery cooling device (P) of a vehicle for cooling a battery (B, [0118]) by using:
a heat sink (P) including a channel (20) formed therein and through which a refrigerant (L) flows (FIG. 7, [0103]),
wherein the channel (20) includes a unit channel (20) in which the refrigerant (L) before cooling a battery cell (B) is introduced from one end (10a) of the unit channel (20a, [0121]) and
the refrigerant (L) after cooling the battery cell (B) is discharged from another end (10b) of the unit channel (20, [0121]), and
the unit channel (20) has a U-shape formed by folding to have a width equal to or shorter than a cell width of the battery cell (B, [0111].
Regarding claim 4, Igawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cooling device, further comprising::
a heat sink (P) having a plate shape in which a plurality of the unit channels (20) is formed (FIG. 7, [0121]);
a first pressure-equalization tank (1a) connected to one end (10a) of each of the plurality of unit channels (20, [0121]); and
a second pressure-equalization tank (1b) connected to another end (10b) of each of the plurality of unit channels (20, [0121]),
wherein the plurality of unit channels (20) are each folded so as to have a U-shape in a surface direction of the heat sink (P) having a plate shape (FIG. 7, [0121]),
the first pressure-equalization tank (1a) is disposed on a side surface of the heat sink (P, [0121]), and
the second pressure-equalization tank (1b) is disposed on an upper surface of the heat sink (P, [0121]).
Claims 1–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 2013/0004822 A1, hereinafter Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto discloses a battery cooling device (61) of a vehicle for cooling a battery (10, [0057]) by using:
a heat sink (61) including a channel (60) formed therein and through which a refrigerant flows (FIG. 20, [0102]),
wherein the channel (60) includes a unit channel (60) in which the refrigerant before cooling a battery cell (1) is introduced from one end of the unit channel (60, [0102]) and
the refrigerant after cooling the battery cell (1) is discharged from another end of the unit channel (60, [0102]), and
the unit channel (60) has a U-shape formed by folding to have a width equal to or shorter than a cell width of the battery cell (1, [0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cooling device:
wherein the battery (10) is configured by arranging a plurality of battery cells (1) in a battery pack (10A) in a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction (FIG. 20, [0102]), and
the unit channel (60) extends over the plurality of battery cells (1) in the longitudinal direction (FIG. 20, [0102]), and
a plurality of the unit channels (60) is formed in the lateral direction (FIG. 20, [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cooling device:
wherein at least one of the plurality of unit channels (60) is formed for each of the plurality of battery cells (1) in the lateral direction (FIG. 20, [0102]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725