DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. This communication is in response to the communication filed 3/21/2024. Claims 1-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
3.2. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopez et al. (Non-Patent Literature (NPL): “Three-dimensional carbon black aggregate reconstruction from two orthogonal TEM images”).
CLAIM 1
Lopez teaches a computer-implemented method (Lopez: abstract) comprising:
Identifying, using a two-dimensional (2D) transmission electron microscopy (TEM) image, a carbon black aggregate (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438; section 2);
determining, based at least on an approximation to a volume of the carbon black aggregate, a number of spheres (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438; section 2); and
generating a three-dimensional (3D) aggregate model of the carbon black aggregate by determining a solution to an optimization problem with respect to an objective function based on sizes of the spheres and positions of the spheres within a defined volume, the solution representing the 3D aggregate model (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438; section 2).
CLAIM 3
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, determining, using the 3D aggregate model, respective values of one or more morphological properties of the carbon black aggregate; and supplying the respective values of the one or more morphological properties (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438; section 2).
CLAIM 4
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the one or more morphological properties comprise at least one of aggregate anisometry metric, aggregate volume, relative 3D void volume (3DVV), or 3D specific surface area (3DSSA) (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 5
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the supplying comprises, retaining data indicative of the one or more morphological properties; and configuring an application programming interface to access a value of a first morphological property of the one or more morphological properties (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 6
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining the solution to the optimization problem comprises, updating a current arrangement of the spheres, wherein the current arrangement of spheres comprises a distribution of sizes of the spheres and a distribution of positions of the spheres within the defined volume; and determining multiple 2D projections of the configuration of the spheres on respective defined planes (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 7
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the updating comprises at least one of, modifying a position of a first sphere of the spheres and maintaining second positions of second spheres of the spheres; or modifying a size of the first sphere and maintaining second sizes of the second spheres (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 8
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the determining the solution to the optimization problem further comprises determining multiple fitness metrics for respective ones of the multiple 2D projections, each fitness metric of the multiple fitness metrics being based on a respective binarized 2D image of the carbon black aggregate (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 9
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the determining the solution to the optimization problem further comprises updating the objective function based on an average of the multiple fitness metrics (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIM 10
Lopez teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising, determining that the objective function satisfies a convergence criterion; and configuring the current arrangement of spheres as the 3D aggregate model (Lopez: abstract; pgs. 433-438).
CLAIMS 11, 13-18, AND 20-24
Claims 11, 13-18, and 20-24 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claims 1, 3, 6, and 9-10. As such, claims 11, 13-18, and 20-24 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claims 1, 3, 6, and 9-10and are incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. Claims 2, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al. (Non-Patent Literature (NPL): “Three-dimensional carbon black aggregate reconstruction from two orthogonal TEM images”), in view of Gausebeck et al. (US 2019/0026956).
CLAIM 2
Lopez may teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing presentation of a notification that the 3D aggregate model is available for analysis.
Gausebeck, however, teaches further comprising causing presentation of a notification that the 3D aggregate model is available for analysis (Gausebeck: abstract; ¶¶ [0200]; FIGS. 1-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the system for 3-D modeling from 2-D images, as taught by Gausbeck, with the 3-D carbon black aggregate reconstruction from 2-D orthogonal TEM images, as taught by Lopez, with the motivation of facilitating 3-D modeling (Gausebeck: abstract; ¶¶ [0002]-[0004], [0030]-[0033]).
CLAIMS 12 AND 19
Claims 12 and 19 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claim 2. As such, claims 12 and 19 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claim 2 and are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL TOMASZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681