Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0129012 A1 (hereinafter Ishida), in view of US 2018/0154439 A1 (hereinafter Mark), and US 2017/0297108 A1 (hereinafter Gibson).
Specifically, regarding Claims 1, 4-5, 9-10, 13-14, and 18, Ishida teaches a method and device for 3D printing comprising:
setting, by a device, a first tool head 5 and extruding, by the device, at least one layer L of melted filament from the first tool head relative to at least one of a print bed 13 and a layer D to deposit material (see Figure 1 and [0076]);
controlling, by the device, at least one optical heating head to generate a laser light beam to heat deposited material, wherein the optical heating head is controlled to heat deposited material to debind the deposited material and wherein the optical heating head is controlled to sinter debinded material by adjusting the power of the laser (per [0126]-[0127]);
However, Ishida is silent with respect to controlling, by the device, emission of an inert gas over the heated aera in association with heating of deposited material to prevent metal powder particles from at least one of reacting and oxidizing in air in a printing chamber.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Mark teaches in [0167] controlling a printing chamber to be full of inert gas is a known sintering technique, and therefore it would have been obvious to use Mark’s known sintering technique in Ishida, since such a combination would be a simple substitution of one known atmosphere for another to yield the predictable result of sintering, and further resulting in preventing metal powder particles from at least one of reacting and oxidizing in air in a printing chamber.
However, the previous combination is silent on monitoring, by the device, heating of the deposited material using camera image data and the laser light beam, wherein control of the optical heating head includes using the camera image data to adjust focus and power of the laser light beam.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Gibson teaches in [0106]-[0110] that during monitoring of 3D printing, laser heating (per [0215]) of deposited material is monitored by camera image data that also inspects for defects, and the camera image data is used adjust parameters of the additive manufacturing system such as temperature of the build material to achieve a more uniform degree of thermal debind throughout a fabricated object.
Therefore, given that Ishida already teaches adjusting the focus (i.e. the component of the filament, literally on which component is being focused) and power of the laser light beam depending on what its intended result is, it would have been obvious to incorporate camera imaging with defect and temperature monitoring per Gibson in the previous combination and adjust those identified focus and power parameters using the camera data to achieve a more uniform degree of thermal debind throughout a fabricated object.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Ishida teaches in [0069] that the steps, including debinding, repeat on a layer-by-layer basis such that debinding includes control of the laser light beam to heat each layer of depsosited material before depositing an additional layer.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Ishida teaches in [0136]-[0139] redirecting air in the printing chamber via suction to remove fumes when optically heating deposited filament.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, the previous combination remains as applied above, and Mark teaches in [0264] that milling each deposited layer before a subsequent layer is applied is a known 3D printing technique.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Ishida teaches in [0102]-[0104] using two different tool heads 5A and 5B in a way that can be reasonably interpreted to control a tool head change (i.e. changing the output tool head from one to another) from the first tool head to the second tool head change to print different materials to form at least a portion of an integrated part as claimed.
Regarding Claims 19-20, the previous combination teaches the method as applied above including milling after ever layer, but is silent on using a third and fourth tool head as claimed. However, as the previous combination has already established the utility of a second tool head, adding third and fourth tool heads and their deposition would be prima facie obvious as a duplication of parts to add further materials to a structure, since duplication of parts has been held to be within ordinary skill.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida, Mark, and and Gibson as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of US 11,498,124 B1 (hereinafter Sander)
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, the previous combination teaches the method and device as applied above, but is silent on using all three of laser light beam focus, size, and speed of movement to control the process.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Sanders teaches in Column 9 Lines 5-40 that all three laser aspects are known to be used in laser control, and therefore it would have been obvious to use these three parameters to in the previous combination’s control to control the lasers.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743