Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024, 05/09/2024 and 03/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a setting unit configured to”, “a calculation unit configured to” and “a display control unit configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2021/0109836 (“Cranfill et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, Cranfill et al. discloses a user terminal configured to be able to execute a plurality of applications set in advance as targets for a use limit, the user terminal comprising:
a setting unit configured to set a weight according to an application for each of the plurality of applications ([0196], FIG. 6A, the restrictions settings user interface displays an indication 602 of device usage and a number of settings related to device usage, such as settings for a restricted usage mode (e.g., “Device Downtime” 604a), settings for usage limits for one or more applications or categories of applications (e.g., “App Limits” 604b), settings for which functions are always allowed regardless of any usage restrictions being presently enforced (e.g., “Always Allowed” 604c);
a calculation unit configured to calculate a degree of a user's use of the user terminal on the basis of a use amount and a weight of the application used by a user in a predetermined period ([0232] limit access to certain applications during certain periods of time, determines usage for that period of time); and
a display control unit configured to hinder the user's use of the user terminal by executing control of screen display of the user terminal in a case in which the degree of use exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0199], FIG. 6G, the indication of a usage limit that has been exceeded (e.g., the News App usage limit 622a) includes an indication of how much that application (e.g., the News application) has been used in excess of the usage limit).
Regarding claim 4, Cranfill et al. discloses the user terminal according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit is configured to change a color or number of pixels of the screen of the user terminal as the control of screen display ([0201], FIG. 6L, when a usage limit has been exceeded (e.g., the News App usage limit 622a), the respective affordance 640a has a different color or pattern indicating that the usage limit has been exceeded).
Regarding claim 5, Cranfill et al. discloses the user terminal according to claim 4, wherein, in a case in which the user continues to use the user terminal even after the degree of use exceeds the threshold, the display control unit gradually reduces visibility of the screen of the user terminal by gradually changing the color or the number of pixels of the screen of the user terminal ([0367], representations for restricted applications not in the application whitelist in the above multitasking user interface are modified by the electronic device -e.g., faded or shaded out, or otherwise modified to be displayed with a different visual characteristic than representations corresponding to applications that are included in the application whitelist).
Regarding claim 6, Cranfill et al. discloses the user terminal according to claim 4, wherein, in a case in which the user continues to use the user terminal even after the degree of use exceeds the threshold, the display control unit alternately repeats decrease and increase of the number of pixels of the screen of the user terminal ([0316] device 500 is displaying a graphical user interface other than home screen 1050 (e.g., an application graphical user interface, notification history graphical user interface, etc.) at the start of the restricted usage mode, and device 500 visually obscures that graphical user interface (e.g., blurring, greying out, or visually altering that graphical user interface) at the start of the restricted usage mode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-3, the prior art does not teach or suggest a case in which a face image representing a face of a user is displayed on the screen display as the control of screen display.
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 10, the prior art does not teach or suggest calculate a first average use amount, a second average user amount or a third average use amount to set the weight of each application as defined by in the claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach or suggest extend the application period in accordance with a time in which the user terminal has been used in a case in which the user terminal has been used until the application of the control of screen.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693