DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/21/2024 and 08/04/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/21/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 03/21/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 2022/0271279 A1; hereinafter “Yao”).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an electrode for a secondary battery (Title, [0003]) comprising:
a core (current collector 206); and
a mixture layer formed on the core (multilayered electrode 202),
wherein the mixture layer includes a first mixture layer (first layer 230) and a second mixture layer (second layer 232) disposed on the first mixture layer (as shown in Fig 2), and
a tortuosity (t2) of the second mixture layer is smaller than a tortuosity (t1) of the first mixture layer (see [0005] which describes the paths through the second layer are less tortuous than a path through the first layer, and thus, the second layer necessarily has a smaller tortuosity than the first layer).
Regarding claim 5, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao further discloses that the mixture layer includes, as an active material, graphite and a silicon material (e.g. graphite and/or silicon, [0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao further discloses that the mixture layer includes, as an active material, a lithium transition metal composite oxide (e.g. transition metal oxides, [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao further discloses a secondary battery (200) comprising the recited electrode (as noted above), and an electrolyte (210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 2022/0271279 A1; hereinafter “Yao”), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao discloses that a tortuosity (t2) of the second mixture layer is smaller than a tortuosity (t1) of the first mixture layer (as noted above), but does not explicitly disclose that a ratio (t2/t1) of the tortuosity (t2) to the tortuosity (t1) satisfies 0.3 ≤ (t2/t1) < 1.0.
Yao is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes for secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that any tortuosity ratio where the first layer is greater than the second layer necessarily requires that such a ratio (t2/t1) is less than one, and thus, the skilled artisan would find it further obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (less than 1 significantly overlaps 0.3 to 1.0) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 2022/0271279 A1; hereinafter “Yao”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kitayoshi et al. (JP 2015037008 A; hereinafter “Kitayoshi”; see attached machine translation for reference).
Regarding claim 3, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao discloses that the thickness of the first mixture layer and the thickness of the second mixture layer, with respect to a thickness of the mixture layer, appear to be equal (as shown in Fig 2), but does not explicitly disclose that the thickness of the first mixture layer is great than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 80%, nor that the thickness of the second mixture layer is greater than or equal to 20% and less than or equal to 50%.
Kitayoshi teaches an electrode active material layer for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract). Kitayoshi teaches that, in consideration of improving the energy density per volume of an electrode, it is preferable that the electrode active material is thick, e.g. 70 to 90 mm (pg. 11, ¶4). Kitayoshi therefore teaches an electrode having a multilayer structure (pg. 13, ¶8), wherein the porosity increases stepwise or continuously in the thickness direction from the current collector side to the surface side (pg. 12, ¶7). Kitayoshi teaches that the thickness of the layers (121 to 129) are arbitrarily designed (pg. 13, ¶8).
Yao and Kitayoshi are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered electrodes for secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the thicknesses of the first and second layers of Yao may be arbitrarily designed, as suggested by Kitayoshi, and thus find that equal thicknesses would be obvious as arbitrary design choices, and thus fall within the recited ranges, i.e. each of the first and second layers of Yao have a thickness equal to 50% of the thickness of the entire mixture layer.
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yao discloses that the second mixture layer has more free space, i.e. porosity, than that of the first mixture layer ([0064]), but does not disclose what such appropriate porosities are, and therefore does not explicitly disclose that a porosity of the first mixture layer is greater than or equal to 10% and less than or equal to 40%, and a porosity of the second mixture layer is greater than or equal to 20% and less than or equal to 50%.
Kitayoshi teaches an electrode active material layer for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract). Kitayoshi teaches that, in consideration of improving the energy density per volume of an electrode, it is preferable that the electrode active material is thick, e.g. 70 to 90 mm (pg. 11, ¶4). Kitayoshi therefore teaches an electrode having a multilayer structure (pg. 13, ¶8), wherein the porosity increases stepwise or continuously in the thickness direction from the current collector side to the surface side (pg. 12, ¶7). Kitayoshi teaches that a porosity at the center in the thickness direction of the entire active material layer should preferably be 28 to 32%, and that the porosity should increase (towards the surface side) by 3.5 to 4% per 10 mm, and conversely, should decrease (towards the current collector side) by 3.5 to 4% per 10 mm (pg. 13, ¶9-11).
Yao and Kitayoshi are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered electrodes for secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the porosity gradient of Kitayoshi in the multilayered electrode of Yao with the reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the energy density per volume, as suggested by Kitayoshi. It would have been further obvious that the center of the multilayered electrode should have a porosity of 28 to 32%, and should increase towards the second mixture layer of Yao, and decrease towards the first layer of Yao, as further suggested by Kitayoshi.
Accordingly, the skilled artisan would find it obvious that the first layer of Yao should have a porosity < 28% while the second layer of Yao should have a porosity > 32%, each of which overlaps the recited ranges, and thus would find it obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yao et al. (US 2022/0149340 A1) discloses anodes having high top layer sphericity; and
Chen et al. (US 2023/0307643 A1) discloses negative electrode plates for secondary batteries.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 08/14/2026