DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “the mixture layer of each of the positive electrode and the negative electrode includes a first mixture layer and a second mixture layer disposed on the first mixture layer.” Therefore, any future recitation of “the first mixture layer” will be interpreted as referring to both the first mixture layer of the positive electrode and the first mixture layer of the negative electrode, and any future recitation of “the second mixture layer” will be interpreted as referring to both the second mixture layer of the positive electrode and the second mixture layer of the negative electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0149340 A1 (“Yao”).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an electrochemical cell (“secondary battery”) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; [0051]). The electrochemical cell comprises a cathode 102 (“positive electrode”), an anode 104 (“negative electrode”), and an electrolyte 110 ([0039], [0041], [0045]-[0047]).
Each of the cathode 102 and the anode 104 comprises a current collector 106, 108 (“core”) and a composite structure (“mixture layer”) formed on the current collector (Fig. 1; [0047]). The mixture layer of each of the cathode 102 and the anode 104 includes a first layer 230 (“first mixture layer”) and a second layer 232 (“second mixture layer”) disposed on the first layer 230 (Fig. 2; [0054]). A path through the second layer 232 is less tortuous than a path through the first layer 230 ([0005]-[0006], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0060], [0098], [0115]). That is, the second layer has a lower tortuosity than the first layer.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2024/020985 A1 (“Ding” – machine translation cited herein)
Regarding claims 1-2, Ding discloses an electrode sheet, comprising a current collector, a first active material layer and a second active material layer, wherein the first active material layer is arranged on at least one surface of the current collector; the second active material layer is arranged on the surface of the first active material layer away from the current collector (Abstract). The tortuosity characteristic value of the first active material layer is denoted as τ1, the overall tortuosity characteristic value of the first active material layer and the second active material layer is denoted as τ2. The electrode pole piece satisfies: 0.4≤τ1/τ2≤0.8 ([0014], [0052]-[0053]). Both the positive and negative electrode poles include this structure ([0077], [0083]).
It is noted that the instant claims do not recite an order of the first and second mixture layers. The first active material layer corresponds to the claimed second mixture layer having tortuosity τ2 (therefore τ1=τ2) and the second active material layer corresponds to the claimed first mixture layer having (τ2=τ1). Therefore, the ratio τ2/τ1 is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0149340 A1 (“Yao”).
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao is silent regarding a ratio (τ2/τ1) of the tortuosity (τ2) to the tortuosity (τ1) satisfies a relationship 0.3 ≤ (τ2/τ1) < 1. However, Yao teaches a path tortuosity through the second electrode layer is less than a path tortuosity through the first electrode layer. Increasing an expediency of ion travel through the second electrode layer decreases ion residence time in the second layer and decreases a likelihood of reactivity between the ion and active material particles disposed within the second layer ([0059]). For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the ratio through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 3, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao is silent regarding a thickness of the first mixture layer is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 80% with respect to a thickness of the mixture layer, and a thickness of the second mixture layer is greater than or equal to 20% and less than or equal to 50% with respect to the thickness of the mixture layer. However, Yao discloses a thickness of second layer 232 is chosen to be equal to or less than a selected maximum thickness. If second layer 232 has a thickness greater than the maximum thickness, transport through the second layer to the first layer may become so tortuous that the benefit of high particle sphericity and large particle size may be diminished ([0060]). For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thicknesses of the first and second mixture layers through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao is silent regarding a porosity of the first mixture layer is greater than or equal to 10% and less than or equal to 40%, and a porosity of the second mixture layer is greater than or equal to 20% and less than or equal to 50%. Yao discloses the first layer has a first porosity and the second layer has a lower second porosity ([0087]). Yao further discloses porosity is a factor that describes the microscopic architecture of a layer with determines the maximum thickness of the layer ([0060]). For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the porosities of the first and second mixture layers through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao further discloses the anode may include graphite and/or silicon, among other materials ([0049]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both graphite and silicon as anode active materials because Yao discloses both materials may be used and this amounts to choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0149340 A1 (“Yao”) in view of US 2018/0248220 A1 (“Manabe”).
Regarding claims 5-6, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao discloses the cathode active material comprises lithium transition metal oxides, such as NMC, NCA, and LCO ([0041]). Yao does not expressly disclose a composite oxide represented by a general formula LiyNi(1-x)MxO2, wherein 0 < x ≤ 0.2, 0 < y ≤ 1.2, and M represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Co, Al, Mn, Fe, Ti, Sr, Ca, and B [claim 5] or a composite oxide represented by a general formula LiyNi(1-x)MxO2, wherein 0 < x ≤ 0.12, 0 < y ≤ 1.2, and M represents elements including at least Co and Al [claim 6].
Manabe discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract) and discloses a positive electrode active material represented by LiaNixM1-xO2 (wherein 0.95≤a≤1.2, 0.85≤x≤1.0, and M includes at least Co and Al) ([0032]-[0034]). Specific examples of preferred lithium transition metal oxides include LiNi0.88Co0.09Al0.03O2, LiNi0.91Co0.06Al0.03O2 and LiNi0.94Co0.03Al0.03O2 ([0035]). These compounds have a low electronic resistance and are therefore free from a problem of poor high-temperature cycle characteristics ([0032]), increased capacity and output, and enhanced high-temperature cycle characteristics ([0034]). For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials taught by Manabe.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0149340 A1 (“Yao”) in view of WO 2019/003835 A1 (“Hashizume” – machine translation cited herein).
Regarding claim 8, Yao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Yao is silent regarding a packing density of the mixture layer of the positive electrode is greater than or equal to 3.3 g/cc and less than or equal to 3.7 g/cc.
Hashizume discloses a lithium ion secondary cell (Abstract) and teaches the density of the positive electrode active material layer is preferably 3.4 g/cm3 to 3.7 g/cm3 from the viewpoint of further improving the rate characteristics under high voltage ([0018]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the packing density of the mixture layer of the positive electrode because Hashizume teaches it further improve the rate characteristics under high voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2023/045369 A1 discloses a positive electrode sheet, comprising a coating layer and a current collector, wherein the coating layer is located on at least one surface of the current collector; and the coating layer comprises a first coating and a second coating. The first coating is coated on the surface of the current collector, and the second coating is coated on the surface of the first coating, wherein the first coating has a tortuosity of 3.01-4.93, and the second coating has a tortuosity of 2.11-2.87 (Abstract).
US 2023/0307643 A1 discloses a negative electrode plate is provided, which includes a current collector, and a first negative electrode active material layer and a second negative electrode active material layer sequentially arranged on the current collector. A tortuosity of the first negative electrode active material layer and a tortuosity of the second negative electrode active material layer satisfy: 1<t1≤5, 1<t2≤5, and 0.5≤t2−t1≤3.2; where t1 represents the tortuosity of the first negative electrode active material layer and t2 represents the tortuosity of the second negative electrode active material layer (Abstract).
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727