DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending, and claims 1-9 are currently under review.
Claim 10 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the species of claim 9 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites that the additive is added in a Cl equivalent range of 0.5 to 3 equivalents based on Li, which is indefinite because it is unclear as to what is required by the term “equivalent” based on Li. It is unclear whether this means that the additive is added in amounts of respective Cl amounts in said additive, or whether “equivalent” requires an amount of additive that correspondingly reacts with Li or is the same mass/atomic ratio as Li, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the aforementioned limitation to be met by any of the aforementioned interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20210131258, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a method for recovering Li from waste Li batteries [0001]; wherein said method includes steps of melting (ie. heat treating) a mixture of spend Li battery materials and a metal chloride (ie. additive), followed by obtaining Li material as LiCl (ie. trapping a Li salt) [0008].
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches a melting temperature of 1150 to 1450 degrees C, which falls within the claimed range [0038].
Regarding claims 5-7, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. teaches inclusion of a metal chloride FeCl2 among others in an amount of 0.5 to 3 equivalents based on Li [0032-0033].
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches a step of preparing or crushing the waste battery cell prior to melting, which meets the claimed limitation of “pretreating” according to broadest reasonable interpretation [0025, 0027]. Kim et al. further teaches that the waste battery cells include negative electrode material [0028].
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches that LiCl is collected by water scrubbing, which meets the limitation of being in a liquid phase and also being washed [0052].
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (2021, Thermochemically driven crystal phase transfer via chlorination roasting toward the selective extraction of lithium from spent LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. discloses a method of extracting Li from spent Li-ion batteries [abstract]; wherein said method includes mixing spent battery material with chloride salts (ie. additives) and heating said mixture, which naturally serves to form LiCl dissolved in water (ie. trapped lithium salt) [p.2, 7].
Regarding claims 2-4, Huang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Huang et al. further teaches heating at 800 degrees C for 30 minutes, which falls within the claimed ranges [p.2].
Regarding claims 5-7, Huang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Huang et al. further teaches inclusion of MgCl2 in a ratio of Li battery powder to chloride salt of 1:2 [p.2]. The examiner notes that this corresponds to a ratio of one part Li component to two parts chloride component, or a Cl equivalent of 2 as interpreted by the examiner, which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Huang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Huang et al. further teaches that the batteries, which naturally include a negative electrode, are dismantled prior to heating, which meets the limitation of pretreating [p.2]. Huang et al. also expressly teaches that the cathode materials (ie. negative electrode) undergo separation and chemical composition analysis, which is also a form of pretreatment [p.2].
Regarding claim 9, Huang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Huang et al. further leaching the processed materials with water, which one of ordinary skill would understand to result in LiCl dissolved in water (ie. liquid phase) and washing according to the plain definition of “washing” as being carried by water.
Claim(s) 1 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (US 2024/0209474).
Regarding claim 1, Moon et al. discloses a method of recovering Li from waste Li batteries [abstract]; wherein said method includes steps of melting (ie. heat treating) a mixture of waste Li battery materials and a Li recovery agent (ie. additive), followed by capturing LiCl in the form of a dust or water (ie. trapping Li salt) [abstract, 0075].
Regarding claims 5-7, Moon et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Moon et al. teaches that the Li recovery agent is FeCl3 among others and included in an amount of 1.3 to 2.5 ratio based on Li, which falls within the claimed range [0058, 0062].
Regarding claim 8, Moon et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Moon et al. further teaches that the waste battery (including the negative electrode) is disassembled and crushed, which is a form of pretreatment [0047-0048].
Regarding claim 9, Moon et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). As stated above, Moon et al. teaches capturing LiCl in the form of a dust (ie. solid) or water (ie. liquid), followed by hydrolysis which meets the limitation of washing with water [0075-0076]. Moon et al. further teaches obtaining Li phosphate, which one of ordinary skill would understand to be Li trapped in a solid state, wherein said Li phosphate is washed with water [0076-0078, 0088-0089].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR20210131258, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 2 (see previous). The examiner notes that the melting temperature of 1150 to 1450 degrees C of Kim et al. is substantially close to the claimed range of up to 1100 degrees C such that similar effects would be expected. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, Kim et al. discloses an identical result of recovering Li as shown above.
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches that melting is performed for 2 to 7 hours, which overlaps with the claimed range [0038]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2024/0209474).
Regarding claim 2-4, Moon et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Moon et al. further teaches that melting is performed below 1600 degrees C for 3 to 10 hours, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0063-0067]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734