DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4, 7-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2003124126A, hereinafter ‘Toyama’.
Regarding Claim 1, Toyama discloses an SiC crystal substrate ([0001]),
wherein in an X-ray photoelectron spectrum under conditions of incident X-ray energy of 250 eV and a photoelectron take-off angle of 45 degrees, when a sum of an area of a Si 2p1/2 spectrum and an area of a Si 2p3/2 spectrum is 1, a sum of an area of a Si2+ spectrum, an area of a Si3+ spectrum, and an area of a Si4+ spectrum is smaller than 1.8 (as disclosed by the publication of the instant application at [0046], Si 2p1/2 spectrum 41 and Si 2p3/2 spectrum 42 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and carbon (C), while Si2+ spectrum 33, Si3+ spectrum 32, and Si4+ spectrum 31 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and oxygen (O).
Toyama discloses that the silicon carbide substrate is subjected to ultrasonic cleaning with acetone, 49% HF treatment, and rinsing with running water to remove foreign matter such as organic substances and oxide films from the surface of the SiC substrate – as a result, the treated substrate assumes a 1×1 structure in which only Si and C atoms are periodically arranged, and does not exhibit the presence of any oxygen on the surface of the substrate ([0025], [0027]). Toyama discloses that treatment results in a substrate in which “no reaction products—specifically oxides—remain on the SiC surface” ([0030]). Therefore, given that Si2+ spectrum 33, Si3+ spectrum 32, and Si4+ spectrum 31 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and oxygen (O), and given the surface of the substrate of Toyama does not possess any O on its surface, the sum of an area of a Si2+ spectrum, an area of a Si3+ spectrum, and an area of a Si4+ spectrum would be nearly or equal to zero, or at least be smaller than 1.8).
Regarding Claim 2, Toyama discloses the sum of an area of a Si2+ spectrum, an area of a Si3+ spectrum, and an area of a Si4+ spectrum is smaller than 1.8 (as disclosed by the publication of the instant application at [0046], Si 2p1/2 spectrum 41 and Si 2p3/2 spectrum 42 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and carbon (C), while Si2+ spectrum 33, Si3+ spectrum 32, and Si4+ spectrum 31 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and oxygen (O). Toyama discloses that the silicon carbide substrate is subjected to ultrasonic cleaning with acetone, 49% HF treatment, and rinsing with running water to remove foreign matter such as organic substances and oxide films from the surface of the SiC substrate – as a result, the treated substrate assumes a 1×1 structure in which only Si and C atoms are periodically arranged, and does not exhibit the presence of any oxygen on the surface of the substrate ([0025], [0027]). Toyama discloses that treatment results in a substrate in which “no reaction products—specifically oxides—remain on the SiC surface” ([0030]). Therefore, given that Si2+ spectrum 33, Si3+ spectrum 32, and Si4+ spectrum 31 are related to a bond between silicon (Si) and oxygen (O), and given the surface of the substrate of Toyama does not possess any O on its surface, the sum of an area of a Si2+ spectrum, an area of a Si3+ spectrum, and an area of a Si4+ spectrum would be nearly or equal to zero, or at least be smaller than 1.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art neither discloses nor reasonably suggests that an X-ray absorption coefficient of a peak between 1855 eV and 1865 eV of the X-ray absorption coefficient spectrum is larger than 0.45 in the disclosed silicon carbide substrate. While the prior art discloses a substrate meeting that required by Claim 1, the prior art does not provide a basis to conclude that the X-ray absorption coefficient spectrum of the prior art product would be within the claimed range.
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736