DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/21/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikura et al. (WO 2013-035519 A1, hereafter Ishikura).
With regard to claim 1, Ishikura teaches a solid-state electrochemical cell comprising:
a cathode current collector (current collector layer 4 in contact with positive electrode layer 1) [0023, fig. 1],
a sintered (fired) cathode layer (positive electrode layer 1) arranged on the cathode current collector [0023, 0026, fig. 1],
a sintered (fired) electrolyte layer (solid electrolyte layer 2) arranged on the sintered cathode layer [0023, 0026, fig. 1],
a sintered (fired) anode layer (negative electrode layer 3) arranged on the sintered electrolyte layer [0023, 0026, fig. 1], and
an anode current collector (current collector layer 4 in contact with negative electrode layer 3) arranged on the anode layer [0023, 0026, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 2, Ishikura teaches the sintered cathode layer (positive electrode layer 1) comprises electrolyte material [0025-0026].
With regard to claim 3, Ishikura teaches the electrolyte material is dispersed along a thickness of the sintered cathode layer (mixed throughout positive electrode layer 1 due to mixed slurry) [0025-0026, 0033-0034].
With regard to claim 9, Ishikura teaches the anode layer (negative electrode layer 3) comprises electrolyte material [0025-0026].
With regard to claim 10, Ishikura teaches a method of manufacturing a solid-state electrochemical cell comprising:
providing a precursor laminate (laminate 10), the precursor laminate comprising [0023, fig. 1]:
a cathode precursor layer (un-sintered body) comprising cathode precursor (positive electrode layer 1) [0026];
an electrolyte precursor (un-sintered body) layer comprising electrolyte precursor (solid electrolyte layer 2) [0026]; and
an anode precursor (un-sintered body) layer comprising anode precursor (negative electrode layer 3) [0026]; and
sintering (firing) the precursor laminate to provide a sintered laminate comprising a cathode layer, an electrolyte layer, and an anode layer [0026].
With regard to claim 11, Ishikura teaches a current collector precursor (un-sintered body of current collector layer 4) which would necessarily be a cathode or anode collector [0026, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 12, Ishikura teaches providing a cathode or anode current collector (current collector layer 4 would necessarily be a cathode or anode collector) to the sintered laminate (interposed with stacked bodies) [0030, fig. 1-2].
With regard to claim 14, Ishikura teaches cathode precursor layer (un-sintered positive electrode layer 1) comprises electrolyte precursor [0025-0026].
With regard to claim 15, Ishikura teaches the electrolyte material is dispersed along a thickness of the sintered cathode layer (mixed throughout positive electrode layer 1 due to mixed slurry) [0025-0026, 0033-0034].
With regard to claim 18, Ishikura teaches separating portions (laser cutting) of the sintered laminate along a plane orthogonal to the layers to provide a plurality of solid-state electrochemical cells [0026, 0028, 0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 19, Ishikura teaches a solid state electrochemical cell obtainable from the method of claim 10 [0023-0026, 0046].
With regard to claim 20, Ishikura teaches a sintered (fired) laminate material comprising a cathode layer (positive electrode layer 1) and an anode layer (negative electrode layer 3) on the electrolyte layer (solid electrolyte layer 2) [0023, 0026, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 21, Ishikura teaches a battery stack comprising a plurality of solid-state electrochemical cells according to claim 1 [0023-0026, 0030, 0060, fig. 2].
With regard to claim 22, Ishikura teaches the battery of claim 1 as described in the rejection of claim 1 and further teaches portable devices that use batteries [0002].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura as applied to claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22 above, and further in view of Nakahara (US 2020/0227774 A1, hereafter Nakahara).
With regard to claims 4-5, Ishikura does not explicitly teach a concentration of the electrolyte material in the cathode layer decreasing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakahara teaches using layers to create gradients that transition from primarily solid state electrolyte material to primarily cathode material (which would be substantially free of electrolyte material, claim 5) [0039]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the gradient of Nakahara with the cathode layer of Ishikura for the benefit of creating interfaces that have high ionic conductivity and low degradation [Nakahara 0014-0015].
With regard to claim 16, Ishikura does not explicitly teach a concentration of the electrolyte material in the cathode layer decreasing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakahara teaches using layers to create gradients that transition from primarily solid state electrolyte material to primarily cathode material [0039]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the gradient of Nakahara with the method of Ishikura for the benefit of creating interfaces that have high ionic conductivity and low degradation [Nakahara 0014-0015].
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura as applied to claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2022/0069279 A1, hereafter Nam).
With regard to claims 6-7, Ishikura does not explicitly teach a concentration of the electrolyte material in the cathode layer increasing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nam teaches the use of a cathode (positive electrode) layer with a concentration gradient of electrolyte material that increases towards the electrolyte layer (concentration of active material increases indicating balance of solid state electrolyte material decreases) [0007-0010]. Nam further teaches the concentration of positive active material adjacent the positive (cathode) current collector is as high as 97 wt% which may be considered substantially free of electrolyte material (claim 7) [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the concentration gradient of Nam with the cathode layer of Ishikura for the benefit of lowering resistance generation and increasing battery capacity [Nam 0045].
With regard to claim 17, Ishikura does not explicitly teach a concentration of the electrolyte material in the cathode layer increasing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nam teaches the use of a cathode (positive electrode) layer with a concentration gradient of electrolyte material that increases towards the electrolyte layer (concentration of active material increases indicating balance of solid state electrolyte material decreases) [0007-0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the concentration gradient of Nam with the method of Ishikura for the benefit of lowering resistance generation and increasing battery capacity [Nam 0045].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura as applied to claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22 above, and further in view of Mizutani (US 2016/0072120 A1, hereafter Mizutani).
With regard to claim 8, Ishikura does not explicitly teach the claimed weight percentage of electrolyte material. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mizutani teaches the use of 6 to 40 mass percent of solid electrolyte material in a cathode [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the mass percentage of Mizutani with the electrochemical cell of Ishikura for the benefit of excellent ion and proton conductivity [Mizutani 0044].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura as applied to claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22 above, and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 2019/0214650 A1).
With regard to claim 13, Ishikura does not teach an un-sintered portion of the current collector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sakamoto teaches a current collector with a metal foil (un-sintered portion) clad with a sintered solid state electrolyte [0013, 0023, 0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the collector material with the method of Ishikura for the benefit of improved compatibility with a variety of electrode materials.[Sakamoto 0010].
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724