DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted on 27 August 2026 has been entered. After entry of the amendment, claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-18 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to the examiner’s claim interpretation of claims 11 and 15 as requiring all 3 of the recited properties, applicant agrees. With respect to the examiner’s claim interpretation of claim 17 as requiring all 4 of the solid raw materials applicant agrees however it is noted that applicant has amended claim 17 as if only 1 is required due to the use of “and combinations thereof”. Accordingly the examiner is unclear as to exactly how claim 17 is to be interpreted with respect to the solid raw materials. Clarification with respect to claim 17 is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 16 are confusing and therefore indefinite as they recite components that contain a range in the format of “between 75 and 95 vol% of the cement matrix”, “between 5 and 25 vol% of the reinforcing fiber” and “between 0 and 20 vol% of the aggregate material”. This renders the claims indefinite since it is not clear if the claims limit the range to the values between the numbers or if the range is meant to include the recited endpoints of the range. For example, claim 1 recites an amount of cement matrix in the range of “between 75 and 95 vol%”. Does that include the amounts of 75 and 95 vol%? Numerically, does between 75 and 95 vol% mean a) 75 ≥ cement matrix ≤ 95 or b) 75 > cement matrix < 95? Clarification is requested.
Claim 17 is confusing and therefore vague and indefinite due to the use of “and combinations thereof” in reference to the solid precursor. This seems to suggest that only 1 of the recited materials need to be present however applicant’s response to the claim interpretation is that all 4 are required. If only 1 of these is required then some of them would not form a cement matrix when mixed with an activating solution. For instance, rock wool and steel fibers would not form a cement when mixed with an activating solution. Accordingly applicant needs to make clear that all 4 of these components are required to be present. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung et al (US Patent No. 9,249,053 B2).
The reference teaches, in claim 16, a foamed concrete core composition comprising 1 to 60 percent by volume of cement; 0 to 75 percent by volume of fly ash; 0 to 50 percent by volume of slag; 0 to 20 percent by volume of silica fume; 0 to 50 percent by volume of sand; 0 to 75 percent by volume of hollow aggregate with water; 0 to 2 percent by volume of naphthalene sulfonate based superplasticizer or polycarboxylic acid based superplasticizer; 1 to 40 percent by volume of foam bubbles, wherein the foam bubbles are formed by combining pressurized air of 1-5 bars and pressurized water of 1-5 bars with a protein based foaming agent or a synthetic based foaming agent in a foaming machine, and the foam bubbles produce air spaces distributed throughout the foamed concrete core; and 0 to 5 percent by volume of one fiber selected from polypropylene fiber, polyethylene fiber, polyvinyl alcohol fiber, glass fiber, or carbon fiber.
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches an amount of fiber and aggregate that overlaps the claimed range of amounts. The combination of fly ash and cement meets the cement matrix component and the total amount overlaps the claimed range of amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. As for the composite being for mechanical forming tools and molds, it is the position of the examiner that the preamble limitation is of no consequence when the composition is the same. Ultimate utility does not make a composition patentable. That is, the future use of a composition adds little or no patentable weight to a composition claim when the composition is the same (ln re Pearson 181 USPQ 641). Patentability does not depend upon intended use (Ex parte Wikdahl 10 USPQ2d 1546). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As for claim 6, the reference teaches silica fume which would meet the addition of a nanofiller.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches an amount of fiber and aggregate that overlaps the claimed range of amounts. The combination of fly ash and cement meets the cement matrix component and the total amount overlaps the claimed range of amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. As for the preamble limitation of “tool for the mechanical forming of industrial tools and molds”, this is an intended use and ultimate utility does not make a composition patentable. That is, the future use of a composition adds little or no patentable weight to a composition claim when the composition is the same (ln re Pearson 181 USPQ 641). Patentability does not depend upon intended use (Ex parte Wikdahl 10 USPQ2d 1546). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further it should be noted that the claim only recites that the tool comprises the composite and as the reference teaches the same composition of the composite as claimed, the claim is obvious.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihashi et al (US Patent Application No. US 2004/0107873 A1).
The reference teaches, in claim 2, a premix for producing a high performance fiber reinforced cement composition comprising fragments of a steel cord stranded wire accounting for 1.3 vol % or more and less than 6.9 vol %; fragments of at least one type of organic fibers accounting for 10.8 vol % or less; and cement accounting for 83 vol % or more and less than 98 vol %. The composition may be mixed with water to produce a high performance fiber reinforcement cementitious composition (see paragraph [0024]).
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches cement, organic fibers and steel cord stranded wire fragments. The wire fragments are seen to meet the aggregate. The amounts of the components overlaps the claimed range of amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. As for the composition being for mechanical forming tools and molds, it is the position of the examiner that the preamble limitation is of no consequence when the composition is the same. Ultimate utility does not make a composition patentable. That is, the future use of a composition adds little or no patentable weight to a composition claim when the composition is the same (ln re Pearson 181 USPQ 641). Patentability does not depend upon intended use (Ex parte Wikdahl 10 USPQ2d 1546). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches cement, organic fibers and steel cord stranded wire fragments. The wire fragments are seen to meet the aggregate. The amounts of the components overlaps the claimed range of amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. As for the preamble limitation of “tool for the mechanical forming of industrial tools and molds”, this is an intended use and ultimate utility does not make a composition patentable. That is, the future use of a composition adds little or no patentable weight to a composition claim when the composition is the same (ln re Pearson 181 USPQ 641). Patentability does not depend upon intended use (Ex parte Wikdahl 10 USPQ2d 1546). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further it should be noted that the claim only recites that the tool comprises the composite and as the reference teaches the same composition of the composite as claimed, the claim is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 7 ,12, 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
September 23, 2026