DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 04/03/2024 and 02/14/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 5, “an inertia response demand power determination unit” is generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “determine, in response to detecting a change in a power grid frequency, an inertia response demand power …” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed determination. Inertia response demand power determination functions are described with respect to inertia response demand power determination unit 501 and implemented in controller 600. Accordingly, “inertia response demand power determination unit” is interpreted inertia response demand power determination unit 501 and equivalents.
In claim 5, “an energy storage and rotor control unit” is generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “control, based on the determined inertia response demand power…” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed control. Energy storage and rotor control functions are described with respect to energy storage and rotor control unit 502 and implemented in controller 600. Accordingly, “energy storage and rotor control unit” is interpreted energy storage and rotor control unit 502 and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites “a wind turbine; an energy storage apparatus connected to the wind turbine; and the wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response apparatus of claim 5 the wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response apparatus of claim 5; or a controller ….” It is unclear and thus indefinite as to whether the “or” in front of “controller” means that the “controller” is an alternative to just the “inertia response apparatus” or is an alternative to all the preceding elements that are grouped with an “and.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao, L., Wen, J., Xie, H., Yue, C., & Lee, W. J. (2015), Coordinated control strategy of wind turbine generator and energy storage equipment for frequency support. IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications, 51(4), 2732-2742 (“Miao”) in view of Othman, M.H., Mokhlis, H., Mubin, M., Talpur, S., Ab Aziz, N.F., Dradi, M. and Mohamad, H. (2020), Progress in control and coordination of energy storage system-based VSG: a review. IET Renewable Power Generation, 14: 177-187. (“Othman”) (Both references submitted in Applicant’s IDS of 12/14/2025).
Regarding claim 1:
A wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response method (See Miao at Figs. 1 and 2.), comprising:
determining, in response to detecting a change in a power grid frequency, an inertia response demand power of a wind turbine and energy storage combined system (Miao discloses that, when the system frequency changes, the equivalent power output of the DFIG-ES is ΔP = ΔPWF + kESΔPES (“inertia response demand power”). See Miao at Sec. II, equation 5.),
wherein the wind turbine and energy storage combined system comprises a wind turbine and an energy storage apparatus connected to the wind turbine (See Miao at Fig. 1); and
controlling, based on the determined inertia response demand power and by a mixed feedforward and feedback control manner, the energy storage apparatus and a rotor of the wind turbine to generate a power increment, so as to satisfy the inertia response demand power (While Miao discloses controlling the wind turbine based on ΔP = ΔPWF + kESΔPES (“inertia response demand power”), Miao does not explicitly disclose its controlling is based on “a mixed feedforward and feedback control manner.” However, in a same field of endeavor, control of a wind turbine (and thus analogous art), Othman discloses an active power control for controlling the frequency of the wind turbine that is based on feedforward Kff and feedback (P*-Pg) signals to output voltage angle δ (“power increment”). See Othman at Fig. 11. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the active power controller with feedforward of Othman so that the “dynamic response becomes faster.” See Othman at p. 181, 2nd column at top. Because both Miao and Othman relate to controlling wind turbines, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1:
wherein the step of determining the inertia response demand power of the wind turbine and energy storage combined system comprises: determining the inertia response demand power of the wind turbine and energy storage combined system based on a change rate of the power grid frequency, a power grid rated frequency, an inertia constant of the wind turbine and a grid-connected rated power ((Miao discloses that ΔP = ΔPWF + kESΔPES (“inertia response demand power”) is based on the inertia constant HDFIG_ES of the DFIG-ES (“an inertia constant of the wind turbine”) and the rated grid synchronous rotor speed ωg (“power grid rated frequency”). See Miao at Sec. II, equations 4-7. Miao does not explicitly indicate that the inertia constant can be based on a rate of change of the power grid frequency. However, Othman discloses that dω/dt (“change rate of the power grid frequency”) is based on measured power Pg (“grid-connected rated power”) and that the inertia constant J (“an inertia constant of the wind turbine”) can be changed based on the whether dω/dt (“change rate of the power grid frequency”) is accelerating or decelerating. See Othman at Section 3.3. Accordingly, by combining the teachings with respect to the inertia constant, Miao in view of Othman discloses that claimed “determining.” It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to increase the value of inertia constant J as taught by Othman in order to reduce acceleration of the wind turbine during a period of acceleration and to reduce the value of inertia constant J to boost deceleration of the wind turbine during a deceleration period. See Othman at Section 3.3. Because both Miao and Othman relate to controlling wind turbines, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 1:
wherein the step of controlling, based on the determined inertia response demand power and by the mixed feedforward and feedback control manner, the energy storage apparatus and the rotor of the wind turbine comprises: calculating a first control component through a proportional-integral-derivative operation (In the controller of Fig. 11 of Othman, the output of the function (1/s) corresponds to the “first control component”), which is calculated using a PID (“a proportional-integral-derivative operation”). See Othman at p. 181, top of 2nd column (discusses adding a “differential term” to the controller and Fig. 11.),
by using the determined inertia response demand power as a given value (See Fig. 11 of Othman, the point after the function Kw will correspond to the “determined inertia response demand power.”), and
using a difference between a real-time grid-connected power value of the wind turbine and a grid-connected power value when determining the inertia response demand power of the wind turbine and energy storage combined system as a feedback value (See Fig. 11 of Othman, which discloses a calculating a difference (“feedback value”) between Pg (“a real-time grid-connected power value of the wind turbine”) and P* (“grid-connected power value when determining the inertia response demand power of the wind turbine and energy storage combined system”);
calculating a sum of a feedforward amount and the first control component as an energy storage and rotor hybrid control target by using the determined inertia response demand power as the feedforward amount (See Fig. 11 of Othman, a summation function calculates a sum of the output of the feedforward function Kff and the output of the function (1/s) (“first control component”); and
controlling, based on the calculated energy storage and rotor hybrid control target, the energy storage apparatus and the rotor to generate the power increment (The combined system of Miao in view of Othman will perform the claimed controlling. See Fig. 11 of Othman and Fig. 2 of Miao.).
Regarding claim 5:
A wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response apparatus (See Miao at Fig. 1, DFIG-ES system.), comprising:
an inertia response demand power determination unit (See Miao at Sec. II and Fig. 2, “DFIG-ES system can support the frequency when the system frequency is abnormal.” Thus, the DFIG-ES system includes “an inertia response demand power determination unit.”) configured to:
determine, in response to detecting a change in a power grid frequency, an inertia response demand power of a wind turbine and energy storage combined system (Miao discloses that, when the system frequency changes, the equivalent power output of the DFIG-ES is ΔP = ΔPWF + kESΔPES (“inertia response demand power”). See Miao at Sec. II, equation 5.),
wherein the wind turbine and energy storage combined system comprises a wind turbine and an energy storage apparatus connected to the wind turbine (See Miao at Fig. 1); and
an energy storage and rotor control unit (See Miao at Figs. 2, 3, and 8 which shows control of an energy storage ES and rotor speed ωr. Thus, the DFIG-ES system includes “an energy storage and rotor control unit.”) configured to:
control, based on the determined inertia response demand power and by a mixed feedforward and feedback control manner, the energy storage apparatus and a rotor of the wind turbine to generate a power increment, so as to satisfy the inertia response demand power (While Miao discloses controlling the wind turbine based on ΔP = ΔPWF + kESΔPES (“inertia response demand power”), Miao does not explicitly disclose its controlling is based on “a mixed feedforward and feedback control manner.” However, in a same field of endeavor, control of a wind turbine (and thus analogous art), Othman discloses an active power control for controlling the frequency of the wind turbine that is based on feedforward Kff and feedback (P*-Pg) signals to output voltage angle δ (“power increment”). See Othman at Fig. 11. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the active power controller with feedforward of Othman so that the “dynamic response becomes faster.” See Othman at p. 181, 2nd column at top. Because both Miao and Othman relate to controlling wind turbines, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 5:
wherein the energy storage and rotor control unit is configured to: calculate a first control component through a proportional-integral-derivative operation, by using the determined inertia response demand power as a given value and using a difference between a real-time grid-connected power value of the wind turbine and a grid-connected power value when determining the inertia response demand power of the wind turbine and energy storage combined system as a feedback value; calculate a sum of a feedforward amount and the first control component as an energy storage and rotor hybrid control target by using the determined inertia response demand power as the feedforward amount; and control, based on the calculated energy storage and rotor hybrid control target, the energy storage apparatus and the rotor to generate the power increment (The recited features are substantively the same as those given above in with respect to claim 3 and thus are rendered obvious by Miao in view of Othman for the reasons given above with respect to claim 3.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Othman and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0052292 to Howard et al. (“Howard”).
Regarding claim 11:
A wind turbine and energy storage combined system comprising: a wind turbine; an energy storage apparatus connected to the wind turbine (See Miao at Fig. 1.); and
the wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response apparatus of claim 5 (See analysis in claim 5); or
a controller, wherein the controller comprises: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program that, when executed by the processor, implements the wind turbine and energy storage combined inertia response method of claim 1 (See analysis in claim 1. In addition, Miao discloses that the functions of Fig. 2 are performed by a controller, but Miao in view of Othman does not explicitly disclose the structure of the controller. However, in a same field of endeavor, control of a wind turbine (and thus analogous art), Howard discloses a controller with a processor and memory for implementing the control functions for a wind turbine. See Howard at Fig. 8. Because Miao discloses a controller but not the structure, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to look for structures, such as the controller of Howard, to implement the control functions in Miao in view of Othman. Because Howard is in the same filed of endeavor, implementing the functions of Miao in view of Othman in the controller of Howard would have been done using known methods that yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143.I.A.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 8 includes allowable subject based on its dependency on claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wie, J., Liu, L., & Wang, B. (2020, July). Research on Inertia Support Control Strategy Based on Energy Storage Dynamic Compensation. In 2020 39th Chinese Control Conference (CCC) (pp. 5264-5269). IEEE, discloses an inertia support control strategy.
Duckwitz, D., Shan, M., & Fischer, B. (2014, November). Synchronous inertia control for wind turbines. In 13th Wind Integration Workshop, Conf. Proc., Berlin, discloses an active power controller with feedforward and feedback dampening.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200072194 to Christoph Schulten discloses stabilizing the grid by providing a required additional power output.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116