DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/21/2024, in which claims 1-30 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-5, 6-10, 12-13, 16-20, 22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by HOA et al. (hereinafter, “HOA”; CN 113454926). (For citation purpose, the examiner has used English translation of CN113454926. The English translation and the original copy describe the same innovation. The publication date for the CN113454926 is Sep/28/2021; therefore, it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2)).
In response to claim 1,
HOA teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station associated with multiple transmit-receive points, a plurality of reference signals associated with a plurality of beam groups (page 6, paragraph 2, one or more base station (collectively referred BS110) is read as using multiple transmit-receive point, and using a base station associate with the multiple transmit-receive point, user equipment is equated to a UE, page 7, paragraph 2, broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110) is read as receiving a plurality of reference signal from multiple base stations, page 9,paragraph 3, subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups); and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals (page 9, paragraph 2, reporting CSI by the UE explicitly teaches this limitation),
wherein the CSI report includes a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI that is transmitted separately from the first UCI (page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph, part 1 of UCI and part 2 of UCI are equated to separate UCI, using part 1 of UCI report for reporting non-zero coefficient of CSI and using part 2 of UCI for reporting other coefficient of CSI explicitly teaches this limitation, page 12, first paragraph, not reporting greater than K0 non-coefficient CSI by the UE as a maximum number is read as the UCI part 1 and UCI part 2 are reported separately).
In response to claim 4 and 14,
HOA teaches wherein the first UCI is transmitted in an entirety before the second UCI is transmitted (page 12, first paragraph, not reporting greater than K0 non-coefficient CSI by the UE as a maximum number explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 5, 15
HOA teaches wherein the CSI report is transmitted in a physical uplink control channel or in a physical uplink shared channel (page 7, last paragraph, reporting control information via a PUCCH is read as the CSI report is transmitted in a physical uplink control channel).
In response to claim 11,
HOA teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (page 6, paragraph 2, one or more base station (collectively referred BS110) is read as using a base station), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of reference signals associated with a plurality of beam groups (page 7, paragraph 2, broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110) is read as receiving a plurality of reference signal from multiple base stations, page 9,paragraph 3, subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups); and
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals (page 9, paragraph 2, reporting CSI by the UE explicitly teaches this limitation),
wherein the CSI report includes a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI that is received separately from the first UCI (page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph, part 1 of UCI and part 2 of UCI are equated to separate UCI, using part 1 of UCI report for reporting non-zero coefficient of CSI and using part 2 of UCI for reporting other coefficient of CSI explicitly teaches this limitation, page 12, first paragraph, not reporting greater than K0 non-coefficient CSI by the UE as a maximum number is read as the UCI part 1 and UCI part 2 are reported separately).
In response to claim 21,
HOA teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (page 23, paragraph 3 teaches about using a processor, page 24, paragraph 1 teaches about using a memory), configured to:
receive, from a base station associated with multiple transmit-receive points, a plurality of reference signals associated with a plurality of beam groups; and transmit, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, wherein the CSI report includes a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI that is transmitted separately from the first UCI (these limitations are identical to claim 1, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 1).
In response to claim 23,
HOA teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CSI report that includes the first UCI and the second UCI, are configured to transmit the first UCI in an entirety before the second UCI is transmitted (page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph, part 1 of UCI and part 2 of UCI are equated to separate UCI, using part 1 of UCI report for reporting non-zero coefficient of CSI and using part 2 of UCI for reporting other coefficient of CSI explicitly transmit the CSI report that includes the first UCI and the second UCI, page 12, first paragraph, not reporting greater than K0 non-coefficient CSI by the UE as a maximum number is read as the UCI part 1 and UCI part 2 are reported separately).
In response to claim 26,
HOA teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (page 23, paragraph 3 teaches about using a processor, page 24, paragraph 1 teaches about using a memory):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of reference signals associated with a plurality of beam groups; and receive, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, wherein the CSI report includes a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI that is received separately from the first UCI (these limitations are identical to claim 11, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 11).
In response to claim 28,
HOA teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the CSI report that includes the first UCI and the second UCI, are configured to receive the first UCI in an entirety before the second UCI is transmitted (page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph, part 1 of UCI and part 2 of UCI are equated to separate UCI, using part 1 of UCI report for reporting non-zero coefficient of CSI and using part 2 of UCI for reporting other coefficient of CSI explicitly transmit the CSI report that includes the first UCI and the second UCI, page 12, first paragraph, not reporting greater than K0 non-coefficient CSI by the UE as a maximum number is read as the UCI part 1 and UCI part 2 are reported separately).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-10, 12-13, 16-20, 22, 24-25, 27 and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claims 2 and 12, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the CSI report includes the first UCI and the second UCI based at least in part on a maximum number of beam groups configured in a CSI report configuration received from the base station.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 3 and 13, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the CSI report includes the first UCI and the second UCI based at least in part on a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) indication received from the base station, wherein the dedicated RRC indication indicates a two- part UCI.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 6, 16, 24 and 29, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein: the first UCI indicates a number of beam groups reported in the CSI report; and the second UCI indicates beam indexes and layer 1 (L1) metrics for reported beam groups.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 7 and 17 are objected because these claims depend on claims 6 and 16.
As for dependent claims 8, 18, 25 and 30, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein: the first UCI indicates a fixed number of beam groups reported in the CSI report and a number of remaining beam groups reported in the CSI report; and the second UCI indicates beam indexes and layer 1 (L1) metrics for the number of remaining beam groups reported in the CSI report.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 9 and 19 are objected because these claims depend on claims 8 and 18.
As for dependent claims 10 and 20, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the CSI report is transmitted in accordance with a CSI priority based at least in part on multiple CSI reports being scheduled in a same UCI transmission occasion, wherein the CSI priority is relative to a single-part group- based beam report.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 22 and 27, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein: the CSI report includes the first UCI and the second UCI based at least in part on a maximum number of beam groups configured in a CSI report configuration received from the base station; or the CSI report includes the first UCI and the second UCI based at least in part on a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) indication received from the base station, wherein the dedicated RRC indication indicates a two-part UCI.”
The closest prior art in the record HOA et al. (CN 113454926) teaches in on paragraph 2 about broadcasting CSI-RS by base station (BS 110),he teaches on page 9,paragraph 3 about using a subset of beams in W1 matrix is equated to plurality of beam groups, using PMI consist of subset of beams (W1 matrix) with CSI report is interpreted as the reference signal is associated with plurality of beams groups, he teaches on page 9, paragraph 2 about transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report that includes a group-based beam report indicating beam measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, he teaches from page 11, last paragraph to page 12, first paragraph about using different parts of UCI for reporting the CSI, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2021032265………………paragraph 114.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466