DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/27/2025 has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action, dated on 07/25/2025. Claims 1 and 3-14 are pending in the current application. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claim 14 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/27/2025 have been fully considered.
In the Arguments/Remarks:
Re: Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Re: Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 101
Rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Re: Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are directed towards the newly amended limitations. Examiner has augmented the rejection in light of the amendments (see updated rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa (JP 2002187040 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot [(see at least paragraph 5) “This loader control device is a loader control device (20) that controls a loader (5) that transfers a work (W) to a chuck (2) of an external device (1), and places the loader chuck (14) at a work transfer position.”], comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: when the robot supplies a workpiece to or removes the workpiece from a chuck or a suction mechanism for securing the workpiece, perform force control based on a detection value of a force detector for detecting an external force and a moment acting on the workpiece, and correct errors in position and posture between the workpiece and the chuck or the suction mechanism for securing the workpiece [(see at least paragraphs 5,12-20) As in 5 “The correction unit (32) corrects the work transfer position of the loader chuck (14) by an amount corresponding to the displacement amount detected by the displacement amount detection unit (31) when the next workpiece (W) is transferred.” As in 16 “The correction means 32 is means for correcting the work transfer position of the loader chuck 14 by a predetermined value corresponding to the detected deviation amount when the next work W is transferred, and the deviation detected by the deviation amount detection means 31. The coordinate value of the corresponding positioning position in the positioning position setting means 23 is corrected according to the amount.”], wherein the force control comprises causing the robot to press the workpiece against the securing mechanism in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the workpiece is supplied to the securing mechanism [(see at least Fig.4, paragraph 18) “The loader 5 is moved and positioned by the control of the loader control device 20 to a positioning position,... The work W is transferred between the loader chuck 5 and the chuck 2 (4a, 4b) of the external device 1 at each positioning position. At this time, the shift amount detecting means 31 determines the loader chuck from the torque of each axis servomotor 11 to 13 when the loader chuck 14 is held by both the external device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14. The amount of deviation between the center position O2 of 14 (FIG. 4) and the center position O1 of the external device chuck 2 is detected. The correction means 32 corrects the coordinate data at the corresponding positioning positions,... Of the positioning position setting means 23. Therefore, from the next time, the coordinate values are corrected.”] and wherein the processor corrects the error in a position direction for correcting a position of the workpiece against the chuck or the suction mechanism, after at least correcting the error in a posture direction for correcting a posture of the workpiece against the chuck or the suction mechanism. [(see at least paragraphs 6, 18) As in 18 “The loader 5 is moved and positioned by the control of the loader control device 20 to a positioning position,... The work W is transferred between the loader chuck 5 and the chuck 2 (4a, 4b) of the external device 1 at each positioning position. At this time, the shift amount detecting means 31 determines the loader chuck from the torque of each axis servomotor 11 to 13 when the loader chuck 14 is held by both the external device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14. The amount of deviation between the center position O2 of 14 (FIG. 4) and the center position O1 of the external device chuck 2 is detected. The correction means 32 corrects the coordinate data at the corresponding positioning positions,... Of the positioning position setting means 23. Therefore, from the next time, the coordinate values are corrected.”]
Regarding claim 3, Yoshikawa teaches a robot system comprising: a robot for supplying a workpiece to or removing the workpiece from a machine tool [(see at least paragraph 5) “This loader control device is a loader control device (20) that controls a loader (5) that transfers a work (W) to a chuck (2) of an external device (1), and places the loader chuck (14) at a work transfer position.”]; a gripping mechanism provided in the robot and configured to grip the workpiece [(see at least paragraph 5) “When the work (W) is gripped by the chuck (2) of the external device (1) and is in a restrained state, a deviation occurs between the center position of the loader chuck (14) and the center position of the external device chuck (2).”]; a chuck or a suction mechanism provided in the machine tool and configured to secure the workpiece [(see at least paragraph 5) “When the workpiece (W) is passed after being positioned, the deviation between the center position of the loader chuck (14) and the center position of the chuck (2) of the external device is caused by the torque of the motors (11, 12) of the loader (2). A displacement amount detecting means (31) for detecting, and a correcting means (32) for correcting the work transfer position of the loader chuck (14) by an amount corresponding to the detected displacement amount when transferring the next work (W). Is provided. According to this structure, the loader chuck (14) is positioned at the work transfer position taught in advance with respect to the chuck (2) of the external device (1), and the work (W) is transferred. When the work (W) is gripped by the chuck (2) of the external device (1) and is in a restrained state, a deviation occurs between the center position of the loader chuck (14) and the center position of the external device chuck (2).”]; a force detector configured to detect an external force and a moment acting on the workpiece [(see at least paragraphs 12-20) As in 12 “The servo controllers 25 to 27 for the respective axes perform position feedback control based on detection signals from a position detector (not shown) such as a pulse coder provided in the servo motors 11 to 13. Torque detecting means 28 to 30 are provided in the drive systems of the servo motors 11 to 13 of the respective axes. These torque detecting means 28 to 30 are, for example, ammeters or the like for detecting the currents supplied to the respective axis servomotors 11 to 13.” As in 15 “The deviation amount detecting means 31 has a correlation setting means 33 which sets the correlation between the motor torque of each axis and the deviation amount, and compares the detected torque with the correlation setting means 34 to obtain the deviation amount. It is supposed to be. In the correlation setting means 34, the correlation between the motor torque and the deviation amount is shown by a function or a data table.”]; and a robot control device configured to control the robot, the robot control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: when the robot supplies the workpiece to or removes the workpiece from the machine tool, perform force control based on a detection value of the force detector, and correct errors in position and posture between the workpiece and the chuck or the suction mechanism [(see at least paragraphs 5,12-20) As in 5 “The correction unit (32) corrects the work transfer position of the loader chuck (14) by an amount corresponding to the displacement amount detected by the displacement amount detection unit (31) when the next workpiece (W) is transferred.” As in 16 “The correction means 32 is means for correcting the work transfer position of the loader chuck 14 by a predetermined value corresponding to the detected deviation amount when the next work W is transferred, and the deviation detected by the deviation amount detection means 31. The coordinate value of the corresponding positioning position in the positioning position setting means 23 is corrected according to the amount.”] wherein the processor corrects the error in a position direction for correcting a position of the workpiece against the chuck or the suction mechanism, after at least correcting the error in a posture direction for correcting a posture of the workpiece against the chuck or the suction mechanism. [(see at least paragraphs 6, 18) As in 18 “The loader 5 is moved and positioned by the control of the loader control device 20 to a positioning position,... The work W is transferred between the loader chuck 5 and the chuck 2 (4a, 4b) of the external device 1 at each positioning position. At this time, the shift amount detecting means 31 determines the loader chuck from the torque of each axis servomotor 11 to 13 when the loader chuck 14 is held by both the external device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14. The amount of deviation between the center position O2 of 14 (FIG. 4) and the center position O1 of the external device chuck 2 is detected. The correction means 32 corrects the coordinate data at the corresponding positioning positions,... Of the positioning position setting means 23. Therefore, from the next time, the coordinate values are corrected.”]
Regarding claim 4, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the force control comprises causing the robot to press the workpiece against the chuck or the suction mechanism in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the workpiece is supplied to the chuck or the suction mechanism. [(see at least Fig.4, paragraph 18) “The loader 5 is moved and positioned by the control of the loader control device 20 to a positioning position,... The work W is transferred between the loader chuck 5 and the chuck 2 (4a, 4b) of the external device 1 at each positioning position. At this time, the shift amount detecting means 31 determines the loader chuck from the torque of each axis servomotor 11 to 13 when the loader chuck 14 is held by both the external device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14. The amount of deviation between the center position O2 of 14 (FIG. 4) and the center position O1 of the external device chuck 2 is detected. The correction means 32 corrects the coordinate data at the corresponding positioning positions,... Of the positioning position setting means 23. Therefore, from the next time, the coordinate values are corrected.”]
Regarding claim 5, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the chuck or the suction mechanism is provided on a spindle of the machine tool. [(see at least Fig.3, paragraph 19) “For example, as shown by the chain line in FIG. 3, when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, when the loader chuck 14”]
Regarding claim 6, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the machine tool repeats operation of the chuck or the suction mechanism a preset number of times. [(see at least paragraph 19) “For example, as shown by the chain line in FIG. 3, when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, when the loader chuck 14 is not positioned at the optimum position, the X-axis Alternatively, the torque in the Y-axis direction becomes high. Since the direction of the torque can be known as +/-, it is possible to know which side the unreasonable force is applied to. Positioning is performed by shifting the positioning position in the next cycle by a predetermined amount based on this value and the direction. If a large torque is generated in the next cycle, shift it further a little. By carrying out this control every cycle, it is possible to always deliver with the optimum positioning.”]
Regarding claim 7, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the processor repeats the force control until displacement of the workpiece, due to operation of the chuck or the suction mechanism, becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance or a predetermined angle. [(see at least paragraph 19) “For example, as shown by the chain line in FIG. 3, when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, when the loader chuck 14 is not positioned at the optimum position, the X-axis Alternatively, the torque in the Y-axis direction becomes high. Since the direction of the torque can be known as +/-,f it is possible to know which side the unreasonable force is applied to. Positioning is performed by shifting the positioning position in the next cycle by a predetermined amount based on this value and the direction. If a large torque is generated in the next cycle, shift it further a little. By carrying out this control every cycle, it is possible to always deliver with the optimum positioning. In the above case, since the correlation setting means 34 that previously makes the correlation between the magnitude of the generated torque and the deviation amount into a function or into a data table is provided, the process of obtaining the deviation by torque detection can be immediately performed.”]
Regarding claim 8, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the machine tool suspends operation of the chuck or the suction mechanism when the detection value of the force detector is equal to or greater than a predetermined value when the chuck or the suction mechanism operates. [(see at least paragraph 17) “The overload processing means 33 is means for stopping the correction of the transfer position by the correction means 32 when the torque of the motors 11 to 13 is larger than the set value. The determination as to whether or not the motor torque is larger than the set value may be made either by directly determining the torque value or after changing the amount of deviation. Further, the process of stopping the correction by the correction unit 32 is eventually performed by stopping the input of the shift amount to the correction unit 32 or by stopping the input of the torque value to the shift amount detection unit 31. The correction process may not be performed. The overload processing means 33 may generate an alarm when the torque setting value is larger than the torque setting value.”]
Regarding claim 9, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the force detector comprises a force sensor for detecting at least one of the external force or the moment acting on the workpiece. [(see at least Fig.1, paragraph 12) “Torque detecting means 28 to 30 are provided in the drive systems of the servo motors 11 to 13 of the respective axes. These torque detecting means 28 to 30 are, for example, ammeters or the like for detecting the currents supplied to the respective axis servomotors 11 to 13.”]
Regarding claim 10, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the force detector comprises a torque sensor provided on each axis of the robot, and wherein the robot control device calculates at least one of the external force or the moment acting on the workpiece based on a value detected by the torque sensor. [(see at least paragraphs 12,19) As in 12 “The servo controllers 25 to 27 for the respective axes perform position feedback control based on detection signals from a position detector (not shown) such as a pulse coder provided in the servo motors 11 to 13. Torque detecting means 28 to 30 are provided in the drive systems of the servo motors 11 to 13 of the respective axes. These torque detecting means 28 to 30 are, for example, ammeters or the like for detecting the currents supplied to the respective axis servomotors 11 to 13.” As in 19 “when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, when the loader chuck 14 is not positioned at the optimum position, the X-axis Alternatively, the torque in the Y-axis direction becomes high. Since the direction of the torque can be known as +/-, it is possible to know which side the unreasonable force is applied to. Positioning is performed by shifting the positioning position in the next cycle by a predetermined amount based on this value and the direction. If a large torque is generated in the next cycle, shift it further a little. By carrying out this control every cycle, it is possible to always deliver with the optimum positioning. In the above case, since the correlation setting means 34 that previously makes the correlation between the magnitude of the generated torque and the deviation amount into a function or into a data table is provided, the process of obtaining the deviation by torque detection can be immediately performed.”]
Regarding claim 11, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the force detector comprises a motor provided on each axis of the robot, and wherein the robot control device estimates at least one of the external force or the moment acting on the workpiece based on a current value output from the motor. [(see at least paragraphs 5-7, 12-20) As in 12 “The servo controllers 25 to 27 for the respective axes perform position feedback control based on detection signals from a position detector (not shown) such as a pulse coder provided in the servo motors 11 to 13. Torque detecting means 28 to 30 are provided in the drive systems of the servo motors 11 to 13 of the respective axes. These torque detecting means 28 to 30 are, for example, ammeters or the like for detecting the currents supplied to the respective axis servomotors 11 to 13.” As in 15 “The deviation amount detecting means 31 has a correlation setting means 33 which sets the correlation between the motor torque of each axis and the deviation amount, and compares the detected torque with the correlation setting means 34 to obtain the deviation amount. It is supposed to be. In the correlation setting means 34, the correlation between the motor torque and the deviation amount is shown by a function or a data table.”]
Regarding claim 12, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the machine tool operates the chuck or the suction mechanism in conjunction with the force control. [(see at least paragraph 7) “In the present invention, when the torque of the motors (11, 12) is larger than a set value, an overload processing means (33) for stopping the correction of the transfer position by the correction means (32) may be provided. If the torque of the motors (11, 12) is too large, it is considered that some abnormality exceeding the allowable range has occurred. In such a case, the overload processing means (33) stops the correction of the transfer position by the correction means (32) to prevent the correction abnormality. The determination as to whether or not the motor torque is larger than the set value may be made after converting the amount of deviation. Further, in the processing for stopping the correction by the correction means (33), the input of the shift amount to the correction means (33) may be stopped so that the correction processing is not performed as a result.”]
Regarding claim 13, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the chuck is provided on a spindle of the machine tool and that has a plurality of claws [(see at least Figs.3-4, paragraph 10) “There is. As shown in FIG. 3, the loader head 10 is provided with two loader chucks 14 in a forward posture and a downward posture facing the spindle chuck 2, and the positions of the chucks 14 and 14 are interchangeable.”], wherein the processor, in the force control, causes the robot to press the workpiece against one of the plurality of claws in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the workpiece is supplied to the chuck [(see at least Fig.4, paragraph 18) “The loader 5 is moved and positioned by the control of the loader control device 20 to a positioning position,... The work W is transferred between the loader chuck 5 and the chuck 2 (4a, 4b) of the external device 1 at each positioning position. At this time, the shift amount detecting means 31 determines the loader chuck from the torque of each axis servomotor 11 to 13 when the loader chuck 14 is held by both the external device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14. The amount of deviation between the center position O2 of 14 (FIG. 4) and the center position O1 of the external device chuck 2 is detected. The correction means 32 corrects the coordinate data at the corresponding positioning positions,... Of the positioning position setting means 23. Therefore, from the next time, the coordinate values are corrected.”], rotates the workpiece in a direction in which a moment generated in the workpiece decreases and corrects an error in posture of the workpiece, causes the machine tool to close the plurality of claws of the chuck, and moves the workpiece in a direction in which a force generated on the workpiece decreases and corrects a position of the workpiece. [(see at least Figs.3-4, paragraphs 12-22) As in 15 “The deviation amount detecting means 31 has a correlation setting means 33 which sets the correlation between the motor torque of each axis and the deviation amount, and compares the detected torque with the correlation setting means 34 to obtain the deviation amount. It is supposed to be. In the correlation setting means 34, the correlation between the motor torque and the deviation amount is shown by a function or a data table.” As in 16 “The correction means 32 is means for correcting the work transfer position of the loader chuck 14 by a predetermined value corresponding to the detected deviation amount when the next work W is transferred, and the deviation detected by the deviation amount detection means 31. The coordinate value of the corresponding positioning position in the positioning position setting means 23 is corrected according to the amount.” As in 19 “when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, when the loader chuck 14 is not positioned at the optimum position, the X-axis Alternatively, the torque in the Y-axis direction becomes high. Since the direction of the torque can be known as +/-, it is possible to know which side the unreasonable force is applied to. Positioning is performed by shifting the positioning position in the next cycle by a predetermined amount based on this value and the direction. If a large torque is generated in the next cycle, shift it further a little. By carrying out this control every cycle, it is possible to always deliver with the optimum positioning. In the above case, since the correlation setting means 34 that previously makes the correlation between the magnitude of the generated torque and the deviation amount into a function or into a data table is provided, the process of obtaining the deviation by torque detection can be immediately performed.”]
Regarding claim 14, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the machine tool suspends operation of the chuck or the suction mechanism when the detection value of the force detector is equal to or greater than a predetermined value when the chuck or the suction mechanism operates, and wherein the machine tool operates the chuck or the suction mechanism in conjunction with the force control. [(see at least paragraph 17) “The overload processing means 33 is means for stopping the correction of the transfer position by the correction means 32 when the torque of the motors 11 to 13 is larger than the set value. The determination as to whether or not the motor torque is larger than the set value may be made either by directly determining the torque value or after changing the amount of deviation. Further, the process of stopping the correction by the correction unit 32 is eventually performed by stopping the input of the shift amount to the correction unit 32 or by stopping the input of the torque value to the shift amount detection unit 31.”]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656