DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 5/4/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 19 and 20 are currently amended.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § § 102-103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kin, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0212827 (“Kin”).
With regard to Claim 1, Kin teaches a method comprising:
at a device comprising one or more processors, non-transitory memory, and one or more sensors ([0136] describes storage on non-transitory media; [0057] describes an application executed by a processor. [0058] describes tracking the device and user hands using information from sensors):
detecting a gesture being performed via a first object in association with a second object in a graphical environment ([0069] describes that an electronic display in a near eye device can include a virtual recreation of a user’s hands, as well as other objects. [0074] describes that the system can recognize gestures of the user’s hand as well as a recognized object to which the gesture was related);
determining, via the one or more sensors, a distance between a representation of the first object and the second object ([0092] describes that the distance between a gaze terminating at a particular object and the user’s hand can be determined);
on a condition that the distance is greater than a threshold, displaying a change in the graphical environment according to the gesture and a determined gaze ([0118]-[0119] describe an example where a user gesture is detected within a threshold such that a user pinch gesture is detected when an object is between the user’s fingers; upon detecting that the pinching hand has moved past a threshold distance, an informational display is shown relating to the object which is the terminus of the user’s gaze); and
on a condition that the distance is not greater than the threshold, displaying the change in the graphical environment according to the gesture and a projection of the representation of the first object on the second object ([0094]-[0096] describe that when an object is between the user’s fingers, and a gesture is input, a change to the object in the environment is carried out, such as changing a switch indicator and allowing a user to modify the switch position in the graphical environment. When the hand moves beyond a threshold distance from the gaze along the Y direction, other changes can be made to the element).
Claim 20 recites the non-transitory memory recited in the method of Claim 1, and the claim is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Kin teaches that the first object comprises an extremity. [0069] describes a representation of a user’s hand, and [0074] describes recognizing gestures of a user’s hand.
With regard to Claim 4, Kin teaches that the representation of the first object comprises an image of the first object. [0069] describes that the virtual environment includes a virtual recreation using computer graphics of the user’s hands.
With regard to Claim 5, Kin teaches that the first object is a physical object and the second object is a virtual object. [0069] describes that the representation of the user’s hands are in the environment along with virtual objects.
With regard to Claim 10, Kin teaches that the change in the graphical environment comprises a manipulation of the second object. [0094]-[0095] describe an example input through which a user gesture is used to manipulate a switch.
With regard to Claim 16, Kin teaches on a condition that the distance is greater than the threshold, displaying the change in the graphical environment according to a gaze vector based on a gaze and an offset determined based on a position of the first object. [0118]-[0119] describe an example where a user gesture is detected within a threshold such that a user pinch gesture is detected when an object is between the user’s fingers; upon detecting that the pinching hand has moved past a threshold distance, an informational display is shown relating to the object which is the terminus of the user’s gaze.
With regard to Claim 17, Kin teaches that displaying the change in the graphical environment at a location corresponding to an end portion of the first object. Fig. 9B shows that the change to the environment is displayed at a location where the fingers of the user’s hand are located.
With regard to Claim 18, Kin teaches that the device comprises a head-mountable device (HMD). [0027] describes that the artificial reality system may be implemented on a head-mounted device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kin, in view of Poulos, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0363867 (“Poulos”).
With regard to Claim 3, Poulos teaches that the first object comprises an input device. [0025] describes a head mounted device which models a physical space. [0028] describes that the location of a control device is also tracked. [0039] describes that a control device such as a baton can be represented in the display, altered based on proximity to various objects and used to interact therewith.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Poulos with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional interactive features in a virtual environment, and by allowing dynamic response to user input in the environment.
With regard to Claim 6, Poulos teaches on a condition that the distance is not greater than the threshold, displaying a virtual writing instrument. [0047] describes that the system can determine that the control device is within a predetermined proximity to a holographic object, and modify the representation of the control device. [0061] describes that the device can be changed to writing instruments such as a paintbrush, pencil, or pen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Poulos with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional interactive features in a virtual environment, and by allowing dynamic response to user input in the environment.
With regard to Claim 15, Poulos teaches selecting a brush stroke type based on the distance between the representation of the first object and the second object. [0065] describes that a user can have a handheld baton, which is represented graphically in a virtual space. As a user varies the distance between the baton and a virtual painting surface object, the brush stroke can be changed in width, shade, density, or other visual characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Poulos with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional interactive features in a virtual environment, and by allowing dynamic response to user input in the environment.
With regard to Claim 19, Kin teaches a device comprising:
one or more processors, a non-transitory memory; a display; an input device; and one or more programs stored in the non-transitory memory, which, when executed by the one or more processors ([0136] describes storage on non-transitory media; [0055] describes input devices and [0057] describes an application executed by a processor. [0058] describes tracking the device and user hands using information from sensors. Fig. 3 shows a near-eye display), cause the device to:
detect a gesture being performed via a first object in association with a second object in a graphical environment ([0069] describes that an electronic display in a near eye device can include a virtual recreation of a user’s hands, as well as other objects. [0074] describes that the system can recognize gestures of the user’s hand as well as a recognized object to which the gesture was related);
determine, via the one or more sensors, a distance between a representation of the first object and the second object ([0092] describes that the distance between a gaze terminating at a particular object and the user’s hand can be determined);
on a condition that the distance is greater than a threshold, display a change in the graphical environment according to the gesture and a determined gaze ([0118]-[0119] describe an example where a user gesture is detected within a threshold such that a user pinch gesture is detected when an object is between the user’s fingers; upon detecting that the pinching hand has moved past a threshold distance, an informational display is shown relating to the object which is the terminus of the user’s gaze); and
on a condition that the distance is not greater than the threshold, display the change in the graphical environment according to the gesture and a projection of the representation of the first object on the second object ([0094]-[0095] describe that when the hand is within the threshold distance, such as identifying that an object is between the user’s fingers, and a gesture is input, a change to the object in the environment is carried out, such as changing a switch indicator and allowing a user to modify the switch position in the graphical environment).
Kin does not teach an audio sensor; Poulos teaches at [0021] that the head-mounted device has sensors which include a microphone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Poulos with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional interactive features in a virtual environment, and by allowing dynamic response to user input in the environment.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kin, in view of Gebbie, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0130656 (“Gebbie”).
With regard to Claim 7, Gebbie teaches that the change in the graphical environment comprises a creation of an annotation associated with the second object. [0027] describes that a user can annotate an object by moving a tool within a threshold of the object to initiate the annotation. [0023] describes that the tool can be a finger, handheld controller, gaze, etc. [0004] describes the environment is interaction with virtual objects in a virtual environment, and [0006] describes that the tool is a virtual tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Gebbie with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience and system utility by enabling additional collaboration tools such as annotations, thereby providing additional use cases and functionality to the virtual environment.
With regard to Claim 8, Gebbie teaches that the change in the graphical environment comprises a modification of an annotation associated with the second object. [0052] describes that a user can type content for an annotation, thereby modifying annotation text while writing content of the annotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Gebbie with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience and system utility by enabling additional collaboration tools such as annotations, thereby providing additional use cases and functionality to the virtual environment.
With regard to Claim 9, Gebbie teaches that the change in the graphical environment comprises a removal of an annotation associated with the second object. [0028] describes that users are able to undo any attachment or drawing on a virtual object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Gebbie with Kin. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience and system utility by enabling additional collaboration tools such as annotations, thereby providing additional use cases and functionality to the virtual environment.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kin, in view of Duheille, U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0055385 (“Duheille”).
With regard to Claim 11, Duheille teaches applying a scale factor to the gesture. [0098] describes that gestures can scale with dimensions of objects displayed to a user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Duheille with Kin. [0004] of Duheille describes that gesture-based interfaces are not necessarily intuitive to users. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have sought to combine the gesture scaling described in Duheille with Kin, to improve user experience by providing a more intuitive interface experience.
With regard to Claim 12, Kin, in view of Duheille teaches selecting the scale factor based on the distance between the representation of the first object and the second object. Duheille teaches at [0099] that a gesture can be scaled with the distance of the user’s hand from the object being manipulated using the gesture. Kin teaches the use of a representation of a hand and a second object at [0069].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Duheille with Kin. [0004] of Duheille describes that gesture-based interfaces are not necessarily intuitive to users. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have sought to combine the gesture scaling described in Duheille with Kin, to improve user experience by providing a more intuitive interface experience.
With regard to Claim 13, Duheille teaches selecting the scale factor based on a size of the second object. [0098] describes that gestures can scale with the dimensions of a displayed object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Duheille with Kin. [0004] of Duheille describes that gesture-based interfaces are not necessarily intuitive to users. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have sought to combine the gesture scaling described in Duheille with Kin, to improve user experience by providing a more intuitive interface experience.
With regard to Claim 14, Duheille teaches selecting the scale factor based on an input. [0098] describes that the gesture scale can be determined for specific objects, thereby selecting a scale factor based on which object a user provides input to.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Duheille with Kin. [0004] of Duheille describes that gesture-based interfaces are not necessarily intuitive to users. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have sought to combine the gesture scaling described in Duheille with Kin, to improve user experience by providing a more intuitive interface experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant first argues that Kin does not disclose the claimed features, because Kin fails to disclose determining "a distance between a representation of the first object and the second object," and then using that same determined distance in each of the two conditional branches recited by claim 1.
As Applicant notes, the distance in Kin relied upon in the rejection is a distance the user’s hand moves from the gaze. As cited in the Office action, [0092] of Kin describes that the system determines the distance between a user’s gaze that terminates at an object, and the user’s hand. This anticipates the claimed distance between a first object and a second object, because as is stated in the rejection, the virtual environment contains the virtual switch object as well as a virtual recreation of the user’s hand. [0095] describes that the system detects the user’s hand movement along the Y axis.
This is a distance between the first and second object, because the gaze constitutes a Z axis, and a plane is fixed along the Z axis in three-dimensional space as further described at [0095]. The user’s hand can move a distance from the object in the X and Y directions of this plane, and this distance is continually determined by the system, thereby determining a distance between objects as claimed.
Applicant also argues that this does not constitute a conditional branch decision input, however as described at [0096] of Kin, the user can move their hand past a threshold distance in the Y direction, to cause a different change in the object. Therefore, the update carried out in [0095] is made using a conditional input based on the distance, as different processing can be carried out by the system upon sufficient movement of the user’s hand in the Y direction.
Applicant then argues that Kin does not disclose the claimed arrangement, because Claim 1 requires determining a distance between a representation of the first object and the second object, and then using that distance to select between the recited gaze-based branch and projection-based branch. Applicant argues that the Office Action does not identify the same claimed distance being compared against the same threshold to select between two claimed branches.
However, as is explained above in these remarks as well as the rejection, in both instances, a user’s hand distance from an object in an X and/or Y direction is compared to a threshold. [0094]-[0096] describe carrying out one type of process when a gesture is detected as below a threshold distance, and another when the gesture is above a threshold distance. [0118]-[0119] describe an additional process which can be carried out when the distance is above a threshold. Therefore, Kin does teach the distance being compared to a threshold, to carry out the different processes as claimed.
As Kin teaches the elements of Claim 1, both for the reasons given in these remarks and the above rejection, the claim remains properly rejected. As the rejections of the other claims have not been separately challenged, they likewise are properly rejected under the cited art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
6/24/2026