DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is n response to applicant’s election filed on 12/8/25.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 2, figs 16-22, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the term “is disclosed”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 12,018,513 to Clifford et al (Clifford) in view of KR 20060080497 (KR 497).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Clifford discloses a locking assembly and a method, that comprises a locking device (18) having a locked condition and an unlocked condition and a lock/unlock indicator (34).
Clifford fails to disclose that the indicator comprises a bottom lamella having visual lock and unlock indicators; and a top lamella operable to selectively block visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
Clifford discloses that the indicator (34) is rotated by means of a magnetic holder 26 and the locking assembly 50.
KR 497 teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an indicator to display certain defined information by means of an illumination device.
KR 497 teaches that the indicator comprises a bottom “lamella” (10) having visual indicators; and a top “lamella” (20) operable to selectively block visualization of an indicator (201) while allowing visualization of another indicator (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the indicator described by Huang as one being electrical, as taught by KR, in order to clearly present the user of the status of the lock by selectively block visualization of an indicator while allowing visualization of another indicator through the window.
Applicant is reminded that it has been that providing automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that a voltage delivered to the top lamella (KR 497, 20) is configured to control whether the top lamella blocks visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 3, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the top lamella (KR 497, 20) is composed of a first portion configured to either allow or block visualization of the unlock indicator and a second portion configured to allow for block visualization of the lock indicator (KR 497, 201 and 203, according to what is designed to be displayed).
As to claim 4, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that when voltage is delivered to the first portion, the first portion blocks visualization of the unlocked indicator and when voltage is delivered to the second portion, the second portion blocks visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 5, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the top lamella is actuated by at least one switch (KR 497, elements 85, 87) to selectively block visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 6, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the assembly further comprises a controller actuates the at least one switch based on an input provided to the controller (KR 497, not shown, device that interacts with elements 85, 87).
As to claim 7, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that an opacity of the top lamella determines whether the top lamella blocks visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or blocks visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 8, Clifford discloses that the locking device includes an outer housing (28 and 30) defining a groove (where 30 is pointing, fig 2) extending at least partially therethrough, and wherein the lock/unlock indicator (22) is received within the groove of the outer housing.
As to claim 10, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the method selectively displaying one of the visual lock and unlock indicators further comprises receiving an input to place the locking device in the locked condition or the unlocked condition; transferring the input to a controller; actuating at least one switch coupled with the top lamella to deliver a voltage to at least one of the first portion and the second portion of the top lamella; and visualizing one of the unlock indicator and the lock indicator (KR 495, control and switches 85, 87 interacting with 20).
As to claim 11, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the input places the locking device in the locked condition, voltage is delivered to the second portion of the top lamella and voltage is not delivered to the first portion of the top lamella, such that the lock indicator is visualized.
As to claim 12, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the input places the locking device in the unlocked condition, voltage is not delivered to the second portion of the top lamella and voltage is delivered to the first portion of the top lamella, such that the unlock indicator is visualized.
As to claim 13, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that actuating the at least one switch (KR 495, 85, 87) coupled with the top lamella to deliver a voltage to at least one of the first portion and the second portion of the top lamella includes altering opacity of the at least one of the first portion and the second portion.
As to claim 14, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the at least one switch is coupled with a power supply such that actuation of the at least one switch allowed for voltage delivery to the top lamella.
As to claim 15, Clifford, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the at least one switch includes a first switch (85) coupled with the first portion and a second switch (87) coupled with the second portion and each of the first switch and the second switch are coupled with the power supply.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 6,938,445 to Huang in view of KR 20060080497 (KR 497).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Huang discloses a locking assembly and a method, that comprises a locking device (10) having a locked condition and an unlocked condition and a lock/unlock indicator (96, 100).
Huang fails to disclose that the indicator comprises a bottom lamella having visual lock and unlock indicators; and a top lamella operable to selectively block visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
Huang discloses a mechanical operation mechanism, that comprises a window shield (96), as a top member, and an indicator slider (100), as a bottom member, defining lock indication markings that are respectively displayed through the window shield and a window (59) on the escutcheon (92).
KR teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an indicator to display certain information by means of an illumination device.
KR teaches that the indicator comprises a bottom “lamella” (10) having visual indicators; and a top “lamella” (20) operable to selectively block visualization of an indicator (201) while allowing visualization of another indicator (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the indicator described by Huang as one being electrical, as taught by KR, in order to clearly present the user of the status of the lock by selectively block visualization of an indicator while allowing visualization of another indicator through the window.
Applicant is reminded that it has been that providing automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that a voltage delivered to the top lamella (KR 497, 20) is configured to control whether the top lamella blocks visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 3, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the top lamella (KR 497, 20) is composed of a first portion configured to either allow or block visualization of the unlock indicator and a second portion configured to allow for block visualization of the lock indicator (KR 497, 201 and 203, according to what is designed to be displayed).
As to claim 4, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that when voltage is delivered to the first portion, the first portion blocks visualization of the unlocked indicator and when voltage is delivered to the second portion, the second portion blocks visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 5, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the top lamella is actuated by at least one switch (KR 497, elements 85, 87) to selectively block visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or to block visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 6, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the assembly further comprises a controller actuates the at least one switch based on an input provided to the controller (KR 497, not shown, device that interacts with elements 85, 87).
As to claim 7, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that an opacity of the top lamella determines whether the top lamella blocks visualization of the lock indicator while allowing visualization of the unlock indicator or blocks visualization of the unlock indicator while allowing visualization of the lock indicator.
As to claim 8, Clifford discloses that the locking device includes an outer housing (94) defining a groove (99) extending at least partially therethrough, and wherein the lock/unlock indicator (100) is received within the groove of the outer housing.
As to claim 10, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the method selectively displaying one of the visual lock and unlock indicators further comprises receiving an input to place the locking device in the locked condition or the unlocked condition; transferring the input to a controller; actuating at least one switch coupled with the top lamella to deliver a voltage to at least one of the first portion and the second portion of the top lamella; and visualizing one of the unlock indicator and the lock indicator (KR 495, control and switches 85, 87 interacting with 20).
As to claim 11, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the input places the locking device in the locked condition, voltage is delivered to the second portion of the top lamella and voltage is not delivered to the first portion of the top lamella, such that the lock indicator is visualized.
As to claim 12, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the input places the locking device in the unlocked condition, voltage is not delivered to the second portion of the top lamella and voltage is delivered to the first portion of the top lamella, such that the unlock indicator is visualized.
As to claim 13, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that actuating the at least one switch (KR 495, 85, 87) coupled with the top lamella to deliver a voltage to at least one of the first portion and the second portion of the top lamella includes altering opacity of the at least one of the first portion and the second portion.
As to claim 14, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the at least one switch is coupled with a power supply such that actuation of the at least one switch allowed for voltage delivery to the top lamella.
As to claim 15, Huang, as modified by KR 497, teaches that the at least one switch includes a first switch (85) coupled with the first portion and a second switch (87) coupled with the second portion and each of the first switch and the second switch are coupled with the power supply.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
February 6, 2026