Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6,7,8,11,13,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohl (2011/0295302).
1. A system, comprising:
an intravascular reperfusion therapy device configured to be positioned within a coronary vein of a patient to deliver reperfusion therapy to a myocardium of a heart of the patient associated with the coronary vein, wherein the intravascular reperfusion therapy device comprises a flexible elongate member, a sensor, and a balloon, wherein the balloon is configured to generate back pressure within the coronary vein to deliver the reperfusion therapy; (see at least ¶23 and figures 4,5 which teach a catheter 120 and balloon 122,and ¶31,50 which teach a sensor)
and
a processor circuit in communication with the intravascular reperfusion therapy device and
configured to: (see at least ¶25)
receive, from the sensor, physiological data associated with blood flow through the
coronary vein; (see at least ¶25)
determine, based on the physiological data, a progression of the reperfusion therapy
delivered to the myocardium of the heart; (at least ¶5 teaches reperfusion or redistributing blood flow to a heart, and ¶6 teaches a GUI that indicates progress)
control, based on the progression of the reperfusion therapy, inflation of the balloon
while the intravascular reperfusion therapy device is positioned within the coronary vein such that the back pressure within the coronary vein is controlled. (see at least ¶6)
2. The system of claim 1, wherein, to determine the progression of the reperfusion therapy, the processor circuit is configured to:
determine a derivative of the physiological data with respect to time. (see at least ¶42)
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the inflation of the balloon comprises an oscillation between
first degree of inflation and a different, second degree of inflation, and wherein, to control the inflation of the balloon, the processor circuit is configured to control the oscillation. (see at least ¶43 which teaches oscillation between inflated and deflated states controlled by a processor which uses coronary sinus pressure measurements)
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the processor circuit is configured to control a frequency of the oscillation. (see at least ¶43. The frequency is dependent upon the patient’s sinus pressure measurement values and heat condition)
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the inflation of the balloon comprises a degree of inflation, and wherein, to control the inflation of the balloon, the processor circuit is configured to control the degree of inflation. (see at least ¶43 which teaches a processor which can cause inflation or deflation, and hence the degree of inflation)
7. The system of claim 1, wherein, to control the inflation of the balloon, the processor circuit is configured to:
deflate the balloon responsive to determining, based on the progression of the reperfusion
therapy, that the reperfusion therapy is complete. (see at least ¶43,44 which teaches clinical end point of therapy)
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is further configured to:
output, to display in communication with the processor circuit, a visual representation of the
progression of the reperfusion therapy. (see at least ¶25 and figure 2)
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a pressure sensor, wherein the physiological data comprises pressure data. (see at least ¶36)
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the flexible elongate member comprises a catheter, wherein the balloon is positioned at a distal portion of the catheter. (see at least figure 5)
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the coronary vein comprises a coronary sinus. (see at least the abstract)
17. A system, comprising:
an intravascular reperfusion therapy device configured to be positioned within a coronary vein of a patient to deliver reperfusion therapy to a myocardium of a heart of the patient associated with the coronary vein, wherein the intravascular reperfusion therapy device comprises:
one or more flexible elongate members, wherein the one or more flexible elongate
members comprises a catheter and/or a guidewire; a flow sensor positioned at a distal portion of the one or more flexible elongate members; a balloon positioned at the distal portion of the one or more flexible elongate members, (see at least ¶23 and figures 4,5 of Mohl which teach a catheter 120 and balloon 122, and ¶31,50 which teach a sensor)
wherein the balloon is configured to deliver the reperfusion therapy by obstructing blood flow in
a first direction in the coronary vein to generate back pressure in an opposite, second direction
within the coronary vein; (see at least abstract and ¶5-9 of Mohl)
a processor circuit (see at least ¶25 of Mohl) in communication with the intravascular reperfusion therapy device and configured to:
receive, from the flow sensor, flow data representative of blood flow through the
coronary vein; (see at least abstract and ¶25 of Mohl)
determine, based on the flow data, a progression of the reperfusion therapy delivered to
the myocardium; (See at least ¶20 of Mohl which teaches measuring flow in the form of pressure in the coronary sinus. Also see at least ¶25 of Mohl which teaches detecting progress of procedure and sensing coronary flow)
control, based on the progression of the reperfusion therapy, inflation of the balloon
while the intravascular reperfusion therapy device is positioned within the coronary vein such that the back pressure within the coronary vein is controlled. (see at least ¶6 of Mohl)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Kassab (2011/0196282).
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a flow sensor, wherein the physiological data comprises a blood flow rate. (Kassab teaches measuring blood flow rate, see at least ¶76. It would have been obvious to measure such with the device of Mohl since it is an important parameter that reveals information re the patient’s condition)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Tansley et al (2021/0379354).
5. The system of claim 3, wherein the processor circuit is configured to control a duty cycle of the oscillation. (Tansley describes various inflation parameters such as duty cycle, see at least ¶114. To control duty cycle, as in Tansley, would have been obvious since it would allow the user to adjust the oscillation in the most appropriate way for the patient)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Schiff (4,016,871).
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is further configured to:
output, to display in communication with the processor circuit, a visual representation of the
inflation of the balloon. (at least col. 5:53-55 of Schiff teaches display of visual indications of inflation of balloon. It would have been obvious to use such with the device of Mohl since it would give the user valuable information re the procedure)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Yair (2006/0206029).
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the physiological data comprises flow data and pressure data associated with the blood flow through the coronary vein, and wherein, to determine the progression of the reperfusion therapy, the processor circuit is configured to:
determine an impedance associated with the blood flow through the coronary vein based on the
flow data and the pressure data; and
determine the progression of the reperfusion therapy based on the impedance. (Yair teaches measuring blood pressure and blood flow rate using impedance, see at least ¶49. It would have been obvious to use such parameters to determine reperfusion progress with the device of Mohl since it would provide predictable results such as an accurate assessment of whether the patient is improving or not)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Mohl (2013/0165736).
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the sensor comprises an ultrasound transducer positioned at the distal portion of the catheter. (Mohl ‘736 teaches ultrasound sensing, see at least ¶36. It would have been obvious to use such at the distal end of the catheter since it would detect movement of the coronary sinus in a predictable manner)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2011/0295302) and Van Der Horst et al (2019/0082978).
15. The system of claim 13, wherein the intravascular reperfusion therapy device further comprises a guidewire, wherein the sensor is positioned at distal portion of the guidewire. (Van Der Horst teaches a guidewire with a distal sensor, see at least ¶110. It would have been obvious to use such with the device of Mohl since it would facilitate accurately sensing flow and pressure in a predictable manner)
/Scott M. Getzow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792